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2009 OLR PA Summary Part II 

NOTICE TO USERS 
 

 
This publication, Summary of 2009 Public Acts, Part II, summarizes all public acts passed by the 

June 2009 Special Session, June 19, 2009 Special Session, September 2009 Special Session, and 
December 2009 Special Session of the Connecticut General Assembly.  Special acts are not 
summarized.  

The acts from the 2009 Regular Session  are summarized in a separate publication, Part I. 
 
Use of this Book 
 

The Office of Legislative Research encourages dissemination of this material by photocopying, 
reprinting in newspapers (either verbatim or edited), or by other means.  Please credit the Office of 
Legislative Research when republishing the summaries. 

The office strongly discourages using the summaries as a substitute for the public acts.  The 
summaries are meant to be handy reference tools, not substitutes for the text.  The public acts are 
available in public libraries and can be purchased from the secretary of the state. They are also 
available online from The Connecticut General Assembly’s Website (http://www.cga.state.ct.us). 
 
Organization of the Book 
 

Summaries are arranged in order by public act number. 
A table on penalties, appearing on the next page, describes the fines and prison sentences for 

various types of offenses. In the back of the volume is a list of vetoed acts and a list of acts by public 
act number.   
 



TABLE ON PENALTIES 

Crimes 
 

The law authorizes courts to impose fines, 
imprisonment, or both when sentencing a convicted 
criminal.  They must specify the period of incarceration 
for anyone so sentenced.  The prison terms below 
represent the range within which a judge must set the 
sentence.  The judge also sets the exact amount of a 
fine, up to the limits listed below.  Some crimes have a 
mandatory minimum sentence or a minimum sentence 
higher than the minimum term specified in the table.  
Repeated or persistent offenses may result in a higher 
maximum than specified here. 
 
Classification 
   of Crime      Imprisonment                  Fine 
 
Capital felony     execution or life              — 
Class A felony (murder)     25 to 60 years       up to  $20,000 
Class A felony     10 to 25 years       up to    20,000 
Class B felony     1 to 20 years       up to    15,000 
Class C felony     1 to 10 years       up to    10,000 
Class D felony     1 to 5 years       up to      5,000 
Class A misdemeanor     up to 1 year       up to      2,000 
Class B misdemeanor     up to 6 months       up to      1,000 
Class C misdemeanor     up to 3 months       up to         500 
 
Violations 
 

CGS § 53a-43 authorizes the Superior Court to fix 
fines for violations up to a maximum of $500 unless the 
amount of the fine is specified in the statute establishing 
the violation.  CGS § 54-195 requires the court to 
impose a fine of up to $100 on anyone convicted of 
violating any statute without a specified penalty. 

A violation is not a crime.  Most statutory 
violations are subject to Infractions Bureau procedures 
which allow the accused to pay the fine by mail without 
making a court appearance.  As with an infraction, the 
bureau will enter a nolo contendere (no contest) plea on 
behalf of anyone who pays a fine in this way.  The plea 
is inadmissible in any criminal or civil court proceeding 
against the accused. 

Infractions 
 

Infractions are punishable by fines, usually set by 
Superior Court judges, of between $35 and $90, plus a 
$20 or $35 surcharge and an additional fee based on the 
amount of the fine. There may be other added charges 
depending upon the type of infraction. For example, 
certain motor vehicle infractions trigger a 
Transportation Fund surcharge of 50% of the fine. With 
the various additional charges the total amount due can 
be over $300 but often is less than $100. 

An infraction is not a crime; and violators and can 
pay the fine by mail without making a court appearance. 
 
Larceny 
 

There are six different classifications of larceny, 
generally depending on the value of the property 
illegally obtained. 
 
Degree of                   Amount of 
Larceny                Property Involved        Classification 
 
First Degree Over $20,000 Class B felony 
Second Degree Over 10,000 Class C felony 
Third Degree Over 2,000 Class D felony 
Fourth Degree Over 1,000 Class A 
misdemeanor 
Fifth Degree Over 500 Class B 
misdemeanor 
Sixth Degree    $500 or less     Class C 
misdemeanor 
 

ii 
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PA 09-1, June Special Session—SB 1801 (VETOED) 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE STATE BUDGET 
FOR THE BIENNIUM ENDING JUNE 30, 2011, 
AND MAKING APPROPRIATIONS THEREFORE 

SUMMARY: This act appropriates funds for state 
agencies and programs for FY 10 and FY 11 from the 
General Fund, the Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan 
Fund, and the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund. It 
carries forward unspent appropriations from prior years 
and directs funds to be spent for specific programs and 
purposes. In addition, among other things, it: 

1. requires the Office of Policy and Management 
(OPM) secretary to recommend a total of $120 
million in annual reductions in personal 
services, other expenses, and state contracts in 
FY 10 and FY 11;  

2. gives the governor authority to transfer funds 
among agencies to achieve mandated savings, 
take advantage of available federal funding, or 
implement specified programs;  

3. specifies each town’s Education Cost Sharing 
(ECS) grant for FY 10 and FY 11;  

4. prohibits the governor from reducing the 
Judicial Branch’s requested budget;  

5. limits the governor’s unilateral authority to 
reduce allotments of appropriated funds to the 
legislative and judicial branches; and  

6. eliminates the authority of six legislative 
commissions over their personnel and staffing.  

The act also increases taxes and makes other 
revenue changes affecting FY 09, FY 10, and FY 11. It 
(1) increases taxes on personal income, cigarettes, and 
tobacco products; (2) imposes temporary surcharges on 
corporation and estate taxes; (3) eliminates and 
restructures business tax credits and exemptions; (4) 
imposes a $3 per-tire fee on the sale of tires; and (5) 
increases the annual fee payable by state marshals. It 
also:  

1. authorizes the state to issue economic recovery 
notes, payable over seven years, to cover the 
FY 09 General Fund deficit and two years of 
interest on the notes; 

2. transfers funds from the Budget Reserve Fund 
to General Fund revenue for FY 10 and FY 11; 

3. requires the state treasurer and the OPM 
secretary to formulate a plan to finance up to 
$335 million in net state revenue for FY 11, 
including possibly by borrowing against 
(“securitizing”) future state lottery revenue; 
and 

 
 
 

4. requires these two officials to formulate a plan 
to sell state assets to raise up to $10 million in 
net revenue for FY 11 and up to $102.5 million 
in FY 12. 

Finally, for FY 09 through FY 11, the act exempts 
Bridgeport from a statutory requirement that it annually 
contribute the actuarially required amount to a pension 
plan funded with pension deficit funding bonds; 
requires the city to propose acceptable funding plans for 
those years to the OPM secretary and the state treasurer; 
and if the two officials do not approve the city’s plans, 
to contribute at least $4 million per year to the pension 
plan. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009, unless otherwise 
noted below. 

§§1-6 — FY 10 AND FY 11 APPROPRIATIONS 

The act appropriates funds for state agencies and 
programs from the General Fund, Mashantucket Pequot 
and Mohegan Fund, and Criminal Injuries 
Compensation Fund for FY 10 and FY 11. Annual 
appropriations from each fund are shown in Table 1. 

 
Table 1: FY 10 and FY 11 Appropriations by Fund 

 
Net Appropriation §§ Fund 

FY 10 FY 11 
1, 4 General Fund $17,528,437,382 $18,047,806,627 
2, 5 Mashantucket 

Pequot and 
Mohegan Fund 

61,779,907 61,779,907 

3, 6 Criminal Injuries 
Compensation 
Fund 

3,407,410 3,683,598 

 
§7 — BIRTH-TO-THREE PROGRAM 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act requires the State 
Department of Education (SDE) to annually transfer $1 
million of the federal special education funds it receives 
to the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) for 
the Birth-to-Three Program to carry out special 
education-related requirements consistent with the 
federal special education law. 

§ 8 — WACE TECHNICAL TRAINING CENTER 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act exempts WACE 
Technical Training Center in Waterbury from statutory 
requirements for adult education grants and allows it to 
spend up to $300,000 of its grant in each year for 
technical training.  
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§ 9 — PRIORITY SCHOOL DISTRICT GRANTS 

The act distributes the priority school district grant 
appropriation to state education programs as shown 
below. 
 

Table 2: Priority School District Grant Allocations 
 

Grant FY 10 FY 11 
Priority School Districts $41,413,547 $41,413,547 
School Readiness 69,813,190 69,813,190 
Extended School Building 
Hours 

2,994,752 2,994,752 

School Accountability 3,499,699 3,499,699 
 
§ 10 — PRIVATE OCCUPATIONAL SCHOOL 
STUDENT PROTECTION ACCOUNT 

Despite statutory restrictions on such spending, the 
act allows the Department of Higher Education (DHE) 
to spend $245,000 in FY 10 and $257,000 in FY 11 
from the private occupational school student protection 
account.  

 
§ 11 — CONNECTICUT INDEPENDENT COLLEGE 
STUDENT GRANT PROGRAM 

The law requires independent colleges and 
universities to award aid to individual students under the 
Connecticut Independent College Student Grant 
(CICSG) Program based on the U.S. Department of 
Education’s need analysis system. For FY 10 and FY 
11, the act prohibits any independent college or 
university from receiving its annual CICSG allocation if 
it (1) meets students’ full financial needs and (2) uses a 
need analysis system that results in determinations of 
need for individual students that are greater than the 
federal system.  

The act requires DHE to redistribute two-thirds of 
the unallocated CISCG funds in FY 10 and FY 11 to all 
other eligible independent colleges and universities, 
using the statutory formula. DHE must set aside the 
remaining one-third and transfer up to $500,000 per 
year to Opportunities for Veterinary Medicine in FY 10 
and FY 11. 
 
§§ 12-14 & 19-23 — FUNDS CARRIED FORWARD  

The act carries forward various unspent balances 
from prior years’ appropriations and requires them to be 
used for the same purpose in FY 10 or in both FY 10 
and FY 11, rather than lapsing at the end of FY 09 (see 
Table 3). 
 

 
 
 

Table 3: Funds Carried Forward the Same Purpose 
 

§ Agency Purpose Amount To FY 
12 Motor 

Vehicles 
Commercial 
Vehicle 
Information 
Systems and 
Networks project 

Unspent 
balance 

2010 
2011 

13 (a) Motor 
Vehicles 

Upgrading 
registration and 
drivers’ license 
data processing 
systems 

Unspent 
balance 

2010 
2011 

13 (b) Motor 
Vehicles 

Upgrading 
registration and 
drivers’ license 
data processing 
systems 

Up to $7 
million 

2010 
2011 

13 (c) Motor 
Vehicles 

Upgrading 
registration and 
drivers’ license 
data processing 
systems 

Up to $8.5 
million 

2010 
2011 

14 (a) Banking Improvements 
associated with 
the new office 
lease 

Up to 
$750,000 

2010 

14 (b) Banking Improvements 
associated with 
the new office 
lease 

Up to 
$250,000 

2010 

19 (a)   Collective 
bargaining and 
related costs 
appropriated in 
the 2008-2009 
state budget 

Unspent 
balance as 
determined 
by the 
OPM 
secretary 

2010 
2011 

19 (b)  Collective 
bargaining and 
related costs 
appropriated for 
FY 10 in the act 

Unspent 
balance as 
determined 
by the 
OPM 
secretary 

2011 

20 OPM Other expenses – 
for a health care 
and pension 
consulting 
contract 

Unspent 
balance 

2010 
2011 

21 OPM Other expenses – 
to prevent 
potential base 
closures 

Up to 
$50,000 

2010 

23 OPM (1) Design and 
implementation of 
a comprehensive, 
state-wide 
information 
technology 
system for 
sharing criminal 
justice 
information and 
(2) costs related 
to the Criminal 
Justice 
Information 
System 
Governing Board 

Unspent 
balance 

2010 
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The act also carries forward to FY 10 the unspent 
balance of an appropriation to OPM for licensing and 
permitting fees. It transfers the money to the 
Department of Information Technology to implement a 
common licensing and permit issuance service for state 
agencies (§ 22). 
 
§ 15 — NEIGHBORHOOD YOUTH CENTER 
GRANTS 

The act requires OPM to use amounts from its FY 
10 and FY 11 appropriation for Neighborhood Youth 
Centers as follows: (1) a $1 million grant to the Boys’ 
and Girls’ Clubs of Connecticut contingent on the 
organization providing a 100% cash match and (2) a 
$200,000 grant to Centro San Jose, Hill Cooperative 
Youth, and Central YMCA in New Haven, contingent 
on the organizations’ matching at least 50%, with a cash 
match of at least 25%, of the grant amount. 
 
§ 16 — PILOT ASTHMA AWARENESS PROGRAM 

The act transfers $150,000 from the Tobacco and 
Heath Trust Fund for FY 10 to the Department of Public 
Health (DPH) for a pilot asthma awareness program. 
 
§ 17 — ENERGY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

The act requires the unspent balance of an $8.5 
million appropriation to OPM that was carried forward 
to FY 10 in PA 09-2 for an emergency energy assistance 
program to be available between July 1, 2009 and June 
30, 2010. Under PA 09-2 and this act, the program must 
assist Connecticut households with incomes between 
150% and 200% of the applicable federal poverty level 
that cannot make timely payments on deliverable fuel, 
electricity, or natural gas bills. The program requires 
Operation Fuel, a nonprofit organization that serves 
people who are not eligible for publicly funded energy 
assistance, to pay assistance directly to fuel vendors, 
electric or gas companies, or municipal electric or gas 
utilities.  

§ 18 — TRANSFERS TO THE RESERVE FOR 
SALARY ADJUSTMENTS 

The act allows the governor to recommend, and the 
Finance Advisory Committee (FAC) to approve, 
transfers of FY 10 and FY 11 General and 
Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan Fund 
appropriations for personal services to the reserve for 
salary adjustments account to more accurately reflect 
the impact of collective bargaining and related costs. 
The governor can make transfers from the reserve and 
add amounts from special funds as needed to implement 
salary increases; other employee benefits; costs, 
including accrual payments, related to staff reductions; 

agency personal services reductions; or other personal 
services adjustments this act or any other law 
authorizes. 

 
§ 24 — UNEMPLOYMENT TRUST FUND 
ALLOCATIONS 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act appropriates $30 
million from Connecticut’s account in the federal 
Unemployment Trust Fund to the Labor Department. 
The money must be spent in accordance with the federal 
unemployment compensation law. For FY 10, the act 
allocates up to $12 million of that amount to the 
department’s administrative infrastructure with a 
maximum of $7 million earmarked for improving its 
information technology systems. For FY 11, the 
administrative infrastructure allocation is up to $18 
million, with a maximum of $13 million for improving 
information technology systems.  

 
§ 25 — NEWBORN SCREENING ACCOUNT 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act allocates $800,000 
annually, rather than the statutorily required $500,000, 
to the General Fund’s newborn screening account. The 
funding comes from fees the DPH charges institutions 
for comprehensive newborn testing, parent counseling, 
and treatment. DPH must use the money (1) to buy 
upgraded screening technology and (2) for its testing 
expenses.  

 
§ 26 — STEM CELL RESEARCH FUND 

The act allows the DPH commissioner to use up to 
$200,000 per year from the Stem Cell Research Fund in 
FY 10 and FY 11 for administrative expenses. 
 
§§ 27 & 28 — PRE-TRIAL ALCOHOL SUBSTANCE 
ABUSE PROGRAM FUNDING 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act earmarks the 
following annual amounts from the Department of 
Mental Health and Addiction Services’ (DMHAS) 
appropriations for the Pre-Trial Alcohol Substance 
Abuse Program: (1) up to $1.1 million in each year for 
regional action councils and (2) up to $510,000 in each 
year for the Governor’s Partnership to Protect 
Connecticut’s Workforce. 
 
§ 29 — DSS DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE (DSH) 
PAYMENTS TO DMHAS HOSPITALS 

The act requires DSS to spend money appropriated 
to it for FY 10 and FY 11 for DMHAS/Medicaid 
Disproportionate Share payments only when, and in the 
amounts, OPM specifies. DSS must make payments to 
DMHAS hospitals for operating expenses and related 
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fringe benefits. Hospitals must reimburse the 
comptroller from the fringe benefit payments and 
deposit the other funds to “grants – other than federal 
accounts.” Unspent DSH funds in the “grants” account 
must lapse at the end of each fiscal year. 

§§ 30 & 31 — UCONN HEALTH CENTER AND 
VETERANS’ AFFAIRS DSH TRANSFERS 

The act allows the OPM secretary to transfer all or 
part of any FY 10 or FY 11 appropriation for the UConn 
Health Center or the Department of Veterans’ Affairs to 
DSS’ DSH-Medical Emergency Assistance account in 
order to maximize federal reimbursement.  

§ 32 — INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY 
REDUCTION 

The act requires the OPM secretary to reduce 
agency allotments for information technology systems 
and services by $30,836,354 for FY 10 and $31,718,598 
for FY 11. 
 
§ 33 — NONFORMULARY DRUG APPEAL 
PROCESS FOR CLIENTS ELIGIBLE FOR BOTH 
MEDICAID AND MEDICARE PART D 

The act requires the DSS commissioner to report to 
the Appropriations and Human Services committees by 
September 1, 2009, a description of revisions to its 
nonformulary exception review and appeals process for 
clients who are eligible for both Medicaid and Medicare 
Part D. (Nonformulary drugs are drugs that are not on 
the list of drugs pre-approved for reimbursement under 
a Medicaid or Medicare Part D plan. Costs for such 
drugs may be reimbursed through exceptions after 
appeals.) In addition, the report must explain DSS’ 
revised process for (1) determining whether a 
nonformulary drug is medically necessary before 
pursuing appeals with private plans and (2) requiring a 
third appeal through the Center for Medicaid Advocacy 
before it pays for such a drug. 
 
§ 34 — SUPPORTIVE HOUSING FOR FAMILIES 
PROGRAM 

The act requires the Department of Children and 
Families (DCF)’s Supportive Housing for Families 
program to prioritize the families who enroll in the 
program after July 1, 2009 to maximize the number of 
such families in the program that have a child in an out-
of-home placement and are likely to be reunified. It 
requires the DCF commissioner to report to the 
Appropriations and Human Services committees by 
January 1, 2010, on how the department will use 
funding for the program to give priority to such families 
undergoing reunification. The report must include the 

number of children the program serves and the number 
later returned to state care. 
 
§ 35 — GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY OVER 
JUDICIAL BRANCH BUDGET  

The act prohibits the governor from reducing the 
Judicial Branch’s proposed budget. It requires the OPM 
secretary to include in the proposed budget documents 
that OPM submits to the legislature the estimates of 
expenditure requirements, together with any 
recommended adjustments and revisions, that OPM 
receives from the Judicial Branch’s administrative head. 
It also bars the governor from reducing the Judicial 
Branch’s allotment requisitions or allotments in force. 
 
§ 36 — PERSONAL SERVICES, OTHER EXPENSES, 
AND STATE CONTRACTS 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act requires the OPM 
secretary to recommend ways to reduce the following 
types of spending by the following annual amounts: 

1. $14 million for personal services, 
2. $11 million for other expenses, and 
3. $95 million for contracts and personal service 

agreements. 
It exempts the higher education constituent units from 
the recommended personal services or other expense 
expenditure reductions and requires recommended 
reductions in contracting and personal service 
agreements to exclude those for providing direct 
programs and health services to consumers. 

The secretary must submit a plan detailing the 
recommended reductions to the Appropriations 
Committee through the Office of Fiscal Analysis by 
August 1, 2009. The plan takes effect 30 days after the 
committee receives it unless the committee rejects or 
modifies it. If the committee modifies the plan, the 
secretary must implement it as modified. If the 
committee rejects the plan, the act requires the secretary 
to submit a revised plan within 30 days after the 
rejection. If the committee rejects the revised plan, the 
secretary must continue to submit new plans every 30 
days until approved. 
 
§ 37 — PERSONAL SERVICES SAVINGS  

 The act allows the governor, with FAC approval, 
to modify or reduce allotment requisitions from FY 10 
and FY 11 appropriations to achieve the reductions in 
personal services costs required by this act, any other 
public or special act, or any collective bargaining 
agreement. 
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§ 38 — GENERAL SERVICES REVOLVING FUND 
POSITIONS 

The act limits to 124 the number of positions the 
Department of Administrative Services (DAS) may fill 
from the General Services Revolving Fund. By law, the 
fund, whose statutory name is the Department of 
Administrative Services Revolving Fund, is used to pay 
agencies’ costs for supplies, material, equipment, and 
contractual services before the comptroller finally 
determines how to allocate the expenses to particular 
agency accounts (CGS § 4a-75). 
 
§ 39 — TRANSFERS TO MAXIMIZE FEDERAL 
MATCHING FUNDS  

The act allows the governor, with FAC approval, to 
transfer all or part of an agency’s General Fund 
appropriation, at its request, to another agency to take 
advantage of federal matching funds, as long as both 
agencies certify that the receiving agency will spend the 
money for the original purpose. Federal funds generated 
from transfers can be used to reimburse General Fund 
spending, expand services, or both as the governor, with 
FAC approval, determines. 

 
§ 40 — TRANSFERS TO ALLOW RECEIPT OF 
FEDERAL STIMULUS FUNDS  

The act allows the governor, with FAC approval, to 
transfer all or part of an agency’s General Fund 
appropriation, at its request, to another agency in order 
for the state to receive federal stimulus funds under the 
2009 federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA).  

The governor must present a plan for transferring 
the funds to the Appropriations Committee and the 
legislative committee with jurisdiction over the 
transferring agency. Both committees must approve, 
modify, or reject the plan within 15 days after they 
receive it. If the committees cannot agree or if they fail 
to act within the required time, the governor’s plan is 
considered approved. If the governor’s plan is approved, 
the Appropriations Committee must ask the FAC to 
approve the plan. 

§ 41 — FUNDING ADJUSTMENTS TO MAXIMIZE 
FEDERAL FUNDING 

The act allows the governor, with FAC approval, to 
adjust an agency’s General Fund appropriation to 
maximize federal funding to the state. The governor 
must present a plan for the adjustment to the 
Appropriations and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees. The committees must approve, modify, or 
reject the governor’s plan within 30 days after they 
receive it. If the committees cannot agree or if they fail 

to act within the required time, the governor’s plan is 
considered approved. If the governor’s plan is approved, 
the Appropriations Committee must ask the FAC to 
approve the plan. 

§ 42 — FEDERAL REIMBURSEMENT FOR DSS 
DATA WAREHOUSE PROJECT 

In compliance with an advanced planning 
document for developing a data warehouse approved by 
the federal Department of Health and Human Services, 
the act authorizes DSS to establish a “receivable” 
(presumably, a receivable account) for FY 10 and FY 11 
for the anticipated reimbursement from the data 
warehouse project. 

§ 43 — AUTHORITY FOR ADVANCE PAYMENTS 
TO CERTAIN NURSING HOMES 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act allows the DSS 
commissioner, after consulting the OPM secretary, to 
provide payments in advance of normal bill payment 
processing to nursing homes that provide services 
eligible for payment under the medical assistance 
program. The nursing facility must ask for the advance 
payments. The act limits advances to the estimated 
amounts due the facility for services to eligible 
recipients over the most recent two months. 

The DSS commissioner must recover the advance 
either by reducing payments due the facility or through 
a cash receipt within 90 days after issuing the advance. 
The act requires the commissioner to take prudent 
measures to assure that no advances are made to nursing 
homes in danger of insolvency or bankruptcy and allows 
her to execute appropriate agreements to secure 
repayment. 

§ 44 — DCF-LICENSED PRIVATE RESIDENTIAL 
TREATMENT FACILITIES 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act eliminates per diem 
and other rate increases, as well as cost of living 
adjustments, for private residential treatment facilities 
licensed by DCF. 

 
§ 45 — FUND TRANSFERS FOR PRISONER 
REENTRY PROGRAMS 

The act allows the governor, without FAC 
approval, to transfer Department of Correction (DOC) 
General Fund appropriations for FY 10 and FY 11 as 
needed to (1) achieve budgeted savings and (2) provide 
services and programs to prepare inmates who are or 
may become eligible to participate in reentry programs. 
The latter purpose includes providing adequate 
community supervision for participating inmates. The 
DOC commissioner must submit a report by August 1, 
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2009, to the Appropriations and Judiciary committees 
that (1) outlines the policies needed to achieve the 
budgeted savings and the projected shift in resources 
and (2) estimates how many inmates are affected by 
such programs (presumably reentry programs). 
Thereafter, the commissioner must submit quarterly 
reports on her implementation of these policies. 
 
§ 46 — COMMISSION ON ENHANCING AGENCY 
OUTCOMES 

PA 09-2 established the 17-member commission to 
determine if there are agency duplications or functional 
overlaps and make other recommendations it considers 
appropriate. PA 09-2 required the commission to report 
its findings and recommendations to the governor, 
House speaker, and Senate president pro tem by July 1, 
2009 and terminated the commission when it submits its 
report or on July 1, 2009, whichever is later. This act 
extends the commission until December 31, 2011, 
makes its July 1, 2009 report an interim one, and 
requires it to submit additional reports periodically. 
 
§ 47 — GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY TO REDUCE 
ALLOTMENTS OR ALLOTMENT REQUISITIONS 
BY LEGISLATIVE AND JUDICIAL BRANCH 
AGENCIES 

The act bars the governor from unilaterally 
reducing an allotment of appropriated funds currently in 
force for, or an allotment of appropriated funds 
requisitioned by, any legislative or judicial branch 
agency. Instead, it allows the governor to recommend an 
aggregate allotment reduction for the legislative or 
judicial branch. It allows the Joint Committee on 
Legislative Management or the chief court administrator 
to achieve the reduction in their discretion and as the 
committee or the administrator determines.  

Under prior law, the governor, under certain 
conditions, could unilaterally reduce allotments and 
allotment requisitions for legislative and judicial branch 
appropriations by a maximum of 5% of any 
appropriation and 3% of the total appropriations from 
any fund. 
 
§§ 48 & 49 — PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES TO 
CERTAIN TOWNS 

The act requires the state to make the following 
payments in lieu of taxes (PILOT) in FY 10: 

1. $100,000 to East Lyme for the U.S. Navy’s 
Dodge Pond Acoustic Measurement Facility 
and 

2. $400,000 to Mansfield for the Fenton River 
Watershed for the Mansfield Hollow Dam. 

§ 50 — FILLING STATE EMPLOYEE POSITIONS 

Unless the governor recommends it and the FAC 
approves, the act limits the number of positions state 
agencies may fill to the number recommended by the 
Appropriations Committee as revised by the General 
Assembly and set out in the Office of Fiscal Analysis 
(OFA) report on the state budget. 

§ 51 — CHRONIC GAMBLERS TREATMENT AND 
REHABILITATION 

The act temporarily increases, by $400,000 per 
year, the annual amount of lottery ticket sales revenue 
the Connecticut Lottery Corporation must transfer to the 
chronic gamblers treatment and rehabilitation account. 
For FY 10 and FY 11, it requires the corporation to 
transfer $1.9 million per year rather than $1.5 million. 
Starting in FY 12, the act resumes annual transfers at 
$1.5 million. The funds in the account are used for 
preventing chronic gambling and treating and 
rehabilitating chronic gamblers.  

§ 52 — ENHANCED E-9-1-1 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS FUND 

In FY 10 and FY 11, the act allocates $541,982 
from the fund each year for the regional emergency 
medical services councils. 
 
§ 53 — EASY BREATHING PROGRAM 

The act transfers $800,000 annually in FY 10 and 
FY 11 from the Tobacco and Health Trust Fund to DPH 
for the Easy Breathing Program. Of this amount, it 
allocates $300,000 for the adult asthma program and 
$500,000 for the children’s asthma program. It also 
requires DSS to require use of the Easy Breathing 
program model in the HUSKY Program. 

§ 54 — TRANSFERS TO IMPLEMENT JUVENILE 
JUSTICE SERVICES CONSOLIDATION 

The act allows the governor, with FAC approval, to 
transfer positions or funds from DCF to the Court 
Support Services Division during FY 10 to implement 
the consolidation of certain juvenile justice services in 
the division as of January 1, 2010. 
 
§ 55 — STATE CONTRIBUTION FOR RETIRED 
TEACHERS’ HEALTH COVERAGE 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act suspends the statutory 
requirement that the state appropriate one-third of the 
cost of premiums for the basic health coverage plan the 
Teachers’ Retirement Board (TRB) must offer to retired 
teachers participating in Medicare and one-third of the 
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cost of the state subsidy for local board of education 
health plans covering retired teachers not participating 
in Medicare. Instead, for FY 10 and FY 11, it requires 
the OPEB (Other Post-Employment Benefits) Teacher’s 
Fund to pay two-thirds of the cost of the basic TRB plan 
and the full cost of the health subsidy to local boards. 
The OPEB Teacher’s Fund consists of active teachers’ 
total annual health contributions in excess of $500,000 
and investment earnings on the fund balance. Active 
teachers contribute 1.25% their annual salary for retired 
teachers’ health insurance coverage. 
 
§ 56 — MEDICARE WAIVER OVERSIGHT 
COMMITTEE 

The act establishes a 10-member committee to 
advise DSS on developing and implementing federal 
Medicaid waivers. The committee consists of three 
members each appointed by the DSS, DMHAS, and 
DPH commissioners, and the healthcare advocate or the 
advocate’s designee. The commissioners’ appointees 
must have experience and expertise in matters relating 
to medical treatment and Medicaid benefits. 

The commissioners must make their appointments 
within 30 days after the act’s passage. Vacancies are 
filled by appointing authorities. The DSS commissioner 
selects the chairperson from among the members. The 
chairperson must schedule the committee’s first 
meeting, which must be held within 60 days after the 
act’s passage. DSS administrative staff serves as the 
committee’s administrative staff. 

The act requires the committee to file annual 
reports, starting by January 1, 2010, on its findings and 
recommendations. The reports are submitted to the 
governor and the Public Health and Human Services 
committees. 
 
§ 57 — FUND TRANSFERS RELATING TO 
INMATE TRANSPORTATION 

The act allows the OPM secretary to transfer DOC 
appropriations for FY 10 and FY 11 to the Judicial 
Department as necessary to achieve efficiencies in 
inmate transportation. The secretary may make the 
transfers without prior approval from the FAC. 
 
§ 58 — STATE POLICE SUBSISTENCE EXPENSES 

The act restores a requirement, eliminated in PA 
09-2, that the state pay subsistence for state police 
personnel and reimburse them for expenses incurred in 
the performance of their official duties. It repeals a 
requirement that, beginning April 1, 2009, the state pay 
meal allowances only for Department of Public Safety 
employees covered by a collective bargaining 
agreement requiring the allowance.  

§ 59 — CONNECTICUT HEALTH INFORMATION 
NETWORK 

The act transfers $500,000 each year for FY 10 and 
FY 11 from the Tobacco and Health Trust Fund to the 
UConn Health Center for the Connecticut Health 
Information Network. 
 
§ 60 — AIDS INTERFAITH NETWORK 

The act earmarks $100,000 of the DPH’s FY 10 
General Fund appropriation for AIDS Services for a 
grant to the AIDS Interfaith Network for capacity 
building and technical assistance. 
 
§§ 61 & 62 — AGRICULTURAL PROGRAM 
ALLOCATIONS FROM THE COMMUNITY 
INVESTMENT ACCOUNT  

PA 09-229 temporarily increased a fee for each 
document recorded in municipalities' land records from 
$30 to $40. This act changes the effective date of the 
increase from the date of PA 09-229’s passage (June 3, 
2009) to July 1, 2009. The fee increase is effective until 
July 1, 2011. 

By law, municipalities retain $4 of the fee and must 
send the balance to the state for deposit to the 
Community Investment account. Money from the 
account is distributed quarterly to the Commission on 
Culture and Tourism, the Connecticut Housing Finance 
Authority, the Department of Environmental Protection, 
and the Department of Agriculture (DOAg). These 
agencies must use the funds for purposes specified in 
the law. PA 09-229 temporarily altered the distribution 
of fund revenues among these agencies, increasing 
DOAg’s share from 25% to 40% and reducing those of 
the other agencies from 25% to 20% each. These shares 
apply from PA 09-229’s passage date until July 1, 2011.  

During the period DOAg is receiving the 40% share 
of the funding, this act requires it to also make the 
required distributions to the specified agricultural 
programs quarterly instead of annually as shown in 
Table 4. Each year’s total quarterly allocations under 
the act are the same as the annual amounts for the same 
program specified under PA 09-229. 
 

Table 4: Agriculture Program Allocations 
 

Program PA 09-229 - 
Annually 

This Act - 
Quarterly 

Agricultural viability grant 
program 

$500,000 $125,000 

Farm transition program 500,000 125,000 
Encouraging sale of 
Connecticut-grown food  

100,000 25,000 

Connecticut farm link 
program 

75,000 18,750 
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Program PA 09-229 - 
Annually 

This Act - 
Quarterly 

Agricultural sustainability 
account (grants to milk 
producers) 

Remaining 
amount 
distributed 
annually 

Remaining 
amount 
distributed 
each quarter 

 
§ 63 – BRIDGEPORT PENSION PLAN FUNDING 

For FY 09 through FY 11, the act exempts a city 
(1) with a population greater than 130,000 and (2) that 
has issued pension deficit funding bonds, from a 
statutory requirement to appropriate money for, or 
contribute to, the pension plan funded with the bond 
proceeds. Only Bridgeport meets these qualifications.  

The act requires the city, by May 31, 2009, to 
submit to the OPM secretary and the state treasurer a 
plan acceptable to them for funding the pension plan for 
FY 09. The city must also submit acceptable plans to 
the secretary and the treasurer for funding the pension 
plan for FY 10 and FY 11, by August 1, 2010 and 
August 1, 2011, respectively.  

In each year the secretary and the treasurer fail to 
approve the city’s plans, the city must contribute at least 
$4 million to the pension plan. 

State law allows municipalities to issue pension 
deficit funding bonds to fund unfunded past pension 
obligations. If a municipality issues such bonds, it must 
ordinarily contribute at least the actuarially required 
amount to its pension plan in each fiscal year that it has 
outstanding pension deficit funding bonds for the plan 
(CGS § 7-364c (c) (3)). 
 
§ 64 — FUNDS TO EXPAND CHARTER SCHOOLS 

When distributing grants to expand the number of 
grades at a state charter school that, the education 
commissioner has determined, will assist the state to 
meet the goals of the 2008 Sheff desegregation 
stipulation and court order, the act requires the 
commissioner to use only funds appropriated to SDE for 
the Sheff settlement. 
 
§§ 65-70 — STAFF FOR LEGISLATIVE 
COMMISSIONS 

The act eliminates the authority for six legislative 
commissions to employ necessary staff as well as their 
authority over staffing and personnel. Instead, it 
requires that (1) each commission have an executive 
director and (2) the director and any necessary 
commission staff be employed by the Legislative 
Management Committee. The act applies to the: 

1. Latino and Puerto Rican Affairs Commission, 
2. African American Affairs Commission, 
3. Asian Pacific American Affairs Commission,  
 

4. Permanent Commission on the Status of 
Women,  

5. Commission on Children, and 
6. Commission on Aging. 
The act also eliminates a requirement that the first 

three of the above-listed commissions employ their staff 
in accordance with the State Personnel Act. The State 
Personnel Act governs the state’s classified service and 
requires agencies to use merit principles in hiring and 
employment. By law, legislative employees are exempt 
from the classified service (CGS § 5-198).  
 
§ 71 — EDUCATION COST SHARING (ECS) 
GRANTS TO TOWNS 

The act overrides the statutory formula for 
calculating ECS grants and specifies each town’s ECS 
grant for FY 10 and FY 11. Under the act, each town’s 
grant is the same for both years. 
 
§ 72 — POLICE OFFICER STANDARDS AND 
TRAINING (POST) COUNCIL  

The act transfers the POST’s administrative 
functions to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and 
requires the department to provide the administrative 
assistance the council requires to maintain independent 
operations. Under prior law, the council was part of 
DPS for administrative purposes only. The act specifies 
that the POST Council remains solely responsible for its 
own operations and programs. 

The POST Council establishes standards and 
provides training for police officers. It also establishes 
standards for, and accredits, law enforcement units in 
the state. 
 
§ 73 — PLAN FOR BORROWING AGAINST 
FUTURE STATE REVENUE 

The act requires the state treasurer and the OPM 
secretary jointly to develop a financing plan to raise up 
to $335 million in net general state revenue for FY 11. 
The plan can include “securitization” of revenue from 
the state lottery; issuing bonds and other debt 
instruments or placing them privately; or the purchase 
of state debt instruments by public pension and trust 
funds, such as the state, municipal employees’, and 
teachers’ retirement funds. “Securitization” allows the 
state to borrow against a future revenue stream. 

The treasurer and secretary must finish the plan and 
provide it to the chairpersons of the Appropriations and 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding committees by February 
3, 2010. 
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§ 74 — MARSHAL FEE INCREASE 

Starting October 1, 2009, the act increases the 
annual fee each state marshal must pay from $250 to 
$750. The fee is payable by October 1 each year to the 
State Marshal Commission and is deposited in the 
General Fund. 

§ 75 — DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
DEADLINES FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS  

The act requires the DSS commissioner to send any 
subpoena, summons, warrant, or court order related to 
department-initiated proceedings to a state marshal for 
service if (1) no action has been taken on it within the 
preceding 14 days and (2) the underlying proceedings 
are unresolved. In addition, to resolve any backlog, the 
act requires that, starting August 1, 2009, the 
commissioner forward up to 150 such documents per 
month to state marshals for service, if no action has 
been taken on them within the preceding 30 days. 

§§ 77 & 86 — CORPORATION TAX SURCHARGE 

The act imposes a 25% corporation tax surcharge 
for income years beginning in 2009, 2010, and 2011. 
Companies must calculate their surcharges based on 
their tax liability excluding any credits. The surcharge is 
due, payable, and collectible as part of each company’s 
total tax for the year.  

The surcharge applies to all companies that pay the 
tax, except those owing only the $250 minimum. It 
applies both to companies that pay the tax on their net 
income and those that pay on their capital base.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 and applicable to 
income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§§ 76, 78 & 79 — CORPORATION TAX 
PROVISIONS FOR DOMESTIC INTERNATIONAL 
SERVICE COMPANIES  

The act eliminates a corporation tax exemption for 
companies that qualify under the federal tax code as 
domestic international service companies (DISCs) as 
well as a deduction for dividends received from DISCs. 
It also requires companies to include receipts from sales 
of tangible personal property to DISCs in their total 
gross receipts for interstate apportionment purposes. 

Under the federal tax code, companies that meet 
certain conditions (see BACKGROUND) and receive 
most of their income from qualified export, can elect to 
be treated as interest charge DISCs (IC-DISCs) for 
federal tax purposes. Unlike most corporations, IC-
DISCs are not generally subject to federal tax on their 
income. Instead, their shareholders pay taxes on the 
income when it is actually distributed, but federal law 
allows the taxes on those distributions to be deferred if 

the shareholders pay annual interest on the deferred 
amounts. The IRS establishes the annual interest rate 
based on the 12-month Treasury bill interest rate 
(Internal Revenue Code, §§ 992; 995(f)). 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 and applicable to 
income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§§ 78 & 96 — FEDERAL DOMESTIC PRODUCTION 
ACTIVITY DEDUCTION 

The act bars companies and individuals from using 
the federal tax deduction for domestic production 
activity when determining their taxable income for the 
state’s corporation and income taxes. 

Federal tax law allows corporations, individuals, 
and pass-through companies to deduct a percentage of 
qualifying income they earn from eligible production 
activities taking place wholly or mostly within the 
United States. Eligible production activity includes 
manufacturing, construction, engineering, energy 
production, computer software, films and videotape, and 
agricultural products processing. The percentage 
deduction is 6% for 2008 and 2009 and 9% for 2010 
and after (Internal Revenue Code § 199). 

The act requires (1) corporations to exclude the 
domestic production activity deduction when 
calculating net income for purposes of the state 
corporation tax and (2) individuals to add back any such 
deduction included in their federal AGI when 
calculating Connecticut AGI for state income tax 
purposes.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009. The corporation tax 
change applies to income years starting on or after 
January 1, 2009 and the income tax change applies to 
tax years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§ 80 — TAX CREDIT FOR DONATING OPEN 
SPACE 

The law provides a credit against the corporation 
tax for donations or discounted sales of open space land 
or interests in land to the state, a political subdivision, or 
a nonprofit land conservation organization when the 
land will be permanently preserved as open space. The 
credit equals 50% of the (1) donated land’s market 
value at its highest and best use or (2) value of the 
discounted sales price of the land or interest in the land.  

The act extends the period for which a company 
may carry forward unused credits from 15 to 25 years. 
As under prior law, the carry-forward applies only to 
credits allowed for any tax year starting on or after 
January 1, 2000. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 and applicable to 
income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 
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§§ 81-85 & 110 — FILM AND DIGITAL 
ANIMATION PRODUCTION AND 
INFRASTRUCTURE INVESTMENT TAX CREDITS 

Credit Administration 

The law establishes tax credits against the 
corporation and insurance premium taxes for film and 
digital animation production and infrastructure 
investment related to both. The act transfers the 
administration of the credits from the Connecticut 
Commission on Culture and Tourism (CCCT) to the 
Department of Economic and Community Development 
(DECD). It transfers to DECD the CCCT’s powers and 
duties concerning digital media and motion picture 
promotion activities. It also requires state agencies and 
institutions that contract for digital media or film 
productions to send copies of their requests for 
proposals to DECD, rather than CCCT. 

Interim Film Production Tax Credit. The act 
eliminates a company’s ability to obtain an interim film 
production tax credit. It does this by eliminating the 
process that allows a company to apply for a tax credit 
voucher while a production is in progress, starting three 
months after submitting its eligibility application, for its 
expenses up to that time. It continues to allow a 
production company to apply for and receive credits on 
an annual basis or after it incurs its last production 
expense.  

Cost Certification. A film production or digital 
animation company must provide independent 
certification of the amount of its production expenses 
and costs when it applies for a tax credit voucher. The 
act requires the production company to use an audit 
professional, chosen from a list DECD compiles, to 
provide the independent certification.  

Reporting Requirement. CCCT had to report to the 
General Assembly every two years on its digital media 
and movie production promotion activities, the 
economic impact of all productions, and the impact of 
each state-assisted production. The act transfers the 
reporting requirement to DECD; requires that DECD 
report annually, starting by January 1, 2010; and 
requires the department to submit the report to the 
Commerce and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees instead of the whole General Assembly. It 
eliminates a requirement that the report include the 
impact of each state-assisted production and instead 
requires that it include (1) an analysis of all three credits 
and (2) for each project or production issued a tax 
credit, (a) a description of the project, (b) the amount of 
the credit, and (c) the total production expenses or costs 
the taxpayer issued the credit incurred in the state. 

Eligible and Ineligible Production Expenses 

Minimum Qualifying Expenditure. Under prior law, 
a company was eligible for the film or digital animation 
production tax credit if it incurred at least $50,000 in 
eligible production expenses in the state. For income 
years starting January 1, 2009, the act increases the 
minimum expenditure for both credits to $1 million.  

In- and Out-of-State Expenditures. The act requires, 
for the film production tax credit, that the production 
company (1) conduct at least 50% of its principal 
photography days and (2) incur at least 50% of its 
postproduction costs within the state. 

Prior law allowed a company to count 50% of the 
production expenses it incurs outside the state and 100% 
of the expenses it incurs in the state towards the film 
production credit if they are used in the state. This 
applied from January 1, 2009 to January 1, 2012, after 
which no out-of-state expenses would count towards the 
credit. The act moves up the phase-out date, to January 
1, 2010, for out-of-state production expenses. 

Star Salaries. Under prior law, the first $15 million 
paid to a single person, or the person’s representative, 
for services on a film or digital media production 
counted as a credit-eligible expense. Anything over this 
amount did not. Starting January 1, 2009, the act limits 
credit-eligible compensation for all star talent featured 
in a film or digital media production to $20 million in 
the aggregate. 

Audit Costs. The act excludes any costs related to 
an independent audit of film or digital animation 
production project costs and expenses that DECD 
requires before certification. 

Film and Digital Animation Infrastructure Investment 
Tax Credit 

Under prior law, the credit amounts for 
infrastructure investments in the film and digital media 
industry depended on the project’s cost. Projects costing 
at least (1) $15,001 qualified for a 10% credit, (2) 
$150,000 qualified for a 15% credit, and (3) $1 million 
qualified for a 20% credit.  

Starting January 1, 2009, the act makes the credit a 
flat 20% and increases the minimum qualifying 
expenditure to $5 million. It also requires that the 
project be 100%, rather than at least 60%, complete 
before it can receive a tax credit voucher.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 and applicable to 
income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. The 
repeal of statutes to conform to the act’s transfer of the 
film responsibilities from CCCT to DECD takes effect 
upon passage. 
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§ 87 — COMBINED REPORTING PREFERENCE 
TAX  

The act increases the maximum preference tax for 
groups of companies filing combined corporation tax 
returns from $250,000 to $400,000. 

By law, any company subject to the Connecticut 
corporation tax and that is included with one or more 
affiliated corporations in a consolidated federal income 
tax return can choose to file a combined Connecticut 
return as well. The Department of Revenue Services 
(DRS) commissioner may also require a corporation to 
file a combined return with its affiliates under certain 
circumstances. In either a case, a corporate group filing 
a combined Connecticut corporation tax must pay a 
supplemental tax in addition to that calculated using the 
group’s combined net income or capital base. This so-
called “preference tax” is the difference between the 
sum of the amounts that would have been due if each 
member of the corporate group filed separately and the 
amount due under the combined return, but no more 
than a maximum amount. The act increases this 
maximum amount from $250,000 to $400,000. 

§§ 88-90 — CIGARETTE TAX 

The act increases the cigarette tax by 75 cents, from 
$2 to $2.75 per pack of 20 (from 10 cents to 13.75 cents 
per cigarette), starting July 1, 2009. 

It also imposes a 75-cent “floor tax” on each pack 
of cigarettes that dealers and distributors have in their 
inventories at the later of the close of business or 11:59 
p.m. on June 30, 2009. By August 15, 2009, each dealer 
and distributor must report to the DRS the number of 
cigarettes in inventory as of that time and date and pay 
the floor tax. If a dealer or distributor does not report by 
the due date, the DRS commissioner must file the 
report, estimating the number of cigarettes in the 
dealer’s or distributor’s inventory using any information 
the commissioner has or obtains. 

Failure to file the report by the due date is grounds 
for DRS to revoke a dealer's or distributor's license, and 
willful failure to file subjects the dealer or distributor to 
a fine of up to $1,000, one year in prison, or both. A 
dealer or distributor who willfully files a false report 
can be fined up to $5,000, sentenced to one to five years 
in prison, or both. Late filers are also subject to the 
same interest and penalties as apply to other late 
cigarette tax payments. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: The cigarette tax increase is 
effective July 1, 2009 and applicable to cigarette sales 
on or after that date. The floor tax is effective on 
passage. 

§§ 91 & 92 — TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX 
INCREASE 

The act increases the tobacco products tax from 
20% to 27.5% of the wholesale price and the tax on 
snuff tobacco from 40 cents to 55 cents per ounce. The 
tobacco products tax applies to cigars, cheroots, pipe 
tobacco, and similar products. 

The act imposes the same “floor tax” on inventory 
as the cigarette floor tax above, except that the rate is 
7.5% on the wholesale price of tobacco products and 15 
cents per ounce or a proportional share of fractional 
amounts of snuff that distributors or unclassified 
importers have in their inventories.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 and applicable to 
sales on and after that date. The floor tax is effective on 
passage. 

§ 93 — ESTATE TAX SURCHARGE 

The act imposes a 30% estate tax surcharge on the 
taxable estates of those who die in 2009, 2010, or 2011. 
The estate tax applies to taxable gifts and estates over 
$2 million. Under the act, the surcharge must be added 
to the Connecticut estate tax due and is payable in the 
same manner as the underlying tax. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 and applicable to 
estates of those who die on or after January 1, 2009. 

§ 94 — USE TAX TABLE 

The act requires the DRS commissioner to include 
a use tax table on state income tax forms. The table 
must show the Connecticut use tax rate (6% for most 
items) and the total taxes that would be due for various 
amounts spent. 

By law, when someone buys a taxable item or 
service for use in Connecticut and does not pay sales tax 
to the retailer at the time of the purchase, the buyer must 
remit the equivalent use tax directly to DRS. Use tax is 
generally remitted along with personal income tax 
payments.  

§ 95 — INCOME TAX RATE INCREASE 

The act increases income taxes for those with 
taxable incomes over $500,000 for joint filers, $265,000 
for single filers, $400,000 for heads of households, and 
$250,000 for married people filing separately. It does so 
by adding three higher-income brackets and increasing 
the marginal tax rates for income in those brackets from 
a flat 5.0% to a range of 6.0% to 7.5%. It increases the 
flat tax rate for trusts and estates from 5.0% to 7.5%. 

Table 5 shows tax rates and brackets under the prior 
law and the act. (Note: The tax rates shown apply only 
to the taxable income in the applicable bracket, not to 
all of a taxpayer’s income.)  
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Table 5: Income Tax Rates and Brackets Under Prior Law 
and The Act 

 
CT TAXABLE INCOME 

TAX RATES Married Filing 
Jointly Single 

Prior 
Law 

Act  Over But Not 
Over 

Over But Not 
Over 

3.0% 3.0% $0 $20,000 $0 $10,000 
5.0% 20,000 500,000 10,000 265,000 
6.0% 500,000 600,000 265,000 318,000 
6.5% 600,000 750,000 318,000 397,500 5.0% 

7.5% Over $750,000 Over $397,500 

TAX RATES Head of  
Household 

Married Filing  
Separately 

Prior 
Law 

Act  Over But Not 
Over 

Over But Not 
Over 

3.0% 3.0% $0 $16,000 $0 $10,000 
5.0% 16,000 400,000 10,000 250,000 
6.0% 400,000 480,000 250,000 300,000 
6.5% 480,000 600,000 300,000 375,000 5.0% 

7.5% Over $600,000 Over $375,000 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 and applicable to tax 
years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§§ 97 & 98 — DELAY IN SCHEDULED INCOME 
TAX REDUCTIONS FOR SINGLE FILERS 

The act delays scheduled income tax reductions for 
single filers for three years. It does so by delaying 
scheduled increases in (1) their adjusted gross income 
(AGI) exempt from the tax and (2) income thresholds 
for phasing out their personal exemptions and credits 
and their property tax credits. 

Personal Exemption  

The maximum personal exemption for single filers 
for the 2008 tax year was $13,000. Under prior law, the 
maximum exemption was scheduled to increase to 
$13,500 on January 1, 2009 and to rise in five more 
annual steps to $15,000 on January 1, 2012. The act 
instead maintains the $13,000 personal exemption for 
three more years, through the 2011 tax year, delaying 
the increase to $13,500 and each subsequent increase by 
three years. It also delays scheduled increases in the 
exemption reduction thresholds to correspond, as shown 
in Table 6. (The income tax personal exemption is 
reduced by $1,000 for each $1,000 of AGI over a 
specified threshold, which varies according to filing 
status.) 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Table 6: Personal Exemptions for Single Filers 
 

 
Tax Year(s) 

 
 

Old Law The Act 

Maximum 
Personal 

Exemption 
(AGI) 

Personal 
Exemption 
Reduction 
Threshold 

(AGI) 
2008 Through 2011 $13,000 $26,000 
2009 2012 13,500 27,000 
2010 2013 14,000 28,000 
2011 2014 14,500 29,000 
2012 and after 2015 and after 15,000 30,000 

 
Personal Credit  

The act also delays by three years scheduled 
increases in income ranges that allow single filers to 
qualify for personal credits against their income tax. 
Personal credits range from 1% to 75% of tax liability 
depending on AGI. Filers with AGIs above specified 
levels, which vary depending on filing status, do not 
qualify for any credit. Table 7 shows qualifying 
personal credit income ranges for single filers under 
prior law and the act. 

 
Table 7: Personal Credits for Single Filers 

 
Tax Year(s) Qualifies for 1% to 75% 

Personal Credit (AGI) 
Prior Law The Act Over But Not Over 

2008 Through 2011 $13,000 $56,500 
2009 2012 13,500 58,500 
2010 2013 14,000 60,500 
2011 2014 14,500 62,500 
2012 and after 2015 and after 15,000 64,500 

 
Property Tax Credit 

Finally, the act delays by three years scheduled 
increase in AGI ranges that allow single filers to qualify 
for property tax credits.  By law, the maximum property 
tax credit is $500.  Certain taxpayers qualify for a 
reduced credit or no credit depending on their AGI and 
filing status, with the maximum credit reduced by 10% 
for each $10,000 of AGI over the specified threshold.  
Under prior law, the AGI threshold at which a single 
filer’s maximum property tax credit starts to be reduced 
was scheduled to increase annually over the four years 
from 2008 to 2012 from $56,500 to $64,500.  This act 
delays each of these scheduled increases by three years 
as shown in Table 8. 
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Table 8: Maximum Property Tax Credits for Single 
Filers 

Tax Year (s) 
Prior Law The Act 

Maximum Property  
Tax Reduction  

Threshold (AGI) 
2008 Through 2011 $56,500 
2009 2012 58,500 
2010 2013 60,500 
2011 2014 62,500 
2012 and after 2015 and after 64,500 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 and applicable to 
income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§ 99 — TIRE FEE 

The act requires motor vehicle tire retailers to pay a 
$3 fee for each tire they sell. Such retailers must register 
with the DRS commissioner and submit quarterly 
returns, starting with the quarter beginning July 1, 2009. 
Returns are due by the last day of the month following 
the end of each quarter. Fees not paid when due are 
subject to a penalty of 10% or $50, whichever is greater, 
and interest of 1.25% per month or part of a month until 
paid. Tire fee revenue must be deposited in the General 
Fund. 

The act requires the DRS commissioner to 
distribute tire fee return forms widely in the state but 
specifies that failure to receive a form does not excuse a 
person from the obligation to pay the fee. The act 
applies to the tire fee the same administrative, audit, 
deficiency assessment, and appeal procedures as apply 
to admissions and dues taxes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 100 — PLAN TO SELL STATE ASSETS 

The act requires the state treasurer and the OPM 
secretary jointly to establish a plan to sell state assets to 
raise net general revenue of up to $10 million for FY 11 
and $102.5 million for FY 12. They must finish the plan 
and provide it to the Appropriations and Finance, 
Revenue and Bonding committee chairpersons by 
February 3, 2010. 

§ 101 — TRANSFERS FROM THE BUDGET 
RESERVE (“RAINY DAY”) FUND 

The act requires the state treasurer to transfer from 
the Budget Reserve Fund to General Fund revenue (1) 
$461.1 million for FY 10 on July 1, 2009 and (2) $920.7 
million for FY 11 on July 1, 2010. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

 

§ 102 & 103 — ECONOMIC RECOVERY NOTES 

The act authorizes the state to issue economic 
recovery notes to fund (1) the FY 09 General Fund 
deficit, (2) the interest payable or accrued on the notes 
through June 30, 2011, and (3) the costs of their 
issuance. The notes are state general obligations and 
must mature before July 1, 2016. The act exempts the 
debt attributable to the notes from the statutory limit on 
state General Fund-supported debt (see 
BACKGROUND). 

The act requires the comptroller to certify the FY 
09 deficit amount to the treasurer “promptly” after the 
act’s passage based on her most recent monthly report 
of the state’s fiscal condition. The comptroller’s 
certification provides conclusive evidence of the amount 
of economic recovery notes the treasurer can issue 
under the act. When the comptroller knows the final 
deficit, she must certify that amount to the treasurer. If 
the final amount is greater than the initial amount 
certified, the act authorizes the treasurer to issue 
additional notes to cover the difference.  

The treasurer must issue the notes on or after the 
act’s passage and deposit the proceeds from their sale in 
the General Fund. In any determination of the General 
Fund's position for FY 10, the comptroller must reflect 
the amount of the note proceeds funding the FY 09 
General Fund deficit, if the notes are issued before the 
determination.  

The act exempts interest on, and gains from the sale 
of, the notes from all taxes imposed by the state or 
under its authority, except estate or succession taxes. It 
also requires the treasurer to structure the notes so their 
interest is excluded from federal taxes if that is 
appropriate or necessary to improve the notes’ 
marketability.  

The act makes the notes legal investments for 
banks, insurance companies, fiduciaries, and public 
bodies and allows public officers to accept them for any 
purpose for which they may receive or deposit state 
notes.  

Finally, the act incorporates and applies to the 
economic recovery notes various statutory provisions 
relating to issuing state general obligation bonds and 
notes. These concern, among other things, the 
treasurer’s authority to make agreements and promises 
relating to issuing and repaying the notes, and the 
procedure for, and state defenses in, any bond holder 
lawsuit under contracts, agreements, and covenants 
relating to the notes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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§§ 104-109 — REVENUE ESTIMATES 

The act adopts revenue estimates for FY 10 and FY 
11 for three state funds, as shown in Table 9. 

 
Table 9: Revenue Estimates for FY 10 and FY 11 

 
Fund FY 10 FY 11 

General Fund $17,528,700,000 $18,048,400,000 
Mashantucket 
Pequot & 
Mohegan Fund 

61,800,000 61,800,000 

Criminal Injuries 
Compensation 
Fund 

3,500,000 3,700,000 

BACKGROUND 

IC-DISCs 

To be an IC-DISC, a corporation must be organized 
under the laws of a state or the District of Columbia 
and: 

1. derive at least 95% of its gross receipts during 
the tax year from qualified exports; 

2. at the end of the tax year, have at least 95% of 
its assets as qualified export assets; 

3. have only one class of stock with a par or 
stated value of at least $2,500 on each day of 
the tax year; 

4. maintain separate books and records; 
5. not be a member of any controlled group of 

which a foreign sales corporation (FSC) is also 
a member (a FSC is an affiliate of a U.S. 
company that is incorporated in a qualifying 
foreign country and serves as an agent for the 
U.S. exporter); 

6. have a tax year that conforms to the tax year of 
its largest shareholder in terms of voting 
power; and 

7. elects to be treated as an IC-DISC for the tax 
year. 

Statutory Debt Limit 

State law limits the amount of state General Fund-
supported debt to 1.6 times the net General Fund tax 
receipts the Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
projects for the fiscal year in which the legislature 
authorizes the debt. Certain types of debt are excluded 
from the debt limit calculation, including debts incurred 
for federally reimbursable public works projects, assets 
in debt retirement funds, and debt incurred in 
anticipation of revenue and some other purposes.  

 
 

PA 09-2, June 2009 Special Session—HB 6801 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT AUTHORIZING ECONOMIC 
RECOVERY NOTES 

SUMMARY: The act authorizes the state to issue 
economic recovery notes to fund the (1) FY 09 General 
Fund deficit, (2) interest payable or accrued on the notes 
through June 30, 2011, and (3) costs of their issuance. 
The notes are state general obligations and must mature 
before July 1, 2016. The act exempts the debt 
attributable to the notes from the statutory limit on state 
General Fund-supported debt (see BACKGROUND).  

The act overrides the statutory requirement that 
money in the Budget Reserve (“Rainy Day”) Fund be 
deemed appropriated to cover the FY 09 deficit.  In 
addition, if the comptroller determines there is an 
unappropriated General Fund surplus at the end of any 
fiscal year from FY 10 through FY 17, the act requires 
that surplus to be first used to redeem any outstanding 
economic recovery notes before they mature.  

The act also overrides statutory provisions 
requiring such surpluses to go first to the Rainy Day 
Fund and then, once the fund balance reaches 10% of 
net General Fund appropriations for the current fiscal 
year, towards (1) the State Employees Retirement 
Fund’s unfunded liability and (2) paying off outstanding 
state debt. (PA 09-8, September Special Session, repeals 
this provision in favor of a later enactment by PA 09-3, 
June Special Session – see BACKGROUND.) 

The act requires the comptroller to certify the 
projected FY 09 deficit amount to the treasurer 
“promptly” after the act’s passage (September 1, 2009). 
She may base the certification on her most recent 
monthly report of the state’s fiscal condition. The 
comptroller’s certification provides conclusive evidence 
of the amount of economic recovery notes the treasurer 
can issue. When the comptroller knows the final deficit, 
she must certify that amount to the treasurer. If the final 
amount is greater than the initial amount certified, the 
act authorizes the treasurer to issue additional notes to 
cover the difference.  

The act incorporates and applies to the economic 
recovery notes applicable statutory provisions relating 
to state bonds and notes; authorizes the treasurer to 
make contracts, agreements, and promises relating to 
the notes; and establishes the procedure and venue for, 
and state defenses in, any note holder lawsuit under 
contracts, agreements, and covenants relating to the 
notes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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ECONOMIC RECOVERY NOTE PROCEEDS 

The treasurer must issue the notes on or after 
September 1, 2009 and deposit the proceeds from their 
sale in the General Fund. In any determination of the 
General Fund's position for FY 10, the comptroller must 
reflect the amount of the note proceeds funding the FY 
09 General Fund deficit, if the notes are issued before 
the determination.  

Expenses for issuing or renewing the notes must be 
paid from the note proceeds or, if necessary, by the 
General Fund. 

TREASURER’S POWERS 

The act allows the treasurer to set any terms and 
conditions she thinks will help sell the notes.  To this 
end, she can determine their principal amounts, interest 
rates, repayment schedules, and redemption terms as 
well as any additional security they require.  The act 
allows her to make reimbursement, remarketing, 
standby purchase, or any other type of marketing 
agreement for the notes that serves the state’s best 
interests.  Security for the notes can include a credit line 
or insurance policy from a commercial bank or insurer 
doing business in Connecticut.  The act commits the 
state to repay amounts drawn on any credit line or other 
security backing the notes. 
 
STATE AND FEDERAL TAX BENEFITS 

The act exempts interest on, and gains from the sale 
of, the notes from all taxes imposed by the state or 
under its authority, except estate or succession taxes. It 
also requires the treasurer to structure the notes so their 
interest is excluded from federal taxes if that is 
appropriate or necessary to improve the notes' 
marketability.  

The act allows the treasurer to make whatever 
representations and agreements are necessary or 
appropriate to ensure that note holders receive available 
federal tax benefits on note interest. The agreements 
may include (1) promises to provide secondary market 
disclosure information; (2) arrangements for the 
information to be provided through an agent or trustee; 
and (3) remedies, limited to specific performance, for 
breaching an agreement. (A “secondary market” is any 
sale after the initial public offering.) 

The act indemnifies state elected and appointed 
officials and employees from financial losses, including 
legal fees, arising out of claims of negligence in 
providing secondary market disclosure information or 
performing other duties under any agreement to do so.  
The indemnification does not cover willful and wanton 
fraud. 

INVESTMENT 

The act makes the notes legal investments for 
banks, insurance companies, fiduciaries, and public 
bodies and allows public officers to accept them for any 
purpose for which they may receive or deposit state 
notes.  

LEGAL ACTIONS RELATING TO ECONOMIC 
RECOVERY NOTES 

The act allows the Hartford Superior Court to enter 
a judgment against the state based on (1) an express 
contract between the state and holders of the economic 
recovery notes or (2) contracts or agreements the act 
allows the treasurer to make relating to the notes.  Such 
a judgment must include any claim or set-off the state 
has against the plaintiffs. The case must be heard 
without a jury.  The act reserves to the state all legal 
defenses in such a case except governmental immunity 
and allows either party to move that the action have 
privilege in its trial assignment. 
 
BACKGROUND 

Statutory Debt Limit 

State law limits the amount of state General Fund-
supported debt to 1.6 times the net General Fund tax 
receipts the Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee 
projects for the fiscal year in which the legislature 
authorizes the debt. Certain types of debt are excluded 
from the debt limit calculation, including debts incurred 
for federally reimbursable public works projects, assets 
in debt retirement funds, and debt incurred in 
anticipation of revenue.  

Related Act  – Use of Any General Fund Surpluses 
From FY 10 to FY 17 

PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 59) repeals 
this act’s requirement that, if the comptroller determines 
there is an unappropriated General Fund surplus at the 
end of any fiscal year from FY 10 through FY 17, that 
surplus first be used to redeem any outstanding 
economic recovery notes before they mature. PA 09-3, 
June Special Session (§ 511), instead requires that any 
unappropriated General Fund surplus at the end of any 
fiscal year from FY 10 through FY 17 be used first to 
redeem any outstanding economic recovery notes before 
they mature and second, to reduce the state’s obligations 
under a securitization plan required by that act.  
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PA 09-3, June 2009 Special Session—HB 6802 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING EXPENDITURES AND 
REVENUE FOR THE BIENNIUM ENDING JUNE 
30, 2011 

SUMMARY: This act appropriates funds for state 
agencies and programs for FY 10 and FY 11.  Among 
other things, it:  

1. carries forward unspent appropriations from 
prior years, transfers funds among agencies, 
and directs funds to be spent for specific 
purposes;  

2. requires the Office of Policy and Management 
(OPM) secretary to reduce state agency 
spending for information technology services, 
and submit a plan to reduce expenses for 
personal services, other expenses, and contracts 
and personal service agreements by a total of 
$120 million in FY 10 and FY 11;  

3. extends the requirement to take unpaid 
furlough days to Superior Court judges and 
Judicial Branch employees; and 

4. limits the governor’s unilateral authority to 
reduce Legislative and Judicial Branch fund 
allotments.  

The act also makes revenue changes affecting FY 
09, FY 10, and FY 11. It: 

1. increases personal income, corporation, 
cigarette, and tobacco products taxes and 
extends the real estate conveyance tax to 
property foreclosed by sale;  

2. reduces estate tax and gift taxes, starting with 
deaths occurring and gifts given on or after 
January 1, 2010; and 

3. reduces the state’s sales and use tax from 6% to 
5.5%, starting January 1, 2010, but only if FY 
10 General Fund revenue projections do not 
fall by more than 1% below the projections the 
act adopts. 

The act raises many state fees by (1) increasing fees 
under $15 to at least $15, (2) doubling fees under $150, 
(3) increasing fees between $150 and $1,000 by 25%, 
and (4) adding $250 to fees of $1,000 or more.  It 
eliminates most of the Department of Environmental 
Protection’s (DEP) special funds and accounts and 
transfers their revenue to the General Fund. 

The act establishes (1) a temporary tax settlement 
initiative program for those who owe state taxes and (2) 
“economic” nexus as the basis for subjecting out-of-
state business to Connecticut corporation and personal 
income taxes.  

 
 
 

It: 
5. transfers funds from the Budget Reserve 

(“Rainy Day”) Fund to General Fund revenue 
for FY 10 and FY 11; 

6. transfers revenue from various special funds 
and accounts to the General Fund as revenue 
for FY 10 and FY 11; 

7. requires the state treasurer and the OPM 
secretary to formulate a plan to finance 
(“securitize”) up to $1.3 billion in net state 
revenue for FY 11, including possibly by 
borrowing against future state lottery revenue;  

8. requires the two officials to formulate a plan to 
sell state assets to raise up to $15 million in net 
revenue for FY 10 and up to $45 million in FY 
11; and 

5. approves settlements between the state and the 
Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan tribes 
concerning slot machine revenue due the state. 

The act authorizes state general obligation (GO) 
bonds for local school construction projects and 
authorizes the state and municipalities to take advantage 
of the federal “Build America” Bond program by 
issuing taxable bonds with federal interest subsidies. It 
also allows the state to issue special tax obligation 
bonds to fund the Town Aid Road (TAR) program for 
local road and bridge projects.  

For FY 09 through FY 11, the act exempts 
Bridgeport from a statutory requirement that it annually 
contribute the actuarially required amount to a pension 
plan funded with pension deficit funding bonds. 

Finally, the act adopts FY 10 and FY 11 revenue 
estimates for the General Fund, the Special 
Transportation Fund, and the eight other appropriated 
state funds. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage, unless otherwise 
noted below. 

§§1-20 — FY 10 AND FY 11 APPROPRIATIONS 

The act appropriates money from the state’s 10 
appropriated funds for state agency operations and 
programs in FY 10 and FY 11. Net total annual 
appropriations from each fund are shown in Table 1. 

 
Table 1: FY 10 and FY 11 Appropriations by Fund 

 
Net Appropriation §§ Fund FY 10 FY 11 

1, 11 General Fund $17,374,582,736 $17,591,035,710 
2, 12 Special Transportation 

Fund 
1,106,420,335 1,172,189,514 

3, 13 Mashantucket Pequot 
and Mohegan Fund 

61,779,907 61,779,907 

4, 14 Soldiers’, Sailors’ and 
Marines’ Fund 

2,978,468 2,997,543 
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Net Appropriation §§ Fund 
FY 10 FY 11 

5, 15 Regional Market 
Operation Fund 

928,942 957,073 

6, 16 Banking Fund 19,641,148 20,573,086 
7, 17 Insurance Fund 25,652,871 26,617,652 
8, 18 Consumer Counsel 

and Public Utility 
Control Fund 

23,229,776 23,957,386 

9, 19 Workers’ 
Compensation Fund 

22,614,564 23,072,391 

10, 20 Criminal Injuries 
Compensation Fund 

3,132,410 3,408,598 

 
§ 21 — BIRTH-TO-THREE PROGRAM 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act requires the State 
Department of Education (SDE) to annually transfer $1 
million of the federal special education funds it receives 
to the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) for 
the Birth-to-Three Program to carry out special 
education-related requirements consistent with the 
federal special education law. 

§ 22 — WACE TECHNICAL TRAINING CENTER 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act exempts WACE 
Technical Training Center in Waterbury from statutory 
requirements for adult education grants and allows it to 
spend up to $300,000 of its grant in each year for 
technical training.  

§ 23 — PRIORITY SCHOOL DISTRICT GRANTS 

The act distributes the priority school district grant 
appropriation to state education programs in the 
amounts shown in Table 2. 
 

Table 2: Priority School District Grant Allocations 
 

Grant FY 10 FY 11 
Priority School Districts $40,929,547 $40,929,547 
School Readiness 69,813,190 69,813,190 
Extended School Building Hours 2,994,752 2,994,752 
School Accountability 3,499,699 3,499,699 

 

§ 24 — PRIVATE OCCUPATIONAL SCHOOL 
STUDENT PROTECTION ACCOUNT 

Despite statutory restrictions on such spending, the 
act allows the Department of Higher Education (DHE) 
to spend $245,000 in FY 10 and $257,000 in FY 11 
from the private occupational school student protection 
account.  

 
§ 25 — CONNECTICUT INDEPENDENT COLLEGE 
STUDENT GRANT PROGRAM 

The law requires independent colleges and 
universities to award aid to individual students under the 
Connecticut Independent College Student Grant 
(CICSG) Program based on the U.S. Department of 
Education’s need analysis system. For FY 10 and FY 
11, this act prohibits any independent college or 
university from receiving its annual CICSG allocation if 
it (1) meets students’ full financial needs and (2) uses a 
need analysis system that results in determinations of 
need for individual students that are greater than the 
federal system. 

It requires DHE to redistribute two-thirds of the 
unallocated CISCG funds in FY 10 and FY 11 to all 
other eligible independent colleges and universities, 
using the statutory formula. DHE must set aside the 
remaining one-third and transfer up to $500,000 per 
year to Opportunities for Veterinary Medicine in FY 10 
and FY 11.  

(PA 09-6, September Special Session, (§ 57) 
eliminates this provision and requires DHE to reduce an 
independent college or university’s CICSG allocation 
by $500,000 if it returned at least $500,000 of its 
funding for FY 09. It also requires DHE to compute the 
CICSG allocation based on the unreduced 
appropriation. DHE must still transfer up to $500,000 of 
the set-aside CICSG funds to Opportunities for 
Veterinary Medicine in FY 10 and FY 11.) 

§§ 26-28 & 32-36 — FUNDS CARRIED FORWARD  

The act carries forward various unspent balances 
from prior years’ appropriations and requires them to be 
used for the same purposes in FY 10 or in FY 10 and 
FY 11, rather than lapsing at the end of FY 09 (see 
Table 3). 
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Table 3: Funds Carried Forward for the Same Purpose 
 

§ Agency Purpose Amount To FY 
26 Motor 

Vehicles 
Commercial Vehicle Information Systems and Networks project Unspent 

balance 
2010 
2011 

27 (a) Motor 
Vehicles 

Upgrading registration and drivers’ license data processing systems Unspent 
balance 

2010 
2011 

27 (b) Motor 
Vehicles 

Upgrading registration and drivers’ license data processing systems Up to $7 million 2010 
2011 

27 (c) Motor 
Vehicles 

Upgrading registration and drivers’ license data processing systems Up to $8.5 
million 

2010 
2011 

28 (a) Banking Improvements associated with the new office lease Up to $750,000 2010 
28 (b) Banking Improvements associated with the new office lease Up to $250,000 2010 
32 (a)   Collective bargaining and related costs appropriated in the 2008-2009 

biennial budget 
Unspent 
balance as 
determined by 
the OPM 
secretary 

2010 
2011 

32 (b)  Collective bargaining and related costs appropriated for FY 10 in the act Unspent 
balance as 
determined by 
the OPM 
secretary 

2011 

33 OPM Other expenses – for a health care and pension consulting contract Unspent 
balance 

2010 
2011 

34 OPM Other expenses – to prevent potential base closures Up to $50,000 2010 
36 OPM (1) Design and implementation of a comprehensive, state-wide information 

technology system for sharing criminal justice information and (2) costs 
related to the Criminal Justice Information System Governing Board 

Unspent 
balance 

2010 

 
 
The act also carries forward to FY 10 the unspent 

balance of an appropriation to OPM for licensing and 
permitting fees. It transfers the money to the 
Department of Information Technology to implement a 
common licensing and permit issuance service for state 
agencies. 

§ 29 — NEIGHBORHOOD YOUTH CENTER 
GRANTS 

The act requires OPM to use its FY 10 and FY 11 
appropriation for neighborhood youth centers to provide 
the following grants:  

1. $1.1 million for the Boys and Girls Clubs of 
Connecticut, with up to $100,000 to the Boys 
and Girls Club of Bridgeport, contingent on the 
organizations providing a 100% cash match for 
the grants; and  

2. $387,000 for the following organizations, 
contingent on their matching at least 50%, with 
a cash match of at least 25%, of the grant 
amount: 

 
 

a. Centro San Jose, Hill Cooperative Youth 
Services, Inc., and Central YMCA in New 
Haven; 

b. up to $87,000 for Trumbull Gardens in 
Bridgeport; 

c. up to $50,000 for the Valley Shore YMCA 
in Westbrook; 

d. up to $25,000 for the Rivera Memorial 
Foundation, Inc. of Waterbury; and 

e. up to $25,000 for the Willow Plaza 
Neighborhood Revitalization Zone 
Association in Waterbury. 

§ 30 — PILOT ASTHMA AWARENESS PROGRAM 

The act transfers $150,000 from the Tobacco and 
Heath Trust Fund for FY 10 to the Department of Public 
Health (DPH) for a pilot asthma awareness program. 

§ 31 — ENERGY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

The act requires the unspent balance of an $8.5 
million appropriation to OPM that was carried forward 
to FY 10 in PA 09-2 for an emergency energy assistance 
program to be available between July 1, 2009 and June 
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30, 2010. Under PA 09-2 and this act, the program must 
help Connecticut households with incomes between 
150% and 200% of the applicable federal poverty level 
that cannot make timely payments on deliverable fuel, 
electricity, or natural gas bills. The program requires 
Operation Fuel, a nonprofit organization that serves 
people ineligible for publicly funded energy assistance, 
to pay assistance directly to fuel vendors, electric or gas 
companies, or municipal electric or gas utilities. (PA 09-
5, September Special Session (§ 82) specifies that 
assistance can be provided regardless of whether these 
fuels are a household’s primary or secondary energy 
sources.) 

 
§ 37 — UNEMPLOYMENT TRUST FUND 
ALLOCATIONS 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act appropriates $30 
million from Connecticut’s account in the federal 
Unemployment Trust Fund to the Labor Department. 
The money must be spent in accordance with the federal 
unemployment compensation law. For FY 10, the act 
allocates up to $12 million of that amount to the 
department’s administrative infrastructure with a 
maximum of $7 million earmarked for improving its 
information technology systems. For FY 11, the 
administrative infrastructure allocation is up to $18 
million, with a maximum of $13 million for improving 
information technology systems.  

 
§ 38 — NEWBORN SCREENING ACCOUNT 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act allocates $800,000 
annually, rather than the statutorily required $500,000, 
to the General Fund’s newborn screening account. The 
funding comes from fees the DPH charges institutions 
for comprehensive newborn testing, parent counseling, 
and treatment. DPH must use the money (1) to buy 
upgraded screening technology and (2) for its testing 
expenses.  

 
§ 39 — STEM CELL RESEARCH FUND 

The act allows the DPH commissioner to use up to 
$200,000 per year from the Stem Cell Research Fund in 
FY 10 and FY 11 for administrative expenses. 

§ 40 — PRE-TRIAL ALCOHOL SUBSTANCE 
ABUSE PROGRAM FUNDING 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act earmarks the 
following annual amounts from the Department of 
Mental Health and Addiction Services’ (DMHAS) 
appropriations for the Pre-Trial Alcohol Substance 
Abuse Program:  

1. up to $1.1 million in each year for regional 
action councils;  

2. up to $510,000 in each year for the Governor’s 
Partnership to Protect Connecticut’s 
Workforce;  

3. up to $100,000 in each year to fund a nonprofit 
organization with appropriate expertise in 
building a community-wide, broad-based, and 
inter-institutional approach to preventing 
substance abuse;  

4. up to $125,000 in each year for the Regional 
Youth/Adult Substance Abuse Project in 
Bridgeport; and  

5. up to $125,000 in each year for the RYASAP 
Regional Action Council in Bridgeport. (PA 
09-7, September Special Session (§ 40) 
eliminates this earmark.) 

§ 41 — DSS DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE (DSH) 
PAYMENTS TO DMHAS HOSPITALS 

The act requires DSS to spend money appropriated 
to it for FY 10 and FY 11 for DMHAS/Medicaid 
Disproportionate Share payments only when, and in the 
amounts, OPM specifies. DSS must make payments to 
DMHAS hospitals for operating expenses and related 
fringe benefits. Hospitals must reimburse the 
comptroller from the fringe benefit payments and 
deposit the other funds to “grants – other than federal 
accounts.” Unspent DSH funds in the “grants” account 
must lapse at the end of each fiscal year. 

§§ 42 & 43 — UCONN HEALTH CENTER AND 
VETERANS’ AFFAIRS DSH TRANSFERS 

The act allows the OPM secretary to transfer all or 
part of any FY 10 or FY 11 appropriation for the UConn 
Health Center or the Department of Veterans’ Affairs to 
DSS’ DSH-Medical Emergency Assistance account in 
order to maximize federal reimbursement.  

§ 44 — INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY 
REDUCTION 

The act requires the OPM secretary to reduce 
agency allotments for information technology systems 
and services by $30,836,354 for FY 10 and $31,718,598 
for FY 11. 

§ 45 — NONFORMULARY DRUG APPEAL 
PROCESS FOR CLIENTS ELIGIBLE FOR BOTH 
MEDICAID AND MEDICARE PART D 

By December 1, 2009, the act requires the DSS 
commissioner to provide a report to the Appropriations 
and Human Services committees describing revisions to 
its nonformulary exception review and appeals process 
for clients eligible for both Medicaid and Medicare Part 
D. (Nonformulary drugs are drugs that are not on the list 
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of drugs pre-approved for reimbursement under a 
Medicaid or Medicare Part D plan. Costs for such drugs 
may be reimbursed through exceptions after appeals.) 
The report must also explain DSS’ (1) revised process 
for determining, before pursuing appeals with private 
plans, whether a nonformulary drug is medically 
necessary; (2) conditions for pursuing such appeals; and 
(3) criteria for making referrals to the Center for 
Medicaid Advocacy (CMA) for further appeals. 

A later act (PA 09-5, September Special Session (§ 
83)) requires DSS, within available appropriations, to 
contract with (1) the CMA to provide assistance with 
Medicare Part D Plan appeals relating to medically 
necessary prescription denials and (2) a pharmacy 
association or pharmacist to help clients choose a 
Medicare Part D Plan that best meets their needs. In 
addition, instead of submitting a report, the later act 
requires the commissioner to provide the committees 
with a plan concerning its referral process for dually 
eligible clients. The plan, which must also be submitted 
by December 1, 2009, must include a means to provide 
information to clients about appeal rights and assistance 
available from CMA.  

§ 46 — SUPPORTIVE HOUSING FOR FAMILIES 
PROGRAM 

The act requires the Department of Children and 
Families (DCF) to prioritize enrollment in its 
Supportive Housing for Families program after October 
1, 2009 to maximize (1) the number of families with a 
child in an out-of-home placement who are likely to be 
reunified because of their participation in the program 
or (2) the number of families remaining together. It 
requires the DCF commissioner to report to the 
Appropriations and Human Services committees by 
January 1, 2010, on how the department will use 
funding for the program. The report must include the 
number of (1) families the program serves and (2) 
children expected to be reunited with their families 
during FY 10 and FY 11 because of efforts to give 
priority to families with a child placed outside the home 
that are undergoing reunification. 

§ 47 — PERSONAL SERVICES, OTHER EXPENSES, 
AND STATE CONTRACTS 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act requires the OPM 
secretary to recommend ways to reduce the following 
types of spending by the following annual amounts: 

1. $14 million for personal services, 
2. $11 million for other expenses, and 
3. $95 million for contracts and personal service 

agreements. 
It exempts the higher education constituent units 

from the recommended personal services or other 

expense expenditure reductions and requires 
recommended reductions in contracting and personal 
service agreements to exclude those for providing direct 
programs and health services to consumers. The 
secretary must submit a plan detailing the recommended 
reductions to the Appropriations Committee through the 
Office of Fiscal Analysis by October 1, 2009.  

§ 48 — PERSONAL SERVICES SAVINGS  

The act allows the governor to modify or reduce 
allotment requisitions from FY 10 and FY 11 
appropriations to achieve the reductions in personal 
services costs required by this act, any other public or 
special act, or any collective bargaining agreement. 

§ 49 — GENERAL SERVICES REVOLVING FUND 
POSITIONS 

The act limits to 124 the number of positions the 
Department of Administrative Services (DAS) may fill 
from the General Services Revolving Fund. By law, the 
fund, whose statutory name is the Department of 
Administrative Services Revolving Fund, is used to pay 
agencies’ costs for supplies, material, equipment, and 
contractual services before the comptroller finally 
determines how to allocate the expenses to particular 
agency accounts (CGS § 4a-75). 
 
§ 50 — TRANSFERS TO MAXIMIZE FEDERAL 
MATCHING FUNDS  

The act allows the governor, with Finance Advisory 
Committee (FAC) approval, to transfer all or part of an 
agency’s General Fund appropriation, at its request, to 
another agency to take advantage of federal matching 
funds, as long as both agencies certify that the receiving 
agency will spend the money for the original purpose. 
Federal funds generated from transfers can be used to 
reimburse General Fund spending, expand services, or 
both as the governor, with FAC approval, determines. 

 
§ 51 — TRANSFERS TO ALLOW RECEIPT OF 
FEDERAL STIMULUS FUNDS  

The act allows the governor, with FAC approval, to 
transfer all or part of an agency’s General Fund 
appropriation, at its request, to another agency in order 
for the state to receive federal stimulus funds under the 
2009 federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA).  

The governor must present a plan for transferring 
the funds to the Appropriations Committee and the 
legislative committee with jurisdiction over the 
transferring agency. Both committees must approve or 
reject the plan within 15 days after they receive it. If the 
committees cannot agree or if they fail to act within the 
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required time, the governor’s plan is considered 
approved. If the governor’s plan is approved, the 
Appropriations Committee must ask the FAC to 
approve the plan. 

§ 52 — FUNDING ADJUSTMENTS TO MAXIMIZE 
FEDERAL FUNDING 

The act allows the governor, with FAC approval, to 
adjust an agency’s General Fund appropriation to 
maximize federal funding to the state. The governor 
must present a plan for any adjustment to the 
Appropriations and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees.  

§ 53 — FEDERAL REIMBURSEMENT FOR DSS 
DATA WAREHOUSE PROJECT 

In compliance with an advanced planning 
document for developing a data warehouse approved by 
the federal Department of Health and Human Services, 
the act authorizes DSS to establish a “receivable” 
(presumably, a receivable account) for FY 10 and FY 11 
for the anticipated reimbursement from the data 
warehouse project. 

§ 54 — AUTHORITY FOR ADVANCE PAYMENTS 
TO CERTAIN NURSING HOMES 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act allows the DSS 
commissioner, after consulting the OPM secretary, to 
provide payments in advance of normal bill payment 
processing to nursing homes that provide services 
eligible for payment under the medical assistance 
program. The nursing facility must ask for the advance 
payments. The act limits advances to the estimated 
amounts due the facility for services to eligible 
recipients over the most recent two months. 

The DSS commissioner must recover the advance 
either by reducing payments due to the facility or 
through a reimbursement from the facility within 90 
days after issuing the advance. The act requires the 
commissioner to take prudent measures to assure that no 
advances are made to nursing homes in danger of 
insolvency or bankruptcy and allows her to execute 
appropriate agreements to secure repayment. 

§ 55 — DCF-LICENSED PRIVATE RESIDENTIAL 
TREATMENT FACILITIES 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act eliminates per diem 
and other rate increases, as well as cost of living 
adjustments, for private residential treatment facilities 
licensed by DCF. 

 

§ 56 — COMMISSION ON ENHANCING AGENCY 
OUTCOMES 

PA 09-2 established the 17-member commission to 
determine if there are agency duplications or functional 
overlaps and make other recommendations it considers 
appropriate. PA 09-2 required the commission to report 
its findings and recommendations to the governor, 
House speaker, and Senate president pro tempore by 
July 1, 2009 and terminated the commission when it 
submits its report or on July 1, 2009, whichever is later. 
This act extends the commission until June 30, 2010, 
makes its July 1, 2009 report an interim one, and 
requires it to submit additional reports periodically. 

§ 57 — GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY TO REDUCE 
LEGISLATIVE AND JUDICIAL ALLOTMENTS  

The act bars the governor from unilaterally 
reducing an allotment of appropriated funds currently in 
force for, or an allotment of appropriated funds 
requisitioned by, any Legislative or Judicial Branch 
agency. Instead, it allows the governor to require an 
aggregate allotment reduction for the Legislative or 
Judicial Branch. It requires the Joint Committee on 
Legislative Management or the chief court administrator 
to achieve the reduction as the committee or 
administrator determines and to submit reductions to the 
governor through the OPM secretary within 15 days 
after the governor requires the reductions. 

Under prior law, the governor, under certain 
conditions, could unilaterally reduce allotments and 
allotment requisitions for appropriations to budgeted 
legislative and judicial branch agencies by a maximum 
of 5% of any appropriation and 3% of the total 
appropriations from any fund. 

§§ 58 & 59 — PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF TAXES TO 
CERTAIN TOWNS 

The act appropriates money from the General Fund 
for the following payments to certain towns in FY 10, in 
addition to statutorily required payments in lieu of taxes 
(PILOTs) to those towns: 

1. $100,000 to East Lyme for the U.S. Navy’s 
Dodge Pond Acoustic Measurement Facility 
and 

2. $400,000 to Mansfield for the Fenton River 
Watershed for the Mansfield Hollow Dam. 

§ 60 — FILLING STATE EMPLOYEE POSITIONS 

Unless the governor recommends it and the FAC 
approves, the act limits the number of positions state 
agencies may fill to the number recommended by the 
Appropriations Committee as revised by the General 
Assembly and set out in the Office of Fiscal Analysis 
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(OFA) report on the FY 2010-11 biennial budget. (PA 
09-7, September Special Session (§ 6) excludes the 
state’s higher education constituent units from this 
requirement.) 

§ 61 — CHRONIC GAMBLERS TREATMENT AND 
REHABILITATION 

The act temporarily increases, by $400,000 per 
year, the annual amount of lottery ticket sales revenue 
the Connecticut Lottery Corporation must transfer to the 
chronic gamblers treatment and rehabilitation account. 
For FY 10 and FY 11, it requires the corporation to 
transfer $1.9 million per year rather than $1.5 million. 
Starting in FY 12, the act resumes annual transfers of 
$1.5 million. The funds in the account are used for 
preventing chronic gambling and treating and 
rehabilitating chronic gamblers.  

§ 62 — TOBACCO AND HEALTH TRUST FUND 

The act allocates $541,982 from the fund in FY 10 
and FY 11 for the regional emergency medical services 
councils. 

§ 63 — EASY BREATHING PROGRAM 

The act transfers $800,000 annually in FY 10 and 
FY 11 from the Tobacco and Health Trust Fund to DPH 
for the Easy Breathing Program. It allocates $300,000 of 
this amount for the adult asthma program and $500,000 
for the children’s asthma program.  

§ 64 — STATE CONTRIBUTION FOR RETIRED 
TEACHERS’ HEALTH COVERAGE 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act suspends the statutory 
requirement that the state appropriate (1) one-third of 
the cost of premiums for the basic health coverage plan 
the Teachers’ Retirement Board (TRB) must offer to 
retired teachers participating in Medicare and (2) one-
third of the cost of the state subsidy for local board of 
education health plans covering retired teachers not 
participating in Medicare. Instead, for FY 10 and FY 11, 
it requires the separate retired teachers’ health insurance 
premium account to pay two-thirds of the cost of the 
basic TRB plan and the full cost of the health subsidy to 
local boards. The funds in the account come from active 
teachers’ total annual health contributions in excess of 
$500,000 and investment earnings on the account 
balance. Active teachers contribute 1.25% their annual 
salary for retired teachers’ health insurance coverage. 

 

§ 65 — FUND TRANSFERS RELATING TO 
INMATE TRANSPORTATION 

The act allows the OPM secretary to transfer 
Department of Corrections’ appropriations for FY 10 
and FY 11 to the Judicial Branch as necessary to 
achieve efficiencies in inmate transportation. The 
secretary may make the transfers without prior FAC 
approval. 

§ 66 — STATE POLICE MEAL ALLOWANCE  

The act restores a requirement, eliminated by PA 
09-2, that the state pay a meal allowance for state police 
personnel and repeals a requirement that, beginning 
April 1, 2009, the state meal allowance be payable only 
for Department of Public Safety employees covered by 
a collective bargaining agreement requiring the 
allowance.  

§ 67 — CONNECTICUT HEALTH INFORMATION 
NETWORK 

The act transfers $500,000 each year for FY 10 and 
FY 11 from the Tobacco and Health Trust Fund to the 
UConn Health Center for the Connecticut Health 
Information Network. 

§ 68 — GRANT TO AIDS INTERFAITH NETWORK 

The act earmarks $100,000 of the DPH’s FY 10 
General Fund appropriation for AIDS Services for a 
grant to the AIDS Interfaith Network for audit, capacity 
building, and technical assistance. 

§ 69 — AGRICULTURAL PROGRAM 
ALLOCATIONS FROM THE COMMUNITY 
INVESTMENT ACCOUNT  

PA 09-229 temporarily increased a fee for each 
document recorded in municipalities’ land records from 
$30 to $40. This act changes the effective date of the 
increase from the date of PA 09-229’s passage (June 3, 
2009) to July 1, 2009. The fee increase is effective until 
July 1, 2011. 

By law, municipalities retain $4 of the fee and must 
send the balance to the state for deposit to the 
Community Investment account. Money from the 
account is distributed quarterly to the Commission on 
Culture and Tourism, Connecticut Housing Finance 
Authority, Department of Environmental Protection, 
and Department of Agriculture (DOAg). These agencies 
must use the funds for purposes specified in the law. PA 
09-229 temporarily altered the distribution of fund 
revenues among these agencies, increasing DOAg’s 
share from 25% to 40% and reducing those of  the  other  
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agencies from 25% to 20% each. These shares apply 
from June 3, 2009 until July 1, 2011.  

During the period DOAg is receiving the 40% share 
of the funding, this act allocates funds to several 
organizations and also requires DOAg to make the 
required distributions to the specified agricultural 
programs quarterly, instead of annually, as shown in 
Table 4. For the programs already included in PA 09-
229, each year’s total quarterly allocations under this act  
are the same as the annual amounts for the same 
programs specified under PA 09-229.  
 

Table 4: Agriculture Program Allocations 
Program PA 09-229 - 

Annually 
This Act - 
Quarterly 

Agricultural viability grant 
program 

$500,000 $125,000 

Farm transition program 500,000 125,000 
Encouraging sale of 
Connecticut-grown food  

100,000 25,000 

Connecticut farm link 
program 

75,000 18,750 

Urban Oaks Organic 
Farm 

0 12,500 

Seafood Advisory 
Council 

0 11,875 

Connecticut farm Wine 
Development Council 

0 11,875 

Connecticut Food Policy 
Council 

0 6,250 

Agricultural sustainability 
account (grants to milk 
producers) 

Remaining 
amount 

distributed 
annually 

Remaining amount 
distributed each 

quarter 

 
§ 70 — BRIDGEPORT PENSION PLAN FUNDING 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act exempts any 
municipality (1) with a population greater than 130,000 
and (2) that has issued pension deficit funding bonds, 
from a statutory requirement to appropriate money for, 
or contribute to, the pension plan funded with the bond 
proceeds. Only Bridgeport meets these qualifications.  

The act requires the city to submit to the OPM 
secretary and the state treasurer, by August 1, 2010 and 
August 1, 2011, respectively, a plan acceptable to them 
for funding the pension plan for FY 10 and FY 11. In 
each year the secretary and the treasurer fail to approve 
the city’s plans, the city must contribute at least $6 
million to the pension plan. (PA 09-8, September 
Special Session (§§ 14 & 59) changes the reporting 
dates to April 1, 2010 and April 1, 2011 respectively; 
allows the state officials to approve, reject, or modify 
the plan; and reduces the minimum amount the city 
must contribute in any year when the officials fail to 
approve a plan to $4 million.) 

 

State law allows municipalities to issue pension 
deficit funding bonds to fund unfunded past pension 
obligations. If a municipality issues such bonds, it must 
ordinarily contribute at least the actuarially required 
amount to its pension plan in each fiscal year that it has 
outstanding pension deficit funding bonds for the plan 
(CGS § 7-364c (c) (3)). 

§ 71 — FUNDS TO EXPAND CHARTER SCHOOLS 

When distributing grants to expand the number of 
grades at a state charter school that the education 
commissioner has determined will assist the state to 
meet the goals of the 2008 Sheff desegregation 
stipulation and court order, the act requires the 
commissioner to use only funds appropriated to SDE for 
the Sheff settlement. 

§ 72 — EDUCATION COST SHARING (ECS) 
GRANTS TO TOWNS 

The act overrides the statutory formula for 
calculating ECS grants and specifies each town’s ECS 
grant for FY 10 and FY 11. Under the act, each town’s 
grant is the same for both years. 

§ 73 — BUDGET RESERVE FUND TRANSFERS TO 
GENERAL FUND  

The act requires the state treasurer to transfer the 
following amounts from the Budget Reserve (“Rainy 
Day”) Fund to the General Fund: $1.062 billion on the 
September 8, 2009 and $319.7 million on July 1, 2010.  
These amounts must be credited to General Fund 
revenue for FY 10 and FY 11, respectively. The act 
supersedes statutory requirements that would have 
allocated the Budget Reserve Fund balance to the 
General Fund deficit for FY 09. (PA 09-8 September 
Special Session (§ 42) reduces the FY 10 transfer to 
$1.0397 billion and increases the FY 11 transfer to $342 
million.) 

§ 74 — TRANSFERS FROM SPECIAL FUNDS  

Transfers to the General Fund 

The act transfers a total of $53.275 million and 
$45.275 million from various special funds and 
accounts to General Fund revenue for FY 10 and FY 11, 
respectively. The funds and transfer amounts are shown 
in Table 5. 
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Table 5:  Transfers to the General Fund 
Transfer From FY 10 FY 11 

University of Connecticut Health Center 
Medical Malpractice Trust Fund 

$10,000,000 $10,000,000 

Citizen’s Election Fund 18,000,000 7,000,000 
Tobacco and Health Trust Fund 10,000,000 10,000,000 
Biomedical Research Trust Fund 4,500,000 4,500,000 
Public, Educational and Governmental 
Programming and Education Technology 
Investment account 

2,000,000 2,000,000 

Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund 2,275,000 1,275,000 
Pretrial account 500,000 500,000 
Community Investment account, Agricultural 
Viability subaccount* 

500,000* 0 

Animal Population Control account 500,000 0 
Siting Council Fund 0 500,000 
New Automobile Warranties account 0 500,000 
University of Connecticut operating reserve 
account 

3,000,000 5,000,000 

Connecticut State University operating 
reserve account 

1,000,000 3,000,000 

Regional Community—Technical Colleges 
operating reserve account 

1,000,000 1,000,000 

(*PA 09—7, September Special Session (§ 103) repeals this transfer.) 
 
Transfers from the Technical Services Revolving Fund 

The act transfers $100,000 from the Technical 
Services Revolving Fund to the Brain Injury Prevention 
and Services account for FY 10.  On or after May 1, 
2010, it transfers $3.9 million from the Technical 
Services Revolving Fund to General Fund revenue for 
FY 11. 
 
§ 75 — TOBACCO AND HEALTH TRUST FUND 
DISBURSEMENTS 

By law, the Tobacco and Health Trust Fund board 
of trustees may recommend disbursements from the 
fund up to a specified annual statutory limit.  For FY 09 
and each subsequent fiscal year, the law allows the 
board to recommend disbursing (1) up to 50% of the 
annual disbursement in the previous fiscal year, up to a 
maximum of $6 million annually, and (2) the previous 
year’s net earnings from the fund principal. 

The act overrides this statutory disbursement limit 
to allow the board, for FY 11, to recommend disbursing 
up to the projected unobligated fund balance as of June 
30, 2011.   
 
§ 76 — UNPAID FURLOUGH DAYS FOR 
SUPERIOR COURT JUDGES 

The act requires, rather than allows, the Supreme 
Court chief justice to order Superior Court judges to 
take unpaid furlough days.  Special Act 09-6 required 
all full-time state employees not included in any 
prevailing bargaining unit contract to take mandatory 
unpaid furlough days, but made them optional for 
Superior Court judges.  (PA 09-7, September Special 

Session, (§ 39) restores the original special act 
provision, allowing rather than requiring the chief 
justice to order furlough days for Superior Court 
judges.) 
 
§ 77 — UNPAID FURLOUGH DAYS FOR JUDICIAL 
BRANCH EMPLOYEES 

The act extends to Judicial Branch employees the 
mandatory unpaid furlough day requirement for 
nonunion state employees.  SA 09-6 imposes seven days 
of mandatory unpaid furloughs on all nonunion full-
time state employees and requires part-time employees 
to take furlough days on a pro rata basis, based on their 
biweekly work schedules. Employees must take one 
furlough day before June 30, 2009; three days in FY 10, 
and three in FY 11. 
 
 
§ 78 — ADMINISTRATIVE COST LIMITS FOR 
CERTAIN FUNDS 

The act imposes administrative cost limits on 
probate court expenditures to operate the Kinship Fund, 
Grandparents and Relatives Respite Fund, and the 
Guardianship and Assisted Care Program.  For FY 10 
and FY 11, it allows the probate court to spend no more 
than 10% of the amounts appropriated for the funds and 
the program on their operations. The funds and program 
provide grants to grandparents or other relatives who are 
court—appointed guardians of a child.  
 
§ 79 — CONNECTICUT SMALL BUSINESS 
INNOVATION RESEARCH OFFICE 

The act requires Connecticut Innovations, Inc. (CII) 
to provide funding for the Connecticut Small Business 
Innovation Research Office. The office helps develop 
small businesses to engage in research and development 
in conformity with a relevant federal program.  (PA 07-
7, September Special Session (§ 79) transfers the 
responsibility to coordinate the development and 
implementation of state and quasi-public agency 
strategies on technology-based talent and innovation 
from the Office of Workforce Competitiveness to CII.) 
 
§ 80 — MAGNET SCHOOL FUNDING 
CARRYOVER 

The act carries over the unspent balance of $2.6 
million appropriated to the State Department of 
Education to cover a deficiency in the FY 09 
appropriation for magnet schools. It allows the funds to 
be spent for the same purpose during FY 10. 
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§ 81 — “MEDICALLY NECESSARY” DEFINITION 
UNDER MEDICAID  

Definition 

The act requires DSS, by July 1, 2010, to amend the 
definition of “medically necessary” services in its 
Medicaid regulations to reflect savings in the current 
biennial budget from reducing program administration 
inefficiencies while maintaining the quality of care 
provided to Medicaid beneficiaries. It allows the DSS 
commissioner to implement policies and procedures 
using the amended definition while in the process of 
adopting the definition in regulation. He must print 
notice of intent to publish the regulations in the 
Connecticut Law Journal within 45 days of 
implementing them. The policies and procedures are 
valid until final regulations are adopted.  

Medical Necessity Oversight Committee 

The act also establishes a committee to (1) advise 
DSS on the amended definition and its implementation 
and (2) provide comment to DSS and the legislature on 
its impact.  

The committee consists of 11 members appointed 
as follows: three by the governor, two each by the 
House speaker and Senate president pro tempore, and 
one each by the House and Senate majority and 
minority leaders. Appointments must be made by 
October 8, 2009. Vacancies must be filled by the 
appointing authority, but those not filled after 60 days 
may be filled by a joint appointment of the House 
speaker and Senate president pro tempore. 

The House speaker and Senate president pro 
tempore must select the committee’s chairpersons from 
among its members. The chairpersons must schedule the 
first meeting within 60 days of the act’s passage. The 
Human Services committee staff serves as the oversight 
committee’s administrative staff.  

Reporting Requirements 

The act requires the committee to submit annual 
reports on its findings and recommendations for three 
years beginning by January 1, 2010. The reports go to 
the governor and the Public Health, Human Services, 
and Appropriations committees. The act terminates the 
committee on the date it submits its third report or 
January 1, 2012, whichever is later. (PA 09-7, 
September Special Session (§ 107), enacts the same 
provisions, but gives the oversight committee a different 
name.)  

§ 82 — SURVEY OF STATE-OWNED AND -
LEASED PROPERTY 

The act requires the public works commissioner, 
within existing budgetary resources, to survey all state-
owned and -leased properties to determine their 
available capacity. By January 1, 2010, the 
commissioner must report on that available capacity to 
the Appropriations; Finance, Revenue and Bonding; and 
Government Administration and Elections committees. 
 
§ 83 — MASHANTUCKET PEQUOT AND 
MOHEGAN SLOT MACHINE REVENUE 
SETTLEMENTS 

The act approves settlements between the state and 
the Mashantucket Pequot and Mohegan tribes 
concerning calculations of slot machine revenue due to 
the state under the state’s agreements with the tribes.  
For purposes of approving the settlements, it overrides 
the statutory procedure requiring settlement agreements 
to be (1) referred to and reported by the legislative 
committees of cognizance and (2) accepted by a 
legislative resolution. 

The act applies to settlement agreements submitted 
to the General Assembly for its approval by the 
governor and the attorney general on August 26, 2009. 
 
§ 84 — TRANSPORTATION GRANTS FOR 
FORMER WRIGHT TECH STUDENTS 

The act establishes a separate state grant to 
reimburse school districts for the costs of transporting 
students who previously attended or were accepted for 
enrollment in the J.M. Wright Technical High School in 
Stamford so they may attend Henry Abbott Technical 
High School in Danbury. It allows the education 
commissioner, within available appropriations, to 
provide grants of up to $2,500 per pupil for FY 10 and 
FY 11. Grant amounts may not exceed actual 
transportation costs for each student.  Districts must 
submit grant applications when and how the 
commissioner prescribes. The act’s grant program is in 
addition to existing statutory grants for public school 
and vocational—technical school transportation costs. 
 
§ 85 — TERMINATION, REORGANIZATION, OR 
MODIFICATION OF A PORT DISTRICT OR PORT 
AUTHORITY 

 
The act eliminates a requirement, enacted in PA 09-

186, that a town get the written consent of the 
transportation commissioner before it:  

1. terminates or reorganizes (a) a port district 
established by its legislative body pursuant to 
state law or (b) a port authority appointed by 
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the town’s chief elected official pursuant to the 
law;  

2. modifies the duties or powers of a port 
authority; or  

3. modifies the property included in the port 
district. 

 
§ 86 — CITIZENS’ ELECTION FUND 
ADMINISTRATION 

The act eliminates the State Elections Enforcement 
Commission’s (SEEC) authority to deduct up to $2.3 
million annually from the Citizens’ Election Fund to 
administer the state’s public campaign financing 
program. It also repeals a requirement that unused 
administrative funds not lapse at the end of each fiscal 
year and remain available for funding the SEEC’s 
administrative costs in subsequent years. 
 
§ 87 — COMMERCIAL RECORDING ACCOUNT  

The act eliminates the Commercial Recording 
account as a separate, nonlapsing General Fund account.  
It also eliminates requirements that (1) the treasurer 
deposit in the account enough revenue from the 
secretary of the state’s fees for filing and recording 
documents and (2) the account pay all administrative 
costs of the Commercial Recording Division within the 
secretary of the state’s office.  Instead, the act requires 
the treasurer to deposit all fees the secretary receives 
into the General Fund.  

§ 88 — PLAN FOR BORROWING AGAINST 
FUTURE STATE REVENUE 

The act requires the state treasurer and the OPM 
secretary jointly to develop a financing plan to raise up 
to $1.3 billion in net general state revenue for FY 11. 
(PA 09 -7, September Special Session (§ 179) reduces 
this amount by $93 million to $1.2907 billion.)  

The financing plan can include (1) “securitization” 
of revenue from the state lottery; (2) issuing bonds and 
other debt instruments or placing them privately; or (3) 
the purchase of state debt instruments by public pension 
and trust funds, such as the state, municipal employees’, 
and teachers’ retirement funds. “Securitization” allows 
the state to borrow against a future revenue stream. 

The treasurer and secretary must finish the 
financing plan and provide it to the chairpersons of the 
Appropriations and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees by February 3, 2010. 

§ 89 — TAX SETTLEMENT INITIATIVE 
PROGRAM  

The act requires the DRS commissioner to establish 
a tax settlement initiative program for anyone who owes 

state taxes (other than motor carrier road tax) for any 
taxable period for which DRS imposed: 

1. interest or penalties for late payment or 
underreporting of taxes or 

2. interest or additional tax because the taxpayer 
failed to file a return and DRS filed one for 
him. 

The program runs from October 1, 2009 through 
December 31, 2009. 

The act authorizes the commissioner to send written 
statements to such taxpayers, notifying them of their 
eligibility for the program.  If, within 60 days after 
receiving the statement, the taxpayer pays all the taxes 
he or she owes for the applicable tax period, the 
commissioner must waive (1) civil penalties and (2) 
50% of the interest due. By making the required 
payment, the taxpayer relinquishes all unexpired 
administrative and judicial appeal rights as of the 
payment date.  

A taxpayer who fails to pay the full taxes due by 
the deadline is ineligible to participate in the settlement 
initiative program. The commissioner must retain any 
partial payments and apply them against any taxes the 
taxpayer owes, plus the full interest and penalties.  

Under the act, a taxpayer is not entitled to any 
refund or credit of (1) tax settlement payments or (2) 
amounts he or she paid toward the tax liability before 
the date of the commissioner’s written notice. 

The act authorizes the commissioner to take 
necessary actions to implement the program in a timely 
manner. 

§§ 90 & 91 — ECONOMIC NEXUS FOR 
CORPORATION AND INCOME TAX 

The act establishes “economic nexus” as the basis 
for determining whether an out-of-state business is 
subject to (1) the Connecticut corporation tax, if it is a C 
corporation, or (2) Connecticut income tax on 
nonresident partners’ or members’ income from the 
business, if it is a partnership or S corporation.   

C Corporations 

Under prior law, an out-of-state corporation that 
had no physical presence in the state (i.e., no property or 
payroll here) was not liable for the state corporation tax. 
To the extent allowed by the U.S. Constitution, this act 
subjects such a company to the corporation tax if, 
instead of a physical presence, it has a “substantial 
economic presence” here or derives income from 
sources in the state. The act requires such a corporation 
to use Connecticut law to apportion its gross income 
between Connecticut and the other states where it does 
business. 
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S Corporations and Partnerships  

Likewise, under prior law, members and partners in 
an out-of-state S corporation or partnership were not 
subject to the Connecticut personal income tax if they 
derive no income from sources within or connected to 
Connecticut. This act, to the extent allowed by the U.S. 
Constitution, subjects such members or partners to the 
state income tax if their company is doing business here. 
Under the act, having a “substantial economic presence” 
in Connecticut is deemed to show that a partnership or S 
corporation is doing business here. 

Substantial Economic Presence 

Under the act, a company has “substantial 
economic presence” in Connecticut if it purposefully 
directs business towards the state.  Its purpose can be 
determined by such measures as the frequency, quantity, 
and systematic nature of its economic contact with the 
state. The act specifies that its description of factors 
used to indicate substantial economic nexus are 
examples and do not limit or exclude other indicators. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage and applicable to 
income and taxable years starting on or after January 1, 
2010. 

§ 92 — MARSHAL FEE INCREASE 

Starting October 1, 2009, the act increases the 
annual fee each state marshal must pay from $250 to 
$750. The fee is payable by October 1 each year to the 
State Marshal Commission and is deposited in the 
General Fund. 

§ 93 — DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
DEADLINES FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS  

The act requires the DSS commissioner to send any 
subpoena, summons, warrant, or court order related to 
department-initiated proceedings to a state marshal for 
service if (1) no action was taken on it within the 
preceding 14 days and (2) the underlying proceedings 
are unresolved. (PA 09-5, September Special Session (§ 
46), eliminates this requirement.) In addition, to resolve 
any backlog, the act requires the commissioner, starting 
October 1, 2009, to forward up to 150 such documents 
per month to state marshals for service, if no action was 
taken on them within the preceding 30 days. (PA 09-5, 
September Special Session (§ 46) extends the inactivity 
period to 60 days and also requires the marshals to 
return the documents to DSS within two business days.) 

§§ 94 & 102 — CORPORATION TAX SURCHARGE 

The act imposes a 10% corporation tax surcharge 
for income years beginning in 2009, 2010, and 2011. 

The surcharge does not apply to companies (1) with less 
than $100 million in annual gross revenue for the year 
or (2) whose tax liability for the year does not exceed 
the $250 minimum tax.  Companies that file combined 
or unitary returns for the income year are not eligible for 
the gross revenue exemption. 

A company must calculate its surcharge based on 
its tax liability excluding any credits. The surcharge is 
due, payable, and collectible as part of each company’s 
total tax for the year and applies both to companies that 
pay the tax on their net income and those that pay on 
their capital base. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§§ 95, 120 & 121 — FEDERAL QUALIFIED 
DOMESTIC PRODUCTION ACTIVITIES 
DEDUCTION 

The act bars companies, individuals, and trusts and 
estates from counting the federal tax deduction for 
income from qualified domestic production activities 
when determining their taxable income for the state’s 
corporation and income taxes. 

Under federal tax law, taxpayers may deduct from 
their gross income a percentage of qualifying income 
they earn from eligible production activities taking 
place wholly or mostly within the United States. 
Eligible production activity includes manufacturing, 
construction, engineering, energy production, computer 
software, films and videotape, and agricultural products 
processing. The deduction is 6% of qualifying income 
for 2009 and 9% for 2010 and after (Internal Revenue 
Code § 199). 

The act requires (1) corporations to disregard the 
qualified domestic production activities deduction when 
calculating net income for purposes of the state 
corporation tax and (2) individuals and trusts and estates 
to add back any such deduction included in their federal 
AGI when calculating Connecticut AGI for state income 
tax purposes.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage. The corporation 
tax change applies to income years starting on or after 
January 1, 2009 and the income tax change applies to 
tax years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§ 96 — TAX CREDIT FOR DONATING OPEN 
SPACE 

The law provides a credit against the corporation 
tax for donations or discounted sales of open space land 
or interests in land to the state, a political subdivision, or 
a nonprofit land conservation organization when the 
land will be permanently preserved as open space. The 
credit equals 50% of the (1) donated land’s market 
value at its highest and best use or (2) value of the 
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discounted sales price of the land or interest in the land.   
The act extends the period for which a company 

may carry forward unused credits from 15 to 25 years.  
As under prior law, the carryforward applies only to 
credits allowed for any tax year starting on or after 
January 1, 2000. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§§ 97-101 & 485 — FILM AND DIGITAL 
ANIMATION PRODUCTION AND 
INFRASTRUCTURE INVESTMENT TAX CREDITS 

The law establishes tax credits against the 
corporation and insurance premium taxes for 
Connecticut expenses and infrastructure investments 
related to film and digital animation production. The act 
revises the film tax credit program to, among other 
things, raise minimum expenditures required to be 
eligible for credits and limit credit eligibility for out-of-
state production expenses and expenses for star 
compensation.  It also transfers the responsibility for 
administering the credit program from the Commission 
on Culture and Tourism (CCCT) to the Department of 
Economic and Community Development (DECD) and 
makes various changes in how the tax credits are 
administered. 

Film and Digital Animation Production Credits 

Prior law gave qualifying companies tax credits 
against the corporation and insurance premium taxes 
equal to 30% of the eligible costs of $50,000 or more 
for qualifying film and digital animation productions.  
For income years starting January 1, 2010, the act 
increases the minimum expenditure needed for credit 
eligibility to $100,000 and establishes a variable credit 
percentage depending on the production’s total 
Connecticut expenses or costs as follows: 10% for 
expenses between $100,000 and $500,000, 15% for 
expenses over $500,000 up to $1 million, and 30% for 
expenses over $1 million. 

Starting January 1, 2010, the act also: 
1. requires a production company to conduct at 

least 50% of its principal photography days in 
the state in order to be eligible for a credit (PA 
09-8, September Special Session adds the 
alternative eligibility criterion that a company 
spend at least 50% of its post-production costs 
here); 

2. bars a company from counting out-of-state 
expenses used in Connecticut as part of its 
credit-eligible expenses instead of, as under 
prior law, between January 1, 2009 and 
January 1, 2012, allowing a company to count 
50% of out-of-state production expenses 

towards the credit if the out-of-state expenses 
were used in Connecticut;  

3. changes the limit on credit-eligible 
compensation from $15 million paid to a single 
star to an aggregate of $20 million for all star 
talent featured in the production; and 

4. requires that, to count towards the credit, 
compensation to star talent be subject to 
Connecticut income tax.  

Finally, the act (1) makes infomercials ineligible 
for the film production tax credit and (2) excludes from 
credit eligibility any costs related to an independent 
audit of film or digital animation production project 
costs and expenses that DECD requires before credit 
certification. 

Infrastructure Investment Credits 

Starting January 1, 2010, the act changes the film 
industry infrastructure investment credit from a credit of 
from 10% to 20% depending on a project’s costs to one 
equal to a flat 20% of the qualifying investment.  It also 
increases the minimum qualifying expenditure from 
$15,000 to $3 million and requires a project be 100%, 
rather than at least 60%, complete before it can receive 
a tax credit voucher. 

Under prior law, the infrastructure investment 
credit was 10% for projects costing at least $15,000, 
15% for projects costing at least $150,000, and 20% for 
projects costing at least $1 million.  

Credit Administration 

The act transfers authority for administering the 
film tax credits from CCCT to DECD. It (1) transfers to 
DECD the CCCT’s powers and duties concerning 
digital media and motion picture promotion activities 
and (2) requires state agencies and institutions that 
contract for digital media or film productions to send 
copies of their requests for proposals to DECD, rather 
than CCCT. 

It also requires DECD, rather than CCCT, to 
prepare an explanatory guide for producers that shows 
the impact of relevant state and municipal tax statutes, 
regulations, and administrative opinions on typical 
production activities, and includes an explanation of the 
film production tax credit.  The act also requires the 
guide to explain all three credits (production, digital 
animation, and infrastructure). 

Interim Film Production Tax Credit  

The act eliminates a process that allows a company 
to apply for a tax credit voucher while a production is in 
progress, starting no sooner than three months after 
submitting its eligibility application, for its expenses up 
to that time. It continues to allow a production company 
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to apply for and receive credits on an annual basis on or 
after the date it incurs its last production expense.  

Cost Certification and Administrative Fee 

The act requires a film production or digital 
animation company, when it applies for a tax credit 
voucher, to use an audit professional chosen from a list 
DECD compiles to provide the required independent 
certification of the amount of its production expenses 
and costs. It also requires the DECD to charge a 
reasonable administrative fee sufficient to cover its 
costs to analyze tax credit applications.  

Limits on Post—Certification Remedies 

Under prior law, once CCCT issued a film 
production, digital animation, or infrastructure tax credit 
voucher, CCCT and the DRS commissioner could not 
recapture, disallow, or recover the credits or impose any 
other remedy that reduced or limited the credit amounts 
stated on the voucher. Prior law also limited CCCT’s 
and the DRS commissioner’s power to further audit or 
examine the expenses on which the credits are based 
unless there is the possibility of material 
misrepresentation or fraud.  If the company made 
material misrepresentations or committed fraud in its 
expense report and those actions resulted in inflated or 
inaccurate tax credits, CCCT’s and the DRS 
commissioner’s only remedy was to recover the amount 
of the credits from the production company itself and 
not from any other company to which the production 
company transferred the credits. 

The act applies these limits on post—certification 
remedies and audits to transferred credits, thus allowing 
DECD and the DRS commissioner to apply a post—
certification remedy to credits after they are issued.  
DECD and the DRS commissioner may only recover the 
amount of the credits from any entity that committed the 
fraud or misrepresentation. 

Under prior law, a production company was liable 
for a financial penalty equal to the credit amount, in 
addition to any other penalties already provided by law, 
only if it willfully submitted information for purposes of 
the film production and digital animation credits that it 
knew was false or fraudulent. The act eliminates the 
requirement that the submission be willful but retains 
the requirement that the company know that the 
information is false or fraudulent. 

Reporting Requirement  

The act requires DECD, rather than CCCT, to 
report to the General Assembly on digital media and 
movie production promotion activities, the economic 
impact of all productions, and the impact of each state-
assisted production. The act also requires that DECD (1) 

report each year, instead of every other year, starting by 
January 1, 2010, and (2) submit the report to the 
Commerce and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees only instead of the entire legislature. 

It eliminates a requirement that the report include 
the impact of each state-assisted production and instead 
requires it to include (1) an analysis of all three credits 
and (2) for each project or production issued a tax 
credit, (a) a description, (b) the credit amount, (c) the 
total production expenses or costs the taxpayer issued 
the credit incurred in the state, and (d) any other 
information the Commerce or Finance committee 
chairpersons request. 

Claiming Production Credits 

The act specifies that taxpayers may claim film 
production credits in the year in which the production 
expenses were incurred or any of the three following 
years.  Prior law required taxpayers to claim the credit 
in the year expenses were incurred and then allowed 
them to carry forward unused credits for the following 
three years. (PA 09-8, September Special Session, 
makes the same change for digital animation and 
infrastructure credits.) 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage. Credit changes 
apply to income years starting on or after January 1, 
2010.  
 
§ 103 — CORPORATION COMBINED REPORTING 
PREFERENCE TAX  

The act doubles, from $250,000 to $500,000, the 
maximum preference tax for groups of companies filing 
combined corporation tax returns. 

By law, any company subject to the Connecticut 
corporation tax and included with one or more affiliated 
corporations in a consolidated federal income tax return 
can choose to file a combined Connecticut return as 
well. The DRS commissioner may also require a 
corporation to file a combined return with its affiliates 
under certain circumstances. In either a case, a corporate 
group filing a combined Connecticut corporation tax 
must pay a supplemental tax in addition to that 
calculated using the group’s combined net income or 
capital base. This so-called “preference tax” is the 
difference between the sum of the amounts that would 
have been due if each member of the corporate group 
filed separately and the amount due under the combined 
return, but no more than a maximum amount. The act 
increases this maximum amount from $250,000 to 
$500,000. (PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 39) 
applies the increase to income years starting on or after 
January 1, 2009.) 
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§§ 104-106 — CIGARETTE TAX INCREASE 

The act increases the cigarette tax by $1, from $2 to 
$3 per pack of 20 (from 10 cents to 15 cents per 
cigarette), starting October 1, 2009. 

It also imposes a $1 “floor tax” on each pack of 
cigarettes that dealers and distributors have in their 
inventories at the later of the close of business or 11:59 
p.m. on September 30, 2009. By November 15, 2009, 
each dealer and distributor must report to DRS the 
number of cigarettes in inventory as of that time and 
date and pay the floor tax. If a dealer or distributor does 
not report by the due date, the DRS commissioner must 
file the report, estimating the number of cigarettes in the 
dealer’s or distributor’s inventory using any information 
the commissioner has or obtains. 

Failure to file the report by the due date is grounds 
for DRS to revoke a dealer’s or distributor’s license, and 
willful failure to file subjects the dealer or distributor to 
a fine of up to $1,000, one year in prison, or both. A 
dealer or distributor who willfully files a false report 
can be fined up to $5,000, sentenced to one to five years 
in prison, or both. Late filers are also subject to the 
same interest and penalties that apply to other late 
cigarette tax payments. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage. The cigarette tax 
increase applies to cigarette sales on or after October 1, 
2009.  

§ 107 — TOBACCO PRODUCTS AND SNUFF 
TOBACCO TAX INCREASES 

The act increases the tobacco products tax from 
20% to 27.5% of the wholesale price and the tax on 
snuff tobacco from 40 cents to 55 cents per ounce. The 
tobacco products tax applies to cigars, cheroots, pipe 
tobacco, and similar products. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
sales on and after October 1, 2009.  

§§ 108-113 — SALES AND USE TAX RATE 
REDUCTION 

Starting January 1, 2010, the act reduces the sales 
and use tax rates applicable to most taxable items and 
services from 6% to 5.5%, if certain conditions are met. 
The reduction does not take effect if, before January 1, 
2010, the comptroller’s monthly statement indicates that 
estimated General Fund tax revenue for FY 10 is at least 
1% less than the FY 10 General Fund estimated gross 
tax revenue adopted by the Finance, Revenue and 
Bonding Committee and incorporated in the act.  That 
estimate is $12.0175 billion (§ 485). 

If the reduction takes effect and any of the 
comptroller’s monthly statements issued between 
January 1, 2010 and June 30, 2010 show estimated 
gross General Fund tax revenue for FY 10 falling 1% or 

more below $12.0175 billion, the sales and use tax rate 
must be restored to 6% on July 1, 2010. 

The act does not change rates for items and services 
taxable at rates other than 6%, such as hotel room 
rentals (12%), motor vehicle sales to out-of-state 
residents on full-time active military duty in the state 
(4.5%), and computer and data processing services 
(1%). 

The act also makes conforming changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: The provisions setting conditions 
for a rate reduction on January 1, 2010 are effective on 
passage.  The remaining provisions take effect January 
1, 2010. Any sales and use tax rate changes that take 
effect apply to sales on or after that date. 

§ 114 — REAL ESTATE CONVEYANCE TAX ON 
FORECLOSURES 

This act extends the real estate conveyance tax (see 
BACKGROUND) to property foreclosed by sale 
through a court order. Prior law exempted such property 
transfers from the tax. 

Under a foreclosure by sale, any party can ask the 
court to force a sale of the property. The court appoints 
a committee to sell the property, after which the court 
grants the deed to the purchaser.  The borrower whose 
home is being foreclosed may stop the sale by paying up 
his or her mortgage. (A “foreclosure by sale” is distinct 
from a “strict foreclosure” or bank foreclosure through 
which a lender asks the court for the deed.) 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010 and applicable to 
conveyances on or after that date. 

§ 115 — USE TAX TABLE 

The act requires the DRS commissioner to include 
a use tax table on state income tax forms, showing the 
Connecticut use tax rate and the total taxes due for 
various amounts spent. 

By law, someone who buys a taxable item or 
service for use in Connecticut and does not pay sales tax 
to the retailer at the time of the purchase must remit the 
equivalent use tax directly to DRS.  Use tax is generally 
remitted along with personal income tax payments.  

§ 116-118 — ESTATE AND GIFT TAX  

Starting with deaths occurring and gifts made on or 
after January 1, 2010, this act (1) increases, from $2 
million to $3.5 million, the minimum value of an estate 
or gift subject to the estate and gift tax and (2) reduces 
marginal tax rates on estates and gifts valued at $3.5 
million or more by 25%, as shown in Table 6. 

It also eliminates the so-called “cliff” in the tax. 
Under prior law, an estate or gift valued at $2 million or 
less was exempt while the full value of any estate or gift 
valued at more than $2 million was taxable. This 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 



 JUNE 2009 SPECIAL SESSION 31 
 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 

structure produced a “cliff” in which a $1 increase in the 
value of a gift or estate from $2,000,000 to $2,000,001 
or more increased its tax liability from zero to $101,700.  
The act eliminates the cliff by eliminating the 
requirement that, once an estate’s or gift’s taxable value 

exceeded the taxable threshold, the tax applied to its 
entire value. Instead, it applies the tax only to the 
marginal value over the threshold (see Table 6). 

 

 
 

Table 6: Old and New Estate and Gift Taxes 

VALUE OF 
TAXABLE ESTATE OR GIFT 

OLD TAX RATE 
Deaths on or before 
 December 31, 2009 
(Add cols. C & D) 

NEW TAX RATE 
Deaths on or after 
January 1, 2010 

(Add cols. E  & F) 

Col. A: 
Over 

Col. B: 
But not over 

Col. C: 
Tax on 
Col. A 

Col. D: 
Tax rate on 

excess 
over Col. A 

Col.E: 
Tax on 
Col. A 

Col. F: 
Tax rate on 

excess 
over Col. A 

0 $2,000,000 NO TAX 
$2,000,000 2,100,000 5.085% of the total over 0 
2,100,000 2,600,000 $106,800 8.0% 
2,600,000 3,100,000 146,800 8.8% 
3,100,000 3,500,000 190,800 9.6% 

NO TAX 

3,500,000 3,600,000 190,800 9.6% 0 7.2% 
3,600,000 4,100,000 238,800 10.4% $7,200 7.8% 
4,100,000 5,100,000 290,800 11.2% 46,200 8.4% 
5,100,000 6,100,000 402,800 12.0% 130,200 9.0% 
6,100,000 7,100,000 522,800 12.8% 220,200 9.6% 
7,100,000 8,100,000 650,800 13.6% 316,200 10.2% 
8,100,000 9,100,000 786,800 14.4% 418,200 10.8% 
9,100,000 10,100,000 930,800 15.2% 526,200 11.4% 

Over $10,100,000 1,082,800 16.0% 640,200 12.0% 
 
 
The act also reduces the time an executor has to file 

an estate tax return by making the filing deadline six, 
rather than nine, months after the date of death, starting 
with deaths on or after July 1, 2009.  

Finally, the act allows a taxpayer a credit against 
gift taxes owed for gifts made on or after January 1, 
2010, but only for taxes previously paid for other gifts 
also made on or after that date.  (PA 09-8, September 
Special Session, expands the credit to include gift taxes 
paid on gifts made between January 1, 2005 and 
December 31, 2009 but specifies that the credit cannot 
exceed the gift tax imposed for gifts on or after January 
1, 2010.) 
EFFECTIVE DATE: The change in the estate tax filing 
deadline takes effect July 1, 2009 and applies to taxes 
payable on or after that date.  (PA 09-8, September 
Special Session, changes this to apply the new filing 
deadline to estates of those who die on or after July 1, 
2009.) The other changes take effect January 1, 2010 
and apply to estates of those who die, and to gifts made, 
on or after that date.  

§ 119 — INCOME TAX RATE INCREASE 

The act increases income taxes on taxable incomes 
over $1 million for joint filers, $800,000 for heads of 
households, and $500,000 for single filers and married 
people filing separately. It does so by adding a third, 
higher-income tax bracket and increasing the marginal 
tax rate for income in that bracket from 5.0% to 6.5%. It 
also increases the flat income tax rate for trusts and 
estates from 5.0% to 6.5%. 

Table 7 shows tax rates and brackets under the prior 
law and the act. (Note: The tax rates shown apply only 
to the taxable income in the applicable bracket, not to 
all of a taxpayer’s income.)  
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Table 7: Old and New Income Tax Rates and Brackets 
CT TAXABLE INCOME 

TAX RATES Married Filing 
Jointly or Surviving 

Spouse 
Single 

Prior 
Law 

The 
Act 

Over But Not Over Over But Not 
Over 

3.0% 3.0% $0 $20,000 $0 $10,000 
5.0% 20,000 1,000,000 10,000 500,000 5.0% 6.5% Over $1,000,000 Over $500,000 

TAX RATES Head of 
Household 

Married Filing 
Separately 

Prior 
Law 

The 
Act 

Over But Not Over Over But Not 
Over 

3.0% 3.0% $0 $16,000 $0 $10,000 
5.0% 16,000 800,000 10,000 500,000 5.0% 6.5% Over $800,000 Over $500,000 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
tax years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§§ 122-124 — DELAY IN SCHEDULED INCOME 
TAX REDUCTIONS FOR SINGLE FILERS 

The act delays scheduled income tax reductions for 
single filers for three years. It does so by delaying 
scheduled increases in (1) their adjusted gross income 
(AGI) exempt from the tax and (2) income thresholds 
for phasing out their personal exemptions and credits 
and their maximum property tax credits. 

Personal Exemption  

Under prior law, the maximum personal exemption 
for single filers was scheduled to increase from $13,000 
to $13,500 on January 1, 2009. It was also scheduled to 
rise in annual steps to $15,000 on January 1, 2012. The 
act instead maintains the $13,000 personal exemption 
for three more years, through the 2011 tax year, 
delaying the increase to $13,500 and each subsequent 
increase by three years. It also delays scheduled 
increases in the exemption reduction thresholds to 
correspond, as shown in Table 8. (The income tax 
personal exemption is reduced by $1,000 for each 
$1,000 of AGI over a specified threshold, which varies 
according to filing status.) 

Table 8: Personal Exemptions for Single Filers 
 

 
Tax Year(s) 

 
 

Prior Law The Act 

Maximum 
Personal 

Exemption 
(AGI) 

Personal 
Exemption 
Reduction 
Threshold 

(AGI) 
2008 Through 2011 $13,000 $26,000 
2009 2012 13,500 27,000 
2010 2013 14,000 28,000 
2011 2014 14,500 29,000 
2012 and after 2015 and after 15,000 30,000 

Personal Credit  

The act also delays by three years scheduled 
increases in income ranges that allow single filers to 
qualify for personal credits against their income tax. 
Personal credits range from 1% to 75% of tax liability 
depending on AGI. Filers with AGIs above specified 
levels, which vary depending on filing status, do not 
qualify for any credit. Table 9 shows qualifying 
personal credit income ranges for single filers under 
prior law and the act. 

Table 9: Personal Credits for Single Filers 
 

Tax Year(s) Qualifies for 1% to 75% 
Personal Credit (AGI) 

Prior Law The Act Over But Not Over 
2008 Through 2011 $13,000 $56,500 
2009 2012 13,500 58,500 
2010 2013 14,000 60,500 
2011 2014 14,500 62,500 
2012 and after 2015 and after 15,000 64,500 

 
Property Tax Credit 

Finally, the act delays by three years scheduled 
increases in AGI ranges that allow single filers to 
qualify for property tax credits.  By law, the maximum 
property tax credit is $500.  Certain taxpayers qualify 
for a reduced credit or no credit depending on their AGI 
and filing status, with the maximum credit reduced by 
10% for each $10,000 of AGI over the specified 
threshold.  Under prior law, the AGI threshold at which 
a single filer’s maximum property tax credit starts to be 
reduced was scheduled to increase annually over the 
four years from 2008 to 2012 from $56,500 to $64,500.  
This act delays each of these scheduled increases by 
three years as shown in Table 10. 

 
Table 10: Maximum Property Tax Credits for Single 

Filers 

Tax Year (s) 
Prior Law The Act 

Maximum Property 
Tax Reduction 

Threshold (AGI) 
2008 Through 2011 $56,500 
2009 2012 58,500 
2010 2013 60,500 
2011 2014 62,500 
2012 and after 2015 and after 64,500 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
tax years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

§ 125 — PLAN TO SELL STATE ASSETS 

The act requires the state treasurer and the OPM 
secretary jointly to establish a plan to sell state assets to 
raise up to $15 million of net general revenue for FY 10 
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and up to $45 million for FY 11. They must finish the 
plan and provide it to the Appropriations and Finance, 
Revenue and Bonding committee chairpersons by 
February 3, 2010. 

§ 126 — TRANSFERS TO SPECIAL 
TRANSPORTATION FUND 

The act requires the comptroller to transfer the 
following amounts from the General Fund to the Special 
Transportation Fund: (1) $72 million for FY 10 and (2) 
$117.5 million for FY 11 and each fiscal year thereafter. 
(PA 09—8, September Special Session (§ 41) changes 
the transfer amounts to $81.2 million for FY 10, $126 
million for FY 11 and FY 12, and $172.8 million for FY 
13 and subsequent years.) 

§§ 127 & 128 — SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION BOND 
AUTHORIZATIONS 

The act authorizes an additional $188.35 million in 
GO bonds for local school construction projects and an 
additional $2.6 million in such bonds for school 
construction interest subsidy grants. (PA 09-2, 
September Special Session (§§ 3 and 4), increases these 
authorizations by $488.5 million and $9 million, 
respectively.) 

§§ 129-132 — BONDS CONFORMING TO NEW 
FEDERAL SUBSIDY PROGRAMS 

The act authorizes the State Bond Commission or a 
municipality, as appropriate, to make any agreements 
and representations needed to ensure that bonds, notes, 
and other debt obligations they issue are eligible for any 
applicable federal payments, tax credits, or other desired 
federal income tax treatment.  The law already allowed 
the commission and municipalities to make whatever 
agreements and representations are required to ensure 
that interest on state and local debt obligations is 
exempt from federal income taxes. The act’s expanded 
representation authority for the commission applies to 
both state general obligation and special tax obligation 
bonds.  

Starting July 1, 2009, the act credits to the Special 
Transportation Fund all money received or collected by 
the state as the issuer of transportation bonds under the 
issuer subsidy option. 

The act’s changes enable the state and 
municipalities to take advantage of the federal “Build 
America Bonds” (BABs) program authorized by the 
2009 federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA) (see BACKGROUND).  

§§ 133 & 134 — BONDING FOR TOWN AID ROAD 
(TAR) PROGRAM 

The act allows the state to issue special tax 
obligation bonds to make payments to towns under the 
TAR Program. Under prior law, the state appropriated 
money for TAR.  The aid must be used for (1) local 
road and bridge construction and repair; (2) improving 
dirt and other unimproved roads; and (3) emergency 
repairs for roads, bridges, and dams damaged by natural 
disasters. 

The act also makes a technical correction to a 
statutory reference in a provision of PA 09-2 that 
transfers $28 million from the Local Bridge Revolving 
Fund (loan program) to the General Fund as revenue for 
FY 09. 

§§ 135-139 — SUPERIOR COURT FEE INCREASES 

The act increases the fees for filing certain actions 
and motions with the Superior Court, as shown in Table 
11. 

 
Table 11: Superior Court Fee Increases 

Action or Motion Prior 
Law 

The 
Act 

Case in which the sole claim for relief is damages 
and the amount, legal interest, or property in 
demand is less than $2,500 

$120 $175 

Summary process, landlord and tenant, and 
paternity actions 

120 175 

Small claims case 35 75 
Motion to transfer a small claims case to the 
regular docket 

75 125 

Motion to open, set aside, modify, or extend any 
Superior Court civil judgment  in a housing matter 

35 75 

Motion to open, set aside, modify, or extend any 
Superior Court civil judgment  in a small claims 
matter 

25 75 

Application from judgment creditor for 
enforcement of an unsatisfied judgment, including 
debts due from any financial institution to a 
judgment debtor 

35 75 

 
§§ 140-462 — STATE FEE INCREASES 

The act raises many state fees according to the 
following general pattern. It: 

1. increases all fees under $15 to at least $15; 
2. doubles fees under $150; 
3. increases fees between $150 and $1,000 by 

25%; and 
4. adds $250 to fees of $1,000 or more. 
It also makes the following changes in DEP fees set 

by regulation: (1) doubles those set at less than $150; 
(2) increases those that were previously set between 
$150 and $1,000 by 25%, rounded up to the nearest $5; 
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and (3) increases those of more than $1,000 by $250. 
(PA 09-8, September Special Session, makes additional 
changes in DEP’s regulatory fees.) 

Table 12 lists the act’s fee increases, by agency.  

Agencies are in alphabetical order in the table and fees 
are listed in numerical order by section under each 
agency.  

 
 

Table 12:  State Fee Increases 
(Note: Subsequent public acts reverse or otherwise change some of the fee increases passed in this act.  Please refer to notes at the end of this table 

for amendments to the fee increases listed below.) 

Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 

ALL AGENCIES 

391 NEW 

Increases fees that are in effect pursuant to regulations as follows: 
• Fees $1,000 or more are increased by $250 
• Fees $150 or more but less than $1,000 are increased by 

25% and rounded up to the nearest $5 
• Fees less than $150 are doubled 

  

140 1-212 Maximum fee to copy public records with hand—held scanner $10 $20 
ACCOUNTANCY BOARD 

234 20-281c CPA – certificate  75 150 
234 20-281c CPA – annual certificate registration 20 40 

235 20-281d CPA — Renewal application fee for failing to earn continuing education 
credits within three months of deadline 250 315 

235 20-281d CPA — Renewal application fee for failing to earn  continuing education 
credits within six months of deadline 500 625 

235 20-281d CPA — Initial license  75 150 
235 20-281d CPA license renewal 450 565 
236 20-281e CPA – permit renewal 75 150 

AGRICULTURE 
291 22-12b Fur breeder license 8 16 
292 22-57 Agricultural, lawn, vegetable seed seller license 50 100 

293 22-236 
Milk dealer, yogurt manufacturer, subdealer – license, base fee 
(Note: Fee for dealers with annual sales over 100,000 quarts is 
increased by 0.21 cents per 100 quarts of milk) 

50 100 

293 22-236 Cheese manufacturer license 50 100 
293 22-236 Dry milk manufacturer license 50 100 
293 22-236 Milk retail store 30 60 
294 22-277 Livestock commission sales license 150 190 
295 22-320c Swine, garbage feeder registration 5 15 
296 22-326f Poultry, intensive operation permit 10 20 
298 22-344 Commercial kennel license  100 200 

299 22-384 Livestock dealer or broker (Note:  Statute allows agriculture 
commissioner to raise fee by regulation.) 150 190 

300 22-385 License to conduct business of buying, selling, receiving or other 
business activities with livestock 50 100 

301 22-414 Commission sales of horses – license, one auction annually 15 30 
301 22-414 Commission sales of  horses – license, more than one auction annually 50 100 
303 26-212 Shell—fishing boat license, commercial purposes 15 30 

304 26-213 License for each person taking shellfish from a commercial boat with 
above license 10 20 

305 26-219 License to take conchs > ½ bushel per day 50 100 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 

BANKING 

380 36a-491 Mortgage lender/broker — renewal late fee 100 Deletes 
provision 

380 36a-491 Mortgage lender or correspondent lender license or license renewal 800 1,000 
380 36a-491 Mortgage broker license or license renewal 400 500 

380 36a-491 Renewal fee for mortgage lender or correspondent lender holding 
license on September 30, 2008 900 1,125 

380 36a-491 Renewal fee for mortgage broker holding license on June 30, 2008 450 565 
380 36a-491 Mortgage originator license or renewal fee 100 300 

380 36a-491 Renewal fee for mortgage lender or correspondent lender holding 
mortgage originator license on September 30, 2008 125 Deletes 

provision 

380 36a-491 Mortgage originator license fee after January 1, 2010 100 Deletes 
provision 

381 36a-599 Money transmitter investigative fee 500 625 
381 36a-599 Money transmitter license 2,000 2,250 

381 36a-599 Renewed money transmitter investigative fee paid a year before 
expiration 500 625 

381 36a-599 Money transmitter license renewal fee paid a year before expiration 1,000 1,250 
381 36a-599 License renewal  2,000 2,250 
381 36a-599 Money transmitter name change  100 200 
382 36b-12 Broker—dealer or investment adviser 250 315 
382 36b-12 Agent or investment advisor agent 50 100 
382 36b-12 Transfer of agent registration 50 100 
383 36b-13 Renewal of broker—dealer or investment adviser  150 190 
383 36b-13 Renewal of agent or investment adviser agent 50 100 

CONSUMER PROTECTION 
160 14-319 License to sell gasoline: station w/one pump 50 100 
160 14-319 License to sell gasoline: station with more than 1 pump 50 100 
160 14-319 License to sell gasoline: fee for each pump (over 1) 14 28 
161 14-327b Certificate of registration for motor fuel distributors 100 200 

162 16a-23m Certificate of registration to sell home heating oil and propane gas 
dealers 100 200 

237 20-292 Architects — corporation certificate of authorization 175 220 
237 20-292 Architects — exam 36 72 
237 20-292 Architects — license other than by examination 50 100 
238 20-305 Professional engineer — application 40 80 
238 20-305 Professional engineer — application for training license 38 76 
238 20-305 Professional engineer — initial license 110 220 
238 20-305 Land surveyor — application 40 80 
238 20-305 Land surveyor — application for training license 32 64 
238 20-305 Land surveyor — initial license  110 220 

238 20-305 Professional engineer/Land surveyor —  combined  license fee 
application 40 80 

238 20-305 Professional engineer/Land surveyor — initial combined  license fee 110 220 

239 20-306a Professional engineer/Land surveyor – corporation/LLC initial 
registration  450 565 

239 20-306a Professional engineer/Land surveyor – corporation/LLC renewal  300 375 

240 20-306b Architect/ Professional engineer/Land surveyor — corporation/LLC  
initial registration  450 565 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 



36 JUNE 2009 SPECIAL SESSION  
 

Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 

240 20-306b Architect/ Professional engineer/Land surveyor — corporation/LLC  
renewal  300 375 

241 20-308 Professional engineer, land surveyor or combined professional 
engineer/land surveyor — licensed  in other states 150 190 

242 20-314 Real estate broker — license application 60 120 
242 20-314 Real estate salesperson — license application 40 80 
242 20-314 Real estate broker – initial license 450 565 
242 20-314 Real estate broker – renewal 300 375 
242 20-314 Real estate salesperson – initial license & renewal 225 285 
242 20-314 Real estate broker — reinstate license  300 375 
242 20-314 Real estate salesperson  — reinstate license 225 285 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  1—50 units — initial 250 315 
243 20-329f Renew above license 100 200 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  51—100 units — initial 275 345 
243 20-329f Renew above license 125 250 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  101—150 units — initial 300 375 
243 20-329f Renew above license 150 190 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  151—200 units — initial 325 410 
243 20-329f Renew above license 175 220 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  201—250 units — initial 350 440 
243 20-329f Renew above license 200 250 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  251—300 units — initial 375 470 
243 20-329f Renew above license 225 285 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  301—350 units — initial 400 500 
243 20-329f Renew above license 250 315 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  351—400 units — initial 425 535 
243 20-329f Renew above license 275 345 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  401—450 units — initial 450 565 
243 20-329f Renew above license 300 375 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  451—500 units — initial 475 595 
243 20-329f Renew above license 325 410 
243 20-329f License to offer or dispose of subdivision lots,  > 501 units — initial 500 625 
243 20-329f Renew above license 350 440 

244 20-333 

Electrician, plumber, solar, heating, piping, & cooling, elevator, fire 
protection sprinkler, irrigation contractors and journeymen, gas hearth 
installer contractors and journeymen — unlimited journeyman, elevator 
craftsman, limited journeyman for large commercial sheet metal work – 
application fee 

45 90 

244 20-333 
Electrician, plumber, unlimited contractor, solar thermal contractor or 
journeyman, fire protection sprinkler contractor, limited contractor for 
large commercial sheet metal work – application fee 

75 150 

245 20-334a Medical gas and vacuum certificate 25 50 

246 20-335 
Electrician; plumber; solar, heating, piping, & cooling; elevator and fire 
protection sprinkler craftsmen; irrigation contractors and journeymen; 
and gas hearth installer — contractor license initial and renewal 

75 150 

246 20-335 
Electrician; plumber; solar, heating, piping, & cooling; elevator and fire 
protection sprinkler craftsmen; irrigation contractors and journeymen; 
and gas hearth installer — other license initial and renewal 

60 120 

248 20-341y Mechanical contractor – registration renewal 55 110 
249 20-349 TV, radio, electronics services dealer — application 100 200 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
249 20-349 TV, radio, electronics services technician — application 40 80 
249 20-349 TV, radio, electronics services apprentice — application 20 40 

249 20-349 TV, radio, electronics services dealer & technician – licensed as 
individual 100 200 

249 20-349 TV, radio, electronics services — temporary permit 20 40 
250 20-357m Telecom infrastructure layout technician — application 75 150 
250 20-357m Telecom infrastructure layout technician — initial license & renewal 250 315 
252 20-374 Landscape architect  — exam 40 80 
252 20-374 Landscape architect  — initial license 140 280 
252 20-374 Landscape architect — duplicate license 5 15 
252 20-374 Landscape architect — reinstate suspended license 200 250 
252 20-374 Landscape architect —reinstate lapsed license 90 180 
253 20-377m Interior designer – registration application 150 190 
254 20-377s Interior designer — renewal 50 90 
258 20-417b New home contractor – registration & renewal 120 240 
259 20-421 Home improvement contractor – registration application 60 120 
259 20-421 Home improvement contractor – salesman registration 60 120 
260 20-435 Asbestos contractor – license & renewal 500 625 
261 20-436 Asbestos consultant – license & renewal 200 250 
262 20-437 Asbestos abatement worker —  certificate & renewal 25 50 
263 20-457 Community association manager – registration renewal 100 200 
263 20-457 Community association manager — registration restoration 25 50 
267 20-492a Home inspector license & renewal 200 250 
268 20-493a Home inspector intern license & renewal 100 200 
269 20-511 Certified appraisers – initial certificate 300 375 
269 20-511 Certified appraisers — renewal 225 285 
269 20-511 Licensed and limited licensed appraisers – initial & renewal 225 285 
269 20-511 Provisional appraisers – initial & renewal 50 100 
270 20-517 Appraiser continuing education document processing fee 8 16 
271 20-540 Public service gas technician – registration application fee 45 90 
272 20-559h Athlete agent license – initial & renewal registration application 200 250 

272 20-559h Athlete agent license – initial & renewal based on out-of-state license or 
registration  200 250 

273 20-601 Pharmacist - initial license 100 200 
273 20-601 Pharmacist license exam 150 190 
273 20-601 Pharmacy - initial license 600 750 
273 20-601 Pharmacy license - renewal  150 190 
273 20-601 Pharmacy license - notice of change of corporate officers or directors 30 60 

273 20-601 Pharmacy license – late fee for failing to give 10 days notice of above 
change 25 50 

273 20-601 Pharmacy license – notice of change of name, ownership, or 
management 45 90 

273 20-601 Pharmacy license – late fee for failing to give 10 days notice of above 
change 25 50 

273 20-601 Pharmacy intern - registration 30 60 
273 20-601 Permit to sell non-legend drugs - initial 70 140 
273 20-601 Permit to sell non-legend drugs - renewal 50 100 
273 20-601 Permit to sell non-legend drugs - late fee for failing to give five days 10 20 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
notice of change of name, ownership, or location 

273 20-601 Nonresident pharmacy certificate - issuance 600 750 
273 20-601 Nonresident pharmacy certificate - renewal 150 190 
273 20-601 Pharmacy technician – initial registration 50 100 
273 20-601 Pharmacy technician - renewal 25 50 
273 20-601 Issuance of a temporary permit to practice pharmacy 100 200 
274 20-653 Shorthand reporter – application for license 50 100 
274 20-653 Shorthand reporter license – initial & renewal 150 190 
275 20-660 Hypnotist – application fee & registration renewal 50 100 
276 20-672 Homemaker-companion agency – registration  300 375 
277 21-28 Itinerant vendor & managing itinerant vendor - License 100 200 
277 21-28 Itinerant vendor licensee payment to Itinerant Vendor Guaranty Fund 100 200 
278 21-35m Closing-out sale promoter – registration & renewal  100 200 

279 21-67 Mobile manufactured home park operator license & renewal - 29 spaces 
or less (additional fee of $3 per space is unchanged) 125 250 

279 21-67 Mobile manufactured home park operator license & renewal - 30-50 
spaces 688 860 

279 21-67 Mobile manufactured home park operator license & renewal - 51-100 
spaces 1,063 1,315 

279 21-67 Mobile manufactured home park operator license & renewal - >100 
spaces 1,250 1,500 

279 21-67 Mobile manufactured home seller – license & renewal 300 375 
280 21a-36 Operator license, one-cent vending machines - 1-3 machines 10 20 
280 21a-36 Operator license, one-cent vending machines -  4-50 machines 20 40 
280 21a-36 Operator license, one-cent vending machines -  51-100 machines 40 80 

280 21a-36 Operator license, one-cent vending machines - 100+ machines, fee per 
100 machines or fraction thereof 40 80 

280 21a-36 Operator license, 5+ cents vending machines  -  1-3 machines 20 40 
280 21a-36 Operator license, 5+ cents vending machines - 4-50 machines 50 100 
280 21a-36 Operator license, 5+ cents vending machines - 51-100 machines 100 200 

280 21a-36 Operator license, 5+ cents vending machines - 100+ machines, fee per 
100 machines or fraction thereof 100 200 

281 21a-52 Frozen dessert, retail manufacturer license – per plant 25 50 

281 21a-52 Frozen dessert and frozen dessert mix, wholesale manufacturer license 
– first 25,000 gallons or fraction thereof 50 100 

281 21a-52 Frozen dessert and frozen dessert mix, wholesale manufacturer license 
- per 1,000 gallons or fraction over 25,000 gallons  0.75 1.50 

281 21a-52 Frozen dessert and frozen dessert mix, wholesale manufacturer license 
- Maximum annual fee 2,500 2,750 

282 21a-70 Drug wholesaler certificate & renewal 150 190 

282 21a-70 Drug manufacturer employing 1-5 chemists/pharmacists – certificate & 
renewal 225 285 

282 21a-70 Drug manufacturer employing 6-10 chemists/pharmacists - certificate & 
renewal 300 375 

282 21a-70 Drug manufacturer employing 10+ chemists/pharmacists – certificate & 
renewal 750 940 

283 21a-79 Item price requirement exemption - application fee, retailer < 20,000 sq 
ft 250 315 

283 21a-79 Item price requirement exemption - application fee, retailer  20,000 + sq 
ft   500 625 

283 21a-79 Item price exemption, accuracy re-inspection 200 250 
284 21a-137 Manufacturer, non-alcoholic beverages - license  75 150 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 



 JUNE 2009 SPECIAL SESSION 39 
 

Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
285 21a-146 Manufacturer, apple juice and cider – registration, initial & renewal 10 20 
286 21a-152 Bakery license, 0-4 production employees 10 20 
286 21a-152 Bakery license, 5-9 production employees 20 40 
286 21a-152 Bakery license, 10-24 production employees 50 100 
286 21a-152 Bakery license, 25-99 production employees 100 200 
286 21a-152 Bakery license, 100+ production employees 200 250 
287 21a-223 Health club license – initial and renewal 200 250 
288 21a-234 Bedding manufacturer license – issuance or reissuance 50 100 
288 21a-234 Bedding supply dealer license – issuance or reissuance 50 100 
288 21a-234 Bedding renovator license – issuance or reissuance 25 50 
288 21a-234 Bedding second hand dealer license – issuance or reissuance 25 50 
289 21a-246 Controlled substance wholesaler license 150 190 

289 21a-246 Controlled substance manufacturer, employing < 5 
chemists/pharmacists 225 285 

289 21a-246 Controlled substance manufacturer, employing 6-10 
chemists/pharmacists 300 375 

289 21a-246 Controlled substance manufacturer, employing >10 
chemists/pharmacists 750 940 

289 21a-246 Controlled substance laboratory 40 80 

290 21a-321 Practitioner distributing, administering, or dispensing controlled 
substances - registration 20 40 

302 25-129 Well drilling contractor – registration application  44 88 
302 25-129 Well drilling contractor – registration renewal 125 250 
302 25-129 Well drilling contractor – duplicate registration certificate 3 15 

302 25-129 Well casing extension, limited contractor/journeyperson registration - 
initial & renewal 25 50 

327 30-16 Liquor manufacturer – annual  1,600 1,850 
327 30-16 Beer manufacturer - annual  800 1,000 
327 30-16 Cider manufacturer - annual  160 200 
327 30-16 Apple brandy & eau-de-vie manufacturer - annual  320 400 
327 30-16 Farm winery manufacturer- annual  240 300 
327 30-16 Brew pub manufacturer - annual  240 300 
328 30-17 Wholesaler, liquor - annual  2,400 2,650 
328 30-17 Wholesaler, beer - annual 800 1,000 
329 30-17b Wholesale salesman certificate - application 25 50 
329 30-17b Wholesale salesman certificate – application on change of employment 25 50 

330 30-18 Out-of-state shippers permit, other than beer - CT manufacturer or 
wholesaler - annual 45 90 

330 30-18 Out-of-state shippers permit, other than beer - any other person - 
annual 1,000 1,250 

331 30-18a Out-of-state winery shipper’s permit for wine - annual 250 315 

332 30-19 Out-of-state shipper’s permit for beer - CT manufacturer or wholesaler -  
annual 45 90 

332 30-19 Out-of-state shipper’s permit for beer – any other person -  annual 1,000 1,250 
333 30-19f In-state transporter permit,  alcoholic liquor - annual 1,000 1,250 
334 30-20 Package store permit - annual 400 500 
334 30-20 Grocery store beer permit - annual 80 160 
335 30-20a University beer permit - annual 240  300 
335 30-20a University beer and wine permit - annual 560 700 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
335 30-20a University liquor permit - annual 240 300 
336 30-21 Hotel liquor permit - in towns with population under 10,000 1,200 1,450 

336 30-21 Hotel liquor permit - in towns with population greater than 10K and less 
than 50K 1,600 1,850 

336 30-21 Hotel liquor permit - in towns with population greater than 50K 2,400 2,650 
336 30-21 Hotel beer permit 240 300 
337 30-21b Resort liquor permit  1,200 1,450 
338 30-22 Restaurant liquor permit  1,200 1,450 
338 30-22 Restaurant beer permit  240 300 
338 30-22 Restaurant wine and beer permit  560 700 
339 30-22a Café liquor permit 1,750 2,000 
340 30-22b Restaurant liquor permit for catering business 1,200 1,450 
341 30-23 Club liquor permit 240 300 
341 30-23 Nonprofit club liquor permit 650 815 
342 30-24a Golf country club liquor permit 800 1,000 
343 30-25 Special club liquor permit for picnics 25 50 
344 30-26 Tavern liquor permit 240 300 
345 30-28 Railroad liquor permit 400 500 
346 30-28a Airline liquor permit 400 500 
347 30-29 Boat liquor permit 400 500 
348 30-30 Brokers’ liquor permit 160 200 
349 30-33 Liquor concession permit - 1 year 240 300 
349 30-33 Liquor concession permit - 6 months 160 200 
349 30-33 Liquor concession permit - 1 day 25 50 
350 30-33a Coliseum liquor permit 2,000 2,250 
350 30-33a Coliseum beer permit 1,000 1,250 
351 30-33b Special sporting facilities restaurant liquor permit 1,200 1,450 
351 30-33b Special sporting facilities employee recreational liquor permit 240 300 
351 30-33b Special sporting facilities guest liquor permit 240 300 
351 30-33b Special sporting facilities concession beer and wine permit 240 300 
351 30-33b Special sporting facilities bar liquor permit 300 375 
352 30-33c Special outing facility beer permit 240 300 
352 30-33c Special outing facility liquor permit 1,200 1,450 
353 30-34 Military beer permit 15 30 

354 30-35 Temporary beer permit for noncommercial outings and social gatherings 
(per day) 15 30 

354 30-35 Temporary liquor permit for noncommercial outings and social 
gatherings (per day) 25 50 

355 30-35a Nonprofit theater liquor permit 200 250 
356 30-36 Druggist liquor permit 400 500 
357 30-37a Nonprofit public museum liquor permit 200 250 
358 30-37b Charitable organization liquor permit 25 50 
359 30-37c Bowling alley liquor permit 2,000 2,250 
359 30-37c Bowling beer and wine permit 350 440 
359 30-37c Racquetball facility liquor permit 2,000 2,250 
360 30-37d Nonprofit public television beer and wine permit 25 50 
361 30-37e Airport restaurant liquor permit 1,200 1,450 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
361 30-37e Airport bar liquor permit 300 375 
361 30-37e Airport airline club liquor permit 650 815 
362 30-37g Nonprofit golf tournament liquor permit 200 250 
363 30-37i Hotel guest bar  liquor permit (each room) 50 100 
364 30-37j Catering liquor permit liquor permit 350 440 
365 30-37k Casino liquor permit 2,400 2,650 
365 30-37k Additional casino hotel guest bar liquor permit (each room) 50 100 
366 30-62a Consumer bar liquor permit 150 190 
367 30-63 Liquor: Out-of-state shipper registration 100 200 
367 30-63 Liquor: CT manufacturer registration of brands 3 15 
386 43-3 Weights and measuring devices registration: motor fuel dispenser 25 50 
386 43-3 Weights and measuring devices registration: large device 125 250 
386 43-3 Weights and measuring devices registration: medium device 50 100 
386 43-3 Weights and measuring devices registration: small device 15 30 
387 43-16f Public weigher license  20 40 
387 43-16f Public weigher license renewal 20 40 
388 43-47 Weighing and measuring devices: dealer license 25 50 
388 43-47 Weighing and measuring devices: dealer license renewal 25 50 
388 43-47 Weighing and measuring devices: repairman license 10 20 
388 43-47 Weighing and measuring devices: repairman license renewal 10 20 

EDUCATION 
152 10-145b Initial Educator Certificate 100 200 
152 10-145b Provisional Educator Certificate 200 250 
152 10-145b Professional Educator Certificate 300 375 
152 10-145b Certificate for teaching adult education programs 50 100 
152 10-145b Issuance of a subject area endorsement 50 100 
152 10-145b Duplicate copy of certificate or endorsement 25 50 

ELECTIONS ENFORCEMENT 
151 9-623 Campaign committee treasurer late filing fee 100 200 [1] 

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION 
396  22a-27j Additional fee for municipal planning, zoning, wetlands, and coastal 

management applications (in addition to any other required fee) 
$30 to 

Environmental 
Quality Fund 

(EQF) 

$60 to 
General 

Fund (GF)  
 

397 22a-50 (g) Pesticide registration and renewal $750 $940 
(See below) 

398 22a-54 (e) Fee paid by landowner to apply pesticides by aircraft  $10 $20 
398 22a-54 (f) Supervisory certification as a commercial pesticide applicator $225 $285 
398 22a-54 (f) Operational certification as a commercial pesticide applicator $40 $80 
398 22a-54 (f) Certification as a private pesticide applicator $50 $100 
399 22a-54a Fee paid by golf course owner for emergency spill response $200 $250 
400 22a-56 (c) Annual registration fee to sell or distribute a restricted use pesticide $60 $120 
401 22a-66c (c) Registration fee for pesticide application businesses $120 $240 
402 22a-66z Permit for use of pesticide in state waters $20 

minimum 
$40 

minimum 
404 22a-133v (e) Examination fee for licensed environmental professionals (LEPs) $188 to EQF $235 to GF 
404 22a-133v (f) Annual license fee for LEPs $338 to EQF $425 to GF  
404 22a-133v (h) LEP registration fee $225 to EQF $285 to GF 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
(apparently obsolete)  

405 22a-133x (e) Fee for submitting environmental condition assessment form $3,000 $3,250 
406 22a-134e (b) 

(Transfer Act) 
Form I filing fee   $300 $375 

406 22a-134e (b) Form II filing fee  (Note: Although the fees listed for filing a Form II or 
Form IV are the usual fees in such cases, the law (§ 22a-134e (p)) 
permits different fees to be charged in certain instances.) 

$1,050 $1,300 

406 22a-134e (n) Form III filing fee where remediation costs $1 million or more    $34,500 $34,750 
406 22a-134e (n) Form III filing fee where remediation costs between $500,000 and $1 

million   
$30,000 $30,250 

406 22a-134e (n) Form III filing fee where remediation costs between $100,000 and 
$500,000   

$21,000 $21,250 

406 22a-134e (n) Form III filing fee where remediation costs between $50,000 and 
$100,000   

$6,750 $7,000 

406 22a-134e (n) Form III filing fee where remediation costs between $25,000 and 
$50,000 

$4,500 $4,750 

406 22a-134e (n) Form III filing fee where remediation costs less than $25,000   $3,000 $3,250 
406 22a-134e (o) Form IV filing fee where remediation costs $1 million or more   $17,250 $17,500 
406 22a-134e (o) Form IV filing fee where remediation costs between $500,000 and $1 

million 
$15,000 $15,250 

406 22a-134e (o) Form IV filing fee where remediation costs between $100,000 and 
$500,000 

$10,500 $10,750 

406 22a-134e (o) Form IV filing fee where remediation costs between $50,000 and 
$100,000 

$3,375 $3,625 

406 22a-134e (o) Form IV filing fee where remediation costs less than $50,000 $3,000 $3,250 
407 22a-150 Registration of x-ray devices (biennial) $150 $190 
416 22a-342 Permit for stream channel encroachment - no grade change or above 

ground structures 
$375 $470 

416 22a-342 Permit for stream channel encroachment - grade change but no above 
ground structures 

$750 $940 

416 22a-342 Permit for stream channel encroachment - grade change and above 
ground structures 

$3,750 $4,000 

417 22a-361 (a) Dredging permit - less than 5,500 square feet $525 
(minimum) 

$660 
(minimum) 

417 22a-361 (a) Dredging permit - between 5,500 sq. ft. and five acres $3,300 plus 
10 cents per 

sq. ft. over 
5,500 sq. ft 

$3,550 plus 
10 cents 

per sq. ft. 
over 5,500 

sq ft. 
417 22a-361 (a) Dredging permit - 5 or more acres $19,223 plus 

$525/acre for 
each acre or 
part over  5 

acres 

$19,475 
plus 

$525/acre 
for each 

acre or part 
over 5 
acres 

417 22a-361 (a) Mooring area permit $525 $660 
418 22a-363c Fee for certificate of permission under the dredging statutes    $300 $375 
419 22a-372 (e) Water diversion permit - between 50,000 and 500,00 gallons per day 

(gpd) 
$1,800 $2,050 

419 22a-372 (e) Water diversion permit - between 500,000 and 2 million gpd $3,750 $4,000 
419 22a-372 (e) Water diversion permit - more than 2 million gpd $6,000 $6,250 
419 22a-372 (e) Water diversion permit (non-consumptive uses) where tributary 

watershed is one-half sq. mile or less 
$1,800 $2,050 

419 22a-372 (e) Water diversion permit (non-consumptive uses) where tributary 
watershed is between one-half and 2 sq. mile 

$3,750 $4,000 
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419 22a-372 (e) Water diversion permit (non-consumptive uses) where tributary 

watershed is at least 2 sq. miles 
$6,000 $6,250 

420 22a-379 Water diversion permit holder, consumptive use, annual fee $750 $940 
421 22a-409 (c) Dam inspection fee $525 $660 
427 22a-449k Registration fee, residential underground heating oil storage tank 

registered contractor 
$750 to EQF $940 to GF 

427 22a-449k Renewal fee, residential underground heating oil storage tank 
registered contractor 

$375 to EQF  $470 to GF 

433 22a-454 (a) Annual fee for permit to transport hazardous waste $500 $625 
433 22a-454 (a) Fee for permit to treat waste oil, petroleum, or chemical liquids $14,000 $14,250 
433 22a-454 (d) Permit to operate a hazardous waste landfill or incinerator $45,000 $45,250 
433 22a-454 (d) Permit to store or treat hazardous waste $21,000 $21,250 
433 22a-454 (d) Permit to transfer hazardous waste if the hazardous waste is transferred 

from its original container 
$10,500 $10,750 

433 22a-454 (d) Permit to transfer hazardous waste remaining in original container $3,750 $4,000 
433 22a-454 (d) Application fee for hazardous waste facility to change status to 

generator 
$100 $200 

433 22a-454 (d) Application fee for large quantity hazardous waste generator to change 
status to small generator 

$50 $100 

434 22a-454a Fee for hazardous waste facility to submit closure/post closure plan $3,750 $4,000 
435 22a-454b Annual fee for groundwater monitoring of hazardous waste facility  $750 $940 
436 22a-454c (a) Annual fee for hazardous waste generator that generates at least 1,000 

kilograms (kg) (about one ton) of hazardous waste or 1 kg (2.2 pounds) 
of acutely hazardous waste in a calendar month 

$100 $200 

436 22a-454c (b)  Annual fee for hazardous waste landfill, incinerator, storage, treatment 
or land treatment facility 

$1,500 $1,750 

437 23-61b (a) Application fee for arboriculture license $25 $50 
437 23-61b (d) Annual renewal fee for arboriculture license $150 $190 
440 26-27b Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp 10 15 
443 26-28 Resident firearms hunting license 14 28 
443 26-28 Resident inland waters fishing license 20 40 
443 26-28 Resident marine waters fishing license 10 30 [2] 

443 26-28 One-day resident marine waters fishing license n/a 15 
443 26-28 Resident all waters fishing license n/a 50 
443 26-28 Resident combination inland waters and firearms hunting license 28 56 
443 26-28 Resident combination marine waters sport fishing and firearms hunting 

license 
n/a 50 

443 26-28 Resident combination all-waters sport fishing and firearms hunting 
license 

n/a 60 

443 26-28 Resident combination all-waters sport fishing license and bow and 
arrow permit to hunt deer and small game  

n/a 84 

443 26-28 Resident firearms super sport license to fish in all waters and firearms 
hunting, firearms private land shotgun or rifle deer permit, and permit to 
hunt wild turkey during spring season on private land 

n/a 116 

443 26-28 Resident archery super sport license to fish in all waters, bow and arrow 
permit to hunt deer and small game, and permit to hunt wild turkey 
during spring season on private land 

n/a 104 

443 26-28 Resident trapping license 25 50 
443 26-28 Resident junior trapping license fee for people under age 16 3 15 
443 26-28 Junior firearms hunting license 3 15 
443 26-28 Nonresident firearms hunting license 67 134 
443 26-28 Nonresident inland waters fishing license 40 80 
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443 26-28 Nonresident inland waters fishing license for three consecutive days 16 32 
443 26-28 Nonresident marine waters fishing license  15 60 
443 26-28 Nonresident marine waters fishing license for three consecutive days n/a 24 
443 26-28 Nonresident all-waters fishing license  n/a 100 
443 26-28 Nonresident combination license to firearms hunt and inland waters fish  88 176 
443 26-28 Nonresident combination license to fish in all waters and firearms hunt n/a 190 
443 26-28 Nonresident combination license to fish in marine waters and firearms 

hunt 
n/a 170 

443 26-28 Nonresident trapping license 200 250 
445 26-37 Replacement hunting, trapping, fishing, or combination license 7 15 
446 26-39 License to use a pack of 10 or more hounds or beagles to hunt foxes or 

rabbits 
35 70 

447 26-40 Game breeder’s license 21 42 
448 26-42 Nonresident and resident license to buy raw fur produced in the state 42 84 
448 26-42 License for agent of licensed resident fur buyers 28 56 
449 26-45 Bait dealer’s license 50 100 
450 26-47 Nuisance wildlife control license 

 
200 250 

451 26-48 Regulated private shooting preserve permit 50 100 
452 26-48a Turkey permit  14 28 
452 26-48a Migratory game bird stamp 3 15 
452 26-48a Pheasant tags 14 28 
452 26-48a Salmon permit 28 56 
452 26-48a Permit to hunt wild turkey on state-owned or private land 14 28 
453 26-49(b) Regulated hunting dog training area permit 14 28 
454 26-51 Permit to hold field dog trials 7 15 
455 26-52 Permit to hold field dog trials on state-owned land where liberated game 

birds, waterfowl, and pigeons may be shot 
28 56 

455 26-52 Permit to hold field dog trials on private land where liberated game 
birds, waterfowl, and pigeons may be shot 

14 28 

456 26-58 Taxidermy license 84 168 
457 26-60 Scientific collector’s (wildlife) permit 20 40 
458 26-86a Resident firearm deer hunting permit 14 28 
458 26-86a Nonresident firearm deer hunting permit 50 100 
459 26-86c Resident bow and arrow deer and small game hunting permit 30 60 
459 26-86c Nonresident bow and arrow deer and small game hunting permit 100 200 
459 26-86c Permit for 12 to 16-year-olds to bow and arrow hunt deer and small 

game  
13 26 

460  26-142a(c) Resident license to take blue crab for commercial purposes 75 150 
460 26-142a Resident license to take lobsters for personal use (not sale) using no 

more than 10 lobster pots, traps or similar devices or by skin or scuba 
diving or by hand 

60 120 

460  26-142a Resident license to take lobster, fish, or crabs (other than blue crabs) 
for personal use or sale using  more than 10 lobster pots or similar 
devices 

150 190 

460  26-142a Nonresident license to take lobster, fish, or crabs (other than blue 
crabs) for personal use or sale using  more than 10 lobster pots or 
similar devices  

225 285 

460  26-142a Resident commercial license for taking lobster, crabs (other than blue 
crabs), squid, sea scallops and finfish for personal use or for sale, using 
more than 10 lobster pots or any otter trawl, balloon trawl, beam trawl, 
sea scallop dredge or similar devices 

225 285 
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460  26-142a Nonresident commercial license for taking lobster, crabs (other than 

blue crabs), squid, sea scallops and finfish, for personal use or for sale, 
using more than 10 lobster pots or an otter, balloon, or beam trawl; sea 
scallop dredge; or similar devices 

1,250 1,500 

460  26-142a License to tend devices used to take American Shad 100 200 
460  26-142a Registration fee for pound net or similar device used to take finfish  225 285 
460  26-142a Resident commercial license to set or tend gill nets or similar devices to 

take finfish other than American shad or bait species by hook and line 
or take horseshoe crab by hand 

150 190 

460  26-142a Nonresident commercial license to set or tend gill nets or similar 
devices to take finfish other than American shad or bait species by hook 
and line or take horseshoe crab by hand 

200 250 

460  26-142a Resident license to take any fish species for commercial purposes by 
hook and line, in excess of any creel limit adopted by law 

300 375 

460  26-142a Nonresident license to take any fish species for commercial purposes 
by hook and line, in excess of any creel limit adopted by law 

500 625 

460  26-142a Commercial license to set or tend seines, traps, scaps, scoops,  weirs, 
or similar devices  to take bait species in the inland district 

50 100 

460  26-142a Commercial license to set or tend seines, traps, scaps, scoops,  or 
similar devices  to take bait species in the marine district 

50 100 

460  26-142a Commercial license to buy fish, lobster and crabs, scallops, squid, and 
bait fish from a licensed commercial fisherman for resale regardless of 
where taken 

200 250 

460  26-142a Registration for party, head, or charter boat used for fishing  250 315 
460  26-142a License to land finfish, lobsters, crabs (including blue crabs and 

horseshoe crabs), sea scallops, squid, or bait species 
400 500 

460  26-142a Commercial fishing vessel permit 50 100 
460  26-142a License to take menhaden from marine waters for personal use (not 

sale) using a single gill net not more than 60 feet long 
50 100 

460  26-142a Environmental tourism  cruise vessel permit 50 100 
461  26-149 Commercial hatchery license 65 130 
462 New Shellfish harvest fee -  harvesting shellfish in state waters for wholesale 

or retail sale  
n/a $1 per 

bushel bag 
or 

equivalent 
[3] 

INSURANCE 
384 38a-11 Domestic insurance company – annual license fee 100 200 
384 38a-11 Annual report filing fee 25 50 
384 38a-11 Filing documents for insurance company license 175 220 
384 38a-11 Filing documents for healthcare center license 1,100 1,350 
384 38a-11 File additional paper required by law 15 30 
384 38a-11 Certificate of valuation, organization, reciprocity, or compliance 20 40 
384 38a-11 Certified copy of license 20 40 
384 38a-11 Certified copy of report or certificate of condition 20 40 
384 38a-11 Amending certificate of authority 100 200 
384 38a-11 Rating organization license 100 200 
384 38a-11 Filing fee for initial license as adjuster or appraiser 25 50 
384 38a-11 Insurance agent appointments filing fee 25 50 
384 38a-11 Domestic company appointment issued 40 80[4] 

384 38a-11 Foreign company appointments 20 80 [5] 

384 38a-11 Insurance producers exam fee 7 15 
384 38a-11 Insurance producers testing service fee 7 15 
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384 38a-11 Insurance producers license fee or renewal 40 80 
384 38a-11 Insurance producers transitional process license renewal 40 80 
384 38a-11 Public adjusters exam fee 7 15 
384 38a-11 Public adjusters testing service fee 7 15 
384 38a-11 Public adjusters license or renewal  125 250 
384 38a-11 Casualty adjusters exam fee 10 20 
384 38a-11 Casualty adjusters testing service fee 10 20 
384 38a-11 Casualty adjusters license or renewal  40 80 
384 38a-11 Casualty adjusters exam administered outside the state 100 200 
384 38a-11 Motor vehicle physical damage appraisers exam fee 40 80 
384 38a-11 Motor vehicle physical damage appraisers testing service fee 40 80 
384 38a-11 Motor vehicle physical damage appraisers license or renewal 40 80 

384 38a-11 Motor vehicle physical damage appraisers exam administered outside 
the state 100 200 

384 38a-11 Insurance consultants exam fee 13 26 
384 38a-11 Insurance consultants testing service fee 13 26 
384 38a-11 Insurance consultants license 200 250 
384 38a-11 Insurance consultants renewal 125 250 
384 38a-11 Surplus lines brokers exam fee 10 20 
384 38a-11 Surplus lines brokers testing service fee 10 20 
384 38a-11 Surplus lines brokers license or renewal 500 625 
384 38a-11 Fraternal agents license or renewal 40 80 
384 38a-11 Fraternal agents license certificate 13 26 
384 38a-11 Domestic and foreign benefit societies service of process 25 50 

384 38a-11 Domestic and foreign benefit societies certified copies of charter or 
articles of association 5 15 

384 38a-11 Domestic and foreign benefit societies annual report 10 20 
384 38a-11 Domestic and foreign benefit societies additional paper 3 15 
384 38a-11 Foreign benefit societies certificate of organization or compliance 4 15 
384 38a-11 Foreign benefit societies certified copy of permit 2 15 
384 38a-11 Foreign benefit societies copy of report or certificate of condition 4 15 
384 38a-11 Reinsurance intermediaries license or renewal 500 625 
384 38a-11 Life settlement providers filing fee – initial license application 13 26 
384 38a-11 Life settlement providers license or renewal  20 40 
384 38a-11 Life settlement brokers filing fee – initial license application 13 26 
384 38a-11 Life settlement brokers license or renewal 20 40 
384 38a-11 Preferred provider network license or renewal 2,500 2,750 
384 38a-11 Rental companies permit or renewal 40 80 
384 38a-11 Medical discount plan organization license or renewal 500 625 
384 38a-11 Pharmacy benefits managers registration or renewal 50 100 
384 38a-11 Captive insurers license or renewal 300 375 
384 38a-11 Duplicate license 25 50 
384 38a-11 Eligible surplus lines insurer – annual fee 63 126 
384 38a-11 Service of process  25 50 
384 38a-11 Hospital or ambulance lien  25 50 
384 38a-11 Small claims notice 5 15 
384 38a-11 Annual fee – insurance companies who deposit a security  250 315 
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384 38a-11 Examination or appraisal fee on company that deposited security 100 200 

LABOR 
368 31-22r Apprenticeship program registration - individuals 25 50 
368 31-22r Apprenticeship program registration renewal - individuals 25 50 

368 31-22r Apprenticeship program registration - sponsoring company, for each 
participating apprentice 30 60 

PUBLIC HEALTH 
146 7-74 Certified copy of marriage or death certificate 15 30 
163 19a-29a Registration of an environmental laboratory 1,000 1,250 
164 19a-30 Registration of a clinical laboratory 100 200 
165 19a-36 Review of plans for public swimming pool 600 750 
165 19a-36 Review of resubmitted plans - public swimming pool 200 250 
165 19a-36 Inspection of each public swimming pool 100 200 
165 19a-36 Reinspection of each public swimming pool 75 150 
165 19a-36 Review: small flow plan for subsurface sewage disposal 100 200 
165 19a-36 Review: large flow plan for subsurface sewage disposal 500 625 
166 19a-42 Amendments to birth certificates 25 50 
167 19a-55 Newborn infant screening minimum for fee set in regulations 28 56 
168 19a-80 Day care center license 400 500 
168 19a-80 Group day care home license 200 250 
169 19a-87b Family day care home license 40 80 
170 19a-88 Midwife license renewal 5 15 
170 19a-88 Dental hygienist license renewal 50 100 
170 19a-88 Retired dentist license renewal 45 90 
170 19a-88 Physician assistant license renewal 75 150 
170 19a-88 Perfusionist license renewal 250 315 
171 19a-89b Copy of pool design guidelines 4 15 
171 19a-89b Copy of food compliance guide 4 15 
172 19a-180 Emergency medical services license 100 200 
173 19a-310 Approval of plans for a mausoleum/vault 1,000 1,250 
174 19a-320 Approval of plans for construction of a crematorium 1,000 1,250 
174 19a-320 Application for renewal of inspection certificate for a crematorium 250 315 
175 19a-332a Notification of asbestos abatement: less than 160 sq.ft 50 100 
175 19a-332a Minimum for notification of asbestos abatement: greater than 160 sq. ft. 50 100 
175 19a-332a Asbestos abatement reinspection 50 100 
175 19a-332a Asbestos abatement alternative work practice review 100 200 
175 19a-332a Asbestos abatement: notice of demolition activities 25 50 
176 19a-421 Youth camp license 650 815 
176 19a-421 Youth camp license renewal 650 815 
176 19a-421 Youth camp license - nonprofit, nonstock corporation 250 315 
176 19a-421 Youth camp license renewal - nonprofit, nonstock corporation 250 315 
177 19a-491 Biennial licensing: nursing homes per site 350 440 
177 19a-491 Biennial licensing: rest homes with nursing per site 350 440 
177 19a-491 Biennial licensing: Outpatient facilities per site 500 625 
177 19a-491 Biennial licensing: mental health residential facilities 300 375 
177 19a-491 Biennial licensing: hospitals 750 940 
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177 19a-491 Biennial licensing: educational institutions’ infirmaries 75 150 
177 19a-491 Triennial licensing: residential care homes 450 565 
177 19a-491 Technical assistance on design, construction, etc. 450 565 
178 19a-512 Nursing home administrator licensure 100 200 
179 19a-513 Nursing home administrator licensure by endorsement 100 200 
180 19a-515 Nursing home administrator license renewal 100 200 
181 20-11 Exam applications for physicians 450 565 
181 20-11 Reexamination applications for physicians 450 565 
182 20-12 Physician and osteopath, license by endorsement  450 565 
182 20-12 Acceptance of license with diploma or certificate 450 565 
183 20-12b Physician assistant license 150 190 
183 20-12b Physician assistant temporary permit 75 150 
184 20-27 Chiropractic license 450 565 
184 20-27 Chiropractic, license by endorsement 450 565 
185 20-37 Natureopathy license 450 565 
186 20-55 Examination fee – podiatry  450 565 
187 20-57 Podiatrist,  license by endorsement 450 565 
188 20-65k Athletic trainer license 150 190 
188 20-65k Athletic trainer license renewal 100 200 
188 20-65k Athletic trainer temporary permit 150 190 
189 20-70 Physical therapist license 225 285 
189 20-70 Physical therapist assistant license 150 190 
190 20-74d Occupational therapist temporary permit  25 50 
191 20-74f Occupational therapist license 100 200 
192 20-74s Alcohol and drug counselor, substance abuse counselor, license 150 190 

192 20-74s Alcohol and drug counselor, substance abuse counselor, license 
renewal 150 190 

192 20-74s Alcohol and drug counselor certificate 150 190 
192 20-74s Alcohol and drug counselor certificate renewal 150 190 
193 20-74bb Radiological technician license 100 200 
193 20-74bb Radiological technician license renewal 50 100 
194 20-86g Midwife renewal license 5 15 
195 20-93 Registered nurse license 90 180 
196 20-94 Registered nurse,  license by endorsement 90 180 
197 20-94a Advanced practice registered nurse license 100 200 
198 20-96 Licensed practical nurse license 75 150 
199 20-97 Licensed practical nurse, license by endorsement 75 150 
200 20-109 Dentist examination 450 565 
201 20-110 Dentist,  license by endorsement 450 565 
202 20-123b Dental surgeon permit 160 200 
202 20-123b Dental surgeon permit renewal 160 200 
203 20-126i Dental hygienist license 75 150 
204 20-126k Dental hygienist, license by endorsement 75 150 
205 20-130 Optometrist license 450 565 
206 20-149 Optician license 100 200 
206 20-149 Optician license renewal 100 200 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 



 JUNE 2009 SPECIAL SESSION 49 
 

Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
207 20-151 Optical shop licensure 250 315 
208 20-159 Optical shop apprentice certificate 25 50 
209 20-162o Respiratory care practitioner license 150 190 
209 20-162o Respiratory care practitioner license renewal 50 100 
209 20-162o Respiratory care practitioner temporary permit 150 190 
210 20-188 Psychologist examination  450 565 
211 20-190 Psychologist license - psychologist from another state 450 565 
212 20-195c Marital and family therapist license 250 315 
212 20-195c Marital and family therapist license renewal 250 315 
213 20-195o Clinical social worker license 250 315 
213 20-195o Clinical social worker license renewal 150 190 
214 20-195cc Professional counselor license 250 315 
214 20-195cc Professional counselor license renewal 150 190 
215 20-199 Veterinary license examination and reexamination 450 565 
216 20-200 Veterinary license by endorsement- vet from another state 450 565 

216 20-200 Veterinary license - license without examination for vet from another 
state 450 565 

217 20-206b Massage therapist license 300 375 
217 20-206b Massage therapist license renewal 200 250 
218 20-206e Massage therapist temporary permit 300 375 
219 20-206n Dietitician-Nutritionist certificate 150 190 
220 20-206o Dietitician-Nutritionist certificate - from another state 150 190 
221 20-206r Dietitician-Nutritionist certificate renewal 50 100 
222 20-206bb Acupuncturist license 100 200 
222 20-206bb Acupuncturist license renewal 200 250 
223 20-206ll Paramedic license 75 150 
223 20-206ll Paramedic license renewal 75 150 
224 20-206mm Certified EMT as licensed paramedic renewal 75 150 
225 20-213 Embalmer- application fee/out-of-state licensees/exam 165 210 
226 20-217 Funeral director examination and license 165 210 
226 20-217 Funeral director license renewal 115 230 
226 20-217 Funeral director out-of-state licensee 165 210 
227 20-222 Funeral services business inspection certificate 300 375 
227 20-222 Funeral services business inspection certificate renewal 150 190 
228 20-222a Embalmer license renewal 55 110 
228 20-222a Funeral director renewal 115 230 
228 20-222a Funeral services business inspection certificate renewal  150 190 
229 20-236 Barber license with and without examination  50 100 
230 20-239 Barber license renewal 50 100 
231 20-253 Hairdresser and Cosmetician license 50 100 
231 20-253 Hairdresser and Cosmetician license renewal 50 100 
232 20-270 Electrologist license  75 150 
233 20-275 Electrologist license renewal 100 200 
247 20-341e Subsurface sewage disposal installer license  25 50 
247 20-341e Subsurface sewage disposal cleaner license 10 20 
251 20-360 Sanitarian - initial license  40 80 
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251 20-360 Sanitarian - renewal 20 40 
255 20-398 Hearing instrument specialist exam 100 200 
255 20-398 Hearing instrument specialist  license - initial & renewal 200 250 
256 20-400 Hearing instrument specialist  temporary permit - initial & renewal 30 60 
257 20-412 Speech and language pathologist - initial & renewal 100 200 

264 20-475 Lead abatement contractor or lead consultant contractor – license & 
renewal 500 625 

265 20-476 Lead consultant, lead abatement supervisor or lead abatement worker – 
certificate and renewal 25 50 

266 20-477 Lead abatement training course – approval & reapproval 1,000 1,250 
266 20-477 Lead abatement refresher training course – approval & reapproval 250 315 

297 22-332b Hospital, educational institution or lab, use live dogs in 
research/teaching – license & renewal 250 315 

369 33-182l Professional Services: Class A 30 60 
369 33-182l Professional Services: Class B 50 100 
369 33-182l Professional Services: Class C 60 120 [6] 

369 33-182l Professional Services: Class D 75 150 
369 33-182l Professional Services: Class E 80 160 
369 33-182l Professional Services: Class F 150 190 
369 33-182l Professional Services: Class G 225 285 
369 33-182l Professional Services: Class H 300 375 
369 33-182l Professional Services: Class I 450 565 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
306 29-10b Records search for accident/investigative report, no document produced  8 16 
306 29-10b Copy of an accident or investigative report 8 16 
307 29-11 Name search  18 36 
307 29-11 Fingerprint search 25 50 
307 29-11 Personal record search 25 50 
307 29-11 Letters of good conduct search 25 50 
307 29-11 Bar association search 25 50 
307 29-11 Fingerprinting 5 15 
307 29-11 Criminal history record search 25 50 
308 29-17a Additional fee for expedited record search 25 50 
309 29-30 Retail sale of pistol and revolvers permit – initial & renewal 100 200 

309 29-30 
Permit to carry pistol or revolvers – initial 
(This fee is split equally between the local authority and the state, so the 
act also increases the amount of revenue to each from $35 to $70.) 

70 140 

309 29-30 Permit to carry pistol or revolvers - renewal 35 70 
310 29-130 Amusement park license – annual fee 50 100 
311 29-134 Carnival or circus with rides - license to conduct 100 200 
312 29-143j Boxing referee – minimum fee 63 126 
312 29-143j Boxing matchmakers and assistant matchmaker - minimum fee 63 126 
312 29-143j Boxing timekeeper - minimum fee 13 26 
312 29-143j Professional boxer - minimum fee 13 26 
312 29-143j Amateur boxer - minimum fee 3 15 
312 29-143j Boxing manager - minimum fee 63 126 
312 29-143j Boxing trainer - minimum fee 13 26 
312 29-143j Boxing second - minimum fee 13 26 
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312 29-143j Boxing announcer - minimum fee 13 26 
312 29-143j Boxing promoter - minimum fee 250 315 
312 29-143j Organization holding sparring match - registration 50 100 
313 29-146 Professional bondsman 100 200 
314 29-152g Bail enforcement agent 100 200 
315 29-152m Bondsman/ bail enforcement agent pistol permit – initial & renewal 31 62 
316 29-155c Private detective - initial license 1,200 1,450 
316 29-155c Private detective - renewal 500 625 
316 29-155c Private detective agency – initial license 1,500 1,750 
316 29-155c Private detective agency – renewal 800 1,000 
317 29-156a Criminal history records check of a private investigator 20 40 
318 29-161n Security service, individual, association, or partnership – initial license 1,200 1,450 
318 29-161n Security service, individual, association, or partnership – renewal 500 625 
318 29-161n Security service, corporation -  initial license 1,500 1,750 
318 29-161n Security service, corporation -  renewal 800 1,000 
319 29-161q Security officer training course – application for approval 20 40 
319 29-161q Security officer training instructor - renewal 20 40 
319 29-161q Security officer license – initial & renewal 50 100 
319 29-161q Security officer registration 20 40 
320 29-161z Security officer pistol carry permit – initial & renewal 31 62 

320 29-161z Security service pistol training instructor  - approval application & 
renewal 20 40 

321 29-193 Elevator/ escalator plans - approval 200 250 
322 29-196 Elevator/escalator – initial operating certificate  200 250 
322 29-196 Elevator/escalator – operating certificate renewal  120 240 
323 29-238 Boiler inspection – fee per operating certificate issued 40 80 
324 29-349 Control, handling and transportation of explosives – initial license 100 200 
324 29-349 Control, handling and transportation of explosives – renewal 75 150 
324 29-349 Permit to store, keep, sell, or deal in explosives 50 100 
324 29-349 Transportation of explosives - vehicle inspection fee 50 100 
324 29-349 Permit to manufacture, store, sell, or deal in  explosives  30 60 
325 29-357 Fireworks display competency certificate – initial  100 200 
325 29-357 Fireworks display competency certificate – renewal 150 190 
325 29-357 Fireworks permit 50 100 
326 29-402 Demolition contractor - Class B license  350 440 
326 29-402 Demolition contractor - Class B license renewal 200 250 
326 29-402 Demolition contractor - Class A license 750 940 
326 29-402 Demolition contractor - Class A license renewal 600 750 

REVENUE SERVICES 
153 12-285b Cigarette manufacturer license 5,000 5,250 
153 12-285b Duplicate copy of cigarette manufacturer license 5 15 
154 12-287 Cigarette dealer license 25 50 
154 12-287 Duplicate copy of cigarette dealer license  5 15 
155 12-288 Cigarette distributor license with fewer than 15 stores 250 315 
155 12-288 Cigarette distributor license with 15 to 25 stores 500 625 
155 12-288 Cigarette distributor license with 25 or more   1,000 1,250 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
156 12-330b Tobacco products distributor and unclassified importer license 100 200 
157 12-409 Sales and Use tax permit (five-year permit) 50 100 
157 12-409 Reissuance of revoked or suspended Sales and Use tax permit 50 100 
390 51-81b Attorney occupational tax 450 565 

SECRETARY OF THE STATE 
141 3-90 State Register and Manual - soft cover 10 20 
141 3-90 State Register and Manual - hard cover 19 38 
142 3-94b Notary Public application fee 60 120 
143 3-94n Notary Public change of address fee 5 15 
144 3-94o Notary Public change of name fee 5 15 
145 3-99a Filing and recording document when fee not specified 25 50 
145 3-99a Copy of any document that was filed 20 40 
145 3-99a SOS certification and affixing state seal 5 15 
145 3-99a SOS certification and state seal imprinted 25 50 
145 3-99a SOS certification and seal when no special provision made 25 50 
145 3-99a Certifying the incumbency of a probate judge, notary, or other official 20 40 
145 3-99a Certifying an official in adoption case 5 15 
145 3-99a Additional fee: expedited services 25 50 
For Business Corporations:   
370 33-617 Reserve, register, renew, or cancel corporate name 30 60 
370 33-617 Transfer of a reserved corporate name 30 60 
370 33-617 Certificate of incorporation 50 100 
370 33-617 Change name or address of registered agent 25 50 
370 33-617 Resignation of registered agent 25 50 
370 33-617 Amendment to certificate of incorporation 50 100 
370 33-617 Restated certificate of incorporation 50 100 
370 33-617 Certificate of merger or share exchange 30 60 
370 33-617 Certificate of correction 50 100 

370 33-617 Certificate of surrender of special charter and adoption of general 
certificate of incorporation 50 100 

370 33-617 Certificate of dissolution 25 50 
370 33-617 Certificate of revocation of dissolution 25 50 
370 33-617 Annual report 75 150 
370 33-617 Foreign corporation 50 100 
370 33-617 Amended foreign corporation 50 100 
370 33-617 Withdrawal foreign corporation 50 100 
370 33-617 Reinstatement 75 150 
370 33-617 Corrected annual report 50 100 
370 33-617 Interim notice of change of director 10 20 
370 33-617 Service of process  25 50 
370 33-617 Furnishing document copies 20 40 
370 33-617 Certification of copies 5 15 
370 33-617 Certificate of existence 40 80 
370 33-617 Certificate of existence effecting fundamental changes 60 120 
370 33-617 Foreign corporation license fee to transact business 225 285 
For Nonstock Corporations:   
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
371 33-1013 Reserve, register, renew, or cancel corporate name 30 60 
371 33-1013 Transfer of a reserved corporate name 30 60 
371 33-1013 Certificate of incorporation 10 20 
371 33-1013 Change name or address of registered agent 10 20 
371 33-1013 Resignation of registered agent 10 20 
371 33-1013 Amendment to certificate of incorporation 10 20 
371 33-1013 Restated certificate of incorporation 10 20 
371 33-1013 Certificate of merger 10 20 
371 33-1013 Certificate of correction 10 20 

371 33-1013 Certificate of surrender of special charter and adoption of general 
certificate of incorporation 10 20 

371 33-1013 Certificate of dissolution 10 20 
371 33-1013 Certificate of revocation of  dissolution 10 20 
371 33-1013 Annual report 25 50 
371 33-1013 Foreign corporation 20 40 
371 33-1013 Amended foreign corporation 20 40 
371 33-1013 Withdrawal foreign corporation 20 40 
371 33-1013 Reinstatement 55 110 
371 33-1013 Corrected annual report 25 50 
371 33-1013 Interim notice of change of director 10 20 
371 33-1013 Service of process  25 50 
371 33-1013 Furnishing document copies 20 40 
371 33-1013 Certification of copies 5 15 
371 33-1013 Certificate of existence 40 80 
371 33-1013 Certificate of existence effecting fundamental changes 60 120 
For Limited Partnerships:   
372 34-38n Reserve, register, renew, or cancel corporate name 30 60 
372 34-38n Certificate of limited partnership 60 120 
372 34-38n Certificate of amendment 60 120 
372 34-38n Certificate of merger 30 60 
372 34-38n Certificate of cancellation 30 60 
372 34-38n Certificate of registration 60 120 
372 34-38n Change name or address of registered agent 10 20 
372 34-38n Certificate of reinstatement 60 120 
372 34-38n Annual report 10 20 
372 34-38n Service of process 25 50 
372 34-38n Document copies 20 40 
372 34-38n Certification of copies 5 15 
372 34-38n Certificate with changes 25 50 
For Limited Liability Companies:   
373 34-112 Reserve limited liability name 30 60 
373 34-112 Transfer of name 30 60 
373 34-112 Filing articles of organization and agent appointment 60 120 
373 34-112 Change of name or address of statutory agent 25 50 
373 34-112 Resignation of statutory agent 25 50 
373 34-112 Amendment to articles of organization 60 120 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
373 34-112 Restated articles of organization 60 120 
373 34-112 Articles of merger 30 60 
373 34-112 Dissolution 25 50 
373 34-112 Dissolution by expiration 25 50 
373 34-112 Judicial dissolution 25 50 
373 34-112 Reinstatement 60 120 
373 34-112 Foreign LLC registration 60 120 
373 34-112 Foreign LLC amended registration 60 120 
373 34-112 Withdrawal of foreign LLC 60 120 
373 34-112 Annual report 10 20 
373 34-112 Change of manager or member 10 20 
373 34-112 Service of process 25 50 
373 34-112 Document copies 20 40 
373 34-112 Certification of documents 5 15 
373 34-112 Certification of existence  25 50 
373 34-112 Certificate of existence with changes 25 50 
373 34-112 Certificate of existence - articles of organization 50 100 
For Limited Liability Partnerships:   
374 34-413 Reserve name 30 60 
374 34-413 Transfer of name 30 60 
374 34-413 Change of name or address of statutory agent 25 50 
374 34-413 Certificate of LLP 60 120 
374 34-413 Amendment to certificate of LLP 60 120 
374 34-413 Renunciation  25 50 
374 34-413 Certificate of authority to transact business 60 120 
374 34-413 Amendment to certificate of authority to transact business 60 120 
374 34-413 Withdrawal of certificate of authority to transact business 60 120 
374 34-413 Annual report 10 20 
374 34-413 Merger 30 60 
374 34-413 Document copies 20 40 
374 34-413 Certification of documents 5 15 
374 34-413 Certification of existence  20 40 
374 34-413 Certificate of existence with changes 40 80 
374 34-413 Certificate of existence reflecting amendments 60 120 
For Statutory Trusts:   

375 34-509 Reservation of name, renewal application, transfer or cancellation 
notice 30 60 

375 34-509 Certificate, amendment, restated certificate, or cancellation certificate 60 120 
375 34-509 Copy of statutory trust 20 40 
375 34-509 Affixing certification 5 15 
375 34-509 Certificate of existence 20 40 
375 34-509 Certificate of existence with changes 40 80 
375 34-509 Merger 30 60 
376 35-11e Trademark registration renewal 50 100 
377 35-11f Trademark transfer  25 50 
377 35-11f Trademark - change of name 25 50 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
377 35-11f Trademark - recording fee for other instruments 25 50 
378 35-11g Trademark cancellation 25 50 
379 35-11l Trademarks: certificate of registration 25 50 
379 35-11l Trademarks: copy of any service mark 20 40 
379 35-11l Trademarks: certified copy of service mark 25 50 
385 42a-9-525 Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) filing an initial financing statement 25 50 
385 42a-9-525 UCC – naming a debtor or any amendment to a filing 25 50 
385 42a-9-525 UCC - copy of a statement or amendment 20 40 
385 42a-9-525 UCC - affixing seal  5 15 
389 47-244a Condominium Unit Owners’ Association: filing of statutory agent 45 90 

389 47-244a Condominium Unit Owners’ Association: filing a change of 
agent/address 9 18 

SPECIAL REVENUE 
147 7-169d Bingo product manufacturer or equipment dealer registration application 1,500 1,750 
148 7-169e PTA annual bingo registration 20 40 
149 7-169i Manufacturer or dealer of sealed ticket machine registration 500 625 
150 7-178 Bazaar or raffle equipment dealer registration 300 375 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Stable name registration 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Partnership name registration 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Color registration 10 20 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Kennel name registration 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Owner license 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Trainer license 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Assistant trainer license 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Jockey license 20 40 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Jockey agent license 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Stable employees license 10 20 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Veterinarian license 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Jockey apprentice license 20 40 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Driver license 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Valet license 10 20 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Blacksmith license 10 20 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Plater license 10 20 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Concessionaire license for each concession 200 250 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Concessionaire affiliate 200 250 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Concession employees 10 20 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Jai alai players 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Officials and supervisors 50 100 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Pari-mutuel employees 20 40 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Other personnel 10 20 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Vendor for each contract 200 250 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Totalizator for each contract 200 250 
158 12-578 Gaming Policy: Vendor and totalizator affiliates for each contract 200 250 
159 12-815a Lottery vendor license 200 250 
159 12-815a Lottery affiliate license 200 250 
159 12-815a Lottery: Class I or III occupational license 10 20 
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Act § CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The Act 
159 12-815a Lottery: Class II or IV occupational license 50 100 

TOWN CLERKS 

144 3-94o Fee for certificate of notary appointment replacement payable to town 
clerk 1 15 

146 7-74 Birth registration, short form 5 15 
146 7-74 Birth registration, long form 10 20 
146 7-74 Certified copy of marriage or death certificate 10 20 

Notes: 
[1] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 43) repeals this increase, keeping the fee at $100. 
[2] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§§ 22 & 28) repeals this increase, keeping the fee at $10. 
[3] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§59) repeals this fee. 
[4] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 30) increases the new fee from $80 to $100. 
[5] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 30) sets this fee at $20 if the appointment is issued by a foreign insurer domiciled in a 

jurisdiction with a premium tax rate lower than Connecticut’s. 
[6] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 20) repeals this increase for licensed practical nurses, keeping the fee at $60. 

 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009, except the 
provisions on education certificates and endorsements 
are effective upon passage and on fireworks display 
permits and renewals are effective January 1, 2011. (PA 
09-6, September Special Session, (§ 60) makes 
education certificate and endorsement fee increases also 
effective on October 1, 2009.  PA 09-8, September 
Special Session (§ 19), with the exception of several 
cigarette licenses issued by DRS, makes this act’s 
increases in license renewal fees apply only to renewals 
of licenses that expire on or after October 1, 2009. That 
act (§ 40) also makes the increase in the attorney 
occupational tax noted above apply to calendar years 
starting on or after January 1, 2009). 
 
DEP FUNDS AND ACCOUNTS ELIMINATED 

The act eliminates a number of DEP funds and 
accounts and transfers the revenue from those accounts 
and funds to the General Fund. It also makes 
conforming changes. Table 13 lists the eliminated funds 
and accounts and their purposes.  



JUNE 2009 SPECIAL SESSION 57
 

Table 13: Eliminated DEP Funds and Accounts 
 

Act § CGS § Fund/Account Name Purpose 
394 15-155 Boating account [1] Administering and enforcing boating safety laws  

392, 
513 

22a-
27k 

Long Island Sound account [2] Used to protect, conserve, restore, and rehabilitate the natural resources of Long Island 
Sound  

410, 
412-
415, 
475 

22a-
241 

Municipal Solid Waste Recycling 
Trust account 

Used for the municipal solid waste recycling program. Located in the Environmental 
Quality Fund. 

423 22a-
449c 

Underground Storage Tank UST) 
Petroleum Clean-up Account 

Paying responsible parties for costs associated with investigating and remediating UST 
leaks 

423 22a-
449c 
(b) 

Residential Underground Heating 
Oil Storage Tank System Clean-
Up subaccount 

Funds used to remediate contamination attributable to residential oil tanks. Eligibility for 
this program ended on December 31, 2001.   
 

423 22a-
449c 
(c) 

Pay for Performance subaccount Used to reimburse commercial UST owners who achieve certain environmental 
milestones or results.  Located in the Environmental Quality Fund. 

432 22a-
451 
(d)  

Emergency Spill Response 
account 

Used for costs associated with: hazardous waste and oil spills; pesticide control; providing 
potable water; removing hazardous waste; developing and implementing an aquifer 
protection program; and research on toxic waste contamination. Located in the 
Environmental Quality Fund. 

513, 
482 

14-21t Wildlife Conservation account Used for wildlife conservation, research, management, and acquiring wildlife habitat. 
Located in the Conservation Fund. 

513 22a-
27g 

Environmental Quality Fund Receives specified DEP fees 

513 22a-
27g 

Environmental Quality account Used to administer DEP’s central office and environmental programs. Located in the 
Environmental Quality Fund. 

513, 
466 

22a-
27g (c) 

Covered Electronic Recycler 
Reimbursement account 

Used to carry out the electronic waste recycling program. Located in the Environmental 
Quality Fund. 

513, 
465 

22a-
27g 
(d) 

Electronic Device Recycling 
Program account 

Used to carry out the electronic waste recycling program. Located in the Environmental 
Quality Fund. 

513 22a-
27h 

Conservation Fund Receives funds from various DEP fees and fee increases, including fees for parking, 
admission, boat launching, camping, and other recreational uses of state parks, forests, 
and other state facilities.  

513 22a-
27h 

Conservation account Used to administer DEP’s central office and for conservation and preservation programs. 
Located in the Conservation Fund. 

513 22a-
27h (c) 

Maintenance, repair and 
improvement account 

Receives income from rental of DEP properties to maintain and repair those properties. 
Located in the Conservation Fund. 

513 22a-
27m 

Air Emissions Permit Operating 
Fee account [3] 

To administer Title V of the federal Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 

513 22a-
27n 

Connecticut Lighthouse 
Preservation account[4] 

To preserve, protect and restore publicly accessible lighthouses on Long Island Sound 

513, 
478 

22a-
27o 

Greenways account Used for the Greenways capital grant and small grants programs (§ 23-101). Located in 
the Conservation Fund. 

513, 
483 

22a-
27q 

Hazard Mitigation and Floodplain 
Management account 

Used for grant program (CGS § 25-68j) to reduce long-term risk to human life and 
property resulting from flooding, high winds, and wildfires. Located in the Environmental 
Quality Fund. 

513, 
473 

22a-
233 

Solid Waste account Used for pollution prevention, inspection and testing of resources recovery facilities, and 
emissions testing, operator and inspector training, and staffing. Located in the 
Environmental Quality Fund. 

Notes: 
[1] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 21) restores the boating account as a separate nonlapsing General Fund account. 
[2] PA 09-7, September Special Session, (§§ 187-189) restores the Long Island Sound account as a nonlapsing account in the General 

Fund. 
[3] PA 09-8, September Special Session, (§§ 33 & 34) restores the Air Emissions Permit Operating Fee account as a nonlapsing account 

in the General Fund. 
[4] PA 09-7, September Special Session, (§§ 187-189) restores 

the Connecticut Lighthouse Preservation account. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2009 
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CONFORMING AND OTHER CHANGES 
REGARDING DEP FUNDS AND ACCOUNTS 

§ 393 - Clean Air Account 

The act eliminates (1) the Clean Air Act account in 
the General Fund and (2) a requirement that the DEP 
commissioner, in consultation with the Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV) commissioner, submit an 
annual operating budget for the account (CGS § 14–
49b). 

§ 394 - Fees for Numbering and Registering Vessels 

The act requires all vessel (boats and watercraft) 
numbering and registration fees to be deposited in the 
General Fund, instead of allocating them for specific 
purposes, and eliminates a related reporting 
requirement. Connecticut law requires vessels to be 
registered and numbered by the DMV before launching 
(PA 09-8, September Special Session (§§ 21 & 37-38) 
restored many of the prior law’s requirements for 
allocating boating fee revenue.)   

§ 396 - Planning, Zoning, Coastal Management, and 
Wetlands Fees 

The act doubles the additional fee on planning, 
zoning, coastal management, and wetlands applications 
(see Table 12). Under prior law, the additional fee was 
deposited in the Environmental Quality Fund. DEP was 
required to (1) use $2 for administrative costs; (2) use 
$19 to fund environmental review teams in its Bureau of 
Water Management, the Council on Soil and Water 
Conservation, and the eight county soil and water 
conservation districts; and (3) deposit $9 in the Hazard 
Mitigation and Floodplain Management account. The 
act retains the $2 for administrative costs and requires 
the remainder to be deposited in the General Fund, 
eliminating the other special allocations (CGS § 22a - 
27j). 

§ 397 - Pesticide Registration and Renewal Fees 

This act allocates all revenue from the pesticide 
registration and renewal fees to the General Fund, 
eliminating an allocation of $200 from each fee to the 
Environmental Quality Fund (CGS § 22a-50 (g)).   

§ 403 - Environmental Remediation Costs 

The act requires the costs of environmental 
remediation of sites on the hazardous waste disposal site 
inventory to be paid from available appropriations 
instead of the Emergency Spill Response account. As 
under prior law, such costs can also be paid from 

accounts authorized by two special acts (CGS § 22a-
133f).    

§ 408 - Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fees 

Under prior law, the DEP commissioner could use 
up to 60% of the greenhouse gas reduction fee receipts 
to implement several programs, including greenhouse 
gas reduction and air pollution control. The act instead 
requires that up to 60% of the money generated from 
these receipts be placed in the General Fund and 
eliminates references to the specific DEP programs 
(CGS § 22a-201c).  

§ 409 - Activities Eligible for Payment from the Solid 
Waste Account 

The act requires the cost of testing a resources 
recovery facility, or any other activity eligible for 
payment from the Solid Waste account, to be paid 
instead from the General Fund. Under the act, as under 
prior law, the facility owner is not liable for those costs 
(CGS § 22a-233a). 

§ 411 - Dioxin Testing at Resources Recovery Facilities 

The law requires the DEP and public health 
commissioners to study dioxin levels near existing or 
proposed resources recovery facilities and to pay for the 
required tests. This act requires the testing costs to be 
paid from the General Fund rather than the Solid Waste 
account. As under prior law, the facility owner must pay 
any testing costs the state does not pay. 

The law also requires the DEP commissioner to 
reimburse facility owners for preoperational ambient air 
or ambient environmental monitoring tests the study 
requires. This act eliminates the requirement that the 
commissioner pay reimbursements from the Solid 
Waste account.  

§ 422 - Commercial Underground Storage Tank 
Inspection Fee 

Under prior law, the fee to inspect commercial 
underground storage tanks (USTs) was $100 per tank, 
imposed no more than once every five years.  The fee 
was imposed on underground storage facilities that 
notifies the commissioner according to regulation. 
Starting October 1, 2009, the act requires UST facilities 
to notify the commissioner annually on a form she 
prescribes, including the $100 fee with the notice, thus 
making the fee an annual one. (PA 09-8, September 
Special Session (§ 17) delays the effective date of the 
change to October 10, 2009 and specifies that the fee is 
for the notification, not the inspection.) 
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The act exempts the following from the fee: 
1. farm or residential tanks of 1,100 gallons or 

less used for storing motor fuel for 
noncommercial purposes; 

2. tanks used for storing heating oil for use on the 
premises where they are stored; 

3. septic tanks; 
4. pipeline facilities; 
5. surface impoundments; 
6. storm water or wastewater collection systems; 
7. flow - through process tanks; 
8. liquid traps or associated gathering lines 

directly related to oil or gas production and 
gathering operations; 

9. storage tanks located in underground areas, 
including basements, cellars, mine working 
drifts, shafts, or tunnels, if the tank is located 
above the floor surface  (CGS § 22a-449 (e)). 

§§ 423 & 424 - UST Petroleum Clean-Up Program 

The act eliminates the USTPetroleum Clean-Up 
account, replacing it with a UST Petroleum Clean-Up 
program, funded with available appropriations. Under 
the act, money from the program must be used for the 
same purposes as the account, e.g., to reimburse 
responsible parties for (1) various costs associated with 
remediating releases and suspected releases and (2) 
claims for bodily injury, property damage, and damage 
to natural resources.   

The act eliminates a $2 million annual allocation 
from the account to DEP for administrative costs.    

The act also eliminates the Residential 
Underground Heating Oil Storage Tank System Clean-
up subaccount. Funds from this account were used to 
clean up contamination from home heating oil tanks. 
Eligibility for this program ended on December 31, 
2001. 

Finally, the act eliminates the Pay for Performance 
subaccount, which reimbursed commercial UST owners 
who achieve certain results. 

§§ 424 & 426 - UST Petroleum Clean-Up Review Board 

The act renames the UST Petroleum Clean-Up 
Account Review Board as the UST Petroleum Clean-Up 
Review Board (review board) and requires that it pay 
registered contractors from available resources rather 
than from the residential UST subaccount. 

By law, the review board pays responsible parties 
for various costs associated with a release or suspected 
release from commercial USTs. The act requires (1) the 
payments to be made from available resources and (2) 
certain applications to be filed with the review board 
rather than the clean-up account.  

 

Under prior law, the attorney general could sue in 
Superior Court to recover money from UST owners in 
certain circumstances, with the costs of such recovery 
actions initially paid from the UST Clean-Up account. 
The act instead requires the initial costs to be paid from 
available resources.  

The act also requires the DEP commissioner to use 
available resources to prevent or abate pollution 
resulting from a spill in certain circumstances instead of 
allowing her to use up to $1 million from the UST 
Clean-Up account for such purposes (CGS § 22a-449f). 

§ 427 - Residential Underground Heating Oil Storage 
Tank Contractor Registration 

The act expands residential UST contractor 
registration requirements. Prior law required only those 
contractors whose work would be reimbursed under the 
Residential UST Clean-Up subaccount to register. The 
act eliminates the subaccount and requires all such 
contractors to register. It increases registration and 
renewal fees for UST contractors (see Table 12) and 
requires revenue to go to the General Fund instead of 
the Environmental Quality Fund. 

§ 428 - UST Inspection Costs 

The act requires the cost of certain UST inspections 
and services to be paid from available resources instead 
of the residential UST subaccount, which it eliminates 
(CGS § 22a-449l). 

§ 430 - Reimbursement for Eligible UST Costs 

The act requires owners to submit requests for 
reimbursement for eligible costs under the residential 
UST program from available resources, rather than the 
residential UST subaccount, which it eliminates. Since 
the reimbursement application deadline was December 
31, 2001, this change has no effect (CGS § 22a-449n 
(e)). 

§ 438 - Commercial Forest Products Fees 

By law, the commissioner may set fees by 
regulation to authorize the harvest of commercial forest 
products from lands other than state-owned land that 
DEP manages. The act requires these fees to be 
deposited in the General Fund rather than the 
Environmental Conservation Fund. 

§ 439 - Marine Waters Fishing License - Conforming 
Changes 

The act makes technical changes in the statute 
dealing  with fishing, hunting, and trapping  licenses  to  
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conform to new requirements for a marine waters 
fishing license enacted in PA 09-173. 

§§ 440-442 - Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation 
Stamp 

The act increases, from $10 to $15, the maximum 
price that the DEP commissioner may charge for the 
mandatory Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation 
Stamp. By law, anyone age 16 or older must carry the 
stamp while hunting or taking waterfowl (and the hunter 
must have signed the stamp face in ink). 

By law, the commissioner may allow the stamp to 
be reproduced and marketed as prints and other related 
artwork. Under prior law, the funds generated from the 
marketing and sale of the stamps had to be deposited in 
a separate Migratory Bird Conservation account, which 
was maintained by the treasurer as part of the 
Conservation Fund. The act eliminates the account and 
requirement, thus sending stamp revenue to the General 
Fund. 

The act also eliminates a restriction allowing funds 
credited to the Migratory Bird Conservation account to 
be used only for the (1) development, management, 
preservation, conservation, acquisition, purchase, and 
maintenance of waterfowl habitat and wetlands and 
purchase or acquisition of recreational rights or interests 
relating to migratory birds and (2) design, production, 
promotion, procurement, and sale of the prints and 
related artwork.  

Finally, the act eliminates the responsibility of the 
Citizens’ Advisory Board for the Connecticut Migratory 
Bird Conservation Stamp Program to advise the DEP 
commissioner on the use of funds that the stamp and 
associated art product sales generate. The board retains 
its role in advising the commissioner on the design, 
production, and procurement of the stamp. 

§§ 443 & 444 - Hunting and Fishing License Renewals 

The act requires all hunting and fishing licenses to 
expire annually on December 31, except for the two 
nonresident/three-consecutive-day licenses, which 
expire after three days, and one one-day resident marine 
fishing license, which expires the same day it is issued.  
It also requires the free sport fishing and hunting license 
for eligible people over age 65 to be renewed annually, 
eliminating lifetime licenses for such people. 

§ 462 - Shellfish Harvest Fee  

The act creates a shellfish harvest fee for anyone 
harvesting shellfish in state waters for wholesale or 
retail sale. The fee is $1 per bushel bag or equivalent of 
shellfish that a person, firm, corporation, franchise, or 
other entity harvests. People must pay the fee to the 
DEP commissioner for the previous month by the 10th 

of each following month. Anyone who does not pay by 
the 10th must also pay 1% interest per month from the 
day the payment was due until it is paid, plus the 
expense of collecting the fee.  

In addition to the interest rate penalty, the 
commissioner must issue a warrant that authorizes any 
reputable person named in it to seize any vessel, 
vehicle, equipment, dock, building, structure, or any 
other asset or property that the delinquent payer owns 
and uses for shellfish harvest, storage, transport, or sale. 
The warrant allows this person to sell the items seized, 
or as much of it as he or she may find necessary, at the 
time, place, and in the way the commissioner directs.  

The person must immediately pay the 
commissioner the money from the sale. The 
commissioner must apply these funds to the fee owed 
and all the expenses associated with it (e.g., interest), 
including the sale’s expenses. The commissioner must 
return any balance to the owner or owners. All fees, 
costs, and interest collected must be deposited in the 
General Fund. (PA 09-8, September Special Session, 
repeals the fee and its associated requirements.) 

§ 463 - Illegal Application of Pesticides 

The law imposes civil penalties of between $1,000 
and $2,000 per day for first-time violations, and up to 
$5,000 per day for subsequent violations, on those who 
illegally apply, advertise, or solicit to apply pesticides. 
The act eliminates a requirement that the penalties 
collected be placed in the Environmental Quality Fund.   

§ 464 - Air Pollution Testing 

The law authorizes the commissioner, by 
regulation, to charge owners or operators of air 
pollution sources a fee to cover the cost of visual tests 
of air pollution control devices, and the monitoring of 
the tests, as long as the costs do not exceed certain 
amounts. The act requires all such payments to be made 
to the General Fund rather than the Environmental 
Quality Fund. 

§ 467 - Pipeline Fees 

By law, the agriculture commissioner assesses an 
annual host payment fee of 40 cents per linear foot for 
facilities crossing Long Island Sound.  The act requires 
25% of the fee revenue to be deposited in the General 
Fund rather than the Environmental Quality Fund. By 
law, the agriculture commissioner must put the 
remaining 75% into an account to promote Connecticut 
agriculture. 
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§ 469 - Proceeds from State Forest Product Sales  

The act eliminates the requirement that any funds 
over $600,000 received from the sale of wood, timber, 
and other products derived from publicly owned 
woodlands be deposited in the Conversation Fund and 
used to support forestry programs.   

§ 470 - Forest Practitioner Certification 

The law allows the commissioner to prescribe fees 
by regulation to defray the costs of administering 
examinations to certify commercial forest practitioners. 
The act eliminates a requirement that these fees be 
deposited in the Conservation Fund.  

§ 471 - Rental of DEP Property 

By law, the DEP commissioner may rent houses, 
other buildings, or property in her custody. The act 
eliminates a requirement that she deposit these rents into 
the Maintenance, Repair and Improvement account, 
which the act eliminates. 

§ 472 - Fines for Illegal Hunting 

The act requires fines for 3rd and 4th degree 
negligent hunting to be deposited in the Criminal 
Injuries Compensation Fund rather than the 
Conservation Fund.   

§ 474 - Dioxin, Mercury, and Metals Testing 

The act eliminates a requirement that DEP use 
funds from the Solid Waste account to pay the costs of 
testing for dioxin, mercury, and metals at resources 
recovery facilities (CGS § 22a-191a (a)).  

§§ 475 & 476 - Safe Boating and Personal Watercraft 
Fees  

The act eliminates a requirement that fees from 
boating and watercraft safety courses go to the 
Conservation Fund’s nonlapsing boating account to 
support various state and local boating expenses and 
programs. The act eliminates the Conservation Fund, 
sending these fees to the General Fund. 

§ 479 - Marine Dealer Registration Numbers Fees  

PA 09-105 allows the DEP commissioner to adopt 
regulations for marine dealers (including yacht brokers), 
engine manufacturers, and surveyors and establish fees 
for each marine dealer registration number issued. This 
act eliminates PA 09-105’s requirement that the fees go 
to the Conservation Fund’s boating account. 

§ 480 - UST Petroleum Clean-Up Account Review 
Board Authority 

Under prior law, no determination of fact or law by 
the UST Petroleum Clean-Up Account Review Board 
affected the DEP or public health commissioners’ 
authority to (1) issue orders to prevent or abate pollution 
or potential pollution or (2) provide potable drinking 
water. The act eliminates the reference to the account 
review board. It is not clear if this permits the remaining 
review board, the UST Petroleum Clean-Up Review 
Board, to make determinations that affect these DEP or 
public health department decisions (CGS § 22a-449i). 

§ 481 - Provision of Potable Drinking Water 

The act eliminates the DEP commissioner’s 
authority to pay for short-term provision of potable 
drinking water to homes and schools affected by 
groundwater pollution from the Emergency Spill 
Response account. Instead, it requires the commissioner 
to pay for the drinking water from available 
appropriations (CGS § 22a-471 (a)). 

By law, the costs of providing a long-term drinking 
water supply, and of an engineering report 
substantiating the need for it must be paid from the 
Emergency Spill Response account or bond proceeds 
authorized for these purposes. The act eliminates the 
reference to the account, but continues to require these 
costs to be paid from the bond proceeds. 

The law allows the commissioner to provide grants 
to towns that provide potable drinking water. Prior law 
allowed the commissioner to pay for the grants from the 
Emergency Spill Response account or from bonds 
authorized for that purpose. The act eliminates the 
Emergency Spill Response account alternative and 
instead requires that grants be funded either from 
available appropriations or authorized bond funds (CGS 
§ 22a-471 (b)). 

By law, a water company with fewer than 10,000 
customers whose water supply well is rendered 
unusable for drinking water may apply in certain 
circumstances to the commissioner for a grant from the 
Emergency Spill Response account or bond proceeds 
authorized for the purpose. Under the act the grant must 
be funded either from available appropriations or the 
bond proceeds. 

§ 482 - Wildlife Conservation License Plates 

The act eliminates (1) the Wildlife Conservation 
account controlled by the OPM secretary and (2) a 
requirement that the DMV commissioner deposit $35 of 
the $50 charged for wildlife conservation number plates 
into the account.  
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§ 483 - Grants to Municipalities from the Hazard 
Mitigation and Floodplain Management Program 

The act requires the DEP commissioner to 
reimburse municipalities for costs they incur in reducing 
or eliminating risks to life and property from flooding, 
high winds, and wildfires from available appropriations 
instead of from the Hazard Mitigation and Floodplain 
Management account.  

§ 484 - Seedling and Seedling Stock Proceeds  

The act requires state proceeds from selling 
seedling, seedling stock, all reimbursements from state 
agencies, and federal government subsidies to be 
deposited in the General Fund rather than the 
Conservation Fund.  

§ 513 - Miscellaneous and Conforming Changes 

In addition to the accounts and funds it eliminates, 
the act also eliminates: 
1. a requirement that the revenue services 

commissioner deposit $3 million from motor 
boat fuel sales to the Conservation Fund, with 
$250,000 going to the boating account and $2 
million to the fisheries account, of which 
$75,000 goes to UConn for the Long Island 
Sound councils (CGS §12-460a); 

2. a requirement that the DEP commissioner 
submit an annual report on vessel registration 
fees (CGS §15-155a) (PA 09-8, September 
Special Session, reenacts this provision (§ 21)); 

3. a requirement that revenue from the vessel 
registration fees be distributed according to a 
specific formula (PA 09-8, September Special 
Session, reenacts this provision (§21)) (CGS § 
15-155b); and  

4. a requirement that $3 million annually be 
credited to the UST Petroleum Clean-Up 
account from the petroleum products gross 
earnings tax (CGS § 22a-44).  

§§ 485-504 - REVENUE ESTIMATES 

The act adopts revenue estimates for FY 10 and FY 
11 for appropriated state funds, as shown in Table 14. 
(PA 09-8, September Special Session (§§ 55-58) alters 
the FY 10 estimates for the General Fund and the FY 10 
and FY 11 estimates for the Special Transportation 
Fund. See notes to Table 14.) 

Table 14: Revenue Estimates for FY 10 and FY 11 
 

Fund FY 10 FY 11 
General Fund $17,375,400,000 

[1] 
$17,591,900,000 

[2] 

Special Transportation 
Fund 

1,106,500,000 [3] 1,173,200,000 [4] 

Mashantucket Pequot & 
Mohegan Fund 

61,800,000 61,800,000 

Soldiers, Sailors and 
Marines’ Fund 

3,000,000 3,000,000 

Regional Market Operation 
Fund 

1,000,000 1,000,000 

Banking Fund 22,100,000 20,600,000 
Insurance Fund 25,700,000 26,700,000 
Consumer Counsel and 
Public Utility Control Fund 

24,600,000 25,200,000 

Workers’ Compensation 
Fund 

22,700,000 23,100,000 

Criminal Injuries 
Compensation Fund 

3,200,000 3,500,000 

Notes: 
[1] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 485) increases 
this estimate to $17,372,400,000. 
[2] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 495) increases 
this estimate to $17,596,800,000. 
[3] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 486) increases 
this estimate to $1,115,700,000. 
[4] PA 09-8, September Special Session (§ 496) increases 
this estimate to $1,181,700,000. 

§§ 505 & 506 - ADDITIONAL FUNDS CARRIED 
OVER TO FY 10 

Instead of allowing them to lapse on June 30, 2009, 
the act carries over the following unspent funds from 
FY 09 and makes them available for the same purpose 
in FY 10: (1) $500,000 of the amount appropriated to 
the Labor Department for the mortgage crisis job 
training program and (2) the unspent balance of an 
appropriation to the DECD for Home CT. 

§ 507 - FUEL OIL CONSERVATION FUND 
BALANCE 

By law, any balance remaining in the Fuel Oil 
Conservation account at the end of each fiscal year must 
be transferred to the General Fund.  The act overrides 
the statute to require that unspent money in the account 
as of June 30, 2009 remain in the account and continue 
to be available during FY 10 for the account’s purposes.  
The account pays for heating oil conservation and 
energy efficiency programs.  It is funded from a share of 
any increase in petroleum products gross earnings tax 
revenue the state receives compared to its 2006 revenue 
from that tax. 
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§ 508 - JUDGE’S RETIREMENT FUND  

The act limits the state’s annual contributions to the 
Judge’s Retirement Fund in FY 10 and FY 11 to the 
amounts budgeted in the act. It overrides a law setting 
the state’s required annual contribution at the actuarially 
determined normal cost for current service plus the 
amount required for a 40-year amortization of past 
service unfunded liabilities.  

§§ 509 & 510 - FUNDING DIRECTIVES 

The act earmarks the following annual amounts for 
FY 10 and FY 11: 

1. up to $25,000 per year of DECD’s annual 
appropriation for Main Street Initiatives to the 
Ansonia Nature and Recreation Center and 

2. up to $75,000 per year of DSS’ appropriation 
for Nutrition Assistance to the Manchester 
Area Conference of Churches Food Pantry. 

§ 511 - USE OF FUTURE BUDGET SURPLUSES 

If the comptroller determines there is an 
unappropriated General Fund surplus at the end of any 
fiscal year from FY 10 through FY 17, the act requires 
that, after the surplus is first used to redeem any 
outstanding economic recovery notes before they 
mature, the remainder be devoted to reducing the state’s 
obligations under the act’s securitization plan.  

§§ 512 & 513 - REPEALERS 

The act repeals statutes:  
1. concerning CCCT’s powers and duties relating 

to films and digital media (CGS §§ 10-417 and 
418); 

2. requiring the DRS commissioner to deposit 
certain tax revenue in the Conservation Fund 
(CGS § 12-460a) and the UST Petroleum 
Clean-up account (CGS § 22a-449b); 

3. requiring annual reports on the Emergency 
Spill Response account and its expenditures 
(CGS §§ 22a-451a and 22a-451b); and 

4. establishing fees for numbering boats and 
allocating the resulting revenue to the boating 
account and to municipalities and requiring the 
DEP commissioner to submit an annual report 
on the account to the comptroller. (CGS §§ 15-
155a and 155b)  (PA 09-8, September Special 
Session, (§ 21) reenacts these provisions.)  

The act also repeals statutes establishing the 
following funds and accounts within DEP:   

1. Wildlife Conservation account (CGS § 14-21t), 
2. Environment Quality Fund (CGS § 22a-27g),  
3. Conservation Fund (CGS § 22a-27h),  
4. Long Island Sound account (CGS § 22a-27k),  

5. Greenways account (CGS § 22a-27o), 
6. Hazard Mitigation and Floodplain 

Management account (CGS § 22a-27q),  
7. Solid Waste account (CGS § 22a-233), and 
8. Air Emissions Permit Operating Fee account 

(CGS § 22a-27m) and the Connecticut 
Lighthouse Preservation account (CGS § 22a-
27n). (PA 09-8 September Special Session (§§ 
33 & 34) restores the former and PA 09-7, 
September Special Session (§§ 187-189) 
restores the latter as separate General Fund 
accounts.) 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2009, except for the 
repeal of the CCCT’s film and digital media powers and 
duties, which is effective on passage.  

BACKGROUND 

Related Acts 

This act amends the following regular session acts: 
PA 09-105, PA 09-86, and PA 09-229.  It also adopts 
additional language to conform to changes made by PA 
09-173.  

This act was subsequently amended by the 
following public acts passed in the September 2009 
Special Session: PA 09-2, PA 09-5, PA 09-6, PA 09-7, 
and PA 09-8.   
 
Real Estate Conveyance Tax 

With some exceptions, Connecticut law requires a 
person who sells real property for $2,000 or more to pay 
a real estate conveyance tax when he or she conveys the 
property to the buyer.  The tax has two parts: a state tax 
and a municipal tax.  The applicable state and municipal 
rates are added together to get the total tax rate for a 
particular transaction.  

The state tax rate is either 0.5% or 1% of the total 
sales price, depending on the type of property.   The 
municipal tax rate is 0.25% for all towns until July 1, 
2010 and 0.11% thereafter for all towns.  In addition, 18 
specific towns have the option of levying an additional 
tax of up to 0.25%.  The 18 towns are: Bloomfield, 
Bridgeport, Bristol, East Hartford, Groton, Hamden, 
Hartford, Meriden, Middletown, New Britain, New 
Haven, New London, Norwalk, Norwich, Southington, 
Stamford, Waterbury, and Windham. Thus, the 
municipal tax rate can range from 0.25% to 0.5%, 
depending on where the property is located. 

Build America Bonds 

Under the program, the federal government 
subsidizes debt service costs on taxable bonds (known 
as Build America Bonds or BABs) issued by state and 
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local governments between February 17, 2009 and 
December 31, 2010.  The federal law allows state and 
local governments to issue taxable BABs to pay for any 
capital project for which they may issue tax-exempt 
bonds.   

The federal government subsidizes 35% of the 
interest costs for such bonds.  An issuer can choose to 
have the interest subsidy paid in either of two ways.  
The first option gives the bondholder a nonrefundable 
federal tax credit of 35% of the interest paid on the bond 
each year. The second gives the subsidy to the issuer 
rather than the bondholder.   
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PA 09-1, June 19 Special Session-HB 6901 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING EDUCATOR 
CERTIFICATION AND PROFESSIONAL 
DEVELOPMENT AND OTHER EDUCATION 
ISSUES 

 
SUMMARY:  This act makes several changes in 
teacher training, qualifications, and professional 
development. It establishes new teaching certificates 
and permits and creates waivers from Connecticut’s 
teacher testing requirements to allow teachers from 
other states or those whose qualifications do not 
coincide with Connecticut’s existing teacher training 
requirements to teach in public schools. It requires local 
school boards to take the State Board of Education’s 
(SBE’s) priorities into consideration when developing 
professional development activities for certified 
employees. 

The act (1) adds to the crimes requiring automatic 
revocation or denial of teaching credentials; (2) requires 
student teachers to undergo the same criminal 
background checks as other school personnel; (3) 
requires school districts to notify the education 
commissioner when they dismiss a person with a 
teaching credential for moral misconduct; and (4) bars 
anyone whose teaching credential is revoked from 
working in any public school in any capacity while the 
revocation remains in force. 

The act extends for an additional year, until July 1, 
2010, the temporary certification that overrides dual 
certification requirements for bilingual education 
teachers. It gives the education commissioner flexibility 
to join interstate teacher certification agreements, 
eliminates his authority to waive a requirement that 
substitute teachers hold at least a bachelor’s degree, and 
transfers authority to grant extensions of time to 
complete provisional and professional educator 
certificate requirements to the commissioner from SBE. 

The act allows certain towns to amend adopted 
local budgets for FY 10 to reduce their education 
appropriations by up to the amount of funding their 
local or regional boards of education will receive 
directly from the federal State Fiscal Stabilization Fund 
program according to the 2009 federal stimulus act. It 
also: 

1. allows boards of education to establish 
cooperative arrangements to provide special 
education and health care services; 

2. allows charter schools to participate in 
cooperative arrangements in the same way as 
boards of education; 

3. requires each interdistrict magnet school 
operator annually to notify school districts, in 
writing, of the estimated number of students 

from those districts who have been placed at the 
magnet school for the following school year;  

4. establishes a pilot program to allow students to 
complete courses at J.M. Wright Technical High 
School for college credit at Norwalk 
Community College; 

5. requires the attorney general to report to the 
Education Committee by January 1, 2010 on 
recommendations arising from his investigation 
of behavioral analysis services provided to 
children with autism spectrum disorder; and 

6. establishes a five-year pilot program to allow 
students who live within a half-mile radius of a 
New Haven charter school to attend the school. 

Finally, the act eliminates obsolete language and 
makes technical and conforming changes.   
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009, except for the 
sections allowing towns to amend FY 10 education 
budgets and the Wright Tech-Norwalk Community 
College pilot program, which are effective on passage. 
 
TEACHER TRAINING, QUALIFICATIONS, AND 
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT 
 
§ 1 - Additional Teacher Preparation Requirements  

 
The act adds to the training required of candidates 

seeking certification to teach in Connecticut public 
schools and who enter teacher preparation programs on 
or after July 1, 2012. It requires such teacher candidates 
to complete training in areas established by SBE’s 
professional teaching standards, including at least: 

1. development and characteristics of learners, 
2. evidence- and standards-based instruction, 
3. evidence-based classroom and behavior 

management, and 
4. assessment and professional behavior and 

responsibilities. 
These requirements are in addition to (1) existing 

statutory requirements for teacher candidates relating to 
computers and information technology, literacy skills, 
and second language learning and (2) training and 
qualifications SBE specifies in the teaching certification 
regulations the law allows it to adopt. 
 
§ 2  - Alternate Route to Certification  

 
The act broadens the definition of an alternate route 

to certification (ARC) program. These programs allow 
participants to attain teacher certification without 
completing a regular teacher preparation program.  

Under prior law, ARC programs had to be (1) 
provided under a contract with an institution of higher 
education that the Department of Higher Education 
(DHE) designates and (2) approved by SBE. The act 
eliminates the contract requirement and expands the 
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types of entities that can offer such programs to include 
DHE itself, regional education service centers (RESCs), 
and private teacher or administrator training 
organizations. As under prior law, programs may also 
be provided by higher education institutions and must 
be approved by SBE.  

The act also incorporates the term “alternate route 
to certification program,” eliminating the reference to “a 
program of classroom management and instructional 
methodology.” 
 
§ 2 - Provisional Educator Certificates 

 
Coursework Requirements. Starting July 1, 2016, 

the act requires provisional certificate holders to 
complete 30 credit hours of graduate coursework, 
instead of 30 hours of graduate or undergraduate 
coursework beyond the bachelor’s degree, to qualify for 
a professional certificate. As under previous law, the 
credits must be from a regionally accredited higher 
education institution. 

As of July 1, 2009, the act eliminates statutory 
requirements that the coursework consist of (1) a 
planned program either (a) directly related to the 
person’s grade-level or subject endorsement area or (b) 
in areas related to the person’s ability to provide 
effective instruction and meet locally determined goals 
and objectives or (2) an individual program designed to 
increase student learning that is mutually determined or 
approved by the teacher and the school board’s or 
private school supervisory agent. 

Teaching Experience. By law, a provisional 
certificate holder must have from three to eight years of 
successful teaching experience to gain a professional 
certificate. Starting July 1, 2012, the act allows only 
public school teaching experience to be used to qualify 
for a professional certificate. But it allows provisional 
certificate holders to use private school teaching 
experience to renew a provisional certificate.  

The act also allows a school superintendent’s 
designee, as well as the superintendent, to make the 
required statements and recommendations concerning 
teaching competency for a provisional certificate holder 
applying for a professional certificate and makes other 
clarifying and conforming changes. 
 
§§ 2 & 16 - Professional Development 

 
Choosing Professional Development Activities. By 

law, local and regional boards of education must make 
available to their certified employees, without cost to 
those employees, at least 18 hours of professional 
development activities per year. They must also consult 
with teachers in determining which activities to make 
available. Starting July 1, 2011, the act requires school 
boards to fully consider priorities relating to student 

outcome needs as determined by SBE when establishing 
professional development activities. 

Professional Development Committees. By law, 
each board of education must develop a comprehensive 
professional development plan, with the advice and 
assistance of its teachers and administrators, including 
their unions, and whatever other resources the board 
considers appropriate. This act requires each board to 
establish a professional development committee to, 
among other things, develop, evaluate, and annually 
update the professional development plan. As under 
prior law, each district’s professional development 
committee must consist of the board’s certified 
employees, including their union representatives, and 
other school personnel the board considers appropriate. 

By law, district professional development plans 
must (1) be directly related to the board of education’s 
educational goals and (2) relate to regular and special 
student needs. The act also requires that, starting July 1, 
2011, the plans be developed with full consideration of 
priorities relating to student outcome needs as 
determined by SBE. 
 
NEW TEACHING CERTIFICATES AND 
CREDENTIALS 
 
§ 3 - Temporary Certificate for Qualified Out-of-State 
Teachers 

 
The act establishes a new type of temporary 

certificate that allows a person who holds a valid 
teaching certificate in another state to be awarded a 
Connecticut certificate without completing 
Connecticut’s teacher testing requirements if he or she 
meets certain standards and teaches successfully in 
Connecticut for one year. The new certificate is an 
alternative to an existing one-year nonrenewable interim 
certificate that allows an out-of-state teacher who meets 
all other Connecticut certification requirements to teach 
in Connecticut and defer the testing for one year.   

To be eligible for the new temporary certificate, an 
out-of-state applicant must hold a valid certificate in 
another state that is (1) at least equivalent, as 
determined by SBE, to an initial certificate in 
Connecticut and (2) in the same subject or endorsement 
area for which the person is seeking Connecticut 
certification. The applicant must also have either (1) 
three years of experience in the last 10 teaching the 
subject for which he or she is seeking Connecticut 
certification in a public school or state-approved private 
school in the other state or (2) a Master’s or higher 
degree in that subject. 

After one year of employment under the temporary 
certificate, the act allows the superintendent of the 
school district employing the teacher to recommend that 
SBE waive the required teacher competency and subject 
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matter examinations for the teacher. Although the 
superintendent’s recommendation is a request, the act 
requires SBE, once it receives a proper application, to 
agree and grant the teacher a provisional educator 
certificate.  
 
§ 11 - Adjunct Instructor Permit For Artists  

 
The act establishes a three-year, renewable adjunct 

instructor permit allowing a person with specialized 
training, experience, or expertise in the arts to teach in 
certain interdistrict arts magnet high schools for up to 
15 classroom instructional hours per week. The permit 
allows holders to work at (1) any part-time arts magnet 
high school in existence on July 1, 2009 and (2) the 
Cooperative Arts and Humanities Magnet High School 
(an arts magnet school in New Haven). 

The act allows SBE to issue the permit to 
qualifying applicants at the request of a local or regional 
board of education or regional education service center 
(RESC). SBE may renew the permit every three years, 
also at the request of the board or RESC and for good 
cause. The permit authorizes a holder to teach art, 
dance, music, theater, or any other subject related to his 
or her artistic specialty. To qualify for a permit, an 
applicant must: 

1. hold at least a bachelor’s degree from a higher 
education institution accredited by the Board of 
Governors of Higher Education or a regional 
accreditation agency; 

2. have a minimum of either (a) three years’ work 
experience in the arts or (b) one year’s work 
experience and two years of specialized 
schooling in the artistic specialty; and 

3. have at least (a) 180 hours of cumulative 
experience working with children in a public or 
private setting or (b) two years’ experience as a 
full-time faculty member at a higher education 
institution. The 180 hours of experience can 
include working in after-school programs, 
group lessons, children’s theater, dance studio 
lessons, and artist-in-residence programs. 

The act also requires SBE to issue a permit without 
further qualification to anyone who, before July 1, 2009, 
was employed as a teacher of art, music, dance, theater, 
or any other subject related to his or her artistic 
specialty for at least one year at a part-time interdistrict 
arts magnet high school or the Cooperative Arts and 
Humanities Magnet High School. 

While employed at such a school, the act requires 
the instructor to be supervised by the school 
superintendent or a school principal, administrator, or 
other supervisor the superintendent designates. The 
supervisor must regularly observe, guide, and evaluate 
the instructor’s performance. The board of education or 
RESC that employs the instructor must provide a 

program to assist the instructor that includes academic 
and classroom support. The board or RESC must 
develop the program in consultation with the State 
Department of Education (SDE). 

The act bars an adjunct instructor from displacing a 
certified teacher who is already employed at a covered 
magnet school. It prohibits an adjunct instructor from 
being a member of the Teachers’ Retirement System 
based solely on the fact that he or she holds an adjunct 
instructor permit. 
 
§ 13 - Resident Teacher Certificate 

 
The act establishes a one-year resident teacher 

certificate allowing a person to teach in Connecticut 
while enrolled in an ARC program. It allows the 
education commissioner, for good cause, to extend the 
certificate for an additional year at the request of the 
superintendent of schools of the district that employs the 
certificate holder.  

Under the act, once SBE receives a proper 
application, it must issue a resident teacher certificate in 
elementary or middle grades education, secondary 
academic subjects, special subjects or fields, special 
education, early childhood education, or administration 
and supervision. To qualify, an applicant must: 

1. hold at least a bachelor’s degree from a higher 
education institution accredited by the Board of 
Governors of Higher Education or a regional 
accreditation agency, 

2. have an undergraduate grade point average of 
at least 3.0, 

3. achieve a qualifying score set by the SBE on 
the appropriate SBE-approved subject area test, 
and 

4. be enrolled in an ARC program that is 
approved by SBE and meets “guidelines” 
established under the federal No Child Left 
Behind (NCLB) Act. (Federal NCLB 
requirements for alternate route to certification 
programs are established in federal regulations, 
not guidelines.) 

Under the act, a resident teacher certificate holder 
must be the “teacher of record” under the supervision of 
the school superintendent or a school principal, 
administrator, or other supervisor the superintendent 
designates. The supervisor must regularly observe, 
guide, and evaluate the certificate holder’s performance.  

Under prior law, a person could qualify for an 
initial educator certificate only by completing an SBE-
defined subject area major and (1) graduating from an 
SBE-approved four-year baccalaureate teacher 
preparation program, (2) graduating from another state’s 
accredited four-year baccalaureate program and taking 
SBE-required equivalent teacher training courses, or (3) 
completing an approved ARC program and teaching 
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successfully under a 90-day temporary certificate. 
The act adds another option by requiring SBE to 

issue an initial educator certificate to anyone who:  
1. successfully completes a qualifying ARC 

program, 
2. teaches successfully as the teacher of record 

under a resident teacher certificate, and 
3. successfully completes the teacher competency 

and subject matter testing requirements for 
certification. 

 
TEACHER TESTING EXEMPTIONS AND 
WAIVERS 
 
§ 3 - Teacher Competency Test Waiver 

 
Before being admitted to an SBE-approved teacher 

preparation program or receiving a teaching certificate, 
teacher candidates must either pass a state reading, 
writing, and math competency test or qualify for a 
waiver. Prior law required SBE to waive the 
competency test if a candidate had a combined score of 
at least 1100 on the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) or 
an equivalent test designated by SBE. If the SAT or 
equivalent test was not in English, the candidate also 
had to demonstrate English proficiency on an SBE-
designated test. The act eliminates the statutory 
requirement for a candidate to achieve a specific SAT 
score and pass an English competency test to qualify for 
a waiver. Instead, it requires SBE to establish waiver 
criteria. It also eliminates a requirement that the 
competency test be conducted at least twice a year. 
 
§ 3 - Competency Test Exemption for Out-of-State 
School Administrators  

 
The act exempts from the teacher competency 

testing requirement any person who (1) holds a valid 
school administrator certificate in another state that SBE 
determines is equivalent to an initial educator certificate 
in Connecticut, (2) is applying for a Connecticut 
certificate in a school administrator endorsement area, 
and (3) has three years of successful experience as a 
school administrator in the 10 years before applying for 
the administrator certificate. The experience may be in a 
public school or a private school approved by the state 
board of education in the other state. 
 
§ 10 - Subject Assessment - Excellent Score Exemption  

 
Starting July 1, 2010, the act requires SBE to allow 

a person seeking certification to teach in a subject 
shortage area to substitute an “excellent” score on the 
appropriate subject area test for regular subject area 
certification requirements (i.e., coursework 
requirements and a college major in the subject or a 

closely related one). SBE must establish the excellent 
score. The waiver applies to applicants for teaching 
certificates, and to those holding certificates who seek 
an endorsement, in a shortage subject. 
 
§ 2 & 5 - ISSUING AND REVOKING TEACHING 
CREDENTIALS 
 
Revocation Based on Criminal Conviction 

 
By law, when a person who holds an SBE-issued 

certificate, authorization, or permit is convicted of 
specified crimes, his or her educator credential is 
considered automatically revoked. SBE is also barred 
from issuing or re-issuing a certificate, permit, or 
authorization to anyone who has been convicted of 
certain crimes, unless he or she completed the sentence 
for the crime more than five years before applying for 
the credential. 

This act extends the mandatory revocation and the 
prohibition against issuance or reissuance to those 
convicted of two additional crimes: (1) criminal attempt 
to commit a crime (CGS § 53a-49) and (2) enticing a 
minor under age 16, through an interactive computer 
service, to engage in prostitution or sexual activity for 
which the actor may be charged with a crime (CGS § 
53a-90a).  
 
Educator Credential Denial Hearings  

 
The act clarifies the deadlines for SBE to hold a 

requested hearing and issue a written decision when an 
applicant appeals a denial of his or her application for a 
certificate, permit, or authorization. 

By law, SBE can deny an application for such 
credentials because (1) the application is based on fraud 
or misrepresents a material fact, (2) the applicant has 
been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude or 
other crime that might impair the standing of SBE-
issued credentials, or (3) other due and sufficient cause. 
Applicants must receive written notice of the reasons for 
a denial.  
 
NEW EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS  
 
§ 2 - Employment Prohibition 

 
The act bars a person whose teaching credential has 

been revoked from any employment in a public school 
during the revocation period. 
 
§ 2 - Dismissal Notice 

 
The act requires a school board or approved private 

special education facility to report to the education 
commissioner when it dismisses an employee who holds 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 



 JUNE 19, 2009 SPECIAL SESSION 69 
 

an SBE credential for moral misconduct under the 
teacher employment law. That law allows a teacher to 
be dismissed for (1) inefficiency or incompetence, (2) 
insubordination against a board of education’s 
reasonable rules, (3) moral misconduct, (4) disability 
shown by competent medical evidence, (5) elimination 
of the teacher’s position with no other suitable position 
for the teacher open, or (6) other due and sufficient 
cause (CGS § 10-151). 
 
§ 8 - Criminal Background Checks For Student 
Teachers 

 
Starting July 1, 2010, the act requires student 

teachers working in public schools to undergo the same 
criminal background checks already required for school 
employees and certain other people working in public 
schools. By law, in addition to school board employees, 
people placed in public schools under public assistance 
employment programs and supplemental service 
providers under NCLB must submit to state and national 
criminal history records checks within 30 days after 
starting work, if their work involves direct student 
contact. 

Also starting July 1, 2010, the act requires a local 
or regional board of education to notify SBE if it 
receives notice that a student teacher has been convicted 
of a crime. The requirement for boards to notify SBE 
already covered people who hold SBE-issued 
certificates, permits, or authorizations or who are 
employed by an NCLB supplemental services provider. 
(NCLB requires SDE to approve providers of federally 
required supplemental services, such as tutoring, for 
low-income children attending schools that fail to make 
adequate yearly progress in student achievement as 
required by the federal law.) 
 
CHANGES IN EXISTING TEACHING 
CREDENTIALS 
 
§ 4 - Bilingual Educator Certificate 

 
The act extends temporary certification 

requirements for bilingual education teachers for an 
additional year, until July 1, 2010. The temporary 
requirements supersede permanent requirements that 
bilingual education teachers hold dual certification in 
both bilingual education and either elementary 
education, if they wish to teach in elementary grades, or 
a subject area if they wish to teach a subject in 
secondary grades. The dual certification requirements 
have not been implemented because temporary 
certification requirements for bilingual education 
teachers are in place.  

Instead of dual certification, temporary certification 
requirements require bilingual education teachers to 

either (1) be certified in bilingual education and pass the 
SBE-approved elementary education or subject area 
assessment, as appropriate, or (2) be certified in 
elementary education or the subject they will teach and 
complete six hours of SBE-approved coursework in 
English as a second language. Elementary bilingual 
education certification is valid for grades K-8 and 
secondary; subject-specific certification is valid for 
grades 9-12. 

Both the temporary and permanent bilingual 
education certification qualifications require a teacher to 
demonstrate competence in English and the other 
language. But under the temporary regulations, bilingual 
education teachers must demonstrate English 
competency by passing both an oral English proficiency 
test and an SBE-approved essential skills test, instead of 
only the SBE-approved essential skills test.  
 
§ 6 - Authority to Grant Certificate Extensions 

 
The act transfers authority from SBE to the 

education commissioner for approving time extensions 
for provisional or professional certificate holders to 
meet the requirements for obtaining or maintaining a 
professional certificate. By law, a provisional certificate 
holder who is unable to meet the requirements for a 
professional certificate within the required time (eight 
years) or a professional certificate holder who cannot 
meet the requirements for maintaining his or her 
certificate within the required time (five years) may 
apply for an extension. As under prior law, an extension 
can be granted for good cause (1) if the person has a 
hardship or (2) because of an emergency shortage of 
certified teachers in the district where the person is 
employed. Extensions can be granted only to teachers 
with satisfactory teaching records. 

The act limits the duration of any extension to 24 
months from the date the provisional or professional 
certificate expired. Under prior law, SBE could approve 
an extension for any amount of time it considered 
reasonable. As under prior law, a teacher can receive 
only one extension. 
 
§ 7 - Interstate Teacher Certification Agreements 

 
The act repeals the statutory Interstate Agreement 

on Qualification of Educational Personnel adopted in 
1969. The agreement authorizes the education 
commissioner to enter into renewable contracts lasting 
up to five years with other states having comparable 
educator certification criteria to allow Connecticut to 
accept the qualifications of educators from other states 
to teach here. It requires parties to facilitate and 
strengthen cooperation in interstate educator 
certification and establishes a contract committee of 
officials from the party states to monitor the contracts.  
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The act instead allows the education commissioner 
or the commissioner’s designee to establish or join 
interstate agreements to foster certification of qualified 
candidates from other states. It requires any such out-of-
state candidates to hold a bachelor’s degree from a 
regionally accredited college or university, meet 
Connecticut’s assessment requirements, and meet any 
conditions required by the interstate agreement. These 
requirements conform to existing practice. 

The act eliminates laws designating the education 
commissioner as the state’s agent for concluding 
contracts under the agreement and requirements that (1) 
the commissioner keep contracts concluded under it on 
file in the offices of the commissioner and the secretary 
of the state and (2) SBE publish the contracts in a 
convenient form (§ 26). 
 
§ 14 -Durational Shortage Area Permits for National 
Teacher Corps Graduates 

 
As of July 1, 2011, the act sunsets a program 

allowing qualified graduates of a national teacher corps 
training program (such as Teach for America) to work 
under special durational shortage area permits (DSAPs) 
issued by SBE in certain school districts. 

The special DSAPs for teacher corps graduates 
allow them to work at the elementary or secondary level 
in public and charter schools in Bridgeport, Hartford, 
and New Haven. Until June 30, 2011, the act also 
allows them to work in state charter schools in 
Stamford. Under both prior law and the act, when 
issuing the special DSAPs, SBE must first meet the 
needs of schools run by the Bridgeport, Hartford, and 
New Haven boards of education and second, the needs 
of charter schools in those districts plus Stamford. 

A DSAP is a temporary public school teaching 
credential issued by SBE at the request of a local board 
of education. It allows an uncertified person to teach in 
a particular position for which no suitable certified 
teacher is available. The special DSAPs for national 
teacher corps graduates are valid for one year and can 
be renewed once. 
 
§ 15 - Substitute Teachers 

 
The act eliminates the education commissioner’s 

authority to waive the statutory requirement that 
substitute teachers have at least a bachelor’s degree. 
Under prior law, the commissioner could grant a waiver 
for good cause at the request of a school superintendent. 
 
§ 26 - Occupational Certificates  

 
The act repeals an obsolete law allowing anyone 

employed by a local or regional board of education 
before July 1, 1977 as an occupational instructor and 

who held an occupational certificate as of that date to be 
granted a standard certificate. Occupational and 
standard certificates are obsolete and are no longer 
issued. 
 
OTHER EDUCATION PROVISIONS 
 
§ 19 - Authority to Amend Adopted Local Education 
Budgets  

 
The act allows certain towns to amend adopted 

local budgets for FY 10 to reduce their education 
appropriations by up to the amount of funding their 
local or regional boards of education will receive 
directly from the federal State Fiscal Stabilization Fund 
(SFSF) program, according to the 2009 federal stimulus 
act. It applies to any town whose fiscal authority failed 
to account for its board of education’s direct receipt of 
SFSF funds when passing its municipal budget before 
June 30, 2009. 

The act overrides any statute, charter, or home rule 
or other ordinances to allow the following municipal 
bodies to make such a reduction: (1) the board of 
finance, for municipalities that have such boards; (2) the 
board of selectmen, in a town with no board of finance; 
or (3) any other local authority that makes 
appropriations for the school district.  
 
§ 24 - Notification of Interdistrict Magnet School 
Placements 

 
Starting by May 15, 2010, the act requires each 

interdistrict magnet school operator annually to notify 
school districts, in writing, of the estimated number of 
students from those districts who have been placed at 
the magnet school for the following school year. The 
notice must also include the student’s grade, the magnet 
school name, and the tuition to be charged the district. 
The act specifies that the number of students given in 
the notice is an estimate and that it does not limit the 
number of students who may enroll in interdistrict 
magnet schools for the year.  
 
§§ 20-22 - Regionalization of Certain School District 
Services 

 
This act allows boards of education to establish 

cooperative arrangements to provide special education 
and health care services. They could already establish 
these arrangements to provide school accommodation 
services, programs, or activities. It also allows state 
charter schools to enter into cooperative arrangements 
to the same extent as boards of education, if the 
education commissioner approves. The act specifies that 
any charter school participating in cooperative 
arrangements maintains its status as a state charter 
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school and must meet the obligations of the charter 
school laws. 

The act allows SDE to give special consideration to 
grant applications indicating the use of RESC services 
or joint purchasing agreements among boards to 
purchase special education and health care services. 
SDE could already do this with regard to purchasing 
supplies, testing materials, and food or food services. 
 
§ 23 - Pilot Program for Wright Technical High School 
And Norwalk Community College 

 
By September 1, 2009, this act requires the Board 

of Trustees of the Community-Technical Colleges to 
appoint an oversight board and, by January 1, 2010, 
requires the oversight board to establish a pilot program 
to allow students to complete courses at J.M. Wright 
Technical High School for college credit at Norwalk 
Community College. The program must coordinate 
courses between the school and the college and provide 
students with access to vocational employment or post-
secondary education. 

The Norwalk Community College president must 
be the oversight board’s chairperson and its members 
must include one each representing the J. M. Wright and 
Norwalk Community College faculties, one representing 
a chamber of commerce, and four representing the 
trades. 

The oversight board must establish the pilot 
program in consultation with the community-technical 
colleges’ board of trustees and within existing 
budgetary resources and staffing levels. The program 
must operate during the school year starting July 1, 
2010 and each school year thereafter. 

Starting by June 30, 2011, the community-technical 
college board of trustees and the education 
commissioner must report annually to the Education and 
Higher Education and Employment Advancement 
committees on the pilot program’s curriculum and the 
number of students who have earned course credit under 
the program. 
 
§ 12 - Behavioral Analysis Services Study 

 
The act requires the attorney general, in 

consultation with the education and higher education 
commissioners, to report to the Education Committee by 
January 1, 2010 on any investigation performed in 
Connecticut regarding behaviorial analysis services for 
children with autism spectrum disorder. The report must 
include findings based on the investigation and 
recommend statutory changes and an appropriate in-
state certifying entity for behavioral analysis services. 
 
 

§ 25 - Pilot Program at New Haven Charter School 
 
The act waives statutory charter school attendance 

requirements and establishes a five-year pilot program 
requiring students who live within a half-mile radius to 
attend a K-8 charter school to be operated in the former 
Timothy Dwight School building in New Haven. By 
law, when a charter school has more applicants than 
spaces available after reserving spaces for siblings of 
students currently attending the school, the available 
places must be filled by lottery. The pilot program must 
run from July 1, 2011, which is the date the charter 
school at Dwight School is projected to open, to June 
30, 2015. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
State Fiscal Stabilization Fund 

 
Connecticut expects to receive $541 million over 

two years from the SFSF. Both the governor’s and the 
Appropriations Committee’s proposed budgets use the 
SFSF money in FY 10 and FY 11 to maintain Education 
Cost Sharing (ECS) grants at FY 09 levels during those 
years. However, U.S. Education Department guidelines 
require states to distribute SFSF funds for education 
directly to local and regional boards of education and 
not to treat them as state revenue. ECS grants are sent to 
towns, not to boards of education. Since the SFSF funds 
make up about 14% of the amounts needed to fund ECS 
grants at FY 09 levels in the next two years, ECS grants 
sent to towns will likely be 14% lower than the FY 09 
amounts, although the combination of ECS grants and 
SFSF funds will equal FY 09 ECS grants. 

 
 

PA 09-2, June 19 Special Session-SB 2001   
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING DEFICIENCY 
APPROPRIATIONS FOR THE FISCAL YEAR 
ENDING JUNE 30, 2009, FUNDING FOR 
EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING INITIATIVES 
AND CANCELLATION OF DEBT INCOME 

 
SUMMARY:  This act: 

1. bars taxpayers from taking advantage of a 
federal option to temporarily defer income 
from cancellation of certain business debts 
when they calculate their Connecticut 
corporation and personal income taxes, 

2. appropriates $110.8 million to cover 
deficiencies in FY 09 General Fund 
appropriations in specified agencies, 
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3. reduces FY 09 General Fund appropriations for 
various agencies and programs by $81.4 
million, 

4. appropriates $30.3 million to implement 
employment and training initiatives, and 

5. carries over $8.5 million in unspent General 
Fund money from FY 09 to FY 10 for energy 
assistance for people with incomes between 
150% and 200% of the federal poverty level. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage, except for the 
energy assistance provision, which takes effect July 1, 
2009.  The tax provisions apply to tax years starting 
after December 31, 2008. 
 
§§ 4 & 5 - DECOUPLING FROM FEDERAL 
CANCELLATION OF DEBT INCOME DEFERRAL  

 
Connecticut law requires taxpayers to use federal 

gross income as a starting point when calculating 
taxable income for purposes of state corporation and 
personal income taxes.  This act decouples these 
Connecticut taxes from a provision of the federal tax 
law that allows taxpayers to defer certain cancellation of 
debt income. It prohibits taxpayers from taking 
advantage of the federal deferral in Connecticut 
corporation and personal income tax calculations for tax 
years starting after December 31, 2008.  

“Cancellation of debt income” (CODI) is income 
realized when a debtor is relieved of an obligation to 
repay all or part a debt.  Federal tax law normally 
requires taxpayers to include (“recognize”) CODI in 
gross income for tax purposes in the year the debt is 
discharged.   

But the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
of 2009 (ARRA) gives businesses the option of delaying 
recognition of CODI realized from qualifying re-
acquisitions of their own debt instruments in the 2009 
and 2010 calendar years (see BACKGROUND).  The 
deferral period is five years for CODI realized in 2009 
and four years for CODI realized in 2010, i.e., until 
2014. Starting in 2014, businesses must recognize the 
income for federal tax purposes in equal annual 
installments over the five following tax years.  The 
ARRA’s deferral option is available to C corporations 
and to other types of businesses, such as partnerships, 
limited liability companies, S corporations, and sole 
proprietorships, whose profits are taxed through the 
personal income taxes on their owners, partners, 
shareholders, or members.  

For Connecticut corporation and income tax 
purposes, the act requires taxpayers to (1) disregard 
federally deferred CODI in 2009 and 2010 and (2) 
deduct any such federally deferred CODI from 2009 and 
2010 being recognized for federal tax purposes in 2014 
and after. 
 

§ 2 – FY 09 DEFICIENCY APPROPRIATIONS 
 
The act appropriates a total of $110,788,661 from 

the General Fund to cover deficiencies in various 
agencies and programs for FY 09 as shown in Table 1.  
It carries the appropriations forward and makes them 
available for the same purposes in FY 10. 

 
Table 1:  FY 09 Deficiency Appropriations 

 
Agency For Amount 

Social Services Medicaid $70,000,000 
Education Magnet schools 2,600,000 
UConn Health Center Operating expenses 22,200,000 
Correction Personal services 14,300,000 
Workers’ Compensation 
Claims - Administrative 
Services 

Workers’ compensation 
claims 

1,500,000 

Teachers’ Retirement 
Board 

Retirees’ health service 
cost 

188,661 

 
§ 1 - REDUCED FY 09 GENERAL FUND 
APPROPRIATIONS 

 
The act reduces FY 09 General Fund appropriations 

for specified agencies and purposes by $81,390,571 as 
shown in Table 2. 

 
Table 2:  Reduced FY 09 Appropriations 

 
Agency For Reduction 

Personal services $192,000 Governor’s Office Other expenses 100,000 
Secretary of the State Other expenses 300,000 

Personal services 650,000 State Treasurer Debt service 10,134,533 
Personal services 200,000 Revenue Services Other expenses 100,000 
Personal services 850,000 Special Revenue Other expenses 190,000 

Insurance & Risk  
Management Board 

Other expenses 2,500,000 

Other expenses 719,000 
Justice assistance grants 300,000 
Energy audit subsidy 1,000,000 
Tax relief for elderly 
renters 

155,000 

Private providers 1,325,000 
Regional performance 
incentive program 

100,000 

Heating assistance – age 
65 

200,000 

Distressed municipalities 980,000 
Property tax relief – elderly 
freeze program 

290,000 

Policy & Management 

PILOT – New 
manufacturing machinery 
and equipment 

45,730,000 
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Agency For Reduction 
Veterans’ Affairs Personal services 200,000 
Administrative Services Personal services 100,000 
Public Works Personal services 160,000 
Attorney General Personal services 300,000 
Criminal Justice Personal services 100,000 
Public Safety Gun Law Enforcement 

Task Force 
250,000 

Military Veterans’ service bonuses 100,000 
Workforce Investment Act 660,000 

Labor Unemployment benefits for 
military spouses 

175,000 

Commission on Human 
Rights & Opportunities 

Personal services 300,000 

Commission on Culture  
& Tourism 

Personal services 100,000 

Personal services 100,000 
Congregate facilities’ 
operation costs 

150,000 Economic & Community 
Development Housing assistance and 

counseling program 
100,000 

Public Health Nursing student loan 
forgiveness program 

118,750 

Public Defender 
Services Commission 

Special public defenders – 
non-contractual 

425,000 

Higher education 
alternative retirement 
system 

3,000,000 State Comptroller – 
Fringe Benefits 

Retired state employees 
health service cost 

9,036,288 

 
§ 3 – ENERGY ASSISTANCE CARRY FORWARD 

 
The act requires the unspent balance of $8.5 million 

appropriated in a 2008 act from the FY 08 General Fund 
surplus to be carried forward and available in FY 10 for 
an emergency energy assistance program established in 
the 2008 act (PA 08-1, August Special Session).   

The 2008 act appropriated the funds to the Office of 
Policy and Management to expand Operation Fuel, 
Incorporated to provide emergency home heating 
assistance between November 1, 2008 and April 30, 
2009 to Connecticut households with incomes between 
150% and 200% of the applicable federal poverty level. 
The program helps households that cannot make timely 
payments on deliverable fuel, electricity, or natural gas 
bills. Under the program, Operation Fuel, Incorporated 
pays the assistance directly to the fuel vendor, electric 
or gas company, or municipal electric or gas utility.  

Operation Fuel, Incorporated is a nonprofit 
organization that serves people who are not eligible for 
publicly funded energy assistance. 
 
 
 
 

§ 6 – WORKFORCE INVESTMENT ACT 
PROGRAMS 

 
The act appropriates $30,303,942 from the General 

Fund for FY 09 to the Labor Department for Workforce 
Investment Act-ARRA to implement employment and 
training initiatives. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Qualifying Re-acquisitions  

 
To be eligible for the CODI deferral under the 

ARRA, a business taxpayer itself or a related party must 
realize the CODI on a qualifying re-acquisition of a debt 
instrument originally issued by the taxpayer.  The 
following are the qualifying re-acquisitions by a 
taxpayer: 

1. acquiring the debt instrument for cash; 
2. exchanging a new debt instrument for the 

original one, including a “deemed” exchange 
resulting from a significant modification of the 
original instrument; 

3. exchanging the taxpayer’s equity, including 
stock or partnership interests, for the 
instrument; 

4. acquiring the taxpayer’s own debt as a capital 
contribution from an equity holder; and 

5. complete forgiveness of the debt. 
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PA 09-1, September 2009 Special Session-HB 7001 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE 
RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE PROBATE 
REDISTRICTING COMMISSION 

SUMMARY: This act replaces the existing 117 probate 
districts with 54 probate districts. It requires the probate 
court administrator, by March 31, 2010, to designate a 
name for each of the probate districts the act establishes. 
The act authorizes the probate court administrator, 
before designating the names, to consult with affected 
probate judges and chief elected officials and members 
of the General Assembly concerning the districts they 
represent. By December 31, 2010, the probate court 
administrator must publish the district names in the 
Probate Court’s Directory of Judges and Districts. 
Starting on the date the names are published, the probate 
districts must be referred to by these names. 

Prior law allowed anyone aggrieved by a probate 
court order, denial, or decree to appeal to the Superior 
Court in the judicial district in which the probate court 
was located. Under the act, if the probate court is 
located in a probate district that is in more than one 
judicial district, the aggrieved person may appeal in a 
Superior Court that is located in a judicial district in 
which any portion of the probate district is located. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 5, 2011 except for the 
provision requiring the probate court administrator to 
name the probate districts, which is effective upon 
passage. 

NEW PROBATE COURT DISTRICTS 

Table 1 shows the probate district for each town 
under prior law and under the act. The table is arranged 
alphabetically by town. 

 
 

Table 1: Probate Court Districts under Prior Law and the Act 

Probate Court Districts 

Prior Law Under the Act Town 

District Towns Included in the 
District 

Towns Included in the District 

Andover Andover Andover, Bolton, and 
Columbia 

Andover, Bolton, Columbia, and Manchester 

Ansonia Derby Ansonia, Derby, and 
Seymour 

Ansonia, Derby, Seymour, and Woodbridge 

Ashford Ashford Ashford Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union, 
and Woodstock 

Avon Avon Avon Avon, Canton, Granby, and Simsbury 
Barkhamsted New Hartford Barkhamsted, Hartland, 

and New Hartford 
Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, 
Torrington, and Winchester 

Beacon Falls Naugatuck Beacon Falls and 
Naugatuck 

Beacon Falls, Middlebury, Naugatuck, and Prospect 

Berlin Berlin Berlin and New Britain Berlin and New Britain 
Bethany Bethany Bethany Bethany and Hamden 
Bethel Bethel Bethel Bethel, Newtown, Redding, and Ridgefield 
Bethlehem Woodbury Bethlehem, Watertown, 

and Woodbury 
Bethlehem, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, 
Watertown, and Woodbury 

Bloomfield Bloomfield Bloomfield Bloomfield, East Granby, Suffield, and Windsor Locks 
Bolton Andover Andover, Bolton, and 

Columbia 
Andover, Bolton, Columbia, and Manchester 

Bozrah Bozrah Bozrah Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, 
and Voluntown 

Branford Branford Branford Branford and North Branford 
Bridgeport Bridgeport Bridgeport Bridgeport 
Bridgewater New Milford Bridgewater and New 

Milford 
Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford, and 
Sherman 

Bristol Bristol Bristol Bristol, Plainville, and Plymouth 
Brookfield Brookfield Brookfield Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford, and 

Sherman 
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Probate Court Districts 

Prior Law Under the Act Town 

District Towns Included in the 
District 

Towns Included in the District 

Brooklyn Brooklyn Brooklyn Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union, 
and Woodstock 

Burlington Burlington Burlington Burlington and Farmington 
Canaan Northwest Corner Canaan, Cornwall, Norfolk, 

North Canaan, Salisbury, 
and Sharon 

Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Canterbury Plainfield Canterbury, Plainfield, and 
Sterling 

Canterbury, Killingly, Plainfield, and Sterling 

Canton Canton Canton Avon, Canton, Granby, and Simsbury 
Chaplin Eastford Chaplin and Eastford  Chaplin, Colchester, Hampton, Lebanon, Scotland, and Windham 
Cheshire Cheshire Cheshire and Prospect Cheshire and Southington 
Chester Saybrook Chester Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 

Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 
Clinton Clinton Clinton Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 

Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 
Colchester Colchester Colchester and Lebanon Chaplin, Colchester, Hampton, Lebanon, Scotland, and Windham 
Colebrook Winchester Colebrook and Winchester Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, 

Torrington, and Winchester 
Columbia Andover Andover, Bolton, and 

Columbia 
Andover, Bolton, Columbia, and Manchester 

Cornwall Northwest Corner Canaan, Cornwall, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, 
and Sharon 

Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Coventry Mansfield Coventry and Mansfield Coventry, Mansfield, Tolland, and Willington 
Cromwell Middletown Cromwell, Durham, 

Middlefield, and 
Middletown 

Cromwell, Durham, Middlefield, and Middletown  

Danbury Danbury Danbury Danbury 
Darien Darien Darien Darien and New Canaan 
Deep River Deep River Deep River Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 

Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 
Derby Derby Ansonia, Derby, and 

Seymour 
Ansonia, Derby, Seymour, and Woodbridge 

Durham Middletown Cromwell, Durham, 
Middlefield, and 
Middletown 

Cromwell, Durham, Middlefield, and Middletown 

East Granby Suffield-East Granby East Granby and Suffield Bloomfield, East Granby, Suffield, and Windsor Locks 
East Haddam East Haddam East Haddam East Haddam, East Hampton, Marlborough, and Portland 
East Hampton East Hampton  East Hampton East Haddam, East Hampton, Marlborough, and Portland 
East Hartford East Hartford East Hartford East Hartford 
East Haven East Haven East Haven East Haven and North Haven 
East Lyme East Lyme East Lyme East Lyme, Montville, Old Lyme, and Salem 
East Windsor East Windsor East Windsor and South 

Windsor 
East Windsor, South Windsor, and Windsor 

Eastford Eastford Chaplin and Eastford Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union, 
and Woodstock 

Easton Trumbull Easton, Monroe, and 
Trumbull 

Easton, Monroe, and Trumbull 

Ellington Ellington Ellington and Vernon Ellington and Vernon 
Enfield Enfield Enfield Enfield, Somers, and Stafford 
Essex Essex Essex Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 

Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 
Fairfield Fairfield Fairfield Fairfield 
Farmington Farmington Farmington Burlington and Farmington 
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Probate Court Districts 

Prior Law Under the Act Town 

District Towns Included in the 
District 

Towns Included in the District 

Franklin Norwich Franklin, Lisbon, Norwich, 
Preston, Sprague, and 
Voluntown 

Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, 
and Voluntown 

Glastonbury Glastonbury Glastonbury Glastonbury and Hebron 
Goshen Torrington Goshen and Torrington Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, 

Torrington, and Winchester 
Granby Granby Granby Avon, Canton, Granby, and Simsbury 
Greenwich Greenwich Greenwich Greenwich 
Griswold Griswold Griswold Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, 

and Voluntown 
Groton Groton Groton Groton, Ledyard, North Stonington, and Stonington 
Guilford Guilford Guilford Guilford and Madison 
Haddam Haddam  Haddam Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 

Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 
Hamden Hamden Hamden Bethany and Hamden 
Hampton Hampton Hampton Chaplin, Colchester, Hampton, Lebanon, Scotland, and Windham 
Hartford Hartford Hartford Hartford 
Hartland New Hartford Barkhamsted, Hartland, 

and New Hartford 
Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, 
Torrington, and Winchester 

Harwinton Harwinton Harwinton Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Hebron Hebron Hebron Glastonbury and Hebron 
Kent Litchfield Kent, Litchfield, Morris, 

and Warren 
Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Killingly Killingly Killingly Canterbury, Killingly, Plainfield, and Sterling 
Killingworth Killingworth Killingworth Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 

Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 
Lebanon Colchester Colchester and Lebanon Chaplin, Colchester, Hampton, Lebanon, Scotland, and Windham 
Ledyard Ledyard Ledyard Groton, Ledyard, North Stonington, and Stonington 
Lisbon Norwich Franklin, Lisbon, Norwich, 

Preston, Sprague, and 
Voluntown 

Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, 
and Voluntown 

Litchfield Litchfield Kent, Litchfield, Morris, 
and Warren 

Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Lyme Lyme Lyme Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 
Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 

Madison Madison Madison Guilford and Madison 
Manchester Manchester Manchester Andover, Bolton, Columbia, and Manchester 
Mansfield Mansfield Coventry and Mansfield Coventry, Mansfield, Tolland, and Willington 
Marlborough Marlborough Marlborough East Haddam, East Hampton, Marlborough, and Portland 
Meriden Meriden Meriden Meriden 
Middlebury Waterbury Middlebury, Waterbury, 

and Wolcott 
Beacon Falls, Middlebury, Naugatuck, and Prospect 

Middlefield Middletown Cromwell, Durham, 
Middlefield, and 
Middletown, 

Cromwell, Durham, Middlefield, and Middletown 

Middletown Middletown Cromwell, Durham, 
Middlefield, and 
Middletown 

Cromwell, Durham, Middlefield, and Middletown 

Milford Milford Milford Milford and Orange 
Monroe Trumbull Easton, Monroe, and 

Trumbull 
Easton, Monroe, and Trumbull 

Montville Montville Montville East Lyme, Montville, Old Lyme, and Salem 
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Probate Court Districts 

Prior Law Under the Act Town 

District Towns Included in the 
District 

Towns Included in the District 

Morris Litchfield Kent, Litchfield, Morris, 
and Warren 

Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Naugatuck Naugatuck Beacon Falls and 
Naugatuck 

Beacon Falls, Middlebury, Naugatuck, and Prospect 

New Britain Berlin Berlin and New Britain Berlin and New Britain 
New Canaan New Canaan New Canaan Darien and New Canaan 
New Fairfield New Fairfield New Fairfield and 

Sherman 
Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford, and 
Sherman 

New Hartford New Hartford Barkhamsted, Hartland, 
and New Hartford 

Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, 
Torrington, and Winchester 

New Haven New Haven New Haven New Haven 
New London New London New London and 

Waterford 
New London and Waterford 

New Milford New Milford Bridgewater and New 
Milford 

Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford, and 
Sherman 

Newington Newington Newington, Rocky Hill, and 
Wethersfield 

Newington, Rocky Hill, and Wethersfield 

Newtown Newtown Newtown Bethel, Newtown, Redding, and Ridgefield 
Norfolk Northwest Corner Canaan, Cornwall, Norfolk, 

North Canaan, Salisbury, 
and Sharon 

Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

North Branford North Branford North Branford Branford and North Branford 
North Canaan Northwest Corner Canaan, Cornwall, Norfolk, 

North Canaan, Salisbury, 
and Sharon 

Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

North Haven North Haven North Haven East Haven and North Haven 
North Stonington North Stonington North Stonington Groton, Ledyard, North Stonington, and Stonington 
Norwalk Norwalk Norwalk and Wilton Norwalk and Wilton 
Norwich Norwich Franklin, Lisbon, Norwich, 

Preston, Sprague, and 
Voluntown 

Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, 
and Voluntown 

Old Lyme Old Lyme Old Lyme East Lyme, Montville, Old Lyme, and Salem 
Old Saybrook Old Saybrook Old Saybrook Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 

Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 
Orange Orange Orange Milford and Orange 
Oxford Oxford Oxford Bethlehem, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, 

Watertown, and Woodbury 
Plainfield Plainfield Canterbury, Plainfield, and 

Sterling 
Canterbury, Killingly, Plainfield, and Sterling 

Plainville Plainville Plainville Bristol, Plainville, and Plymouth 
Plymouth Plymouth Plymouth Bristol, Plainville, and Plymouth 
Pomfret Pomfret Pomfret Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union, 

and Woodstock 
Portland Portland Portland East Haddam, East Hampton, Marlborough, and Portland 
Preston Norwich Franklin, Lisbon, Norwich, 

Preston, Sprague, and 
Voluntown 

Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, 
and Voluntown 

Prospect Cheshire Cheshire and Prospect Beacon Falls, Middlebury, Naugatuck, and Prospect 
Putnam Putnam Putnam Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union, 

and Woodstock 
Redding Redding Redding Bethel, Newtown, Redding, and Ridgefield 
Ridgefield Ridgefield Ridgefield Bethel, Newtown, Redding, and Ridgefield 
Rocky Hill Newington Newington, Rocky Hill, and 

Wethersfield 
Newington, Rocky Hill, and Wethersfield 
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Probate Court Districts 

Prior Law Under the Act Town 

District Towns Included in the 
District 

Towns Included in the District 

Roxbury Roxbury Roxbury Bethlehem, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, 
Watertown, and Woodbury 

Salem Salem Salem East Lyme, Montville, Old Lyme, and Salem 
Salisbury Northwest Corner Canaan, Cornwall, Norfolk, 

North Canaan, Salisbury, 
and Sharon 

Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Scotland Windham Scotland and Windham Chaplin, Colchester, Hampton, Lebanon, Scotland, and Windham 
Seymour Derby Ansonia, Derby, and 

Seymour 
Ansonia, Derby, Seymour, and Woodbridge 

Sharon Northwest Corner Canaan, Cornwall, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, 
and Sharon 

Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Shelton Shelton Shelton Shelton 
Sherman New Fairfield New Fairfield and 

Sherman 
Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford, and 
Sherman 

Simsbury Simsbury Simsbury Avon, Canton, Granby, and Simsbury 
Somers Stafford Somers, Stafford, and 

Union 
Enfield, Somers, and Stafford 

South Windsor East Windsor East Windsor and South 
Windsor 

East Windsor, South Windsor, and Windsor 

Southbury Southbury Southbury Bethlehem, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, 
Watertown, and Woodbury 

Southington Southington Southington Cheshire and Southington 
Sprague Norwich Franklin, Lisbon, Norwich, 

Preston, Sprague, and 
Voluntown 

Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, 
and Voluntown 

Stafford Stafford Somers, Stafford, and 
Union 

Enfield, Somers, and Stafford 

Stamford Stamford Stamford Stamford 
Sterling Plainfield Canterbury, Plainfield, and 

Sterling 
Canterbury, Killingly, Plainfield, and Sterling 

Stonington Stonington Stonington Groton, Ledyard, North Stonington, and Stonington 
Stratford Stratford Stratford Stratford 
Suffield Suffield-East Granby East Granby and Suffield Bloomfield, East Granby, Suffield, and Windsor Locks 
Thomaston Thomaston Thomaston Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 

North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 
Thompson Thompson Thompson Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union, 

and Woodstock 
Tolland Tolland Tolland and Willington Coventry, Mansfield, Tolland, and Willington 
Torrington Torrington Goshen and Torrington Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, 

Torrington, and Winchester 
Trumbull Trumbull Easton, Monroe, and 

Trumbull 
Easton, Monroe, and Trumbull 

Union Stafford Somers, Stafford, and 
Union 

Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union, 
and Woodstock 

Vernon Ellington Ellington and Vernon Ellington and Vernon 
Voluntown Norwich Franklin, Lisbon, Norwich, 

Preston, Sprague, and 
Voluntown 

Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague, 
and Voluntown 

Wallingford Wallingford  Wallingford Wallingford 
Warren Litchfield Kent, Litchfield, Morris, 

and Warren 
Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, 
North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, and Warren 

Washington Washington Washington Bethlehem, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, 
Watertown, and Woodbury 
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Probate Court Districts 

Prior Law Under the Act Town 

District Towns Included in the 
District 

Towns Included in the District 

Waterbury Waterbury Middlebury, Waterbury, 
and Wolcott 

Waterbury and Wolcott 

Waterford New London New London and 
Waterford 

New London and Waterford 

Watertown Woodbury Bethlehem, Watertown, 
and Woodbury 

Bethlehem, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, 
Watertown, and Woodbury 

West Hartford West Hartford West Hartford West Hartford 
West Haven West Haven West Haven West Haven 
Westbrook Westbrook Westbrook Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, 

Lyme, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook 
Weston Westport Weston and Westport Weston and Westport 
Westport Westport Weston and Westport Weston and Westport 
Wethersfield Newington Newington, Rocky Hill, and 

Wethersfield 
Newington, Rocky Hill, and Wethersfield 

Willington Tolland Tolland and Willington Coventry, Mansfield, Tolland, and Willington 
Wilton Norwalk Norwalk and Wilton Norwalk and Wilton 
Winchester Winchester Colebrook and Winchester Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, 

Torrington, and Winchester 
Windham Windham Scotland and Windham Chaplin, Colchester, Hampton, Lebanon, Scotland, and Windham 
Windsor Windsor Windsor East Windsor, South Windsor, and Windsor 
Windsor Locks Windsor Locks Windsor Locks Bloomfield, East Granby, Suffield, and Windsor Locks 
Wolcott Waterbury Middlebury, Waterbury, 

and Wolcott 
Waterbury and Wolcott 

Woodbridge Woodbridge Woodbridge Ansonia, Derby, Seymour, and Woodbridge 
Woodbury Woodbury Bethlehem, Watertown, 

and Woodbury 
Bethlehem, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, 
Watertown, and Woodbury 

Woodstock Woodstock Woodstock Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union, 
and Woodstock 

 
 

Under prior law, 86 of 117 probate districts or 
around 74%, were single town districts. Under the act, 
14 of the 54 districts or around 26%, are single town 
districts. The single town districts under the act are 
Bridgeport, Danbury, East Hartford, Fairfield, 
Greenwich, Hartford, Meriden, New Haven, Shelton, 
Stamford, Stratford, Wallingford, West Hartford, and 
West Haven.  

In addition to the 14 towns that remained as single 
town districts, the following districts (comprising 20 
towns) did not change: 

1. Berlin and New Britain; 
2. Cromwell, Durham, Middlefield, and 

Middletown; 
3. Easton, Monroe, and Trumbull; 
4. Ellington and Vernon; 
5. New London and Waterford; 
6. Newington, Rocky Hill, and Wethersfield; 
7. Norwalk and Wilton; and 
8. Weston and Westport. 

BACKGROUND 

Probate Redistricting Commission 

PA 09-114 established a probate redistricting 
commission to develop a plan to consolidate probate 
court districts according to the act's requirements. The 
act required the plan to be presented to the General 
Assembly for implementing legislation and approval by 
the governor under procedures and deadlines the act 
established. As required by the act, the commission filed 
its plan on September 15, 2009.  
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PA 09-2, September 2009 Special Session-HB 7004 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT AUTHORIZING AND ADJUSTING 
BONDS OF THE STATE FOR CAPITAL 
IMPROVEMENTS, TRANSPORTATION AND 
OTHER PURPOSES 

SUMMARY: This act authorizes state general 
obligation (GO), special tax obligation (STO), and 
revenue bonds for FY 10 and FY 11.  

It authorizes up to $713.9 million in GO bonds for 
FY 10 and $820.7 million for FY 11. The GO 
authorizations provide funding for (1) state capital 
projects and (2) grants for local and regional capital 
projects, including local school construction projects, 
economic and community development projects, the 
Local Capital Improvement Program (LOCIP), and 
farmland preservation.  

The act authorizes up to $579.2 million in STO 
bonds for FY 10 and $265.4 million for FY 11 for 
transportation-related projects, including the “Fix-It-
First” state road and bridge repair programs, 
Department of Transportation (DOT) capital 
improvement and highway resurfacing projects, a new 
rail maintenance facility, and Town Aid Road (TAR) 
grants for local road and bridge projects. 

The act authorizes up to $80 million per year in 
revenue bonds for FY 10 and FY 11 for loans to 
municipalities for clean water projects. 

In addition, the act: 
1. establishes a nonprofit collaboration incentive 

grant program to cover infrastructure costs 
arising when two or more nonprofit 
organizations consolidate programs and 
services; 

2. overrides local charters and special acts to 
allow municipalities to sell certain types of 
bonds by negotiation rather than by public bid 
and validates any such sales that occurred 
before the act’s effective date (September 25, 
2009); 

3. extends, from 15 to 20 years, the maximum 
allowable term for municipal borrowing to pay 
court judgments, settlements, or compromised 
claims; 

4. requires two legislative committees to review 
DOT’s state rail plan prior to its submission to 
the federal government; 

5. requires DOT to give freight railroad 
companies first refusal before the 
commissioner sells or otherwise disposes of 
any rail or track material; 

6. requires DOT to report to the legislature every 
three years on hazardous at-grade rail 
crossings; and 

7. expands an existing grant program for 
improving and modernizing freight rail lines in 
the state. 

The act also: 
1. authorizes up to $4 million in GO bonds for 

start-up costs for interdistrict magnet schools 
needed to meet the requirements of the 2008 
settlement in the Sheff v. O’Neill school 
desegregation case; 

2. exempts the Rushford Center from certain 
grant repayment obligations;  

3. extends, from 20 to 30 years, the maximum 
term of a Clean Water Fund loan to Ansonia 
for sewer plant improvements; and 

4. alters previously enacted bond authorizations 
to change such things as how authorized funds 
may be used and designated grant recipients. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: FY 10 bond authorizations and all 
other provisions except the following are effective on 
passage. 

1. The STO bond authorization for FY 11 capital 
road resurfacing projects is effective May 1, 
2010. 

2. All other bond authorizations for FY 11 are 
effective July 1, 2010. 

3. The following provisions are effective October 
1, 2009:  
a. required legislative review of the state rail 

plan,  
 

b. freight railroad companies’ right of first 
refusal on surplus state rail or track 
material,  

c. the requirement for DOT to study and 
report to the legislature periodically on 
hazardous at-grade rail crossings, and  

d. changes in grants for commercial freight 
rail lines. 

GO BOND AUTHORIZATIONS 

Authorizations for Grant and Loan Programs 

The act authorizes bonds for grants and loans for 
FY 10 and FY 11 in the maximum amounts and for the 
purposes shown in Table 1. It also authorizes up to $80 
million in revenue bonds for Clean Water Fund projects 
in each of the two years. 
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Table 1: Bond Authorizations for Grant and Loan Programs 

§ Agency Purpose FY 10 FY 11 
1 Office of 

Policy & 
Management 
(OPM) 

Small Town Economic 
Assistance Program 
(STEAP) economic and 
community development 
project grants  

$20,000,000 $20,000,000 

2 OPM Local Capital 
Improvement Program 
(LOCIP) 

30,000,000 30,000,000 

3 Education 
(SDE) 

School construction 
projects 

488,350,000 630,400,000 

4 SDE School construction 
interest subsidy grants 

9,000,000 11,200,000 

5 Environmental 
Protection 
(DEP) 
 

Clean Water Fund grants 65,000,000 40,000,000 

6 DEP Clean Water Fund loans 
(revenue bonds) 

80,000,000 80,000,000 

34 (a) DEP Grants: 
• To contain, remove, 

or mitigate identified 
hazardous waste 
disposal sites and to 
municipalities for 
new water mains to 
replace supply from 
contaminated wells 

• To identify, 
investigate, contain, 
remove, or mitigate 
industrial sites in 
urban areas 

• To municipalities to 
acquire land for 
public parks; 
recreational and water 
quality 
improvements; and 
water mains and 
water pollution 
control projects, 
including sewers 

• To municipalities for 
providing potable 
water 

16,000,000 0 

34 (b) (1) Economic and 
Community 
Development 
(DECD) 

Brownfield Pilot Program 5,000,000 0 

34 (b) (2) DECD Loans for installing new 
vehicle pumps or 

2,000,000 0 
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§ Agency Purpose FY 10 FY 11 
converting gas or diesel 
pumps to alternative fuels 

34 (c) 
 

Social Services Grants for neighborhood 
facilities, child daycare 
projects, elderly centers, 
multipurpose human 
resource centers, shelter 
for domestic violence 
victims, and food 
distribution facilities 

5,000,000 0 

34 (d) Public Health • Grants for hospital-
based emergency 
service facilities 

• Grants to community 
health centers and 
primary care 
organizations for 
equipment purchases 
and facility 
improvement and 
expansion, including 
land or building 
acquisition 

7,000,000 0 

34 (e) Education Grants to SDE-accredited 
alternative education 
providers for students 
aged 14-21 to acquire 
property, and for facility 
design, planning, 
construction, or 
renovation 

2,000,000 0 

34 (f), 49 (b) Transportation Town Aid Road (TAR) 
grants 

Not specified [1] Not specified [1] 

34 (g) Children and 
Families 
(DCF) 

Grants to private, 
nonprofit organizations 
for construction or 
renovation for recreation 
or education purposes 

20,000,000 0 

49 (a) Agriculture 
(DOAG) 

Farm Reinvestment 
Program 

0 500,000 

69 DOAG Farmland Preservation 2,500,000 10,000,000 
[1] PA 09-7, September Special Session (§§ 130-131) specifies that the GO bond authorizations for TAR grants are up to 
$8 million in each year. These GO bond authorizations are in addition to STO bond authorizations of up to $22 million in 
each of the two years for TAR grants (see § 24 below). 
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Authorizations for State Capital Projects 

The act authorizes state GO bonds for FY 10 and FY 11 for state capital projects. The maximum authorized amounts 
and purposes are listed in Table 2. 

Table 2: Authorizations for State Capital Projects 

§ Agency For FY 10 FY 11 
27 (a), 
42 (b) 

Public Works Remove or encapsulate asbestos in state-owned buildings $2,500,000 $2,500,000 

27 (b) Motor Vehicles Upgrade motor vehicle information technology systems 3,000,000 0 
27 (c), 
42 (c) 
 

Military  Matching funds for federally reimbursable projects 1,000,000 1,000,000 

22 (b), 
42 (d) 

Developmental 
Services 

Regional facilities – fire, safety, and environmental 
improvements for client and staff needs 

0 2,500,000 

All facilities - alterations and improvements 0 2,000,000 
New and replacement instructional, lab, or research 
equipment 

0 3,000,000 Community College 
System  

System technology initiative 0 5,000,000 

Asnuntuck  Existing buildings - alterations, improvements, and 
renovations 

0 11,442,755 

Capital Property acquisition 0 4,595,756 
Code improvements – Lowe Building 2,229,911 0 Manchester  Campus improvements 0 3,413,468 

Middlesex Founders Hall – alterations, improvements, and 
renovations 

156,038 1,402,422 

Northwestern Site remediation, design and construction for Joyner 
Building replacement 

0 1,633,611 

Parking and site improvements 0 6,563,444 
Naugatuck Valley Founders Hall – alterations, improvements, and 

renovations 
0 4,470,446 

Quinebaug Valley East wing code improvements 980,367 0 

27(d), 
42 (e) 
  

Three Rivers Building renovations and additional facilities for 
consolidated campus in accordance with master plan 

0 11,606,676 

27 (e) Charter Oak State 
College 

New facility - planning, design, and construction 2,500,000 0 

27 (f) 
(1) 

DCF Connecticut Juvenile Training School – alterations, 
renovations, and improvements relating to “raise the age” 
requirements 

8,000,000 0 

27 (f) 
(2) DCF Construct a secure facility for delinquent girls aged 14-17  4,700,000 0 

42 (a) 
(1) 

OPM Criminal Justice Information System design and 
implementation 

0 8,000,000 

42 (a) 
(2) 

OPM CORE financial system associated with results-based 
accountability – database development and implementation 

0 1,500,000 
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STO BOND AUTHORIZATIONS  

§§ 7-18 - DOT Projects 

The act authorizes STO bonds for DOT transportation-related capital projects as shown in Table 3.  

Table 3: STO Bond Authorizations for DOT Projects 

 FY 10 FY 11 
Bureau of Engineering and Highway Operations 
Interstate highway program $13,000,000 $13,000,000 
Urban systems projects 8,500,000 8,500,000 
Intrastate highway program 42,500,000 44,000,000 
Soil, water supply, and groundwater remediation at or near DOT maintenance facilities and 
former disposal areas 

6,000,000 6,000,000 

State bridge improvement, rehabilitation, and replacement 32,300,000 33,000,000 
Fix-It-First road repair program 30,000,000 0 
Fix-It-First bridge repair program 45,000,000 0 
Local road and bridge projects for which funds were appropriated but for which the 
governor reduced allotments during FY 09  

30,000,000 0 

Projects of local and regional significance 30,000,000 0 
Bureau of Aviation and Ports 
Reconstruction and improvements to the warehouse and State Pier in New London, 
including site and ferry slip improvements  

200,000 300,000 

Developing and improving general aviation airports, including grants to municipal airports 
other than Bradley International Airport 

2,000,000 2,000,000 

Bureau of Public Transportation 
Bus and rail facilities and equipment, including rights-of-way, other property acquisition, 
and related projects 

40,000,000 40,000,000 

Construct rail maintenance facilities 250,000,000 0 
Bureau of Administration 
DOT facilities 6,400,000 6,400,000 
STO bonds, cost of issuance and debt service reserve 21,300,000 21,300,000 
 
 
 

§§ 19-23 - Capital Road Resurfacing Projects 

The act authorizes up to $68.9 million in STO 
bonds for use by the DOT’s Bureau of Engineering and 
Highway Operations for capital resurfacing and related 
road reconstruction projects in FY 11. 

§ 24 - Town Aid Road (TAR) 

The act authorizes up to $22 million in STO bonds 
annually for FY 10 and FY 11 to fund TAR grants to 
municipalities. The law requires the state to allocate 
specified annual amounts from DOT appropriations to 
provide grants to towns for highway and bridge 
improvements and for emergency aid to repair damage 
to roads, bridges, and dams caused by natural disasters. 
The authorizations in this act replace these allocations 
from DOT’s annual budget. 

 

The act also authorizes GO bonds for TAR grants 
(see Table 1) but does not specify the amount. (PA 09-7, 
September Special Session, specifies that the GO 
authorizations for TAR are up to $8 million per year for 
FY 10 and FY 11.)  

§ 25 - NONPROFIT COLLABORATION INCENTIVE 
GRANT PROGRAM 

The act establishes a nonprofit collaboration 
incentive grant program and authorizes up to $5 million 
in GO bonding to fund it. The OPM secretary must use 
the bond proceeds for grants to nonprofit organizations 
to pay infrastructure costs arising when two or more 
organizations collaborate to consolidate programs and 
services. Organizations can use the grants to: 

1. buy and improve facilities; 
2. refinance facility loans; 
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3. buy equipment; 
4. fund energy conservation, transportation, and 

technology projects; 
5. pay planning and administrative costs related 

to the above activities; and 
6. engage in other activities authorized under the 

program guidelines. 
By February 1, 2010, the act requires the secretary 

to consult with the Human Services Committee 
chairpersons and representatives of nonprofit 
organizations receiving state funding to develop 
guidelines for (1) administering the grant program, (2) 
grant eligibility criteria, (3) spending grant funds, and 
(4) prioritizing grant awards. 

Starting by March 1, 2010, the secretary must 
publish an annual notice that the grant is available and 
solicit proposals. Eligible organizations must submit 
funding applications when and how the secretary 
prescribes. The secretary must use the program 
guidelines to review applications and determine the 
projects and amounts to be funded. 

§ 56 - RUSHFORD CENTER GRANT REPAYMENT 

The act relieves the Rushford Center, Inc., and its 
successor agency, of the obligation to repay grants 
received under contracts with the Department of Mental 
Health and Addiction Services dated September 17, 
2001, April 22, 2002, May 27, 2003, and June 20, 2005 
and funded with state bond proceeds authorized by the 
General Assembly. To do so, the act overrides 
provisions of the prior bond legislation. These 
provisions require that, as a condition of bond 
authorizations for grants to entities that are not state 
political subdivisions, each granting agency include 
repayment provisions in its grant contract in case the 
facility for which the grant is made ceases to be used for 
the grant purposes within 10 years after the grant. The 
required repayment is reduced by 10% for each full year 
that the facility is used for the grant purpose. 

§ 57 - CLEAN WATER FUND LOAN TO ANSONIA 

By law, loans funded by Clean Water Fund revenue 
bonds must mature within 20 years after projects are 
completed. The act extends the maturity date of such a 
loan to Ansonia to up to 30 years. The loan was issued 
to Ansonia to finance improvements to its sewage 
treatment plant. The act requires the DEP commissioner 
and the city to amend their project funding agreement to 
conform to the act’s new maturity date.  

 
 
 
 

§ 58 - GRANTS TO HOMEOWNERS IN NEW 
HAVEN AND WOODBRIDGE 

PA 07-7, June Special Session, authorized $2 
million to DEP for grants to homeowners in New Haven 
and Woodbridge to compensate them for structural 
damage to homes near the West River because of 
subsidence. This act specifies that the New Haven 
homes eligible for the grants are in the Westville, rather 
than the Beverly Hills, section of the city. 

§ 59 - UNITED SERVICES OF DAYVILLE 

The act changes the designated recipient of a grant 
for altering and expanding facilities for United Services 
of Dayville from the town of Killingly to United 
Services of Dayville. The grant is funded by a $750,000 
bond authorization to the Department of Social 
Services. 

§§ 60 & 61 - COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM 

The act expands the purposes of two existing 
authorizations for the community-technical colleges to 
include property acquisition. The authorizations are: 

1. up to $4 million for alterations, renovations, 
and improvements to facilities at all colleges, 
and 

2. up to $15,118,861 for alterations and 
improvements to buildings and grounds at 
Tunxis Community College. 

§ 62 - GRANT TO THE CHILDREN’S MUSEUM OF 
WEST HARTFORD 

The act designates the Children’s Museum of West 
Hartford, instead of the town of West Hartford for the 
Science Center of Connecticut, as the recipient of a 
$500,000 grant from a bond authorization to DECD. It 
also expands the purposes for which the grant may be 
used from site acquisition and improvements only to 
planning and development, including site acquisition, 
construction, renovation, capital equipment, 
improvements, and relocation. (PA 09-6, September 
Special Session, (§ 34) repeals these changes and 
restores the original authorization’s grant designee and 
requirements.) 

§ 63 - SHEFF MAGNET SCHOOL START-UP 
GRANTS 

The act authorizes up to $4 million in GO bonds to 
SDE for capital start-up cost grants for new interdistrict 
magnet schools needed to help the state meet the goals 
of the 2008 Sheff v. O’Neill school desegregation 
settlement. It expands allowable uses for the grants to 
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include purchasing buildings. Grants may already be 
used for portable classrooms; leased space; and 
equipment purchases, including computers and 
classroom furniture, for such schools.  

The act subjects any building purchased with the 
grants to an existing law requiring that, if a building 
ceases to be used as an interdistrict magnet school, the 
education commissioner determines whether its title 
reverts to the state. 

§ 64 - CONNECTICUT BIKEWAY GRANT 
PROGRAM 

A 2007 law authorized up to $6 million per year in 
GO bonds for FY 08 and FY 09 to DEP to establish a 
Connecticut bikeway grants program for municipalities. 
This act expands the program’s purposes to include 
establishing pedestrian walkways and greenways as well 
as bikeways and multiuse paths.  

Under prior law, grants could be used for planning, 
design, land acquisition, construction, construction 
administration, and publications for bikeways and 
multiuse paths. The act expands these uses to also apply 
to pedestrian walkways and greenways. 

§ 65 - LEGISLATIVE REVIEW OF STATE RAIL 
PLAN 

The act requires the Transportation and Finance, 
Revenue and Bonding committees to review the state 
rail plan before DOT submits it to the federal 
government as required by federal law. DOT must 
submit the proposed plan to the committees at least 60 
days before submitting it to the federal government. In 
its submission, DOT must describe the process it used to 
prepare the plan, the people and entities it consulted, 
any recommendations it received from municipalities 
and regional planning organizations regarding the plan, 
and how it responded to them.  

The committees must hold a joint hearing on the 
plan within 30 days after receiving it. Within 14 days 
after the hearing, they must advise DOT of their 
suggested modifications to the plan.  

§ 66 - RIGHT OF FIRST REFUSAL OF RAIL OR 
TRACK MATERIAL  

The act requires that before directly or indirectly 
selling, transferring, or otherwise disposing of rail or 
track material, the transportation commissioner offer it 
to freight railroad companies for upgrading, first, state-
owned rights-of-way, and second, other rail lines 
located in Connecticut.  

If a company accepts the commissioner’s offer, the 
commissioner must transfer the rail or track material to 
company’s designated material site and charge the 

company for doing so. For property used to upgrade a 
state-owned right-of-way, the charge cannot exceed the 
scrap value of the material the transferred material is 
replacing. For transferred material to be used to upgrade 
other rights-of-way, the charge cannot exceed the scrap 
value of the transferred material.  

§ 67 - RAILROAD CROSSING STUDY 

The act requires the transportation commissioner to 
report to the Transportation and Finance, Revenue and 
Bonding committees on at-grade railroad crossings 
every three years, beginning October 1, 2009. The 
reports must: 

1. list all such crossings in Connecticut, 
2. identify those that are hazardous and indicate 

how much it would cost to upgrade or 
eliminate them,  

3. indentify federal and other funding sources for 
the upgrade or elimination projects, and  

4. rank the projects in priority order.  
After the initial report, future reports must also describe 
the progress made in upgrading or eliminating 
hazardous at-grade crossings.  

§ 68 - GRANTS FOR COMMERCIAL FREIGHT 
RAIL LINES 

A 2007 act authorized up to $10 million in GO 
bonds to the DOT for competitive matching grants for 
commercial freight rail lines operating in Connecticut. 
Recipients had to use the grants to improve, repair, and 
modernize existing rails, rail beds, and related facilities.  

This act eliminates the requirement that the grants 
be matching grants. Instead, it requires grants to be for 
100% of costs for improving, repairing or modernizing 
state-owned rights of way and 70% of the cost for 
modernizing, repairing, or improving privately owned 
rail lines. The act authorizes the DOT commissioner to 
waive the 30% grant match for upgrading privately 
owned rail lines if the work is shown to increase rail 
freight traffic. 

In awarding grants, the commissioner must give 
preference to freight rail projects that (1) are on DOT’s 
list of projects eligible for funding under the 2009 
federal stimulus act, (2) improve at-grade crossings to 
eliminate hazards or increase safety, and (3) connect to 
major freight generators. 

§ 70 - SALE OF MUNICIPAL BONDS BY 
NEGOTIATION 

The act allows municipalities, with their legislative 
bodies’ approval, to sell certain types of bonds by 
negotiation rather than by public bid. In doing so, it 
overrides local charters and special acts to the contrary.  
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The authority applies to taxable bonds carrying a 
federal tax credit to subsidize interest (“tax credit 
bonds”) and to any bond issue containing an “advance 
refunding issue” (new bonds issued to refinance 
previously issued bonds before they mature). It also 
applies to regional school districts and to any town, city, 
borough, consolidated town and borough, metropolitan 
district, special taxing district, or other municipal 
corporation with the power to tax and issue bonds, 
notes, or other obligations.  

For purposes of meeting statutory requirements for 
repaying municipal bonds, the act allows a municipality 
to consolidate the maturity schedules of taxable tax-
credit and tax-exempt bonds, if they are issued no more 
than 15 days apart.  

Finally, the act validates all municipal tax-credit 
and advance refunding bond issues that, before the act’s 
effective date (September 25, 2009), were sold by 
negotiation or issued with a consolidated maturity 
schedule that meets the act’s requirements. 

§ 71 - MAXIMUM TERM FOR MUNICIPAL BONDS 
ISSUED TO COVER COURT-ORDERED 
PAYMENTS  

By law, a municipality or regional school district 
may issue bonds, notes, or other obligations to pay 
certain court-ordered payments, if the payment amount 
exceeds 5% of its total annual tax revenue or $250,000, 
whichever is less. Such borrowing may also be used to 
fund a reserve for property or casualty losses. The act 
extends the maximum term of such borrowing from 15 
to 20 years. 
 
 
PA 09-3, September 2009 Special Session-SB 2051 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE PROVISIONS 
OF THE BUDGET CONCERNING PUBLIC 
HEALTH AND MAKING CHANGES TO 
VARIOUS HEALTH STATUTES 

 
SUMMARY: This act merges Office of Health Care 
Access into the Department of Public Health and makes 
numerous changes to public health, developmental 
disabilities, and mental health and addiction services 
programs. The changes are described section-by-section 
below.   
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage, except as noted 
below. 

§§ 1-38 - MERGER OF OHCA WITH DPH 

The act makes a number of changes, primarily 
technical, to merge the existing Office of Health Care 

Access (OHCA) with the Department of Public Health 
(DPH).  It establishes an OHCA division, in DPH and 
under the direction of the DPH commissioner, as a 
successor to the former, independent OHCA. OHCA 
will no longer have its own commissioner.  

The act establishes a deputy commissioner position 
to oversee the new OHCA division. The act specifies 
that the commissioner of the former OHCA serves as 
this new deputy commissioner and exercises 
independent decision-making authority over all 
certificate of need (CON)–related matters, including 
CON determinations, orders, decisions, and agreed 
settlements.  She can designate an executive assistant. 
By January 1, 2010, this deputy commissioner, in 
consultation with the DPH commissioner, must report to 
the governor and the Public Health Committee on 
recommendations for CON reform. 

The act specifies that any order, decision, agreed 
settlement, or regulation of OHCA in force as of the 
act’s passage, continues in force and effect as a DPH 
order or regulation until amended, repealed, or 
superseded by law. 

Hospitals are currently assessed to fund OHCA.  
Under the act, hospitals must make these payments to 
DPH instead of OHCA.  By law, they are deposited in 
the General Fund. 

OHCA’s current responsibilities, including health 
care facility utilization and planning, CON review, 
hospital charges and payments, data filings, and 
adoption of regulations, continue under the act. 

§§ 39-41 - LOCAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT 
FUNDING 

The act changes the requirements that municipal 
and district departments of health must meet in order to 
receive state funding.  It eliminates funding for part-
time health departments, reduces funding for district 
health departments, and maintains funding ($1.18 per 
capita) for full-time municipal health departments. 

The act adds a requirement that a municipality with 
a full-time health department have a population of at 
least 50,000 in order to receive annual funding from the 
state.  Existing requirements for municipal health 
departments, unchanged by the act, require the 
municipality to (1) employ a full-time health director, 
(2) have a public health program and budget approved 
by DPH, and (3) appropriate at least $1 per capita from 
annual tax receipts for health department services. 

Under prior law, district health departments 
received annual state funding of (1) $2.43 per capita for 
each city, town, and borough in the district with a 
population of 5,000 or less and (2) $2.08 per capita for 
each such jurisdiction with a population over 5,000.  
The act requires a health district to have a total 
population of at least 50,000 or serve three or more 
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municipalities regardless of their combined total 
population in order to receive state funding.  It reduces 
district funding to $1.85 per capita. As with municipal 
departments, districts must have DPH-approved 
programs and budgets and receive at least $1 per capita 
in members’ tax revenue. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2009 

§§ 42, 61 - MANAGED RESIDENTIAL 
COMMUNITIES 

The act eliminates (1) the requirement that 
managed residential communities (MRCs) be subject to 
DPH oversight and regulation and (2) DPH’s 
responsibility to investigate complaints about MRC 
violations of the law and review every MRC’s 
operations every two years. But it retains DPH’s 
authority to adopt regulations governing MRCs and the 
requirement that MRCs comply with them. MRCs are 
facilities that provide housing and services for people 
over age 55, including access to assisted living services. 

§§ 43, 59 - SUSTINET 

Board Membership 

The act increases membership on the SustiNet 
Health Partnership board of directors from nine to 11 by 
adding (1) an individual with expertise in either the 
reduction of racial, ethnic, cultural, and linguistic 
inequities in health care or multi-cultural competency in 
the health care workforce, appointed by the healthcare 
advocate, and (2) an individual appointed by the 
comptroller. These appointments must be made within 
30 days of the act’s passage.  The initial term for these 
new board members is five years.  The act also 
increases the number of board members necessary for a 
quorum from five to six. 

Funding Sources 

Under existing law, the board must offer 
recommendations to the General Assembly on the 
structure of the entity best suited to oversee and 
implement the SustiNet Plan.  These recommendations 
can include the creation of a public authority authorized, 
among other things, to raise funds from private and 
public sources outside of the state budget to contribute 
toward support of its mission and operations.  The act 
specifies that this includes applying for and receiving 
federal funds. 

§§ 44-46 - BIRTH-TO-THREE FEE AND 
INSURANCE INCREASES 

The act increases the fee certain families must pay 
to participate in the Birth-to-Three Program and 

eliminates the two months of free service that, by 
regulation, are provided following enrollment  It 
requires the Department of Developmental Services 
(DDS) to increase the fees by 60%. It also requires DDS 
to base the fees on the state’s, as well as parents’, 
financial resources and periodically to revise its fee 
schedule.  

The law requires DDS to charge a fee for families 
with gross incomes over $45,000 and permits it to 
charge parents with lower incomes. But DDS may not 
charge any family whose child is eligible for Medicaid. 
DDS maintains two sliding scale fee schedules, one for 
families with health insurance and one for uninsured 
families, based on income and family size. Fees 
currently range from $15 a month for a family with 
three or fewer children and no insurance to $310 a 
month for a family with six or more children and 
insurance whose income is over $175,000. DDS 
regulations require the State Interagency Birth to Three 
Coordinating Council to review and make 
recommendations to DDS about the fee schedule at least 
every three years. 

The law requires group and individual health 
insurance policies to cover birth-to-three services. The 
act doubles the maximum annual coverage to $6,400 per 
child and the aggregate, three-year benefit to $19,200.  
It applies to individual and group health insurance 
policies delivered, issued, renewed, amended, or 
continued in Connecticut that cover (1) basic hospital 
expenses; (2) basic medical-surgical expenses; (3) major 
medical expenses; and (4) hospital or medical services, 
including coverage under an HMO plan. Due to federal 
law (ERISA), state insurance benefit mandates do not 
apply to self-insured benefit plans. 

§§ 47-49 - SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC 
EXAMINERS 

Sexual Assault Forensic Examiners Program 

The act authorizes the Office of Victim Services 
(OVS) to establish a program to train sexual assault 
forensic examiners (SAFE) and make them available to 
adult and adolescent sexual assault victims at 
participating hospitals. It allows OVS to apply for and 
use funds from federal, state, and private sources for the 
program.  

The act requires a SAFE to be a physician or a 
registered or advanced practice registered nurse. Under 
the act, a SAFE may provide immediate care and 
treatment to a sexual assault victim in a hospital and 
collect evidence. In doing so, the SAFE must follow (1) 
existing state sexual assault evidence collection 
protocols and (2) the hospital’s policies, accreditation 
standards, and written participation agreement with 
OVS and DPH.  
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The act specifies that it is not to be construed to 
alter the scope of nursing practice established in statute.  

Sexual Assault Forensic Examiners Advisory Committee 

The act creates a 12-member committee to advise 
OVS on establishing and implementing the program.  

Responsibilities. The committee must make 
recommendations to OVS on:  

1. recruiting nurses and physicians and 
developing a specialized training course for 
them;  

2. developing agreements between Judicial 
Branch, DPH, and participating hospitals on 
the program’s scope of services and hospital 
standards for providing the services;  

3. mechanisms for tracking individual cases;  
4. using medically accepted best practices; and 
5. developing quality assurance mechanisms.  
Membership.  The committee consists of:  
1. the chief court administrator, chief state's 

attorney, victim advocate, and DPH 
commissioner, or their designees;  

2. one representative each of the Public Safety 

Department’s Scientific Services and State 
Police divisions, appointed by the public safety 
commissioner;  

3. the presidents of the Connecticut Hospital 
Association and Connecticut College of 
Emergency Physicians, or their designees;  

4. a person appointed by the directors of 
Connecticut Sexual Assault Crisis Services, 
Inc.; and 

5. one appointee each from the Connecticut 
Chapter of the International Association of 
Forensic Nurses, the Connecticut Police Chiefs 
Association, and the Connecticut Emergency 
Nurses Association.  

The committee terminates on June 30, 2012.  

§ 50 - BUDGET TRANSFERS 

The act revises three DDS appropriations for FYs 
10 and 11 adopted in PA 09-3, JSS, as shown in the 
following table. 

 

 
 
 

Department of Developmental Services Appropriations 

 FY 10 FY 11 

Purpose PA 09-3, JSS Act PA 09-3, JSS Act 

Personal Services $305,242,900 $304,742,900 $305,072,458 $304,572,458 

Voluntary Services 33,692,416 32,692,416 33,692,416 32,692,416 

Community Residential 
Services 

377,947,857 379,447,857 388,998,055 390,498,055 

  
 
§§ 51-52 - PAYMENT FOR TUBERCULOSIS 
TREATMENT 

By law, individuals with tuberculosis (TB) who 
require medical care provided by a (1) state chronic 
disease hospital, (2) private hospital or clinic, or (3) 
physician or other provider, must be seen without regard 
to the patient’s financial condition. The cost of the care 
and treatment of such patients is computed based on a 
number of statutory provisions.  The state pays these 
costs if DPH deems them appropriate for TB treatment.    

The act specifically authorizes the DPH 
commissioner to consider available third-party sources 
for payment of TB treatment when determining whether 
to pay for it.  By law, if the patient is (1) a veteran and 
the TB or suspected TB for which the veteran has been 

hospitalized or treated is a service-connected disability 
entitling him to medical benefits or (2) eligible for 
medical benefits under workers’ compensation or under 
any private or public medical insurance or payment 
plan, then the patient or the patient’s obligor is liable for 
the costs of the care to the extent of such available 
benefits. The costs of such care must be determined 
according to the existing statutory process by which the 
comptroller annually determines the per capita per diem 
cost for the support of people in humane institutions. 

The act authorizes DPH and the Department of 
Social Services (DSS) to exchange patient information 
they hold to determine if any patient needing or 
receiving TB treatment is eligible for Medicaid benefits. 
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§ 53 - DMHAS ACTING FOR MEDICARE PART D 

The act permits the DMHAS commissioner, after 
consulting with the administrative services 
commissioner, to (1) bill directly for prescriptions under 
Medicare Part D or contract with a private entity to do 
so and (2) enter into agreements and contracts, 
including negotiated reimbursement rates, for Medicare 
Part D plans for DMHAS clients.  It supersedes existing 
law that makes the administrative services 
commissioner responsible for acting and collecting 
money due to the state for public assistance cases. The 
law authorizes the DMHAS commissioner or the 
commissioner’s designee to represent a DMHAS client 
or assistance beneficiary for purposes of (1) enrolling 
him or her in the Medicare Part D prescription drug 
program, (2) selecting a Part D drug plan if the person 
does not select one within a reasonable time after being 
informed of the opportunity to do so, and (3) applying 
for the low-income subsidy available under the 
Medicare drug program. 

§§ 54-55 - PRETRIAL ALCOHOL AND DRUG 
PROGRAMS 

The act increases fees for both the pretrial alcohol 
and drug education programs and makes them more 
uniform.  These programs are available to certain people 
charged with driving a motor vehicle or operating a boat 
under the influence of alcohol or possessing drugs or 
drug paraphernalia.  If a person wants to take advantage 
of the programs, the court seals the case files to the 
public and refers the individual for assessment and 
placement in an intervention or treatment program. 

Alcohol Education 

The act renames the pretrial alcohol education 
system as the pretrial alcohol education program. It 
increases the program application fee from $50 to $100. 
It retains the $100 nonrefundable evaluation fee and 
requires crediting it to the pretrial account.  It requires 
anyone approved for participation to begin within 90 
days after the court orders it, unless the court grants a 
delay. By law, the court can order a person to participate 
in either a 10- or 15-session intervention program. The 
act raises the fee for the 10-session program to $350 
from $325 and retains the $500 fee for the 15-session 
program. 

The act establishes procedures for the court to 
follow when dealing with a person who does not 
successfully complete an intervention program or is 
found no longer amenable to treatment. Under prior law, 
if the program provider certified either of these 
circumstances, the court unsealed the court record, 
entered a not guilty plea for the individual, and 

scheduled a trial; in practice, the court reinstated people 
in intervention programs. Under the act, if the program 
provider certifies either of these circumstances it must, 
to the extent practicable, (1) recommend to the court 
whether a 10- or 15-session intervention or placement in 
a state-licensed alcohol treatment program would best 
serve the person’s needs and (2) indicate whether the 
person had been in an initial program or had been 
reinstated.  If the person does not pursue reinstatement 
or if the court denies it, the court must proceed to trial 
as under prior law. 

The act imposes a nonrefundable $175 dollar 
reinstatement fee for a 10-session intervention program 
and $250 for 15 sessions. It limits a person to two 
reinstatements; the fees apparently apply for each 
reinstatement. The act allows the court to waive the fee 
for good cause, otherwise the person must pay it. The 
reinstatement fee must be credited to the pretrial 
account.  The act requires the Court Services Support 
Division (CSSD) to confirm that the person is eligible 
for reinstatement and the court to order reinstatement. A 
person reinstated in a treatment program is responsible 
for paying any costs associated with reinstatement. 

The act increases, from seven years to 10, the time 
the Motor Vehicle and Environmental Protection 
departments must keep records of people’s participation 
in the program. It retains the seven-year retention 
requirement for CSSD. 

Drug Education Program 

The act creates three program options: 10- and 15-
hour intervention programs and a drug treatment 
program. Previously, the program ran for 12 hours over 
eight sessions. Under the act, once the court allows a 
person to participate in the program, it must refer him or 
her to DMHAS for evaluation (presumably to determine 
which of the three options is most appropriate).  

The act establishes a $100 application fee and a 
$100 evaluation fee.  It establishes a $500 fee for the 
15-session program; the 10-session fee remains $350.  
All fees must be credited to the pretrial account.  The 
act makes people ordered into substance abuse 
treatment responsible for paying program costs.  As 
under prior law, (1) indigent people cannot be excluded 
from any program and (2) program fees are not 
refundable if a person is later found ineligible to 
participate or fails to complete a program. 

The act extends to all components of the drug 
education program the prohibition against participation 
for anyone who previously participated in it or the 
community service labor program.   

It requires people placed in the drug education 
program to receive appropriate intervention or treatment 
services as recommended in their evaluation. Placement 
cannot exceed one year. Treatment services must be 
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provided only at a state-licensed facility that complies 
with all state standards governing its operations.  

Under the act, program participants must agree to 
(1) complete whichever option the court orders and (2) 
begin participating within 90 days after the order is 
entered; the law already requires them to agree to accept 
placement in a treatment program after completing the 
education program if a DMHAS provider recommends 
this.  The act increases the time people participating in 
the drug education program must also participate in the 
community service labor program. Prior law required 
them to participate for four days.  The act requires those 
in the 10-session intervention program or the treatment 
program participate in community service labor for at 
least five days while those in the 15-session program 
must participate for at least 10 days. 

The act creates the same reinstatement procedures 
and fees for the substance abuse education program as it 
does for the alcohol education program (see above).  It 
increases, from seven years to 10, the time CSSD must 
keep records of people’s participation in the program. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010 

§ 56 - DMHAS/DSS MEMORANDUM OF 
UNDERSTANDING 

The act requires DMHAS and DSS to enter into a 
memorandum of understanding under which DMHAS 
will continue to manage the State Administered General 
Assistance behavioral health program. 

§ 57 - DDS PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT STUDY 

The act establishes a 29-member advisory 
committee to study the effect of switching the way DDS 
pays private providers for support services.  Currently, 
DDS enters into a fixed-sum, master contract with each 
provider; the act contemplates moving to an attendance-
based, fee-for-service reimbursement system.  The study 
must include: 

1. ways to ensure that providers continue to 
receive reimbursement under the master 
contract system while the new system is 
studied; 

2. participation by a large and diverse group of 
providers based on their reimbursement and 
attendance rates; 

3. a review of the appropriateness of a level-of-
need tool and reimbursement rates, the process 
for completing such tools,  ways to link levels 
of need to funding, and level-of-need scores 
and ways to appeal them; 

4. the identification of the costs of raising low-
wage providers to a standard wage rate while 
holding high-wage providers harmless; 

 

5. an analysis of attendance factors based on 
clients’ health and staff vacation, holidays, and 
personal and paid time off; 

6. the identification of a reasonable attendance 
factor that would keep providers whole and 
maintain normalization and integration 
philosophies; 

7. a determination of appropriate models for 
reimbursing providers for transporting clients; 

8. a review of acting and documentation systems 
to identify information technology and related 
costs; 

9. the identification of ways to maintain cash flow 
to providers and systematically increase rates 
to keep pace with increases in service costs; 
and  

10. examination of efficiencies in the service 
delivery system. 

The committee is composed of: 
1. the chairpersons and ranking members of the 

Appropriations, Human Services, and Public 
Health committees; 

2. the chairpersons and ranking members of the 
Appropriations Committee’s Health 
Subcommittee; 

3. a member the governor designates; 
4. the DDS commissioner or his designee; 
5. a member of the Office of Policy and 

Management, appointed by the secretary; 
6. a member of DSS’s Medicaid unit who has 

oversight of DDS reimbursements, appointed 
by the DSS commissioner; 

7. the Connecticut Community Providers 
Association’s chief executive officer or his or 
her designee; 

8. The Connecticut Association of Nonprofits’ 
executive director, or the director’s designee; 

9. a chief financial officer of a community 
provider organization appointed by the 
community providers association’s executive 
director; 

10. an information technology officer of a 
community provider organization appointed by 
the Connecticut Association of Nonprofits’ 
executive director; 

11. a member appointed by the president of the 
labor organization that represents the majority 
of the workers who perform the services in 
these programs; and 

12. three DDS employees, one each in operations, 
information technology, and audits. 

All appointments to the committee must be made 
within 30 days after the act’s passage. The House 
speaker and Senate president pro tempore select the 
committee’s chairpersons who must schedule its first 
meeting with 60 days after the act’s passage. The 
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appointing authority fills any vacancies.  DDS staff 
serves as the committee’s administrative staff. 

The committee must report its finding and 
recommendations by January 1, 2011 to the 
Appropriations, Human Services, and Public Health 
committees. It terminates on that date or the date it 
submits its report, whichever is earlier. 

§ 58 - HEALTH CARE PROVIDER PEER REVIEW 
CONFIDENTIALITY 

The act specifies that materials or information 
produced for peer review purposes, in any format or 
media,  are not subject to disclosure  under the Freedom 
of Information Act (FOIA).  By law, “peer review” 
means the procedure for health care professionals to 
evaluate the quality and effectiveness of services 
ordered or performed by other health care professionals.  
This includes practice analysis, inpatient hospital and 
extended care facility utilization review, medical audit, 
ambulatory care review, and claims review. 

The act specifies that it does not preclude DPH 
from accessing peer review materials and information in 
connection with any department review or investigation 
of a provider’s license.  But DPH may not disclose the 
information to anyone outside of the agency, except as 
necessary to take disciplinary action against the 
provider, and the information cannot be disclosed under 
FOIA.  The act also specifies that it does not limit other 
protections on peer review provided by law. 

Background 

The Connecticut Supreme Court recently held that 
records of a public hospital that would be privileged 
from discovery under Connecticut’s peer review statute 
are subject to disclosure pursuant to proceedings before 
the state’s Freedom of Information Commission 
(Director of Health Affairs Policy Planning, University 
of Connecticut Health Center v. Freedom of Information 
Commission, Conn., No. SC 18286, August 25, 2009).  

§ 60 - UCONN HEALTH CENTER MALPRACTICE 
FUND 

The UConn Health Center Finance Corporation was 
created to allow the John Dempsey Hospital and the 
UConn medical and dental schools to operate with 
greater flexibility by acquiring and disposing of 
equipment and real property and entering into contracts 
and joint ventures on their behalf.  By law, the 
corporation administers a separate insurance fund 
through which it insures the hospital and itself against 
malpractice claims and associated expenses. It may self-
insure and purchase insurance to cover claims and 
expenses. 

 

Prior law required the UConn Board of Trustees to 
determine actuarially the amount of funds needed to 
protect the hospital and which must be transferred to the 
insurance fund from the hospital’s revolving fund. The 
act eliminates the requirement that the funding 
determination be actuarially based.    

It also eliminates the requirement that any self-
insurance program paid from the insurance fund be 
operated on an actuarially sound basis.  It continues to 
require the hospital to provide additional money that the 
corporation determines is needed to meet the fund’s 
self-insurance obligations. The act gives the UConn 
Board of Trustees sole authority to determine and 
approve the funding level needed, rather than have this 
amount determined on an actuarial basis as under prior 
law.   

§ 61 - REPEALED SECTIONS 

The act repeals obsolete OHCA statutes, a section 
on TB treatment payment for consistency with new 
language in the act, and provisions related to DPH 
responsibilities concerning managed residential care 
communities. PA 09-7, September Special Session, 
reinstates one of the repealed OHCA statutes, which 
requires that payments to hospitals based on DSS-
established inpatient hospital rates include any inpatient 
service days provided in a new long-term acute care 
hospital or satellite facility established as a 
demonstration project (CGS § 19a-617c). 

 
 

PA 09-4, September 2009 Special Session-HB 7003 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE CONVEYANCE OF 
CERTAIN PARCELS OF STATE LAND 

SUMMARY: This act:  
1. authorizes conveyances of state property to the 

towns of Bridgeport, East Lyme, Putnam, 
South Windsor, and Trumbull;  

2. amends prior conveyances in Greenwich, 
Griswold, Middletown, New Britain, New 
Haven, Norwalk, and Windham;  

3. requires (a) the Department of Transportation 
(DOT) to convey an easement to Danbury, (b) 
the Department of Environmental Protection 
(DEP) to lease property to Ridgefield, and (c) 
the Department of Public Works (DPW) to 
grant an easement to Norwich at Three Rivers 
Community College and transfer and convey 
an easement for the Department of 
Developmental Services to Enfield;  

4. authorizes DPW to acquire title from 
Torrington for a portion of Clark Street;  
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5. allows DEP to lease or authorize occupancy to 
preserve the Penfield Lighthouse; and  

6. exempts the sale of a particular parcel of 
electric company real property in Rocky Hill 
from the law that requires the company to use 
sale proceeds to reduce its stranded costs.  

The act authorizes the exchange of maintenance 
facilities between DOT (a 3.375 acre parcel) and the 
town of Westbrook (2.087 acres). The transaction is 
subject to State Properties Review Board (SPRB) 
approval and the town must pay the administrative costs 
while DOT is required to pay for any property survey.  

The act gives DEP exclusive custody and control of 
all publicly-owned Connecticut River islands north of 
East Windsor across to South Windsor and south of 
King’s Island. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

NEW CONVEYANCES 

The act requires the following conveyances from 
the agencies to the towns named for the purposes 
specified where applicable: 

1. the Military Department to East Lyme for 
municipal purposes (0.9 acres);  

2. DOT to South Windsor for economic 
development purposes, provided that proceeds 
from any subsequent sale or lease of the parcel 
must be deposited in the state’s General Fund 
(1.96 acres);  

3. the Military Department to Putnam for 
recreational or municipal purposes (3.56 
acres);  

4. DOT to Trumbull for fair market value plus 
administrative costs (0.32 unrestricted acres); 
and  

5. DEP to Bridgeport, two parcels (33 acres 
located in Trumbull) for $2.8 million plus 
administrative costs for educational and 
municipal purposes.  

Unless Bridgeport begins construction of a regional 
magnet high school within 10 years or maintains the 
property as a public park (with such a restriction 
recorded in Trumbull land records), the property reverts 
to the state. The DEP commissioner must use the sale 
proceeds to purchase property in Bridgeport and may 
consider a previously identified 10-acre site. 

Within 120 days of the act’s passage, the act 
requires DEP to lease to Ridgefield for $1 per year for a 
term of 10 years, 2.146 acres for recreational purposes. 
DEP must give the town at least two years’ notice 
before changing the terms of the lease. 

Each of the new conveyances and the lease 
agreement are subject to the SPRB’s approval within 30 
days and must be made at a cost equal to the 
administrative cost of the conveyance, unless otherwise 

noted. With the exception of the Trumbull parcel from 
DOT, the property reverts to the state and the Ridgefield 
lease terminates if the recipient uses the property for 
any purpose other than that specified in the act.  

CONVEYANCE AMENDMENTS  

The act amends a 2007 land conveyance from the 
DOT to Derek Viel, conveying the 0.06-acre parcel 
instead to the city of New Britain.  

The act adds the improvements on two parcels of 
land that the Department of Children and Families 
conveyed to Middletown in 1999 at fair market value. It 
changes the specified use from redevelopment to open 
space and amends the price of the property that was to 
have been reduced by the amount of demolition and 
disposal costs necessary to redevelop the parcels. Under 
the act, the price reduction compensates the city for its 
costs to prepare the parcels for use as open space. It also 
deletes a provision that required the proceeds from the 
sale to be deposited in the Connecticut Juvenile 
Training School’s donation fund. 

The act substitutes municipal purposes for open 
space as the required use for 0.49 acres of DPW 
property conveyed in 1998 to Greenwich. It deletes 
from the reversion clause a requirement in a 2007 
conveyance from DEP to Griswold that it develop 
recreational fields within five years of the conveyance. 
It makes a technical correction to a 2008 authorization 
to convey land from Norwalk to the state. 

The act requires DEP to convey to Loretta M. 
Budkofsky for $825 land in Windham that the state 
mistakenly acquired. 

It conveys property adjacent to the Air Rights 
Garage in New Haven to the city of New Haven, rather 
than transferring it to the Department of Mental Health 
and Addiction Services (DMHAS) for parking. The city 
must use the 2.7-acre parcel for economic development; 
under the 2007 conveyance, DMHAS had to use it for 
Connecticut Mental Health Center parking. This act’s 
conveyance to the city includes the typical conditions 
that it be made for administrative costs and subject to 
the SPRB’s approval, and includes the reversion 
requirement. Under the act, New Haven may convey or 
lease all or part of the property for economic 
development and, if it does so, must transfer to the state 
any proceeds above the cost of improvements. New 
Haven must get State Traffic Commission and DOT 
approval to adjust the Route 34 right-of-way. 

EASEMENTS 

The act requires DOT to convey to Danbury, for the 
fair market value of a defined trail corridor, an easement 
over DOT land for the creation of the Ives Trail and 
Greenway. DPW must grant an easement in favor of 
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Norwich at Three Rivers Community College along 
New London Turnpike to provide sidewalks and a snow 
shelf area and another easement to Enfield on behalf of 
the Department of Developmental Services.  

LIGHTHOUSE 

The act authorizes DEP to lease or otherwise 
authorize control over the submerged lands associated 
with Penfield Reef Lighthouse with a right of 
occupancy to preserve it pursuant to provisions of state 
and federal law. It limits any lease to no more than 10 
years, subject to renewal, and allows for reasonable 
public access, preservation, and education. 

UTILITY COMPANY PROPERTY 

By law, the net proceeds of all sales and leases of 
electric company real property received after July 1, 
1998 must be used to reduce the company’s stranded 
costs. These are costs that the company had incurred, 
with the approval of the Department of Public Utility 
Control (DPUC), whose recovery was jeopardized with 
the passage of the electric deregulation law. The act 
exempts the sale of part of a specific parcel in Rocky 
Hill from this requirement. The exemption applies if 
DPUC approves the sale, before July 1, 2011, of 
approximately 26 acres. The exemption applies to 
approximately 22 acres of this parcel that (1) is no 
longer used or useful, as determined by DPUC; (2) is 
not and never was in the company’s rate base; and (3) 
was maintained by the company’s shareholders. By law, 
utility companies are allowed to recover in rates the cost 
of property in their rate bases, as long as this property is 
used and useful.  

 
 

PA 09-5, September 2009 Special Session-HB 7005 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE PROVISIONS 
OF THE BUDGET CONCERNING HUMAN 
SERVICES AND MAKING CHANGES TO 
VARIOUS SOCIAL SERVICES STATUTES 

SUMMARY:  This act implements sections of the FY 
10-11 state budget pertaining to human services. Its 
major provisions include: 

1. creating a state False Claims Act applicable to 
medical assistance programs the Department of 
Social Services (DSS) administers; 

2. delaying by two years the reestablishment of 
the Department on Aging; 

3. eliminating most state-funded medical 
assistance for legal alien adults who have lived 
in the U.S. for less than five years; 

4. moving the Children’s Trust Fund and its 
council from the Department of Children and 
Families (DCF) (where it exists for 
administrative purposes only) to DSS and 
making DSS the lead state agency, in 
collaboration with the Fund, for community-
based, prevention-focused programs and 
activities; 

5. making numerous changes in the state’s 
Medicare Part D-related programs (ConnPACE 
and Medicaid for the dually eligible), including 
(a)  requiring clients of these programs to 
enroll in Part D benchmark plans and (b) 
increasing the annual registration fee, (c) 
freezing for two years the income limits, and 
(d) instituting an enrollment period in the 
ConnPACE program; 

6. generally freezing for two years the Medicaid 
rates the state pays to nursing homes and 
intermediate care facilities for people with 
mental retardation, eliminating most fair rent 
increases to nursing home rates, and beginning 
in FY 11, requiring DSS to delay June 
Medicaid payments to nursing homes until 
July; 

7. eliminating mental health drugs’ blanket 
exemption from DSS’ preferred drug list; 

8. freezing benefit levels for two years in the 
Temporary Family Assistance, State 
Administered General Assistance, and State 
Supplement programs; 

9. requiring the public health commissioner to 
ensure that  unlicensed residential care home 
staff who administer medication are certified to 
do so; 

10. requiring prior authorization for many 
nonemergency dental services for DSS clients; 

11. requiring DSS, within available appropriations, 
to establish a fall prevention program; 

12. requiring additional cost sharing in the state-
funded Connecticut Home Care Program for 
Elders; 

13. reducing DSS reimbursements to pharmacies 
serving DSS program clients; and 

14. delaying the implementation of the Money 
Follows the Person (MFP) II demonstration 
program from July 1, 2009 until July 1, 2012. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 1-18 - FALSE CLAIMS ACT FOR DSS 
PROGRAMS 

The act creates a Connecticut False Claims Act 
(FCA) applicable to the medical assistance programs 
that DSS administers (presumably Medicaid, State-
Administered General Assistance (SAGA), HUSKY B, 
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and Charter Oak). The 2005 federal Deficit Reduction 
Act permits states that adopt their own FCA to keep a 
greater share of any Medicaid funds they recover under 
it. 

State law already sets up a process for prosecuting 
someone who commits welfare fraud, including fraud in 
DSS’ medical assistance programs.  

§ 2 - Violations 

With respect to goods and services rendered 
through all DSS medical assistance programs, the act 
prohibits anyone from: 

1. knowingly presenting, or causing to be 
presented to a state employee or officer, a false 
or fraudulent claim for payment or approval; 

2. knowingly making, using, or causing to be 
made or used, a false record or statement to 
secure payment or approval of a false or 
fraudulent claim under these programs; 

3. conspiring to defraud the state by securing the 
allowance or payment of a false or fraudulent 
claim; 

4. having possession, custody, or control of 
property or money used, or to be used, by the 
state relative to these programs, and, with 
intent to defraud the state or willfully conceal 
the property, deliver or cause to be delivered 
less property than the amount for which the 
person receives a receipt or certificate; 

5. being authorized to make or deliver a 
document certifying receipt of property used, 
or to be used, by the state relative to these 
programs and, with intent to defraud the state, 
make or deliver the document without 
completely knowing that the information on it 
is true;  

6. knowingly buying, or receiving as a pledge of 
an obligation or debt, public property from a 
state employee or officer who may not legally 
sell or pledge the property; and 

7. knowingly making, using, or causing to be 
made or used, a false record or statement to 
conceal, avoid, or decrease an obligation to pay 
or transmit money or property to the state.  

The act defines the state as the State of 
Connecticut, any agency or department, and any quasi-
public agency defined in law. 

Penalties  

Anyone who commits any of the above violations is 
liable for: 

1. a civil penalty between $5,000 and $10,000; 
2. three times the amount of damages to the state 

due to the violation; and 

3. the costs of investigating and prosecuting the 
violation.  

The liability is joint and several (claimant can 
pursue an obligation against any one party as if the party 
was jointly liable and it is the defendants’ responsibility 
to sort out their respective degrees of liability) for any 
violation committed by two or more people.   

An individual faces a smaller penalty for damages 
(#2, above) if a court finds that (1) the person 
committing the violation provided state investigators 
with all information he or she knew about it within 30 
days after first obtaining that information; (2) the person 
fully cooperated with state investigators; and (3) when 
he or she provides the state the information, (a) no 
criminal, civil, or administrative actions have begun 
(see below) and (b) the person had no knowledge of an 
investigation. In these instances the court can assess a 
penalty of not less than twice the amount of damages. 
The act exempts any information a person provides 
under these circumstances from disclosure under the 
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).  

§ 3 - Attorney General-Initiated Civil Actions 

The act authorizes the attorney general to 
investigate any alleged violations. Information obtained 
during the investigations is exempt from disclosure 
under FOIA. If the attorney general finds that a 
violation has occurred or is occurring, he can bring a 
civil action in Hartford Superior Court. 

§ 4 - Other Civil Actions  

The act also authorizes any other person to bring a 
civil action against a violator on the person’s and the 
state’s behalf. These actions subsequently can be 
withdrawn only if the court and the attorney general 
give written consent and their reasons for doing so. In 
these actions or actions under the federal False Claims 
Act, only the state can intervene or bring a related 
action based on the facts underlying the pending action. 

The person bringing the action must provide a copy 
of the complaint and written disclosure of substantially 
all material evidence and information he or she has by 
serving the attorney general in the same way civil 
actions are brought against the state. Among other 
things, this includes leaving a true and attested copy of 
the process, including the declaration or complaint, at 
the Attorney General’s Office in Hartford.  

The complaint must be filed in camera (in private), 
remain sealed for at least 60 days, and cannot be served 
on the defendant until a court orders it. The motion to 
seal the complaint can be supported by in camera 
affidavits or other submissions. The court, upon the 
attorney general’s motion, can, for good cause, extend 
the time during which the complaint is sealed. Before 
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the sealed period ends, the attorney general must (1) 
proceed with the action, which he must conduct or (2) 
notify the court that he has declined to take over the 
action, in which case the person can proceed to bring 
the action. 

If the court orders that the complaint be unsealed 
and served, it must issue an appropriate order requiring 
the same notice that is ordinarily required to bring a 
civil action. The defendant cannot be required to 
respond to any complaint until 30 days after service.  

§ 5 - Attorney General Proceeds With or Withdraws 
From Action  

If the attorney general decides to proceed with the 
action, he has the primary responsibility for prosecuting 
it and is not bound by any act of the person bringing it. 
But the person can continue as a party to it, subject to 
limits described below.  

 
The act authorizes the attorney general to withdraw 

the action regardless of any objections by the person 
bringing it if the attorney general notifies the person of 
his motion and the court provides the person the 
opportunity for a hearing. Likewise, the attorney general 
can settle with the defendant even if the person bringing 
the action objects if the court, after a hearing, 
determines that the proposed settlement is fair, 
adequate, and reasonable under all the circumstances. 
These hearings can be held in camera for good cause. 

§§ 13, 14 - Proving Essential Elements Through 
Preponderance of Evidence 

Under the act, whoever brings the FCA action must 
prove all its essential elements, including damages, by a 
preponderance of the evidence.  

The act specifies that regardless of any other 
contrary state law, a final judgment in the state’s favor 
against a defendant in any criminal proceeding charging 
fraud or false statements, whether after a trial or plea of 
guilty or no contest, prevents the defendant from 
denying the essential elements of the offense in a civil 
action that involves the same transaction as the criminal 
proceeding. 

§ 5(d) - Court Limits on Person’s Participation in 
Action  

The act gives the court discretion to limit 
participation by the person bringing the action when 
either the attorney general or defendant can show cause. 
Specifically, the attorney general must show that 
unrestricted participation would (1) interfere with or 
unduly delay prosecution of the case or (2) be 
repetitious, irrelevant, or constitute harassment. The 
defendant must show that unrestricted participation 

would constitute harassment or would cause him or her 
undue burden or unnecessary expense. The court can 
limit (1) the number of witnesses the person can call, (2) 
the length of their testimony, (3) cross-examination, and 
(4) their participation in other ways it chooses.  

§ 5(e)(f) - Rewards for Person Bringing Actions  

The act provides that if (1) the court awards civil 
penalties or damages to the state or (2) the attorney 
general settles and receives civil penalties or damages, 
the person bringing the action must receive between 
15% and 25 % of the proceeds, based on the extent to 
which he or she substantially contributed to the 
prosecution.  

The court can award the person less than 15% in 
certain cases. When it finds that the action is based 
primarily on disclosures of specific information relating 
to allegations or transactions (1) in a criminal, civil, or 
administrative hearing; (2) in a report, hearing, audit, or 
investigation conducted by the General Assembly or 
one of its committees, the state auditors, or a state 
agency or quasi-public agency; or (3) from the news 
media, the court may award the person an amount it 
deems appropriate, but no more than 10% of the 
proceeds, taking into account the significance of the 
information and the person’s role in advancing the case 
to litigation.  

In either instance, the person must also receive an 
amount for the reasonable expenses that the court finds 
he or she incurred necessarily, plus reasonable attorney 
fees and costs. The defendant must pay all of these 
expenses, fees, and costs. 

§ 6 - Stays of Discovery  

The act provides that whether or not the attorney 
general proceeds with an action, if he requests and can 
show that certain motions or requests for discovery by 
the person bringing the action would interfere with the 
state’s investigation or prosecution of a criminal or civil 
matter arising from the same facts, the court can stay the 
discovery for up to 60 days. This showing must be done 
in camera. The court can extend the stay for an 
additional 60 days upon further in camera showing that 
the state has pursued its investigation or proceedings 
with reasonable diligence and any proposed discovery 
in the individual’s civil action will interfere with the 
state’s case. The act allows the chief state’s attorney or 
state’s attorney for the appropriate judicial district to 
explain to the court the potential impact of the discovery 
on a pending criminal investigation or prosecution. 

§ 6 - When Attorney General Declines to Proceed  

The act empowers the person bringing the action to 
conduct it when the attorney general declines to 
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proceed. If the attorney general makes this decision and 
asks, the court must order that copies of all pleadings 
filed in the action and of any deposition transcripts be 
provided to the state. When the person proceeds with 
the action, the court, without limiting the person’s status 
or rights, can permit the attorney general to intervene at 
a later date if he can show good cause. 

When Individual Prevails. The act provides 
rewards for people bringing or settling these actions that 
the court decides are reasonable. The reward is between 
25% and 30% of the proceeds. As with the actions the 
attorney general brings, the person must also be 
reimbursed for expenses and legal fees and costs. 

When Defendant Prevails. Under the act, if the 
defendant prevails in these actions and the court finds 
that the claim was clearly frivolous or vexatious or 
brought primarily to harass, the court can require the 
person bringing the action to pay the defendant’s 
attorney fees and expenses.  

§ 7 - Alternate Means to Pursue State’s Claim 

The act authorizes the attorney general to pursue 
the state’s claim through any alternate remedy available 
to the state, including an administrative proceeding to 
determine a civil penalty. If he pursues an alternate 
remedy, the person bringing the action has the same 
rights as he or she would have had if the action had 
continued in court. Any final fact finding or conclusion 
of law made in an alternate proceeding is conclusive on 
all parties to the court action. A finding or conclusion is 
final if it has been finally determined on appeal to the 
appropriate state court, if the time for filing an appeal 
has expired, or if it is not subject to judicial review. 

§ 8 - When the Person Bringing the Action Planned or 
Initiated the Violation 

The act provides that if the court finds that the 
action was brought by someone who planned and 
initiated the violation upon which the action is brought, 
the court can reduce the share of the proceeds the person 
would otherwise receive (10-30%), taking into account 
the person’s role in advancing the case to litigation and 
any relevant circumstances relating to the violation.  

If the person bringing the action is convicted of 
criminal conduct arising from his or her role in the 
violation, he or she must be dismissed from the civil 
action and may not receive any share of the proceeds. A 
dismissal does not prejudice the attorney general’s right 
to continue the action. 

§ 9 - Court Jurisdiction Limited  

Unless the attorney general brings the action or the 
person bringing it is an original source of the 

information, the act provides that the court does not 
have jurisdiction over an action:  

1. against a member of the General Assembly or 
the judiciary, an elected state officer or a state 
department head if the action is based on 
evidence or information known to the state 
when the action was brought;  

2. that is based on allegations or transactions that 
are the subject of a civil suit or an 
administrative civil penalty proceeding in 
which the state is already a party; or  

3. that is based on the public disclosure of 
allegations or transactions (a) in a criminal, 
civil, or administrative hearing; (b) in a report, 
hearing, audit, or investigation conducted by 
the General Assembly or one of its committees, 
the state auditors, a state agency, or quasi-
public agency; or (c) from the news media.  

An “original source” means an individual who has 
direct and independent knowledge of the information on 
which the allegations are based and has voluntarily 
provided it to the state before filing the action based on 
the information. 

The court likewise has no jurisdiction over actions 
brought by a person who knew or had reason to know 
that the attorney general or another state law 
enforcement official knew of the allegations or 
transactions before the person filed the action or 
disclosed the material evidence to the attorney general.  

§ 10 - No State Liability for Expenses Incurred by 
Individuals Bringing Actions 

The act provides that the state is not liable for 
expenses that a person bringing an action incurs. 

§ 11 - Whistle-Blower Protections 

The act provides that any employee who is 
discharged, demoted, suspended, threatened, harassed, 
or in any other manner discriminated against by his or 
her employer because the employee lawfully acts on his, 
her, or others’ behalf in furthering one of the act’s 
actions, including investigating, initiating, or testifying 
or assisting in, an action filed or to be filed under the 
act, is entitled to all relief necessary to make the 
employee whole.  

This relief, which the employee can request through 
Superior Court, must include (1) reinstatement with the 
same seniority status that the employee would have had 
except for the discrimination and (2) twice the amount 
of any back pay, plus interest on it, and compensation 
for any special damages that the discrimination caused, 
including litigation costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees.  
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§ 12 - Statute of Limitations 

The act specifies that any FCA action it permits 
cannot be brought (1) more than six years after the date 
the violation occurs or (2) more than three years after 
the date when material facts are known or reasonably 
should have been known by the state official charged 
with acting on them, whichever occurs later, but in no 
event can an action be brought more than 10 years after 
the date the violation is committed.  

§ 15 - Non-Exclusivity of Remedies 

The act provides that its FCA provisions and the 
state Whistleblower Law are not exclusive and its 
remedies are in addition to any others provided in state, 
federal, or common law. 

§§ 16-17 - Authority for Attorney General to Act; 
Confidentiality of Records 

By law, the attorney general has the power to 
summon witnesses and take other steps when 
investigating whistleblowing complaints brought to the 
state auditors against state or quasi-public agencies or 
involving large state contracts. The act extends this 
authority to enable him to begin investigating suspected 
FCA violations before he files a civil action under the 
act.  

The act also provides that neither the state auditors 
nor the attorney general may disclose the identity of the 
person who provided information under these FCA 
provisions without his or her consent unless they 
determine that disclosure is unavoidable. By law they 
may withhold records of an ongoing investigation.  

The act also exempts from disclosure under the 
FOIA records of an investigation or the name of an 
employee providing information under the FCA. 

§ 18 - False Claims Report 

The act requires the attorney general to report to the 
General Assembly and the governor beginning on the 
30th day after the act’s passage and annually thereafter 
on: 

1. the number of civil actions he and private 
individuals filed under the FCA during the 
previous calendar year; 

2. with respect to civil actions filed by private 
individuals during that period, the number that 
remain under seal, the number of actions filed 
by court location, the state agency or program 
involved in the action, and the number of 
actions filed by people who previously filed 
actions under the federal FCA or another 
state’s FCA;  

 

3. any known amount the state recovered from 
these actions in settlements, damages, 
penalties, and litigation costs; and 

4. for all recoveries, the case number and parties; 
a breakdown of damages, penalties, and 
litigation costs; and the amount and percentage 
paid by the state to the person who brought the 
civil action. 

The act requires the attorney general to include in 
his first report information on false claim actions 
brought under the state FCA during the previous 
calendar year. However, the FCA provisions are 
effective upon passage and were not in existence during 
the previous year; thus, it does not appear that the 
attorney general can provide any information in the first 
report. 

§ 19 - DELAY START OF DEPARTMENT ON 
AGING 

The act postpones the reestablishment of the state 
Department on Aging by two years, from July 1, 2008 
to July 1, 2010.  

Connecticut disbanded its Department on Aging in 
1993 and merged most of its functions and personnel 
into DSS as the Division of Elderly Services. (This 
division was renamed the Aging Services Division 
several years ago.) In 2005, the legislature reestablished 
the department effective January 1, 2007, but PA 07-2, 
JSS postponed the reestablishment date to July 1, 2008.  

§§ 20, 55, 64, 78 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE FOR 
QUALIFIED ALIENS 

Termination of Medical Benefits (§64) 

The act eliminates most state-funded medical 
assistance coverage for legal immigrant adults and 
certain others who have lived in the U.S. for less than 
five years. (After five years they generally qualify for 
federally funded assistance.)  

Specifically, it eliminates coverage under two state-
funded medical assistance (State-Funded Medical 
Assistance for Non-Citizens (SMANC) and HUSKY B), 
programs to assist legal immigrants and certain other 
residents who are ineligible for Medicaid and the federal 
State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP, 
HUSKY B in Connecticut) because they have lived in 
the U.S. for less than five years.  

But those immigrants who were receiving home 
care services or nursing home care under the SMANC 
program on September 8, 2009 continue to receive 
coverage for these services or care as long as they meet 
Medicaid eligibility criteria other than their immigrant 
status. Likewise, assistance continues for individuals 
who are receiving nursing home care, applied for 
SMANC before September 8, 2009, and would 
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otherwise be eligible for it. For these individuals, the 
assistance continues for as long as an individual meets 
Medicaid eligibility requirements for nursing home care 
other than immigrant status. 

Under the act, children and pregnant women who 
have been admitted legally less than five years before 
the date they receive services must continue to receive 
coverage until the state plan amendment concerning 
federal funding to cover them is approved (see below).  

The act allows the DSS commissioner to implement 
policies and procedures needed to carry out these 
provisions while in the process of adopting them in 
regulation. He must print notice of intent to publish the 
regulations in the Connecticut Law Journal within 20 
days of implementing them. The policies and 
procedures are valid until final regulations are adopted. 

Notice of Termination (§ 78). At least 10 days 
before terminating assistance, the commissioner must 
notify recipients of the intended action. The notice must 
include (1) the reason for the termination and (2) 
information concerning the person’s eligibility for other 
state or federal medical assistance programs including 
instructions on applying for them. 

Continued Assistance for Children and Pregnant 
Women (§ 20) 

The act requires the DSS commissioner, by January 
1, 2010, to seek federal funds to provide medical 
assistance to qualified alien children and pregnant 
women who were admitted into the U.S. less than five 
years before the date services are provided.  

The recently passed federal Children’s Health 
Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA, PL 
111-3) permits states to claim federal Medicaid 
(HUSKY A in Connecticut) and SCHIP (HUSKY B) 
funds to provide health care coverage to pregnant 
women and children who are recent (within five years) 
immigrants. 

The 1996 federal welfare reform law generally bars 
legal immigrants who have been in the U.S. for fewer 
than five years from receiving federally funded 
assistance. States can provide this assistance with state-
only funds, which Connecticut has done since 1997.  

SAGA Ban for Immigrants Losing Coverage (§ 55) 

The act prevents people losing eligibility for the 
state-funded program from moving into the State-
Administered General Assistance (SAGA) medical 
assistance program. Under prior law, people ineligible 
for Medicaid could qualify for SAGA medical 
assistance if they meet the program’s financial 
eligibility criteria, regardless of their country of origin. 
Under the act, only those individuals who do not qualify 
for Medicaid because they do not meet its categorical 

eligibility requirements (i.e., aged, blind, disabled, child 
under age 21, someone screened under the federal breast 
and cervical cancer initiative and found to need 
treatment) can receive SAGA.  

Background-Attorney General Opinion 

In 2004, the attorney general opined that the state 
could not deny a state-funded program to one group of 
otherwise eligible individuals and not another. To do so 
would violate the equal protection clause of the U.S. 
Constitution. He asserted that denying the other 
programs (e.g., SMANC) would not be a violation as 
they serve only legal immigrants.  

Background-Court Case 

On November 30, 2009, Greater Hartford Legal 
Aid filed a class action lawsuit alleging that the 
termination of SMANC violated the Equal Protection 
clauses of the state and federal constitutions and asked 
the court to stop the new law from being implemented.  
On December 18, 2009, the Superior Court agreed, 
ruling that the state may not constitutionally terminate 
SMANC benefits, and enjoined DSS from 
implementing the termination.  DSS subsequently 
reinstated benefits and re-opened SMANC to new 
applicants, retroactive to December 1, 2009, the date on 
which the program had been closed. 

§§ 21-29 - CHILDREN’S TRUST FUND 

The act moves the Children’s Trust Fund and its 
16-member council from the Department of Children 
and Families (DCF), where it currently exists for 
administrative purposes, to DSS. It provides that any 
Children’s Trust Fund order, regulation, or contract in 
force on September 1, 2009 remains in force as a DSS 
order, regulation, or contract until it is amended, 
repealed, or superseded. 

The act makes DSS the lead state agency, in 
collaboration with the Children’s Trust Fund Council, 
for community-based, prevention-focused programs and 
activities to strengthen and support families to prevent 
child abuse and neglect. Its responsibilities include: 

1. initiating programs to support families at risk 
of child abuse or neglect, 

2. helping organizations to recognize abuse and 
neglect, 

3. encouraging community safety, 
4. increasing broad-based efforts to prevent abuse 

and neglect, 
5. creating a network of agencies to advance 

abuse and neglect prevention, and 
6. increasing public awareness of abuse and 

neglect issues. 
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In carrying out these responsibilities, DSS must, 
with the guidance of the Trust Fund Council, 
collaborate with state agencies, hospitals, clinics, 
schools, and community service organizations. 

With the council’s advice, the act requires the DSS 
commissioner to fund programs aimed at preventing 
child abuse and neglect and family resource programs. 
It removes the council’s authority to hire an executive 
director and staff. The act makes DSS, with the 
council’s guidance, and subject to available funding, 
responsible for implementing and maintaining programs 
and services, including: 

1. the Nurturing Families Network (NFN), 
2. the Family Empowerment Initiative, 
3. Family School Connection, 
4. The Kinship and Grandparent’s Respite funds, 
5. support services for residents of a respite group 

home for girls, 
6. legal services on behalf of indigent children, 
7. volunteer services, 
8. family development training,  
9. shaken baby syndrome prevention, and 
10. child sexual abuse prevention. 
Not later than 60 days after the act’s passage, the 

DSS commissioner must report to the Appropriations 
and Human Services committees on the integration of 
the department’s new duties. 

Under the act, the DSS commissioner may apply 
for and accept private and federal funds on behalf of the 
department and Trust Fund that are used for child abuse 
and neglect prevention and family resource programs. 
Currently, this can only be done by the Children’s Trust 
Fund. The act substitutes the DSS commissioner for the 
DCF commissioner as the state official who can accept 
gifts on behalf of the Children’s Trust Fund.  

The act revises the duties of the advisory 
commission that monitors the Trust Fund Council’s 
NFN. It requires the commission to ensure that NFN is 
implemented statewide.  (NFN is a no-cost, voluntary 
program that provides information, guidance, and 
assistance to first-time parents through home visits; 
parenting groups; and connections between parents, 
volunteers, and the community.)  Under prior law, NFN 
was composed of several pilot programs operating in 
different areas of the state. 

Along with the Children’s Trust Fund, the act adds 
DSS as an administrator of the Kinship Fund and the 
Grandparents and Relatives Respite funds. Someone 
who is appointed guardian of a child through Superior 
Court and who does not receive foster care payments or 
subsidized guardianship benefits from DCF, can apply 
for grants from these funds through the Probate Court. 

The act requires the DSS commissioner to jointly 
author the council’s annual report to the legislative 
committees on the trust fund’s administration and 
expenditures, including those of the Parent Trust Fund, 

which the council also administers, beginning with its 
July 1, 2010 report.  Under the act, the governor must 
also get a copy of the report. 

§§ 30, 31, 33, 47, 89 - MEDICARE PART D 

Benchmark Plans 

Connecticut’s Medicare Part D recipients can 
choose one of several dozen prescription drug plans to 
pay for their drugs. People who are eligible for both 
Medicare and Medicaid (dually eligible) can get help 
paying for their Part D premiums and co-payments from 
the federal Low-Income Subsidy (LIS) Program. The 
annual federal premium payment is limited-it only 
covers premiums for a “benchmark” prescription plan 
($31.74 per month in 2009). Previously, in practice, if 
the dually eligible person picked a plan with a higher 
premium, DSS paid the difference between the federal 
benchmark payment and the actual premium cost. The 
act requires all full-benefit dually eligible (those for 
whom DSS provides Medicaid coverage for services 
that Medicare does not) individuals to enroll only in one 
of the benchmark plans (currently 12). Benchmark plans 
offer basic Part D coverage with premiums equal to or 
lower than the regional low-income premium subsidy 
amount calculated annually. The act also requires 
ConnPACE applicants and recipients eligible for 
Medicare Part D to enroll in a benchmark plan.  

The law permits the DSS commissioner to be the 
authorized representative to enroll dually eligible and 
ConnPACE recipients in a Part D plan. Under the act, 
he can enroll these individuals in a benchmark plan.    

By law, DSS pays the Part D premiums for 
ConnPACE recipients. (Under PA 09-2, most 
ConnPACE recipients who are Medicare-eligible will 
become eligible for the Medicare Savings Program, 
which makes them automatically eligible for the federal 
LIS.) 

Co-Pays for Dually Eligible 

Under prior law, in addition to paying the 
premiums for the fully dually eligible, DSS also paid all 
their Part D prescription co-payments. (These co-pays 
range from $1.10 to $6 per prescription in 2009 and are 
subsidized by the LIS program.) The act instead 
requires these individuals to pay up to $15 per month in 
co-payments, with DSS paying anything above that.  

ConnPACE-COLA Freeze, Increased Annual Fee, and 
Enrollment Period 

The act freezes the ConnPACE income limit 
(currently $25,100 annually for a single person and 
$33,800 for married couples) until January 1, 2012. 
(These limits are tied to increases in Social Security 
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benefits which, when they occur, take effect on January 
1. There is no Social Security COLA for 2010.). It also 
increases the ConnPACE annual registration fee from 
$30 to $45.  

Beginning October 1, 2009, the act limits new 
applications for ConnPACE to the period between 
November 15 and December 30 of each year. This is the 
same enrollment period that the Medicare Part D 
program uses. But people can apply at other times of the 
year, provided it is within 31 days of either (1) turning 
age 65 or (2) becoming eligible for federal Social 
Security Disability Income (SSDI) or Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI) benefits.  

Repealer 

The act repeals a provision establishing a council to 
advise DSS on the implementation of Medicare Part D. 

§§ 32, 40 - NURSING HOME AND ICF-MR RATE 
FREEZES 

The act freezes at FY 09 levels, the Medicaid rates 
the state pays in FY 10 and FY 11 to nursing homes and 
intermediate care facilities for people with mental 
retardation (ICF-MR). But facilities that would have 
received a lower rate on July 1, 2009 because of their 
interim rate status or agreement with DSS will receive 
that lower rate. 

The act also eliminates fair rent increases to nursing 
home rates in FY 10 and FY 11 except for homes that 
have an approved certificate of need (CON). Existing 
law requires DSS to add a fair rent increase to nursing 
home rates for homes that have undergone a material 
change in circumstances related to fair rent.  

§§ 34, 38-DSS PHARMACY PROGRAMS-PRIOR 
AUTHORIZATION AND PREFERRED DRUG LIST 

Under prior law, the DSS commissioner could 
require prior authorization (PA) for any prescription for 
a drug, including those for which a chemically 
equivalent generic was available and early refills, 
covered by the Medicaid, SAGA, and ConnPACE 
programs. The act codifies practice by (1) specifying 
that this authority applies to drugs prescribed under any 
medical assistance programs DSS administers, which 
could also include the HUSKY B, Charter Oak Health 
Plan, and the Connecticut AIDS Drug Assistance 
Program and (2) applying the PA authority to over-the-
counter drugs. It makes a parallel change in the law 
related to maximum oral dosages of drugs dispensed for 
program clients. 

The act also requires pharmacists to provide a one-
time 14-day supply of drugs requiring prior 
authorization (PA) when a pharmacist is unable to 

obtain the prescribing physician’s authorization when 
the prescription is presented for filling. In prior practice, 
when a DSS drug assistance program client went to the 
pharmacy with a prescription requiring PA, the 
pharmacist could immediately dispense a 30-day supply 
pending receipt of PA. This provision applies both to 
nonpreferred drugs in the classes of drugs included on 
DSS’ preferred drug list (PDL) and drugs in classes not 
on the PDL.  

By law, if PA is not granted or is denied within two 
hours of its request from DSS, it is deemed approved. 
The act requires the commissioner to process PA 
requests within two hours of receiving them.  

 
The act also eliminates mental health-related drugs’ 

blanket exemption from the PDL. Instead, it specifies 
that PA is not required for such a drug when it has been 
filled or refilled, in any dosage, at least once in the one-
year period before the client presents a prescription for 
it at the pharmacy.  

The act also removes obsolete language related to 
pharmacy suppliers.  

§ 36 - BENEFIT LEVEL FREEZES IN TFA AND 
SAGA 

The act freezes at FY 09 levels, the benefit levels in 
the TFA and SAGA cash assistance programs in FY 10 
and FY 11.  

§ 37 - STATE SUPPLEMENT PROGRAM BENEFIT 
LEVEL FREEZE 

The act freezes the need standards in the State 
Supplement Program (SSP) at FY 09 levels for FY 10 
and FY 11. The SSP provides supplemental cash 
assistance to aged, blind, and disabled people receiving 
Social Security or SSI benefits.  

§ 39 - DEFERRAL OF JUNE MEDICAID 
PAYMENTS TO NURSING HOMES 

Beginning in FY 11, the act requires DSS to pay 
nursing homes half of their June Medicaid payment in 
July. Existing law required this arrangement for fiscal 
years 1992 through 2007.  

§§ 35, 41, 42 - RATE FREEZES FOR RESIDENTIAL 
CARE HOMES AND FACILITIES AND NEW 
HORIZONS, INC.  

The act freezes at FY 09 levels, the rate the state 
pays in FY 10 and FY 11 to residential care homes, 
private residential facilities, and New Horizons, Inc. (a 
state-subsidized, independent living facility in 
Farmington for people with severe physical disabilities). 
But facilities that would have received a lower rate on 
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July 1, 2009 because of their interim rate status or 
agreement with DSS will receive that lower rate. The 
act allows the commissioner to increase a facility’s rate 
for reasonable costs associated with the facility’s 
compliance with its provisions (§44) regarding 
certification of unlicensed personnel who administer 
medication to residents. Existing law requires DSS to 
determine rates for these facilities annually.  

§ 43 - SMALL HOUSE NURSING HOMES 

By law, the DSS commissioner must establish a 
Small House Nursing Home pilot program, within 
existing appropriations, to help develop up to 10 such 
homes in the state. The act prohibits him from 
approving more than one project under the pilot through 
June 30, 2011 and limits the project to 280 beds.  

The act requires the commissioner, before 
approving proposals, to consult with and receive 
approval from the Office of Policy and Management 
(OPM) secretary. Previously, he had to consult only 
with the Long-Term Care Planning Committee. The act 
also allows, rather than requires, him to approve up to 
10 proposals. And it removes the requirement that two 
of the 10 proposals selected must develop a small house 
nursing home in a distressed municipality with more 
than 100,000 people. It instead allows the commissioner 
to give preference to such proposals.  

§ 44 - MEDICATION ADMINISTRATION BY 
UNLICENSED PERSONNEL IN RESIDENTIAL 
CARE HOMES (RCH) 

The act requires the Department of Public Health 
(DPH) commissioner to revise regulations governing 
medication administration by unlicensed personnel in 
RCHs that admit residents requiring medication 
administration assistance to include the following: 

1. the requirement that each RCH designate 
unlicensed personnel to obtain certification and 
ensure that they do;  

2. criteria homes must use to determine the 
appropriate number of unlicensed personnel 
who will obtain certification; and  

3. required training in identifying the types of 
medication that unlicensed personnel can 
administer. 

It also requires that by January 1, 2010, each RCH 
ensure that the number of unlicensed personnel it 
determined appropriate actually obtain certification to 
administer medication. Once certified, they can 
administer medication, except by injection, to RCH 
residents unless a resident’s physician specifies that a 
medication be administered only by licensed personnel.  

The act permits the DPH commissioner to 
implement policies and procedures to administer the 

provisions of this section while in the process of 
adopting them in regulation, provided notice is 
published in the Connecticut Law Journal no later than 
20 days after they are implemented. The policies and 
procedures are valid until final regulations are adopted.  

Existing law requires the commissioner to establish 
regulations allowing unlicensed personnel in RCHs to 
obtain certification to administer medication. The 
regulations must establish on-going training 
requirements, including initial orientation, residents’ 
rights, behavioral management, personal care, nutrition 
and food safety, and general health and safety.   

§§ 45, 46 - CAPIAS OFFICERS FOR CHILD 
SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT 

The act increases, from four to six, the number of 
capias officers the commissioner of public safety may 
appoint as special policemen in the DSS Bureau of 
Child Support Enforcement to bring people into court in 
child support matters.  

PA 09-3 requires the DSS commissioner to forward 
to a state marshal for service any subpoena, summons, 
warrant, or court order related to proceedings that he 
initiated, provided none of these documents has had 
action taken on it within the past 14 days and the 
underlying proceedings remain unresolved. The act 
eliminates this requirement.  

To reduce any backlog, PA 09-3 also requires the 
commissioner, beginning October 1, 2009 and monthly 
thereafter, to forward to the marshals no more than 150 
of these legal documents when no action has been taken 
within 30 days. This act (1) increases the time frame to 
60 days and (2) requires the marshals to return the 
documents to DSS within two business days.  

The act also makes a technical change. 

§§ 48, 49 - PRIOR AUTHORIZATION FOR 
NONEMERGENCY DENTAL SERVICES FOR DSS 
CLIENTS 

The act subjects certain nonemergency dental 
services provided under DSS’ dental program (the 
Connecticut Dental Health Partnership) to PA. It also 
requires the DSS commissioner, at least quarterly, to 
retrospectively review payments for emergency dental 
services and restoration procedures for appropriateness 
of payment and allows him to recoup payments for 
services determined not to be for an emergency 
condition or that otherwise exceed what is medically 
necessary.  

The act defines an “emergency condition” as a 
dental condition that manifests itself in acute symptoms, 
including severe pain, that leads a prudent layperson 
with an average knowledge of health and medicine to 
reasonably expect that not getting immediate dental 
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attention would result in (1) placing the health of the 
individual, or the health of a pregnant woman’s unborn 
fetus, in serious jeopardy; (2) cause serious impairment 
to body functions; or (3) cause serious dysfunction of 
any body organ or part. 

The act removes a provision requiring the DSS 
commissioner to review eliminating PA for basic and 
routine dental services before implementing a statewide 
dental plan. Instead, it specifies that nonemergency 
services, including diagnoses, prevention, basic 
restoration, and nonsurgical extractions that are 
consistent with standard and reasonable dental practices 
must be exempt from PA.  

The act allows the DSS commissioner to implement 
policies and procedures needed to carry out these 
provisions while in the process of adopting them in 
regulation. He must print notice of intent to publish the 
regulations in the Connecticut Law Journal within 20 
days of implementing them. The policies and 
procedures are valid until final regulations are adopted. 

Since late 2008, all DSS-funded dental services 
have been provided through the Partnership. Previously, 
dental services were provided either on a fee-for-service 
basis or through the HUSKY managed care contracts.  

§ 50 - LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT OF MEDICAID 
STATE PLAN AMENDMENTS 

The act requires the DSS commissioner to submit 
notice of any proposed amendment to the Medicaid 
State Plan to the Human Services and Appropriations 
committees before submitting it to the federal 
government.  

§ 51 - CARE 4 KIDS PROGRAM REPORTING 
REQUIREMENTS 

Federal law requires the DSS commissioner to 
submit a Child Care and Development Fund Plan to the 
federal Administration for Children and Families 
(ACF). The act requires the commissioner to submit a 
copy of the plan to the Human Services and 
Appropriations committees within 30 days after 
submission to ACF.  

§§ 52-54 - DSS FALL PREVENTION PROGRAM 
ESTABLISHED 

The act requires DSS, within available 
appropriations, to establish a fall prevention program 
targeted at older adults. The program must promote and 
support fall prevention research; oversee research and 
demonstration projects; and establish, in consultation 
with the DPH commissioner, a professional education 
program on fall prevention for healthcare providers.  

Research Promotion and Support 

The fall prevention program must promote and 
support research to: 

1. improve the identification, diagnosis, 
treatment, and rehabilitation of older adults and 
others with a high risk of falling; 

2. improve data collection and analysis to identify 
fall risk factors and factors that reduce the 
likelihood of falls; 

3. design, implement, and evaluate the most 
effective fall prevention interventions; 

4. improve intervention strategies proven 
effective in reducing falls by tailoring them to 
specific older adult populations; 

5. maximize the dissemination of proven, 
effective fall prevention interventions; 

6. assess the risk of falls in various settings; 
7. identify barriers to adopting proven fall 

prevention interventions for older adults; 
8. develop, implement, and evaluate the most 

effective approaches to reducing falls among 
high-risk older adults living in communities 
and long-term care and assisted living 
facilities; and 

9. evaluate the effectiveness of community fall 
prevention programs.  

Research and Demonstration Projects 

Under the fall prevention program, DSS must 
oversee and support research and demonstration projects 
carried out by qualified organizations, institutions, or 
consortia of such entities in the following areas: 

1. targeted fall risk screening and referral 
programs; 

2. programs designed for older adults living in the 
community that use fall intervention 
approaches including physical activity, 
medication assessment, medication reduction 
when possible, vision enhancement, and home-
modification strategies; 

3. programs targeting new fall victims at risk for 
second falls and designed to maximize 
independence and quality of life for older 
adults, especially those with functional 
limitations; and  

4. private sector and public-private partnerships 
to develop technology to prevent falls among 
older adults and prevent or reduce injuries after 
falls.  

Grants, Contracts, and Cooperative Agreements 

The act requires DSS to award grants, contracts, or 
cooperative agreements to qualified organizations, 
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institutions, or consortia of qualified entities to design, 
implement, and evaluate fall prevention programs using 
proven intervention strategies in residential and 
institutional settings.  

Professional Education Program 

The act requires DSS, in consultation with the DPH 
commissioner, to establish an education program in fall 
prevention, evaluation, and management for physicians, 
allied health professionals, and other healthcare 
providers serving the elderly. The DSS commissioner 
may contract to establish the program through (1) a 
request for proposal process, (2) a competitive grant 
program, or (3) cooperative agreements with qualified 
entities.  

Insurance Fund 

Connecticut insurance companies and hospital and 
medical service corporations annually pay the insurance 
commissioner the actual expenditures, including fringe 
benefits and capital equipment purchases, of the 
Insurance Department and the Office of Health Care 
Advocate. The commissioner deposits these payments 
in the Insurance Fund.  

The act requires the Insurance Fund to pay for the 
DSS fall prevention program and adds the program’s 
appropriation to the annual operating assessment these 
insurers pay. It requires the insurance commissioner and 
the Office of Health Care Advocate to include the 
program’s appropriation in the annual written statement 
of the fund’s assessments and expenditures they provide 
to insurers.  

If the fall prevention program’s expenditures are 
less than the amount allocated, the DSS commissioner 
must notify the insurance commissioner and the 
healthcare advocate. By law, these officials must 
annually recalculate their assessment after the close of 
the fiscal year and send each insurer a written statement 
by July 31st showing the difference between the 
recalculated amount and what the insurer already paid. 
By August 31st, the commissioner and healthcare 
advocate must make any necessary adjustments and 
render an adjusted assessment to the affected insurers.  

§ 55 - MEDICAID COVERAGE FOR SAGA AND 
CHARTER OAK HEALTH PLAN; FEDERALLY 
QUALIFIED HEALTH CENTERS SERVICE 
DELIVERY 

By law, DSS was supposed to apply for a federal 
waiver, by January 1, 2008, to get Medicaid to pay for 
the state-funded SAGA medical assistance program 
(essentially making this population a Medicaid coverage 
group). It never did.  

Under the act, if the commissioner fails to submit 
the waiver application to the Human Services and 
Appropriations committees by February 1, 2010, he 
must submit a written report to them by the next day 
that includes (1) an explanation why he has not sought 
the waiver and (2) an estimate of the fiscal impact in 
one calendar year that would result from the waiver’s 
approval.  

In the SAGA medical assistance program, health 
care is generally provided by the state’s network of 
federally qualified health centers (FQHC) with which 
DSS contracts. The act specifies that once the waiver is 
approved, the DSS commissioner may provide, or may 
require a contractor, FQHC, or other provider to provide 
coverage for home care, school-based, or other 
outpatient community-based services when he has 
determined that this would be cost effective.  

The commissioner must contract with FQHCs or 
other primary care providers as needed, to provide these 
services to “eligible” SAGA recipients. The act further 
provides that DSS, within available appropriations, must 
pay FQHCs for these services when the FQHC provides 
them. This conforms statute to current practice. 

 
The act also eliminates a provision that would have 

extended medical assistance eligibility to anyone with 
income up to 100% of the federal poverty level (FPL) if 
the waiver was granted. Currently, income eligibility for 
SAGA is just under 60% of the FPL but when a 
disregard of earned income is included, that income 
limit rises to a little over 70% of the FPL.  

§ 56 - INTERPRETER SERVICES UNDER 
MEDICAID 

Medicaid State Plan Amendment 

The act establishes a February 1, 2011 deadline for 
the DSS commissioner to amend the Medicaid state plan 
to include as a Medicaid “covered service” foreign 
language interpreter services provided to any 
beneficiary with limited English proficiency. PA 07-185 
directed the commissioner to amend the state plan; PA 
08-1 required him to expedite amending the plan by 
June 30, 2009. The commissioner has not amended the 
plan.  

Medical Billing Codes for Medicaid Interpreter Services 

The act also requires the commissioner, by 
February 1, 2011, to develop and implement the use of 
medical billing codes for foreign language interpreter 
services for the HUSKY Part A and B and fee-for-
service Medicaid programs. It requires each managed 
care organization that contracts with DSS to provide 
interpreter services under HUSKY Part A to submit 
semiannual reports to DSS (by June 1st and December 
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31st) on the interpreter services they provided. Within 
30 days of receiving the report, DSS must submit a copy 
to the Medicaid Managed Care Council.  

Medicaid Coverage of Interpreter Services 

Federal Medicaid law allows states to receive 
federal matching funds for limited English proficiency 
(LEP) interpreters either by designating them as (1) a 
covered state plan service or (2) an administrative cost. 
In Connecticut, the matching rate is 50% of the state's 
cost for providing the interpreters.  

 
As a covered service, it would be reimbursed as 

part of another service provided. For example, if a 
physician bills for a service and also provides interpreter 
services, the state would reimburse him or her more 
than if just medical service had been provided. And the 
federal government would reimburse the state for half of 
these costs.  

As an administrative expense, the state could either 
pay translators directly or contract with medical 
providers and bill the federal government for the match 
along with any other administrative costs for which it 
would normally bill.  

Currently, DSS does not pay for medical interpreter 
services for Medicaid fee-for-service clients. Managed 
care plans serving HUSKY clients have a contractual 
obligation (based on federal requirements) to provide 
interpreters, and their capitation payments include the 
costs of doing so. DSS receives a 50% federal match for 
the capitation payments, but the interpreter services are 
not separated.  

Making interpreters a state plan service entitles any 
Medicaid recipient to it if it is deemed necessary, as 
with any other service DSS includes in its Medicaid 
state plan. 

§§ 57, 58 - HUSKY PERFORMANCE; MEDICAID 
MANAGED CARE COUNCIL 

The act requires the DSS commissioner, within 
available appropriations and in collaboration with the 
Medicaid Managed Care Council, to prepare annually a 
report about “health care choices” under the HUSKY A 
program. The report, at a minimum, must compare the 
performance of each managed care organization 
(presumably those serving HUSKY A clients), the 
primary care case management (PCCM) pilot program, 
and other service delivery choices. The commissioner 
must provide a copy of each report to all HUSKY A 
recipients.  

The act also requires the council to make 
recommendations regarding the HUSKY A PCCM pilot 
program, in addition to its existing charge.  

 

It allows the commissioner or the council, in 
consultation with an educational institution, to apply for 
available funding, including federal funds, to support 
Medicaid managed care programs.  

And it changes the council’s composition. 
Previously, two community providers of health care 
appointed by the Senate president pro tempore sat on 
the council. Under the act, the Senate president pro 
tempore must appoint a representative of each HUSKY 
managed care organization (MCO) and a representative 
of a PCCM provider. Currently, three MCOs serve 
HUSKY recipients.  

§ 59 - SUPPLEMENTAL NUTRITION ASSISTANCE 
PROGRAM (SNAP) EMPLOYMENT AND 
TRAINING PROGRAM 

The act allows any regional community-technical 
college participating in the SNAP (formerly known as 
Food Stamps) Employment and Training program 
through a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with 
DSS entered into before October 1, 2008 to retain all 
federal matching funds provided for in the MOU until it 
expires.  

By law, DSS may use part of the optional federal 
matching funds it receives through the program to pay 
for its operational and administrative costs. The 
remaining funds must be used for poverty reduction 
strategies and distributed as follows: 

1. 75%, on a pro rata basis, to SNAP 
Employment and Training providers whose 
expenditures generated the funds; and  

2. 25% to SNAP Employment and Training 
community collaboratives (local consortiums 
of public and private providers) to implement 
poverty reduction strategies. 

The federal SNAP Employment and Training 
program provides employment and training activities, 
support services, and other programs and services to 
food stamp participants. It has two components: (1) 
100% federal administrative grants and (2) optional 
50% federal matching funds. 

§ 60 - ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES FOR 
ELDERLY AND DISABLED MEDICAID 
RECIPIENTS  

The act requires the DSS commissioner to contract 
with one or more entities, either on a risk or non-risk 
basis, to provide administrative services to elderly and 
disabled Medicaid recipients, including those (1) dually 
eligible for Medicare or (2) enrolled in dually eligible 
special needs plans. The entities may provide care 
coordination, utilization management, disease 
management, provider network management, quality 
management, customer, and other services.  
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The act allows the DSS commissioner to implement 
policies and procedures needed to carry out these 
provisions while in the process of adopting them in 
regulation. He must print notice of intent to adopt the 
regulations in the Connecticut Law Journal within 20 
days of implementing them. The policies and 
procedures are valid until final regulations are adopted. 

The commissioner must report to the Medicaid 
Managed Care Council within 30 days of making any 
policy change concerning this initiative. 

§ 61 - SCHOOL-BASED CHILD HEALTH 
PROGRAM 

Federal law requires local education agencies 
(LEA) to identify all children with disabilities who are 
in need of special education and “related” services. The 
LEAs must provide the related services, and Medicaid 
provides federal reimbursement (DSS, through the 
School-Based Child Health Program, bills Medicaid for 
100% of what the LEA spends, keeps one half of the 
reimbursement, and passes the other half to the LEA).  

The act requires the DSS commissioner, beginning 
with FY 09, to exclude any enhanced federal medical 
assistance percentages (FMAP) in calculating the 
federal portion of the Medicaid claims for this program. 
Before the federal stimulus legislation passed in 2009, 
the federal match or FMAP was 50%, which meant for 
every $1 the state (or in this program the LEA) spent on 
Medicaid services the federal government reimbursed 
the state $.50. The stimulus temporarily increased the 
FMAP by 12%, which raised Connecticut’s match from 
50% to 62%.  

§ 62 - FAMILY PLANNING MEDICAID WAIVER 

PA 05-120 directed the DSS commissioner to apply 
for a family planning waiver for adults in households 
with income up to 185% of the FPL who are not 
otherwise eligible for Medicaid. The act requires the 
commissioner, if he does not apply by February 1, 2010, 
to submit a written report to the Human Services and 
Appropriations committees by the next day (1) 
explaining why he did not seek the waiver and (2) 
estimating the fiscal impact that would result in one 
calendar year from the waiver approval.  

§ 63 - HIV AND AIDS MEDICAID WAIVER 

The act requires the DSS commissioner, by 
February 1, 2010, to apply for a 1915(c) home- and 
community-based services Medicaid waiver to develop 
and implement a program providing such services to up 
to 100 Medicaid beneficiaries who (1) have tested 
positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or 
have acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) and 

(2) would remain Medicaid-eligible if admitted to a 
hospital, nursing home, or ICF-MR or would require 
Medicaid-covered care in these facilities without the 
waiver. The act provides that an individual who meets 
these requirements is eligible to receive services 
deemed necessary by the commissioner to meet his or 
her needs in order to avoid institutionalization.  

If the commissioner does not apply by the deadline, 
he must submit a written report to the Human Services 
and Appropriations committees by February 2, 2010 (1) 
explaining why he did not seek the waiver and (2) 
estimating the fiscal impact in one calendar year that 
would result from the waiver approval. 

§ 65 - DEFERRAL OF JUNE PAYMENTS HUSKY 
MCOS 

The act allows the DSS commissioner to pay 
certain managed care plan Medicaid bills due in June 
2011 no later than July 31, 2011. 

§ 66 - COST SHARING UNDER CHCPE 

The act establishes new cost-sharing requirements 
for participants in the state-funded portion of the 
Connecticut Homecare Programs for Elders (CHCPE). 
Under prior law, a state-funded participant had to 
contribute to the cost of care only if his or her income 
exceeded 200% of the FPL. Cost-sharing amounts were 
determined individually based on DSS’s cost-sharing 
methodology for medical assistance recipients. 
Generally, DSS considers a participant’s income, 
medical insurance premiums paid, and other allowable 
deductions; any remaining income must be paid toward 
the cost of care.  

The act requires any state-funded participant with 
income up to 200% of the FPL to contribute 15% of the 
cost of his or her care. A participant whose income 
exceeds 200% FPL must contribute 15% of the cost of 
care plus the applied income contributed under DSS’s 
existing methodology.  

The act exempts from these cost-sharing 
requirements certain people living in affordable housing 
under the state’s assisted living demonstration program. 
For these people, cost-sharing is required only if their  
income exceeds 200% of the FPL. Cost-sharing 
amounts are determined by DSS’s existing cost-sharing 
methodology.  

Under the act, anyone who is required to contribute 
to the cost of care and does not do so is ineligible to 
receive program services. For participants living in 
affordable housing, this provision applies only to those 
whose income exceeds 200% FPL. The act further 
provides that DSS is not required to provide an 
administrative hearing to a person determined ineligible 
for services because of failure to contribute to the cost 
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of care.  

§ 67 - BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR DISABILITY 
DETERMINATION SERVICES NEW HIRES 

The act requires the DSS commissioner to ask 
about the criminal history of any applicant (except 
current DSS employees) for a position with its 
Disability Determination Services Unit. The inquiry 
process must follow the state law restricting an 
employer’s right to ask an applicant to disclose 
information about erased criminal records.  

Under the act, the commissioner must require each 
applicant to state (1) whether he or she has ever been 
convicted of a crime, (2) if there are any pending 
criminal charges against him or her at the time of 
application, and (3) if applicable, to identify any such 
charges and the court in which they are pending. If the 
applicant is offered a position in the unit, he or she must 
submit to fingerprinting and a state and national 
criminal history records check through the State Police 
Bureau of Identification. 

In October 2008, the federal Social Security 
Administration amended its Program Operations 
Manual System (POMS) to include the minimum 
requirement that states conduct a statewide criminal 
background check for new hires in disability 
determination services units.  

§ 68 - EMERGENCY PLACEMENT BACKGROUND 
CHECKS 

The act conforms law to current practice by 
authorizing DCF to request an instant federal name-
based criminal history search from a criminal justice 
agency for anyone living in the home where a child has 
been placed as a result of the sudden unavailability of 
his or her primary caretaker. These emergency 
placements include private homes of the child’s 
neighbors, friends, or relatives.  

Within 15 calendar days after the name-based 
search is performed, DCF must ask the State Police 
Bureau of Identification to perform a state and national 
criminal history records check of anyone living in the 
home. If a person refuses to provide fingerprints or 
other identifying information, DCF must immediately 
remove the child from the home. 

If DCF denies emergency placement or removes a 
child from a home based on the results of the federal 
name-based criminal history search, the subject has the 
right to contest the denial or removal by requesting a 
full criminal history records check.  

§ 69 - SUBSIDIZED GUARDIANSHIP PROGRAM 

The act gives DCF greater flexibility to alter its 
subsidized relative guardianship program by eliminating 

most statutory requirements and generalizing the 
department’s authority to issue and modify regulations. 
This change streamlines the process for altering 
program requirements by regulation rather than by 
statutory amendment when federal reimbursement 
requirements change. Under the act, the DCF 
commissioner must seek all federal reimbursements 
necessary and appropriate, and DCF’s regulations must 
include all federal requirements necessary to maximize 
federal reimbursement available to the state. 

It also: 
1. requires the DCF commissioner to consider, in 

determining whether taking care of a related 
child qualifies the caretaker for subsidies, the 
child’s suitability for adoption, rather than only 
that reunification with his or her parent is not a 
viable option;  

2. alters how long a relative must care for a child 
before becoming eligible for subsidies;  

3. changes how subsidy amounts and benefit 
levels are set; and 

4. establishes a method for transferring subsidies 
to another relative when the original caretaker 
dies or becomes too infirm to continue taking 
care of the child. 

It eliminates a provision that required the DCF 
commissioner to counsel a relative caregiver who might 
be able to adopt the child about the advantages of 
adoption and subsidized guardianship. 

Regulatory Changes 

Under prior law,  DCF regulations had to  set 
criteria for (1) qualifying relative caregivers for 
subsidies on behalf of children who are not related to 
them but are siblings, half-siblings, or step-siblings of a 
child on behalf of whom they are receiving subsidies; 
(2) home studies and subsidy amounts and types; and 
(3) appeal procedures. Under the act, they must, instead, 
cover (1) program eligibility criteria, (2) the maximum 
age at which a child is no longer eligible for subsidies 
and for claiming federal reimbursement, and (3) a 
procedure for determining subsidy types and amounts. 

Statutory Changes 

Previously, DCF had two different guardianship 
programs – one for those who had taken care of a 
related child for at least 18 months, and one that, within 
appropriations, was for those who had taken care of a 
related child for between six and 18 months. The act 
eliminates the second program and modifies the first by 
requiring that care be given for at least six consecutive 
months and that the guardian be a licensed foster parent. 

By law, DCF provides three types of subsidies for 
relatives taking care of children who otherwise would 
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be in non-relative foster homes: (1) lump sum payments 
for one-time expenses resulting from the assumption of 
care for children whose medical conditions, ages, or 
other characteristics make them unlikely to be adopted; 
(2) medical subsidies comparable to the subsidy 
provided to adoptive parents of uninsured children who 
had been in DCF’s care; and (3) monthly subsidies 
equivalent to the prevailing foster care rate. 

 
The act (1) caps lump sum payments at $2,000 and 

(2) requires that the amount of the monthly subsidy be 
based on the caregiver’s circumstances and the child’s 
needs. Nothing in the act prohibits the commissioner 
from continuing to pay guardianship subsidies to 
caregivers according to the terms of subsidy agreements 
written before the act’s passage. 

The act requires that, at a minimum, those qualified 
for subsidies remain eligible until they turn age 18 (or 
age 21 if they are full-time students). The latter change 
allows DCF to continue subsidy payments beyond those 
ages. 

Replacing Guardians 

When a relative caregiver who is receiving a 
guardianship subsidy dies or becomes too infirm to 
continue taking care of a child, the act permits the DCF 
commissioner to transfer the subsidy to a new relative 
caregiver. The new caregiver must meet DCF’s foster 
care safety requirements and be the child’s court-
appointed legal guardian.  

§ 70 - MEDICARE SAVINGS PROGRAM, 
CONNPACE, AND MEDICARE PART D LOW-
INCOME SUBSIDY 

PA 09-2 enables more individuals to qualify for the 
federal Medicare Part D low-income subsidy (LIS) by 
loosening the financial eligibility criteria for the 
federal/state Medicare Savings Program (MSP). MSP 
eligibility automatically makes someone eligible for the 
LIS. It essentially makes the eligibility criteria the same 
as for the ConnPACE program. 

This act explicitly provides that, like ConnPACE, 
there is no asset test for the MSP. And it delays the start 
of the change from July 1, 2008 to the fiscal year ending 
October 1, 2009. (The state fiscal year ends on June 30.) 
PA 09-7, SSS, requires (1) this change to occur 
beginning October 1, 2009 and (2) that it occur annually 
instead of each fiscal year. By law, the MSP income 
disregard increases only when the ConnPACE income 
limits increase.  

§§ 71, 72 - PHARMACY REIMBURSEMENTS AND 
DISPENSING FEES 

The act reduces, from $3.15 to $2.65, the 
dispensing fee DSS pays pharmacies for filling 
prescriptions for Medicaid, ConnPACE, and 
Connecticut AIDS Drug Assistance Program clients. It 
extends this dispensing fee to prescriptions filled by 
SAGA clients. (Starting February 1, 2008, DSS “carved 
out” pharmacy benefits from the SAGA medical 
assistance program. The FQHCs and other providers 
with which DSS contracted to run these programs had 
previously negotiated the pharmacy dispensing fee in a 
separate contract.)  

The act also requires DSS, in consultation with the 
Connecticut Pharmacists Association, to review the 
impact of potential or actual changes in the 
methodologies used in calculating the average 
wholesale price for brand name and generic drugs. This 
review must include the financial impact of any required 
changes in DSS pharmacy reimbursement payments. 
DSS must report on the results of this review by January 
1, 2010. (The act does not direct the report to a specific 
body.)  

Based on the outcome of the review, starting 
January 1, 2010 DSS may, in FY 10, with approval 
from OPM, (1) adjust pharmacy dispensing fees for 
generic and brand named drugs and (2) within available 
appropriations, increase pharmacy dispensing fees or 
reimbursements in order to help participating 
pharmacies experiencing financial hardship due to the 
changes in the methodologies used to calculate Average 
Wholesale Price (AWP). 

§ 73 - PENDING MEDICAID ELIGIBILITY FOR 
NURSING HOME CARE 

The act requires DSS to (1) allocate $300,000 to 
process pending eligibility applications for Medicaid 
recipients residing in nursing homes and (2) report on 
these applications to the Public Health and Human 
Services committees by January 1, 2011.  

§ 74 - PER DIEM RATES FOR INTERMEDIATE 
CARE BEDS IN GENERAL HOSPITALS 

The act allows DSS to amend the Medicaid state 
plan to create a per diem rate for intermediate care beds 
for mentally ill patients in general hospitals.  

§ 75 - EASY BREATHING MODEL IN HUSKY 

The act allows the DSS commissioner to require 
use of the Easy Breathing model in the HUSKY 
program. This model helps primary care physicians 
diagnose asthma and prescribe treatment based on the 
severity of the patient’s condition. It has been shown to 
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reduce hospitalizations and urgent care visits. 

§ 76 - PILOT PROGRAM OF MANAGED CARE FOR 
OAK HILL CLIENTS 

The act permits DSS, to the extent federal law 
allows, to amend the Medicaid state plan to establish a 
voluntary managed care pilot program for 500 people 
served by Oak Hill-The Connecticut Institute for the 
Blind, Inc. who are also eligible for Medicare (dually 
eligible). The pilot must be designed to demonstrate the 
feasibility and cost effectiveness of delivering 
comprehensive health care coverage in a managed care 
setting. (Currently, these individuals receive their 
Medicaid services on a fee-for-service basis.) The act 
allows the commissioner to (1) include optional 
Medicaid services that the state is not covering on the 
date the act passes and (2) make other modifications to 

the “state medical assistance program” (presumably 
Medicaid) to encourage participation in the pilot. 

§ 77 - ADULT DAY CENTERS 

Effective July 1, 2009, the act requires DSS, subject 
to available appropriations, to increase the 
reimbursement rate paid to adult date care service 
providers under the CHCPE by an annualized rate equal 
to $700,000.  

§ 79 - MODIFIED APPROPRIATIONS FOR 
MEDICAID, HUSKY AND OTHER EXPENSES 

The act revises the budget adopted in PA 09-3, JSS by 
appropriating the following amounts to DSS: 
 

 
 

Table 1: Modified Appropriations for Husky, Medicaid, and Other Expenses 

FY 10 FY 11  
PA 09-3 Modified 

Appropriation 
PA 09-3 Modified 

Appropriation 
Other 
Expenses 

$88,148,799 $89,148,799 $89,398,799 $89,398,799 

HUSKY 
Program 

$46,061,200 $34,761,200 $48,213,900 $36,463,900 

Medicaid $3,837,084,700 $3,847,384,700 $3,684,069,974 $3,694,819,974 
 
 

§§ 80-81 - LOW-INCOME ENERGY ADVISORY 
BOARD 

By law, DSS must submit an annual plan and two 
annual reports regarding the federal Low-Income Home 
Energy Assistance Program block grant to the 
Appropriations, Energy and Technology, and Human 
Services committees by specified deadlines. The act 
requires DSS to submit these documents to the Low-
Income Energy Advisory Board at least seven days 
before submitting them to the committees. The plan sets 
eligibility criteria for energy and weatherization 
assistance and describes program outreach efforts, 
among other things. The reports describe such things as 
(1) the number of households who apply for and receive 
assistance, (2) expenditures by type of assistance, and 
(3) the types of weatherization provided.  

The act expands the board’s responsibilities to 
include making recommendations to the legislature on 
administering the block grant program. 

§ 82 - ENERGY ASSISTANCE 

PA 09-3, JSS carries forward funds appropriated to 
OPM in 2008 to provide money to Operation Fuel, 
Incorporated to expand its emergency energy assistance 
program. Under that act, Operation Fuel must use the 
money during FY 10 to help households with incomes 
between 150% and 200% of the FPL that cannot pay 
their electric, gas, or deliverable fuels (e.g., heating oil) 
bills on time. This act specifies that this assistance can 
be provided regardless of whether these are the 
household’s primary or secondary energy sources, e.g., 
the assistance can be used to help pay electric bills for a 
household that uses electric space heaters to supplement 
its oil or gas furnace. 

§ 83 - MEDICARE PART D REFERRAL PROCESS 
FOR DUALLY ELIGIBLES 

The act requires DSS, within available 
appropriations, to contract with (1) the Center for 
Medicare Advocacy (CMA) to provide assistance with 
Medicare Part D Plan appeals relating to medically 
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necessary prescription denials and (2) a pharmacy 
association or pharmacist to help clients choose a 
Medicare Part D Plan that best meets their needs. 

Prior law required the DSS commissioner to report, 
by December 1, 2009, to the Appropriations and Human 
Services committees on its nonformulary exception 
review and appeal process for dually eligible Medicaid 
clients. The report had to include an explanation of (1) 
the department’s revised process for determining the 
medical necessity of a nonformulary drug before it pays 
for it, (2) the conditions under which DSS pursues an 
appeal with private plans, and (3) the criteria for making 
a referral to CMA for further appeals.  

 
Instead of submitting this report, the act requires 

the commissioner to provide these committees with a 
plan concerning its referral process for dually eligible 
clients. The plan, which must be submitted by 
December 1, 2009, must include providing information 
to clients about appeal rights and assistance available 
from CMA. 

§§ 84, 85 - LONG-TERM CARE REINVESTMENT 
ACCOUNT 

To the extent federal law permits, the act 
postpones, from July 1, 2009 to July 1, 2011, the 
establishment of a nonlapsing, long-term care 
reinvestment General Fund account to hold the 
enhanced federal matching funds the state receives for 
the federal Money Follows the Person (MFP) 
demonstration program. Consequently, MFP funds will 
go into the General Fund for use without restriction.  

The act also postpones, from January 1, 2010 to 
January 1, 2012, the date by which the DSS 
commissioner must begin reporting annually on 
expenditures from the MFP account to the Human 
Services and Appropriations committees. 

§ 86 - NURSING HOME FINANCIAL ADVISORY 
COMMITTEE 

The act removes the director of the Office of Fiscal 
Analysis from the Nursing Home Financial Advisory 
Committee’s membership. It also designates as the 
representatives of the nonprofit and for-profit nursing 
home industries: the executive director of the 
Connecticut Association of Not-for-Profit Providers for 
the Aging and the executive director of the Connecticut 
Association of Health Care Facilities, or their designees. 
The DSS and DPH commissioners, the OPM secretary, 
and the executive director of the Connecticut Health and 
Educational Facilities Authority, or their designees, 
remain committee members. The bill also removes the 
current requirement that vacancies be filled by the 
appointing authority. 

The act requires the committee to recommend 
appropriate action to the DPH commissioner, as it must 
currently do for the DSS commissioner, when it 
receives a report relating to nursing homes' financial 
solvency and quality of care. It requires the DSS 
commissioner to submit quarterly reports to the 
committee concerning any nursing home's pending 
interim rate request. These reports must (without 
identifying a facility by name) list the amount of each 
requested increase, the reason for the request, and the 
resulting rate if the request is granted.  

Starting January 1, 2010, the act requires the 
committee to report annually on its activities to the 
Appropriations Committee, as well as the Human 
Services, Public Health, and Aging committees. And 
starting January 1, 2010, the committee must also meet 
quarterly with the chairpersons and ranking members of 
the Appropriations, Human Services, and Public Health 
Committees and the long-term care ombudsman to 
discuss its activities.  

§ 87 - MONEY FOLLOWS THE PERSON 

The act postpones, from January 1, 2009 to January 
1, 2012 the date by which the DSS commissioner must 
submit a plan to implement the MFP II demonstration 
program to the Human Services and Appropriations 
committees. It also delays the program’s 
implementation date from July 1, 2009 to July 1, 2012.  

The federal MFP demonstration program is a five-
year program that permits states to move individuals out 
of nursing homes and other institutional settings into 
less-restrictive, community-based settings. PA 08-180 
required DSS to develop and implement a 
demonstration program similar to MFP. This program, 
referred to as “MFP II,” must provide home- and 
community-based long-term care services to adults (age 
18 and older) who (1) are institutionalized or at risk of 
institutionalization and (2) meet the CHCPE financial 
and level of care eligibility criteria established in 
regulations. MFP II was created to allow adults who do 
not meet MFP's federally mandated six-month 
institutionalization requirement to receive similar 
services. 

§ 88 - ASSISTED LIVING SERVICES  

By law, the Department of Economic and 
Community Development commissioner established an 
assisted living demonstration program for low- and 
moderate-income seniors living in four government 
subsidized elderly housing locations. 

Notwithstanding this program, the act allows the 
commissioner, in consultation with the DSS 
commissioner and the OPM secretary, to designate an 
additional federal Department of Housing and Urban 
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Development Section 202 or Section 236 elderly 
housing development that is licensed to provide assisted 
living services to individuals otherwise eligible to 
receive these services under the CHCPE.  
 
 
PA 09-6, September 2009 Special Session-SB 2053 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE PROVISIONS 
OF THE BUDGET CONCERNING EDUCATION, 
AUTHORIZING STATE GRANT 
COMMITMENTS FOR SCHOOL BUILDING 
PROJECTS, AND MAKING CHANGES TO THE 
STATUTES CONCERNING SCHOOL BUILDING 
PROJECTS AND OTHER EDUCATION 
STATUTES 

SUMMARY: This act approves grant commitments for 
local school construction projects and makes various 
changes in statutes relating to school construction 
projects.  It also adopts provisions to implement the FY 
10-11 state budget relating to education and education 
grants.  Finally, it makes changes in education statutes 
dealing with, among other things: 

1. interdistrict magnet schools;  
2. early childhood education and school readiness 

programs;  
3. an education and mentoring program for 

beginning teachers;  
4. substitute teachers;  
5. school dropouts;  
6. in-school suspension; and  
7. the Connecticut Independent College Student 

grant. 
8. A section-by-section analysis appears below. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 1 - SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION PROJECT GRANT 
COMMITMENTS 

The act authorizes $398.5 million in state grant 
commitments for school construction projects, including 
increased grants for reauthorized projects that have 
changed in cost or scope by at least 10%.  

It approves state grant commitments for school 
construction projects on the education commissioner’s 
2009 project priority list. It authorizes new grants for 18 
school projects and grant increases for 21 previously 
authorized projects that have changed by more than 
10% in cost or scope. Grant commitments for new 
projects total $247.3 million. The net increase in grant 
commitments for reauthorized projects is $151.2 
million.  

§ 2 - MAGNET SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION 
MORATORIUM 

Starting July 1, 2009, the act bars the education 
commissioner from accepting applications for state 
school construction grants for new interdistrict magnet 
schools. The moratorium does not apply to magnet 
schools that help the state meet the goals of the 2008 
Sheff v. O’Neill settlement, as determined by the 
commissioner. The moratorium lasts until the 
commissioner develops a comprehensive statewide 
magnet school plan.  The commissioner must submit the 
plan to the Education Committee by January 1, 2011. 

§ 3 - LIMIT ON CONSTRUCTION CHANGE 
ORDERS 

For school projects authorized after July 1, 2009 
and costing more than $10 million, the act bars state 
reimbursement for construction change orders and other 
change directives that exceed 5% of the project’s total 
authorized cost. Under prior law, change orders 
exceeding 5% of the authorized cost of such projects 
were reimbursed at 50% of the otherwise eligible 
amount.  

A change order is an amendment to a school 
construction project that does not have to be publicly 
bid but must be approved in advance by the State 
Department of Education (SDE). SDE guidelines state 
that districts should use change orders only for 
unforeseen or emergency conditions and that such 
changes should total no more than 10% of the original 
project price. Changes that exceed 10% require 
legislative reauthorization. 

§ 4 - DUPLICATIVE SCHOOL PROJECTS 

The act allows the education commissioner to reject 
an application for a local school construction project if 
the project’s proposed educational specifications or 
theme duplicates a program offered at a vocational-
technical school or interdistrict magnet school in the 
same region. 

§ 5 - REIMBURSEMENT FOR DELAYED SCHOOL 
CONSTRUCTION GRANT PAYMENTS 

The act requires the state to reimburse school 
districts for their costs for short-term borrowing to cover 
state school construction grant payments that were 
delayed because state bond funds for the payments were 
unavailable.  To be eligible for reimbursement, a district 
must have submitted a grant payment request that was 
approved by the SDE between July 1 and December 31, 
2009.  

Reimbursement must equal 100% of a district’s 
reasonable fees, interest, and other costs or lost income 
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related to district borrowing to cover school 
construction project costs otherwise payable by the 
state. These include costs attributable to shifting money 
previously budgeted for, or allocated to, another 
purpose or diverted from a reserve fund to cover school 
construction project expenses. The act sets the interest 
rate for costs attributable to such shifting at the state 
Short Term Investment Fund’s interest rate payable for 
the period during FY 10 that bond funds to pay state 
grants were unavailable. 

Towns must apply to the SDE for reimbursement 
by March 31, 2010.  The education commissioner 
prescribes how districts apply and determines whether 
costs are reasonable.  

The act requires the commissioner to pay 
reimbursement grants from the bond authorization for 
school construction project grants.  As required by IRS 
regulations, to ensure that the bonds funding the 
reimbursement grants qualify as tax-exempt, the act 
establishes as the state’s official intent that (1) the state 
reasonably expects to use the bond proceeds to 
reimburse the costs and expenses the act describes and 
(2) the aggregate reimbursements are not expected to 

exceed the total amount of funds the act allows the state 
to spend for the reimbursements.  It authorizes the 
Office of Policy and Management (OPM) secretary and 
the state treasurer to amend the act’s declaration of 
official intent on the state’s behalf. 

The state generally reimburses school districts for 
20% to 80% of the eligible costs for local school 
construction projects (reimbursement rates for certain 
types of projects are higher). State school construction 
grants are funded by state general obligation (GO) 
bonds. Grants are disbursed to school districts in 
“progress payments” that cover ongoing project 
construction expenses. 

§§ 6-17 & 19-21 - WAIVERS FOR SPECIFIC 
SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS 
(“NOTWITHSTANDING” PROVISIONS) 

The act waives certain statutory and regulatory 
requirements to make specified school construction 
projects eligible for state grants under certain 
conditions, as described in Table 1 below.  These 
waivers are referred to as “notwithstanding” provisions. 

 

Table 1:  Notwithstanding Provisions for Local School Projects 

§ District School Project Requirement(s) 
Waived Conditions 

6 West 
Hartford 

Braeburn 
Elementary 
School 

Portable 
classrooms 

Timing of bid and 
plan approval by 
SDE’s Bureau of 
School Facilities  

Bureau approval of 
plans and 
specifications 

7 West 
Hartford 

Hall High School Interior 
modification for 
restroom 
accessibility not 
included in athletic 
field accessibility 
improvements 

Timing of bid and 
plan approval by 
SDE’s Bureau of 
School Facilities  

Bureau approval of 
plans and 
specifications 

8 Manchester New Bentley 
Head Start 
Center School 

Purchase 
playground 
equipment 

Timing of bid and 
plan approval by 
SDE’s Bureau of 
School Facilities  

Bureau approval of 
plans and 
specifications 

9 Manchester Bennet Middle 
School 

Bennet Middle 
School project 

Six-month deadline 
for submitting 
change orders or 
change directives 
 

District may submit 
only change orders 
executed after July 
1, 2008 and before 
July 1, 2009 

10 Groton Fitch High 
School 

Extension and 
alterations 

Timing of bid and 
plan approval by 
SDE’s Bureau of 
School Facilities  

Bureau approval of 
plans and 
specifications 

11 Greenwich Hamilton Avenue 
School 

Demolition and 
abatement 

Timing of bid and 
plan approval by 
SDE’s Bureau of 

Bureau approval of 
plans and 
specifications 
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§ District School Project Requirement(s) 
Waived Conditions 

School Facilities  
12 Waterbury Enlightenment 

and Special 
Education 
Program Center 

Alteration Requirement that 
project scope be 
established at time 
of application  

Expand scope to 
include an elevator 
and exit stair 

13 Franklin Franklin 
Elementary 
School 

Alteration, energy 
conservation, roof 
replacement 

Projected enrollment 
calculation formula 
and standard space 
specifications  

Use 225 as 
projected 
enrollment in 
grades K-8 to 
increase eligible 
square footage 

14 Killingly Killingly Regional 
Vocational 
Agriculture 
Center 

New center Limits on amount of 
land acquisition 
costs eligible for 
state reimbursement 

Purchase an 
additional 25 acres 

15 Region 19  Not specified  Vocational 
agriculture 
equipment and 
building 
modifications 

• Requirement 
that project 
scope be 
established at 
time of 
application 

• Timing of bid 
and plan 
approval by 
SDE’s Bureau 
of School 
Facilities 

• Expand 
project scope 
to include an 
air handling 
system 

• Bureau 
approval of 
plans and 
specifications 

16 Mansfield Mansfield Middle 
School 

Alteration Timing of bid and 
plan approval by 
SDE’s Bureau of 
School Facilities  

Bureau approval of 
plans and 
specifications 

17 New Haven Metropolitan 
Business 
Academy High 
School 

New construction Timing of bid and 
plan approval by 
SDE’s Bureau of 
School Facilities  

Bureau approval of 
plans and 
specifications 

19 Ledyard Ledyard Middle 
School 

Replace floor 
covering 

Timing of bid and 
plan approval by 
SDE’s Bureau of 
School Facilities 

None 

20 Ledyard Ledyard High 
School 

Costs associated 
with building a 
pump station  

Ineligible costs None 

21 Suffield Suffield High 
School and 
Suffield 
Vocational 
Agriculture 
facility 

New high school 
and vo-ag facility 

Site acquisition  Exclude donated 
land from eligible 
site acquisition cost 
and maximum 
acreage 
determinations 
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§ 18 - GRANT TRANSFERS TO MAGNET 
SCHOOLS AT GOODWIN COLLEGE 

Transfer Pathways Magnet School Authorization 

The act transfers the previously authorized grant 
commitment for the new Pathways Magnet School from 
Hartford to Goodwin College in East Hartford.  The 
following conditions and limitations apply to the 
transfer: 

1. the school must be located on the Goodwin 
College campus; 

2. 100% of the total estimated project costs up to 
$38,830,000 plus increases allowed in the act 
(see below) are eligible for reimbursement, 
minus reimbursements to Hartford for its 
reasonable and necessary costs already spent 
and that the education commissioner considers 
eligible; 

3. reimbursable architectural costs for Goodwin 
College are limited to costs needed to place the 
previously designed building on the Goodwin 
campus; and 

4. the education commissioner may disapprove 
the project if construction has not started 
within two years after the act’s passage. 

Goodwin College Magnet School Grant Authorization 
Transfer to Pathways Magnet School  

PA 08-169 authorized a grant commitment to 
Goodwin College for the Goodwin College-Connecticut 
River Academy for Earth and Space Science Magnet 
School with a total project cost of up to $80 million. 

This act authorizes the transfer of up to $7 million 
of the PA 08-169 authorization to the Pathways Magnet 
School project.  It waives a requirement that previously 
authorized projects with significant changes in cost or 
scope be resubmitted to the legislature and allows the 
transfer without additional legislative authorization, 
contingent on a commensurate reduction in the total 
authorized cost for the Earth and Space Science Magnet 
School project.   

Early Childhood Magnet Facility at Goodwin College 

The act adds a new early childhood education 
magnet facility project at Goodwin College to the 2009 
priority list.  It makes the project eligible for a school 
construction reimbursement grant if Goodwin College 
files a grant application before June 30, 2010 and meets 
all other school construction grant requirements.  

The act (1) limits the total cost for the early 
childhood education project to $16 million and (2) 
reduces the 2008 authorization for the Goodwin 
College-Connecticut River Academy for Earth and 

Space Science Magnet School by the same amount. 

§§ 22 & 24 - MAGNET SCHOOL GRANTS AND 
TUITION 

Magnet Moratorium 

Starting July 1, 2009, the act prohibits the 
education commissioner from accepting interdistrict 
magnet school operating grant applications for new 
magnet schools unless the school will help the state 
meet the goals of the 2008 Sheff v. O’Neill stipulation 
and order. Applications for other new magnet schools 
can be accepted once the commissioner develops a 
comprehensive state-wide interdistrict magnet school 
plan, which the act requires him to submit to the 
Education Committee by January 1, 2011. 

Operating Budgets 

By law, when approving magnet school operating 
grant applications, the commissioner must consider, 
among other things, the proposed operating budget and 
the sources of funding for the school. For magnet 
schools operated by entities other than boards of 
education, the act permits the commissioner to only 
approve a budget if it does not exceed, on a per pupil 
basis, the “maximum allowable threshold” the act 
establishes. This amount is found by dividing the “net 
current expenditures” by the “average daily 
membership,” using data from two fiscal years before 
the fiscal year for which the grant is sought.  The 
maximum allowable threshold is 120% of the state 
average of this amount. SDE must establish the 
maximum allowable threshold by December 15 of the 
fiscal year before the fiscal year for which the grant is 
sought. If requested by an applicant, the act allows the 
commissioner to waive the “maximum allowable 
threshold” requirement if he determines there are 
extraordinary program needs. 

Grant Amounts 

Host Magnets-Generally. Under prior law, the per-
pupil amount each interdistrict magnet school could 
receive for enrolled students who were not residents of 
the town operating the school was set at $6,730 for FY 
09, $7,440 for FY 10, and $8,158 for FY 11. The act 
freezes the per-pupil grant amount at the FY 09 level 
through FY 11. 

Hartford Sheff Magnets. The act sets the non-
resident per-pupil grant for interdistrict magnet schools 
operated by the Hartford school district pursuant to 
Sheff v. O’Neill at $12,000 for FY 10 and $13,054 for 
FY 11. For the 2009-10 and 2010-11 school years, the 
act prohibits Hartford from charging tuition for any 
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student enrolled in an interdistrict magnet school it 
operates.  

In addition to these grants, for FY 10, the act allows 
the commissioner to provide supplemental grants of up 
to $1,054 to the district for each nonresident student 
attending one of its magnet schools. The grants are 
subject to the approval of the OPM secretary and the 
Finance Advisory Committee. 

Supplemental Grants-Generally. By law, the 
commissioner can provide supplemental grants to 
interdistrict magnet schools after he reviews and 
approves the total operating budget for the schools, 
including all revenue and expenditure estimates. The act 
specifies that this must be a comprehensive financial 
review.   

Regional Education Service Center (RESC) 
Magnets. For RESC-operated magnets that enroll less 
than 55% of their students from a single town, the act 
freezes the per-pupil grant at the FY 09 level of $7,620. 
The amount was scheduled to increase to $8,180 for FY 
10 and $8,741 for FY 11. For RESC-operated magnets 
enrolling 55% or more of their students from a single 
district, the act freezes the per-pupil grant at the FY 09 
level of $6,730. Under prior law, the grant was 
scheduled to increase to $7,440 in FY 10 and $8,158 in 
FY 11. The act eliminates a provision that would have 
provided that same per-pupil grant to RESC-operated 
magnets that enroll at least 60% of their students from 
Hartford pursuant to Sheff v. O’Neill as is provided to 
magnets enrolling at least 55% of their students from a 
single district. 

The act sets a separate per-pupil grant for RESC-
operated magnets that (1) began operations for the 
1998-99 school year and (2) for the 2008-09 school 
year, enrolled at least 55%, but no more than 70% of the 
school’s students from a single town. For FY 10, and 
each fiscal year thereafter, the act sets the per pupil 
grant at $4,894 for each student that resides in a district 
enrolling between 55% and 70% of the school’s 
students and at $6,730 for the rest of the school’s 
students. 

The act sets a separate per-pupil grant for RESC-
operated magnets that began operations for the 2001-02 
school year and that, for the 2008-09 school year, 
enrolled at least 55%, but no more than 80% of the 
school’s students from a single town. For FY 10, and 
each fiscal year thereafter, the act sets the per pupil 
grant at $4,250 for each student that resides in a district 
enrolling between 55% and 80% of the school’s 
students and at $6,730 for the rest of the school’s 
students. 

Sheff Magnets. The act sets the per-pupil grant for 
each magnet school that enrolls less than 60% of its 
students from Hartford pursuant to Sheff v. O’Neill at 
$9,695 for FY 10 and $10,443 for FY 11. The magnet 
school must be operated by a RESC; the board of 

trustees of the community-technical colleges, the 
Connecticut State University system, or UCONN; the 
board of governors for an independent college or 
university; a cooperative arrangement; or any other 
third-party commissioner-approved non-profit. Under 
prior law, RESC-operated magnets that enrolled less 
than 60% of their students from Hartford were treated 
like RESC-operated magnets enrolling less than 55% of 
the school’s students from a single town. 

RESC Magnet Tuition. By law, for FY 09, any 
tuition a RESC-operated magnet school charges a board 
of education must be equal to 75% of the difference 
between the average per pupil expenditure of the 
magnet school for the prior fiscal year and the amount 
of any per pupil state subsidy, plus any revenue from 
other sources calculated on a per pupil basis. The act 
raises that percentage to 90% in FY 10 and 100% in FY 
11. The act eliminates a provision for FY 09 that 
prohibits a tuition increase, on a per pupil basis, that is 
more than 10% of that charged for the previous fiscal 
year. 

The act prohibits RESCs from charging tuition in 
excess of the difference between the total expenditures 
of the magnet school for the prior fiscal year and the 
total per pupil state subsidy, plus any revenue from 
other sources.  It allows the commissioner to conduct a 
comprehensive financial review of the magnet school’s 
operating budget to verify the tuition rate. 

§§ 23 & 25 - TRANSPORTATION GRANTS 

By law, through FY 09, grants to boards of 
education for transporting public school students must 
be proportionately reduced if the total exceeds the 
amount appropriated for that year. The act extends this 
provision through FY 11. 

By law, magnet school operators that transport 
students to interdistrict magnet school programs in a 
town other than the town in which the child resides are 
eligible to receive a grant for the cost of transporting the 
students. The law caps the grant amount at $1,300 per 
student. The act raises that amount to $1,400 for FY 10 
and $2,000 for FY 11 for districts helping to meet the 
goals of Sheff v. O’Neill, as determined by the 
commissioner.  

For FY 09, it also allows the education 
commissioner, within available appropriations, to 
provide supplemental transportation grants to RESCs 
for interdistrict magnet school transportation. In order to 
provide the grant, the commissioner must review and 
approve the RESCs total interdistrict magnet school 
transportation budget, including all revenue and 
expenditure estimates. 
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§ 23 - TECHNICAL HIGH SCHOOL 
TRANSPORTATION 

By law, the education commissioner can provide 
grants of up to $2,000 per pupil, within available 
appropriations, to boards of education and RESCs that 
transport Hartford students out-of-district to technical 
high schools or regional agricultural science and 
technology education centers to help the state meet the 
goals of Sheff v. O’Neill. The act expands the provision 
to allow the commissioner to also provide grants for 
out-of-district students to attend Hartford technical 
schools to meet the Sheff goals. 

§ 24 - SHEFF MAGNET PARTICIPATION 
AGREEMENTS 

The act allows interdistrict magnet schools that 
started operating on or after July 1, 2008 pursuant to the 
Sheff v. O’Neill stipulation and order, to operate without 
participation agreements indefinitely. Prior law only 
allowed them to do so until July 1, 2009. The act 
specifies that the schools must enroll students through a 
commissioner-designated lottery, rather than “directly.” 

§ 26 - ECS MAGNET SCHOOL REDUCTION 

The act eliminates a provision, applicable only for 
FY 09, reducing each town’s student count for purposes 
of Education Cost Sharing (ECS) grants by 25% of the 
number of the town’s students attending full-time 
interdistrict magnet schools for whom the state paid a 
magnet school operating grant.  

§ 27 - FUND TRANSFERS 

The act authorizes the education commissioner to 
transfer funds appropriated for FY 10 and FY 11 for the 
Sheff settlement in the state budget (PA 09-3, June 
Special Session) to the following programs to help meet 
Sheff goals: 

1. grants for interdistrict cooperative programs, 
2. per-student grants for state charter schools, 
3. grants for the Open Choice interdistrict school 

attendance program, 
4. interdistrict magnet school grants, and 
5. technical high schools. 

§ 28 - ECS FUNDS TRANSFERRED FOR 
EDUCATIONAL IMPROVEMENT  

For FY 08 and FY 09, any town whose school 
district is in the third year or more of failing to make 
adequate yearly progress in math or reading had to add 
20 percentage points to the share of its ECS increase 
that it had to spend on education pursuant to the 
minimum budget requirement (MBR) (the minimum 

amount towns must appropriate for education).  The 
comptroller had to withhold these funds and transfer 
them to SDE. The education commissioner had to spend 
the money on the school district’s behalf to implement 
any of the educational improvement measures that the 
State Board of Education required and to offset any 
other local education costs that the education 
commissioner deemed appropriate to achieve school 
improvement. The commissioner was required to award 
the funds to the board of education for the identified 
school district on the condition that it spend the funds in 
accordance with the commissioner’s directives. 

Instead of lapsing, the act requires any funds 
transferred to SDE under this requirement that remain 
unspent on June 30, 2009 to carry forward to, and 
remain available for spending in, FY 10 for the same 
purposes. 

§ 29 - BLOOMFIELD MAGNET SCHOOL 

For FYs 08 and 09, PA 08-170 exempted the 
Bloomfield interdistrict magnet school from statutory 
provisions (1) limiting the number of students from a 
participating town to 75% and (2) requiring racial 
minorities to comprise between 25% and 75% of the 
student body. The act limits the exemption to a school 
that began operations before July 1, 2008 and extends 
this waiver through FY 11.  

It requires the program, by July 1, 2010, to submit a 
plan to the education commissioner on how it can meet 
the racial composition requirements. By January 1, 
2011, the commissioner can approve the plan, and he 
must report on it to the Education Committee. 

§ 30 - ECS MINIMUM BUDGET REQUIREMENT  

By law, to receive an ECS grant, towns must set an 
MBR. The act establishes an MBR for FY 10 and FY 
11. It requires each town receiving an ECS grant to 
budget at least the same amount for education as it 
budgeted in FY 09. However, if the town reduced its 
local budget for education to offset federal money its 
local or regional board of education received directly 
from the 2009 federal stimulus act, that amount must be 
subtracted from its MBR.  

PA 09-1, June 19 Special Session, allows certain 
towns to amend adopted local budgets for FY 10 to 
reduce their education appropriations by up to the 
amount of funding their local or regional boards of 
education received directly from the State Fiscal 
Stabilization Fund (SFSF) in the 2009 federal stimulus 
act. It applies to any town whose fiscal authority failed 
to account for its board of education’s direct receipt of 
SFSF funds when passing its municipal budget before 
June 30, 2009. 

The act also makes technical changes. 
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§ 31 - FORMULA FOR DISTRIBUTING SCHOOL 
READINESS GRANTS TO PRIORITY SCHOOL 
DISTRICTS 

Distribution Formula 

The act makes permanent the existing temporary 
formula for distributing school readiness grants to 
priority school districts (PSDs). It requires grants to be 
determined by adding (1) the product of (a) the number 
of school readiness program slots each district 
contracted for as of March 30 and (b) the per-child cost 
of each slot for FY 09, reduced for less-than-year-round 
slots, and (2) the product of (a) the addition of or 
decrease in slots the district requested for FY 09 and (b) 
the FY 09 per-child cost, reduced for less-than-year-
round slots. (The prior law’s formula did not account for 
a district requesting a decrease in slots.) If the result is 
greater than the available appropriation, the education 
commissioner must reduce the number of additional 
slots the district requested to stay within the 
appropriated amount.  

SDE Administrative Set-Aside 

The act extends, through FY 11, SDE’s ability to 
retain $198,200 of the PSD school readiness 
appropriation for coordination, program evaluation, and 
administration. Under prior law, it could do this through 
FY 09.  

§ 32 - LOCAL EARLY CHILDHOOD 
COORDINATION, PROGRAM EVALUATION, AND 
ADMINISTRATION 

By law, competitive and noncompetitive school 
readiness grant funds that a town receives cannot be 
used to supplant federal, state, or local funding a town 
receives for early childhood education. However, prior 
law allowed a town to use the greater of $25,000 or up 
to 5%, but no more than $50,000, of the amount 
received for coordination, program evaluation, and 
administration. If a town provided $25,000 for these 
activities, it could use up to 10%, but no more than 
$75,000, for these activities. 

The act instead allows SDE, in consultation with 
the Department of Social Services, to determine the 
amount, which must be at least $25,000 and less than 
$75,000, based on the school readiness grant award and 
the number of operating sites. This amount can be 
increased by the amount of local funding provided for 
coordination, program evaluation, and administration, 
up to $25,000. 

 

§ 33 - SCHOOL READINESS PER CHILD GRANT 

The act freezes the maximum per-child cost of the 
SDE’s school readiness program at the FY 09 level of 
$8,346.  

§ 34 - GRANT FOR THE CHILDREN’S MUSEUM 
OF WEST HARTFORD 

The act reverses changes made in the bond act (PA 
09-2, September Special Session) to the language of an 
existing bond authorization for a $500,000 grant for the 
Children’s Museum of West Hartford. 

The act designates the town of West Hartford, 
rather than the Children’s Museum of West Hartford, as 
the grant recipient.  It also limits the grant’s purposes to 
site acquisition and improvements for the Science 
Center of Connecticut, instead of also allowing funds to 
be used for planning and development, including site 
acquisition, construction, renovation, capital equipment, 
improvements, and relocation. 

§ 35 - SUPPLEMENTAL PRIORITY SCHOOL 
DISTRICT FUNDS DISTRIBUTION  

The act extends the FY 09 allocation of $2,610,798 
in PSD grants to the three largest school districts 
(Bridgeport, Hartford, and New Haven) for two 
additional years, through FY 11. 

It also reduces the total annual funding for a 
supplemental PSD grant to all priority districts by 
$419,549, from $4,160,122 to $3,740,573 per fiscal 
year. By law, the State Board of Education must 
allocate a share of these supplemental funds to each 
priority district in proportion to its regular PSD grant. 
The money is in addition to all other PSD grants each 
district receives. 

§ 36 - CHARTER SCHOOL GRANTS 

The act freezes the state grant for students attending 
charter schools at $9,300 per student per year. This is 
the same per-pupil grant the state provided in FY 09. 

§§ 37-39 - TEACHER EDUCATION AND 
MENTORING (TEAM) PROGRAM 

Requirements for New Teachers 

By law, teachers holding initial (first-level) 
certificates must successfully complete a beginning 
educator program in order to receive a provisional 
(second-level) certificate. The beginning educator 
program was called the Beginning Educator Support 
and Training (BEST) Program but under a 2008 act, the 
BEST program was eliminated as of July 1, 2009.  
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The act requires SDE to establish and administer a 
new teacher education and mentoring (TEAM) program 
for beginning teachers that is aligned with teaching 
principles approved by the State Board of Education. 
The program must include guided teacher support and 
coaching by teacher mentors and require beginning 
teachers to complete five instructional modules to help 
them develop particular teaching skills. Local and 
regional school districts, RESCs, unions representing 
certified employees, and public colleges and universities 
must cooperate with the department in developing and 
administering the program, recruiting and training 
mentor teachers, and evaluating and assessing beginning 
teachers. 

Under the act, the TEAM Program replaces the 
BEST program as the beginning educator program 
required for provisional certification. 

State Responsibilities 

SDE must establish and administer the TEAM 
program. The act requires SDE to:  

1. develop goals for teacher training, mentoring, 
professional development, and evaluation; 

2. distribute state funding to school districts to 
help them implement district teacher education 
and mentoring plans; 

3. manage and make available data systems for 
school districts to establish that teachers and 
mentors have satisfactorily completed the 
instructional modules; 

4. monitor districts’ program implementation, 
including through random district audits and 
observation by state personnel; 

5. issue provisional certificates to teachers who 
complete the program; 

6. with input from “stakeholder groups,” develop 
guidelines for creating and approving districts’ 
teacher education and mentoring plans; and 

7. oversee an outside evaluation of the program 
every three to five years. 

The act also requires SDE to collaborate with 
EASTCONN (the RESC for Eastern Connecticut), the 
RESC Alliance (an organization of all six RESCs), 
higher education institutions, and other stakeholders to: 

1. develop instructional modules for beginning 
teachers; 

2. provide training and professional development 
for regional mentors working at the district 
level; 

3. provide training and professional development 
for district teams and principals in how to 
design, manage, and administer teacher 
education and mentoring plans; and 

4. provide technical assistance to districts 
according to their size and needs. 

The act requires SDE and public higher education 
institutions to work with RESCs to align the modules 
for beginning teachers with pre-service teacher 
preparation programs approved by the National Council 
for Accreditation of Teacher Education. SDE and the 
institutions must also develop and deliver regional 
strategies to support mentor assistance programs and 
train cooperating teachers to work with teacher 
preparation candidates during their student teaching and 
internships. 

Finally, the act requires SDE, with EASTCONN, to 
create a data system through which school districts may 
access resources and record-keeping tools to manage the 
TEAM Program at the local level. The system must 
include templates for (1) districts to write and update 
district plans and record teacher completion of learning 
modules and (2) teachers to record completion of 
module activities and submit written reflection papers or 
projects. The system must also include links to on-line 
programs or workshops that are part of the modules. 

The act requires SDE to adopt guidelines by July 1, 
2010 for transition to and implementation of the TEAM 
Program according to the act and the December 29, 
2008 report by the BEST/Mentor Assistance Program 
(MAP) Task Force. 

School District Responsibilities 

Local Program Administration. Under the act, each 
school district must develop a three-year plan for its 
participation in the TEAM program that meets the act’s 
requirements (see below) and form, with teachers’ union 
representatives, a local or regional coordinating 
committee or committees to guide its activities under 
the plan. The committee’s composition must be based 
on the district’s size. Each district must develop an 
annual budget based on its plan and submit it to SDE to 
receive state assistance for its TEAM Program 
activities. 

The act also requires each district to: 
1. recruit mentors from within and outside the 

district and assign them to work with the 
district’s beginning teachers; 

2. ensure coverage by substitute teachers to allow 
mentors and beginning teachers to participate 
in the TEAM Program; 

3. communicate regularly with beginning teachers 
about training opportunities, workshops, and 
support groups; 

4. coordinate the TEAM Program with the 
district’s teacher evaluation and supervision 
program, but keep the two separate; and 

5. through the coordinating committee, verify that 
beginning teachers have completed the TEAM 
Program requirements for a provisional 
certificate and attest to that fact and that the 
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teacher is eligible for the provisional 
certificate. 

The act also requires districts to ensure that schools 
(1) administer the state’s online needs assessment to 
establish beginning teachers’ goals and priorities for 
their individualized mentoring plans; (2) review and 
approve teachers’ plans; (3) organize mentoring 
opportunities by grade, department, or specialty; (4) 
make time available for teachers to achieve their 
mentoring plan goals; (5) coordinate mentors’ and 
teachers’ activities and schedules to ensure proper 
implementation of the district plan; and (6) submit an 
annual report on mentor and teacher activities to the 
district’s coordinating committee for review and 
approval. 

Local Program Plan. The act requires local and 
regional school districts to develop three-year plans that 
incorporate SDE’s goals and instructional priorities 
along with local community and student needs. District 
plans must include: 

1. district information, including profiles of the 
community, district, students, faculty, mentors, 
and beginning teachers; 

2. a statement of three-year objectives related to 
state goals for the TEAM program; 

3. a general timeline for district coordinating 
teams to meet with the district’s central office 
personnel, principals, mentors, or district 
facilitators; 

4. the mentor selection and assignment process 
that is based on subject areas, levels, and 
needs; 

5. the process for training and updating mentors 
in best practices and essential knowledge; 

6. a timeline of district-wide mentoring days for 
observations, individual discussion, small 
group meetings, professional development, 
RESC training sessions, and beginning 
teachers’ completion of module-related tasks; 

7. the process for collecting, reviewing, and 
coordinating teachers’ mentoring plans; 

8. the process for resolving internal disputes over 
district recommendations to the state about 
which teachers have completed learning 
modules satisfactorily; and 

9. the resources and budget for the planned 
activities.  

Once a teacher completes the learning modules and 
successfully passes the district coordinating 
committee’s final review, the school superintendent 
must submit to SBE the names of the teachers eligible 
for provisional certificates. The act bars districts from 
considering a teacher’s completion of the TEAM 
Program as a factor in any decision to continue the 
teacher’s employment. 

Beginning Teacher Responsibilities 

The act requires each beginning teacher to develop 
a two-year individualized mentoring plan and complete 
instructional modules in the following five areas: (1) 
classroom management and climate, (2) lesson planning 
and unit design, (3) delivering instruction, (4) assessing 
student learning, and (5) professional practice. Unless 
the education commissioner provides otherwise, 
teachers must complete two modules in the program’s 
first year and three in the second. 

The act requires beginning teachers to work with 
their mentors to develop planned activities to complete 
each module. The activities must be reflected in the 
beginning teacher needs assessment. The activities can 
be presented (1) by mentors in person, (2) in workshops, 
(3) through online courses, or (4) by completing a set of 
readings. For each module, teachers must apply the 
knowledge gained through such activities in a lesson, 
project, or demonstration of how the activity affected 
students’ learning. Teachers must also submit a 
reflection paper for each module that summarizes, 
describes, or analyzes what they and their students 
learned throughout the module and how it contributed to 
the teacher’s development. The paper or project must be 
signed by the mentor and sent to the district’s 
coordinating committee for approval. 

Mentors 

The act requires local and regional boards of 
education to recruit mentors for their TEAM programs. 
SDE, higher education institutions, and RESCs must 
cooperate in the recruiting. 

TEAM Program mentors must have a provisional or 
professional educator certificate and at least three years 
of teaching experience in Connecticut, including at least 
one year in the district where they are employed. 
Retired certified teachers who complete a RESC mentor 
training program may also serve as mentors. Each 
mentor is assigned two beginning teachers, although in 
certain circumstances, which the act does not describe, 
they can have three. Mentors must provide 50 contact 
hours with each of their beginning teachers during the 
program, with an expectation of approximately 10 hours 
per module. 

Mentors must receive a minimum stipend of $500 
annually for each beginning teacher assigned to them. 
The stipend must be included in their total earnings for 
retirement purposes. (Presumably, this requirement does 
not apply to mentors who are retired teachers.) 

TEAM Program Participation Requirements 

Under the act, teachers who began the BEST 
Program, but had not finished it as of July 1, 2009 and 
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who teach during the 2009-2010 school year will have 
their initial educator certificates extended for one year.  
Such teachers must participate in, and exit, the TEAM 
Program if they complete two modules during the 2010-
2011 school year.   

Starting July 1, 2010, teachers who hold initial 
certificates and who have not participated in any 
beginning educator program as of July 1, 2009 must 
complete the TEAM program as follows: 

1. Beginning teachers with subject areas or 
endorsements in elementary education, English 
and language arts, mathematics, science, social 
studies, special education, bilingual education, 
music, physical education, visual arts, world 
languages, and English as a second language 
must successfully complete the full TEAM 
program, i.e., two years of mentorship and five 
modules. 

2. Beginning teachers working in other 
endorsement areas but whose primary function 
is providing direct instruction to students must 
successfully complete one year of mentorship 
and two modules. 

Credit towards a Master’s Degree 

The act requires the Connecticut State University 
(CSU) chancellor to develop a plan for beginning 
teachers participating in TEAM to receive credit 
towards a Master’s Degree from one of the Connecticut 
state universities for successfully completing the five 
TEAM instructional modules.  The plan must include a 
process for awarding credits, costs for administering the 
program, and potential funding sources. In developing 
the plan, the chancellor must consult with the SDE, 
Department of Higher Education (DHE), the appropriate 
CSU faculty bargaining unit, and other stakeholders. 

The chancellor must submit the plan to the 
Education and Higher Education committees by January 
1, 2011.  The plan takes effect on July 1, 2011. 

§§ 40-47 - EDUCATION GRANT CAPS 

The act caps several state education formula grants 
to school districts and RESCs through June 30, 2011.  It 
sets the limits at the amounts appropriated for the grants 
in the 2010-11 state budget (PA 09-3, June Special 
Session).  Under the act, if the appropriated amounts are 
not sufficient to fully fund the grants, amounts must be 
proportionately reduced.  The caps apply to grants for: 

1. health services for private school students; 
2. transportation for private school students; 
3. adult education; 
4. bilingual education programs; 
5. RESC operating grants; and 
6. special education excess costs, other than costs 

for state-placed children receiving special 
education from a local board of education and 
for whom no home district can be identified 
(“no-nexus children). 

§ 48 - SUBSTITUTE TEACHERS WITHOUT 
BACHELOR’S DEGREES 

PA 09-1, June 19 Special Session, eliminated the 
education commissioner’s authority to waive the 
statutory requirement that substitute teachers have at 
least a bachelor’s degree. For the 2009-2010 school 
year, this act allows school districts to employ substitute 
teachers without bachelor’s degrees, but only in 
assignments lasting 10 or fewer school days. 

§ 49 - OFFICE OF EARLY CHILDHOOD 
PLANNING 

The act creates an Office of Early Childhood 
Planning, Outreach, and Coordination within SDE. 

It gives the office the following duties: 
1. planning, developing, and coordinating, with 

other agencies, the delivery of services to 
children from birth to nine years old;  

2. coordinating the enhancement and 
implementation of the Early Childhood 
Information System, in consultation with the 
Early Childhood Education Cabinet, as 
reorganized under this act (see §§ 50 & 51); 

3. developing and reporting on an early childhood 
accountability plan, in consultation with the 
cabinet; 

4. implementing an outreach communications 
strategy to families, service providers, and 
policymakers; 

5. beginning a state-wide longitudinal evaluation 
of the school readiness program, by January 1, 
2010, in consultation with the Department of 
Social Services (DSS), that examines the 
educational progress of children from pre-
kindergarten programs to grade four, including 
a reliability and validity study of the 
kindergarten assessment tool required by law 
to measure the preparedness level of 
kindergarten children; and 

6. developing, coordinating, and supporting 
public and private partnerships to aid early 
childhood initiatives. 

Early Childhood Information System 

The act requires the planning office to enhance the 
Early Childhood Information System so it is capable of 
tracking: 
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1. the health, safety, and school readiness of all 
children receiving early care and education 
from a board of education or any program 
receiving public funding, in a manner similar 
to the standardized public school information 
system the law requires all school districts to 
join; 

2. the characteristics of the existing and potential 
workforce serving  children receiving early 
care and education in any school district or in a 
program receiving any public funding; and 

3. the characteristics of the programs in which 
these children are served. 

Under the act, the SDE is responsible for assigning 
a unique identifier to (1) each child, (2) each staff 
member, and (3) the programs tracked by the Early 
Childhood Information System. Any local or regional 
board of education, school readiness program receiving 
any public funding, or any Department of Public 
Health-licensed child day care center, including any 
centers participating in any DSS program pursuant to 
the general statutes, must ensure that all children and all 
staff in such center or program are entered into the Early 
Childhood Information System. 

§§ 50 & 51 - EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION 
CABINET 

The act reconstitutes the existing Early Childhood 
Education Cabinet and changes its membership and 
duties. Some if its duties under prior law are given to 
the Early Childhood Planning Office, some are 
eliminated, and some remain with the cabinet. 

The new 17-member cabinet includes the following 
commissioners, or their respective designees: (1) 
education, (2) social services, (3) public health, (4) 
developmental services, and (5) mental health and 
addiction services.  

The cabinet also includes:  
1. the Office of Policy and Management secretary 

or his representative, 
2. an SDE representative who is responsible for 

special education programs,  
3. a representative from an institution of higher 

education appointed by the higher education 
commissioner, 

4. the Commission on Children executive director 
or her designee, 

5. the Connecticut Head Start State Collaboration 
Office project director, 

6. a Head Start Program representative appointed 
by the House minority leader, 

7. a local provider of early childhood education 
appointed by the Senate minority leader, 

8. a member of the House appointed by the House 
speaker, 

9. a parent who has a child attending school in a 
priority school district who is appointed by the 
House speaker, 

10. a member of the Senate appointed by the 
Senate president pro tempore, 

11. a representative of a public elementary school 
with a pre-kindergarten program appointed by 
the Senate president pro tempore, and 

12. a representative of the business or 
philanthropic community appointed by the 
governor. 

The chairperson of the new cabinet must be 
appointed by the governor from among the members. 

Under prior law, the existing cabinet was 
comprised of many of the same members, or their 
representatives, but the following are not part of the 
cabinet under the act:  

1. the governor or her representative;  
2. the higher education commissioner or his 

representative;  
3. the children and families commissioner or her 

representative,  
4. the co-chairs of the education and human 

services committees; 
5. a representative of a local or regional school 

readiness council appointed by the Senate 
president pro tempore; and 

6. a representative of the Connecticut Head Start 
Association appointed by the House speaker. 

Although the higher education commissioner is not 
a member of the cabinet, under the act he appoints the 
member who represents higher education on the cabinet. 
Also, while the co-chairs of the two legislative 
committees are not named, the leaders of the house and 
senate each appoint a member of their respective 
chambers to the cabinet. 

Duties 

Under the act, the cabinet must: 
1. coordinate, among state agencies and public 

and private partnerships, the development of 
services that enhance the health, safety, and 
learning of children from birth to nine;  

2. annually, starting by December 1, 2009, 
develop a plan of action that assigns the 
appropriate state agency to complete the tasks 
specified in the federal Head Start Act (P.L. 
110-134); and  

3. annually, starting by March 1, 2010, submit a 
state-wide strategic report, pursuant to the 
federal Head Start Act to the General 
Assembly and the governor addressing the 
progress the agencies have made toward the 
completion of (1) the tasks outlined under the 
Head Start Act and (2) the aforementioned 
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duties under this act.  
The cabinet must operate within available 

appropriations and any private funding that may be 
available. It will be located within the SDE for 
administrative purposes. 

Under the act, the cabinet will no longer be charged 
with the following duties: 

1. performing a statewide longitudinal evaluation 
of school readiness programs (the act 
designates this to the early childhood planning 
office); 

2. developing and implementing  an annual 
accountability plan (the act designates this to 
the early childhood planning office); 

3. advising the education commissioner on 
policies to meet the school readiness goals; 

 
4. developing budget requests for the early 

childhood programs; 
5. promoting the consistency of quality and 

comprehensiveness of early childhood 
services; 

6. developing minimum quality standards and a 
range of higher quality standards for all early 
care and education programs receiving state 
funding and annually reporting to the General 
Assembly on such standards; and 

7. developing, with the Office of Workforce 
Competitiveness, a school readiness workforce 
development plan, and reporting annually to 
the General Assembly on the plan. 

Also, the act eliminates the requirement that early 
childhood education providers that receive state funding 
report annually to the cabinet on the effectiveness of the 
provider’s services.  

School Readiness Program Agreement 

By law, the education and social service 
commissioners must develop an agreement to define the 
duties and responsibilities of their departments 
concerning school readiness programs. The act requires 
the agreement to be submitted on or before January 1, 
2010, and annually thereafter, to the cabinet and the 
Education and Human Services committees. Under prior 
law the commissioners had to consult the cabinet in 
developing the agreement. The act removes this 
requirement. 

§ 52 - STATE LIBRARY OPERATING GRANTS 

For FY 10 and FY 11, the act suspends a 
requirement that, for a public library to receive a state 
library operating grant, its annual tax levy or 
appropriation must not be reduced below the average 
amount for the three fiscal years immediately 

proceeding the grant year. 

§§ 53-55 - REQUIREMENTS REGARDING SCHOOL 
DROPOUTS AND READMISSION TO SCHOOL 

Withdrawal from School 

By law, parents or guardians of a child between the 
ages of five and 17 must cause the child to go to the 
public school in their district, unless they can show that 
the child has graduated from high school or is elsewhere 
receiving an equivalent education.  

Under prior law, they could consent to the 
withdrawal of 16- and 17-year-olds from school, if they 
personally appeared and signed a withdrawal form. 
Starting July 1, 2011, the act prohibits a parent from 
signing a withdrawal form for a 16-year-old.  

When parents or guardians withdraw a student 
under this provision, the school district must provide 
information on educational options for the student. The 
act also requires the withdrawal form to include an 
attestation from a school administrator or guidance 
counselor that the information on educational options 
was provided.  

The act also requires boards of education to include 
in their strategic school profile the number of students 
enrolled in a board of education- or RESC-operated 
adult high school credit diploma program. 

Readmission of Students 

By law, if a student aged 16 or older drops out and 
later seeks readmission, the board can deny the student 
school accommodations for up to 90 days from the date 
of the termination. Starting July 1, 2010 for 16-year-
olds and July 1, 2011 for 17-year-olds, the act requires 
school districts to provide school accommodations to 
students no later than three days after they ask for it, as 
long as they seek readmission no later than 10 days after 
the student terminated enrollment. 

§ 56 - IN-SCHOOL SUSPENSION 

The act delays, from July 1, 2009 to July 1, 2010, 
the implementation date of the 2007 law limiting out-of-
school suspensions and its definition of “in-school 
suspension.” The law requires suspensions to be in-
school unless the school administration determines, 
after the required informal suspension hearing, that the 
student (1) poses such a danger to people or property or 
(2) is so disruptive of the educational process that the 
suspension must be served outside of school.  Prior law 
defined in-school suspension as exclusion from 
classroom activity, but not from school, for up to five 
consecutive days.  The 2007 law extended this to a 
maximum of 10 consecutive school days. The law’s 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 



124 SEPTEMBER 2009 SPECIAL SESSION  
 

original effective date was July 1, 2008, but it was 
delayed until July 1, 2009 in 2008. 

§ 57 - CONNECTICUT INDEPENDENT COLLEGE 
STUDENT GRANT PROGRAM 

PA 09-3, June Special Session, prohibits any 
independent college or university from receiving its 
annual Connecticut Independent College Student Grant 
(CICSG) Program allocation if it (1) meets students’ full 
financial need and (2) uses a need analysis system that 
results in determinations of need for individual students 
that are greater than the federal system.  It requires that 
the Department of Higher Education (DHE) (1) 
redistribute two-thirds of the unallocated CISCG funds 
in FY 10 and FY 11 to all other eligible independent 
colleges and universities and (2) set-aside the remaining 
one-third for Opportunities for Veterinary Medicine (a 
grant program for state residents pursuing veterinary 
medicine degrees). 

The act repeals this provision and requires DHE to 
reduce an independent college or university’s CICSG 
allocation by $500,000 if it returned at least $500,000 of 
its funding for FY 09.  It requires DHE to compute the 
CICSG allocation based on the unreduced 
appropriation.   

As under PA 09-3, June Special Session, DHE must 
transfer up to $500,000 of the set-aside CICSG funds to 
Opportunities for Veterinary Medicine in FY 10 and FY 
11.   

§ 58 - DHE ALTERNATE ROUTE TO 
CERTIFICATION FUNDS TRANSFERS 

The act transfers funds from DHE’s FY 10 and FY 
11 appropriations for the Alternate Route to 
Certification (ARC) program (ARC prepares highly 
qualified mid-career adults to become teachers, 
particularly in teacher shortage subjects).  In each fiscal 
year, it redirects $40,000 to DHE’s Minority Teacher 
Incentive program and $266,754 for FY 10 and 
$313,181 for FY 11 to the SDE for regional education 
services.   

The funds transferred to SDE must be used for the 
regional education services center Minority Recruiting 
Alliance’s study and pilot programs concerning 
minority teacher recruitment and retention. 

§ 59 - SDE SHEFF FUNDS TRANSFERS 

The act transfers a $5 million appropriation to SDE 
for FY 10 from the Sheff Settlement line item to the 
Magnet Schools line item in the budget.  

§ 60 - TEACHING CERTIFICATE FEE INCREASE 
EFFECTIVE DATE 

PA 09-3, June Special Session, increased fees for 
teaching certificates issued by SDE, effective upon 
passage.  The act makes those increases effective 
October 1, 2009, the same effective date as other fee 
increases in that act. 

§ 61 - RESC LEASE GRANTS 

The act eliminates a state grant program to help 
RESCs lease facilities to provide educational programs 
and services. 

 
PA 09-7, September 2009 Special Session-HB 7007 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE PROVISIONS 
OF THE BUDGET CONCERNING GENERAL 
GOVERNMENT AND MAKING CHANGES TO 
VARIOUS PROGRAMS 

 
SUMMARY:  This act appropriates funds for state 
agencies and programs to the General Fund and Special 
Transportation Fund for FY 10 and FY 11, 
notwithstanding the budget act (PA 09-3, June Special 
Session (JSS)). It also makes numerous changes as 
described below. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Various, see below. 

§ 5 - DEPARTMENT OF INFORMATION 
TECHNOLOGY (DOIT) REPORTING 
REQUIREMENT 

The act requires DOIT’s chief information officer 
to report to the Appropriations and Government 
Administration and Elections committees, by February 
15 annually, on its current and future technology 
projects. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 6 - NUMBER OF FILLED POSITIONS AT HIGHER 
EDUCATION CONSTITUENT UNITS 

PA 09-3, JSS prohibits any state agency from 
exceeding the number of positions as published in the 
Office of Fiscal Analysis Budget (OFA) Book for the 
current biennium, unless the governor recommends it 
and the Finance Advisory Committee approves. The 
budget book reflects the number of positions 
recommended by the Appropriations Committee, 
including the General Assembly’s revisions to the 
recommendation. This act excludes the state's higher 
education constituent units from this prohibition.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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§ 7 - QUASI-PUBLIC AGENCY QUARTERLY 
REPORTS 

The act requires the board of directors of each 
quasi-public agency to file a quarterly report with OFA 
on the money it received or held during the quarter. The 
report must, at a minimum, account for all the agency's 
revenue and expenditures. Under the act, (1) “revenue” 
means any addition to cash or other current assets that is 
neither an increase in a liability nor the recovery of an 
expenditure and (2) “expenditures” are amounts paid for 
any purpose, including expenses, debt retirement, and 
capital outlays.  

The agencies must start reporting with the quarter 
beginning July 1, 2009. The act does not specify when 
the reports are due.  

The quasi-public agencies are the Connecticut 
Development Authority, Connecticut Innovations, Inc., 
Connecticut Health and Educational Facilities 
Authority, Connecticut Higher Education Supplemental 
Loan Authority, Connecticut Housing Finance 
Authority (CHFA), Connecticut Housing Authority, 
Connecticut Resources Recovery Authority, Capital 
City Economic Development Authority, and 
Connecticut Lottery Corporation. (The Connecticut 
Housing Authority has been succeeded by the State 
Housing Authority, a subsidiary of CHFA.) 

The quarterly reports the act requires are in addition 
to the annual reports each agency must already submit 
to the governor, the Auditors of Public Accounts, and 
the Program Review and Investigations Committee. The 
annual reports must include information about each 
agency’s bond issues, projects, financial assistance over 
$5,000 to individuals, balance sheet, affirmative action 
policies and efforts, and planned activities for the year.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 8 - OPM REPORTS ON GENERAL OBLIGATION 
BOND FUNDS 

The act requires the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM), in consultation with the state 
treasurer, to report on General Obligation (GO) bond 
funds to the Bond Commission, the Finance, Revenue 
and Bonding Committee, and OFA by January 1 
annually. The report must identify all fully issued GO 
bond funds and (1) describe the projects that may be 
eligible for funding under each fund, (2) identify which 
funds are encumbered, and (3) account for expenditures 
from each fund for the last five years or since the fund's 
inception if it is less than five years old.  

The law allows the treasurer, with the Bond 
Commission’s approval, to transfer to the General Fund 
unexpended GO bond proceeds that are no longer 
needed for any of the purposes or projects for which the 
bonds were issued. The act requires the annual report to 

identify any fully issued and unencumbered GO bond 
funds from which no expenditures have been made for 
at least five years that the treasurer has identified as 
being fully eligible for this transfer.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 9 - NONAPPROPRIATED AGENCY FUNDS 

The act requires the OPM secretary, annually 
beginning by November 15, 2010, to submit to the 
Appropriations and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees a summary, in electronic database format, 
of all nonappropriated moneys held by each budgeted 
agency (e.g., federal grants received by an agency) for 
the biennium commencing July 1, 2011 and each 
biennium thereafter. The summary must be an 
accounting of moneys received or held by the agency at 
the end of the last-completed fiscal year that are 
authorized or received in any way other than as an 
appropriation. The summary must be in a form 
consistent with accepted accounting practices.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 10 - AGENCY REPORTS TO OFA 

The act expands the information that the 
administrative heads of budgeted agencies must transmit 
to OFA. By law, they must submit the agency's monthly 
financial status and personnel status reports. The act 
additionally requires them to transmit a non-
appropriated moneys status report that accounts for 
money received or held by the agency that was received 
or authorized by means other than appropriations. The 
accounting must include an assessment of any agency 
fund or account receiving or holding such money. The 
assessment must at a minimum account for all 
expenditures, encumbrances, reimbursements, and 
revenues.  

By law, budgeted agencies must transmit revenue 
and expenditure estimates to OFA in addition to the 
requirements described above. If they do not, the OPM 
secretary must cause the estimates to be prepared for 
them. The act extends the OPM requirement to the 
status reports.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 11 - TREASURER’S APPOINTMENT OF 
INVESTMENT OFFICERS 

The act authorizes the state treasurer to appoint a 
deputy chief investment officer and principal investment 
officers. The treasurer already has the authority to 
appoint a chief investment officer along with investment 
officers and other personnel to assist him or her. 

The act exempts the deputy chief investment 
officer’s compensation from the requirement that 
salaries of Executive Branch employees not set by law 
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be determined by the administrative services 
commissioner and approved by the OPM secretary. 
Instead, it gives the treasurer authority to set the 
person’s compensation, in consultation with the 
Investment Advisory Council (IAC). Under prior law, 
the exemption applied only to the chief investment 
officer’s compensation. 

Finally, the act requires the IAC to approve the 
treasurer’s appointment of all principal investment 
officers, investment officers, and other personnel to 
assist the chief investment officer. Under prior law, the 
IAC’s approval was required only for the chief 
investment officer’s appointment.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 12-14 - TOURISM DISTRICT CONSOLIDATION 

The state markets and promotes its tourism 
attractions through the Connecticut Commission on 
Culture and Tourism (CCCT) and state-designated 
regional tourism districts, which are governed by 
municipal and tourism industry representatives. Prior 
law designated five districts. The act consolidates them 
into three by eliminating the South Central and 
Southwestern districts and expanding the remaining two 
districts to include the towns from the eliminated 
districts. It also renames one of the districts to reflect its 
expanded region and makes conforming technical 
changes. As Table 1 shows, the act reassigns 34 towns 
to the expanded districts.  

 

 
Table 1: Makeup of Current and Consolidated Districts. 

District Member Towns Under Prior Law Towns Added under the Act 

Eastern  Ashford, Bozrah, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Colchester, 
Columbia, Coventry, East Lyme, Eastford, Franklin, Griswold, 
Groton, Hampton, Killingly, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Lyme, 
Mansfield, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Norwich, Old 
Lyme, Plainfield, Pomfret, Preston, Putnam, Salem, Scotland, 
Sprague, Sterling, Stonington, Thompson, Union, Voluntown, 
Waterford, Willington, Windham, and Woodstock 

No Additions  

Central  Andover, Avon, Berlin, Bloomfield, Bolton, Canton, Chester, 
Cromwell, Deep River, East Granby, East Haddam, East 
Hampton, East Hartford, East Windsor, Ellington, Enfield, Essex, 
Farmington, Glastonbury, Granby, Haddam, Hartford, Hebron, 
Manchester, Marlborough, Meriden, Middletown, New Britain, 
Newington, Old Saybrook, Plainville, Portland, Rocky Hill, Somers, 
South Windsor, Southington, Simsbury, Stafford, Suffield, Tolland, 
Vernon, Windsor Locks, West Hartford, Westbrook, Wethersfield, 
and Windsor.  

Bethany, Branford, Cheshire, Clinton, 
Durham, East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, 
Killingworth, Madison, Middlefield, Milford, 
New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, 
Orange, Wallingford, West Haven, and 
Woodbridge  

Western (formerly, 
Northwestern)  

Ansonia, Barkhamsted, Beacon Falls, Bethel, Bethlehem, 
Bridgewater, Bristol, Brookfield, Burlington, Canaan, Colebrook, 
Cornwall, Danbury, Derby, Goshen, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, 
Litchfield, Middlebury, Morris, Naugatuck, New Fairfield, New 
Hartford, New Milford, Newtown, Norfolk, North Canaan, Oxford, 
Plymouth, Prospect, Redding, Ridgefield, Roxbury, Salisbury, 
Seymour, Sharon, Sherman, Southbury, Thomaston, Torrington, 
Warren, Washington, Washington, Waterbury, Watertown, 
Winchester, Wolcott, and Woodbury 

Bridgeport, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, 
Greenwich, Monroe, New Canaan, 
Norwalk, Shelton, Stamford, Stratford, 
Trumbull, Weston, Westport, and Wilton  

South Central  Bethany, Branford, Cheshire, Clinton, Durham, East Haven, 
Guilford, Hamden, Killingworth, Madison, Middlefield, Milford, New 
Haven, Orange, North Branford, North Haven, Wallingford, West 
Haven, and Woodbridge.  

 None-District Eliminated 

Southwestern:  

 

Bridgeport, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Greenwich, New Canaan, 
Monroe, Norwalk, Shelton, Stamford, Stratford, Trumbull, Weston, 
Westport, and Wilton 

None-District Eliminated  
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The act requires CCCT to help the consolidated 
Central and Western districts establish committees to 
draft charters and bylaws and organize the initial 
meeting of their respective boards of directors. CCCT 
must do this by February 1, 2010, and the districts’ 
boards must hold their initial meetings by February 15, 
2010. The act requires the central regional district’s 
office to be located in CCCT’s Hartford office. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010  

§§ 15-17 - LIMITS ON STATE PILOT PAYMENTS 
FOR CERTAIN MACHINERY AND EQUIPMENT  

The act caps annual state payments in lieu of taxes 
(PILOTs) to municipalities for manufacturing 
machinery and equipment eligible for mandatory 
exemptions from local property taxes.  

By law, depending on when it was acquired, 
eligible equipment and machinery used in 
manufacturing, biotechnology, or recycling is either 
already fully exempt from local property taxes or 
partially exempt until July 1, 2013 and fully exempt 
thereafter. The law also requires the state to make 
PILOT payments to municipalities to compensate them 
for lost tax revenue on such property. The act requires 
these payments to be proportionately reduced in any 
year in which the total amount payable exceeds the 
state’s budgeted appropriation for such payments. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 18 - CONVERT STATE EMPLOYEE HEALTH 
PLAN TO SELF-INSURED 

By law, the comptroller solicits bids and contracts 
with insurance carriers to provide health insurance for 
state employees and retirees. The act requires the 
comptroller to begin the process of converting the state 
employee health insurance plans, including pharmacy 
benefits but excluding dental benefits, to a self-insured 
arrangement for benefit periods beginning July 1, 2010 
and later. (Under an agreement between the state and a 
coalition of state employee unions, the state began self-
insuring pharmacy benefits July 1, 2008.) 

The act authorizes the comptroller to contract with 
companies to provide administrative services for the 
self-insured state plan. Under the act, the state’s contract 
for administrative services must require the insurer to 
charge the state its lowest available rate.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 19 - DOIT'S TECHNICAL SERVICES REVOLVING 
FUND 

The Technical Services Revolving Fund is located 
in DOIT for purchasing, installing, and utilizing 
information systems.  PA 09-3, JSS (§ 74), requires that 
the following sums be transferred from the fund in FY 

10 beginning on or after May 1, 2010: (1) $3.9 million 
to the General Fund and (2) $100,000 to the brain injury 
prevention and services account. To effect these 
provisions, the act eliminates the requirement that the 
Technical Services Revolving Fund maintain a working 
capital balance of $1.1 million, thus freeing this amount 
for the transfers.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 20 - NEXT STEPS INITIATIVE  

The act authorizes funds to (1) provide rental 
assistance and services for the Next Steps Initiative’s 
Round 3 development projects and (2) pay for debt 
service on the bonds issued to finance the projects. 
Specifically, for Round 3 development projects the act 
authorizes up to:  

1. $264,000 of the funds appropriated to the 
Department of Social Services (DSS) during 
the current biennium under PA 09-3, JSS, for 
Homeless/Housing Services;  

2. $510,000 in FY 10 and $1 million in FY 11 of 
the funds appropriated to the Department of 
Mental Health and Addiction Services 
(DMHAS) under PA 09-3, JSS, for Housing 
Supports and Services; and 

3. $1 million of the funds appropriated to the 
treasurer to pay debt service under PA 09-3, 
JSS, during the current biennium.  

The act requires any of these authorized funds that 
are not used for Round 3 to be used for other rental 
assistance and services for new scattered site supportive 
housing.  

By law, the Next Step Initiative provides affordable 
housing and support services for people and families 
affected by psychiatric disabilities and chemical 
dependency who are homeless or at risk of being 
homeless and for supervised ex-offenders with serious 
mental health needs, among others. The law allows the 
state to provide state funds to CHFA to pay debt service 
on bonds it issued for mortgage loans under the Next 
Step Initiative. Round 3 was authorized under PA 08-
123.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 21 - BRADLEY ENTERPRISE FUND 

By December 1, 2009, the act requires the 
Transportation and Public Safety departments to enter 
into a memorandum of understanding to use the Bradley 
Enterprise Fund to pay all associated costs incurred by 
state police officers to provide security at Bradley 
Airport.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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§ 22 - JUDICIAL BRANCH ELECTRONIC FILINGS, 
DOCUMENTS, AND PAYMENTS 

Documents and Data 

Prior law authorized the Judicial Branch to permit 
anyone to file, by computer, fax, or newly developed 
technology, documents the law required to be filed with 
the Superior Court. The act: 

1. specifies that this applies to documents in any 
civil, criminal, family, juvenile, or other 
matter; 

2. expands the provision to apply to data required 
to be filed with the Superior Court and any 
documents or data the law requires to be filed 
with a judge or judge trial referee; 

3. specifies that the documents include a 
summons for an infraction or certain violations 
with a fine payable by mail to the Centralized 
Infractions Bureau, a complaint or summons 
for a misdemeanor issued by an arresting 
officer, and an information filed by a 
prosecutor charging someone with a crime; and 

4. allows filing by other technologies rather than 
new technologies as they develop. 

By law, Superior Court judges can set alternative 
methods of signing, subscribing, or verifying documents 
so that they have the same validity and status as signed, 
subscribed, or verified documents. The act applies this 
to the additional documents and data described above. 

Payments 

Prior law authorized the chief court administrator to 
allow the payment of any fee legally required to be paid 
to the Superior Court using existing or new technology. 
The act allows the use of technology to make any 
payment, not just fees. 

Judicial Orders and Decisions 

The act allows a notice, order, judgment, decision, 
decree, memorandum, ruling, opinion, mittimus, or 
similar document issued by the Superior Court or a 
judge, judge trial referee, family support magistrate, or 
magistrate to be signed or verified by computer, fax, or 
other technology according to procedures and technical 
standards set by the Office of the Chief Court 
Administrator. It gives these documents the same 
validity and status as paper documents signed or 
verified by the court or official. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

 

§ 23 - COMPUTERIZED IMAGES OF JUDICIAL 
BRANCH RECORDS  

The law authorizes the chief court administrator to 
microfilm court records, papers, or documents that must 
be retained indefinitely or for a period of time according 
to court rules, Office of the Chief Court Administrator 
directives, or statute. The act expands this to apply to all 
types of Judicial Branch records, papers, and documents 
and allows any of these documents to be reproduced as 
a computerized image. It defines a “computerized 
image” as any electronic reproduction of the original by 
a computer-based imaging system or process. 

The act requires that the device used to create the 
computerized image accurately reproduce the original in 
detail. The law imposes the same requirement on 
microfilm devices.  

Under prior law, microfilm was considered and 
treated the same as the original if it had a certificate of 
authenticity on each roll. The act instead requires that it 
be considered the same as the original in accordance 
with directives from the Office of the Chief Court 
Administrator. It also applies this to computerized 
images. 

By law, a transcript, exemplification, or certified 
copy of the microfilm is deemed to be a transcript, 
exemplification, or certified copy of the original. The 
act applies this to computerized images. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 24 - STATE INSURANCE AND RISK 
MANAGEMENT BOARD  

The act transfers the State Insurance and Risk 
Management Board to the Department of 
Administrative Services (DAS), but specifies that it has 
independent decision-making authority.  Under prior 
law, the board was located in the Comptroller’s Office 
for administrative purposes only.  The act requires DAS 
to provide the board with support staff.  The board 
determines how the state insures itself against losses by 
purchasing insurance to obtain the broadest coverage at 
the most reasonable cost.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 25-30 & 173-175 - CLAIMS COMMISSIONER 

The act moves the Office of the Claims 
Commissioner from the Comptroller’s Office for 
administrative purposes only to DAS, and specifies that 
the office has independent decision-making authority. It 
eliminates the claims commissioner’s authority to (1) 
appoint and remove a clerk and (2) employ assistants as 
necessary.  Instead, DAS must provide support staff. 
Under prior law, the clerk and assistants were in the 
unclassified service and compensated as determined by 
the DAS commissioner and approved by the OPM 
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secretary.  
The act also makes conforming changes. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

BACKGROUND - Claims Commissioner 

By law, the claims commissioner hears and 
determines all claims against the state except (1) claims 
for the periodic payment of disability, pension, 
retirement, or other employment benefits; (2) claims the 
law authorizes to be brought as lawsuits; (3) claims for 
which an administrative hearing procedure is 
established by law; (4) requests by political subdivisions 
of the state for the payment of grants in lieu of taxes; 
and (5) claims for tax refunds (CGS § 4-142). 

The law authorizes the claims commissioner to (1) 
order that a claim be denied or dismissed, (2) order 
immediate payment of a just claim in an amount up to 
$7,500, (3) recommend to the General Assembly 
payment of a just claim in an amount exceeding $7,500, 
or (4) authorize a claimant to sue the state. 

§§ 31 & 138 - STATE MARSHAL COMMISSION 

The act makes the State Marshal Commission part 
of DAS, but it allows the commission to retain 
independent decision-making authority. Previously, it 
was within DAS for administrative purposes only. The 
act allocates $50,000 from the DAS Other Expenses 
account in FY 10 and FY 11 for state marshal functions. 

By law, the State Marshal Commission fills 
vacancies in state marshal positions, establishes 
professional standards for marshals in consultation with 
the State Marshals Advisory Board, and reviews and 
audits State Marshals’ records and accounts. The 
commission can remove a state marshal for cause, after 
notice and a hearing. State marshals are independent 
contractors who serve legal papers on a fee for service 
basis. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

§ 32 - POLICE OFFICER STANDARDS AND 
TRAINING (POST) COUNCIL STAFF 

The law allows POST to employ an executive 
director and other personnel. The act requires POST 
personnel, other than the executive director, to be 
employed within available appropriations. It eliminates 
the council’s specific authority to employ an 
unclassified executive secretary.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 33 - CONNECTICUT CAREER CHOICES 
FUNDING 

The act requires the Office of Workforce 
Competitiveness (OWC) to fund Connecticut Career 

Choices within available appropriations. Connecticut 
Career Choices is an OWC initiative to stimulate and 
develop high school students' interest and skills in 
science, technology, engineering, and math.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 34 - DRY CLEANING ESTABLISHMENT 
REMEDIATION ACCOUNT 

This account provides grants to owners or operators 
of dry cleaning businesses to contain, remove, mitigate, 
or prevent pollution. By law, the economic and 
community development commissioner must establish 
grant distribution procedures and criteria. The act 
requires that the criteria specify a method to ensure 
timely payment to grant recipients.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 35 - INMATE FURLOUGHS 

Under prior law, the Department of Correction 
(DOC) commissioner could allow an inmate to visit a 
specifically designated place, in or outside the state, 
under specified conditions for up to 30 days to (1) visit 
a dying relative, (2) attend a relative’s funeral, (3) 
obtain medical services not otherwise available, or (4) 
contact prospective employers if the commissioner 
confirmed that an employment opportunity existed or an 
employment interview was scheduled. 

The act increases, from 30 to 45 days, the length of 
these furloughs. It allows the commissioner to grant a 
furlough for any compelling reason consistent with 
rehabilitation. It also eliminates the requirement that the 
commissioner confirm that an employment opportunity 
exists or an employment interview is scheduled when 
granting a furlough to contact prospective employers. 

By law, the commissioner can renew furloughs. An 
inmate who does not return from a furlough commits 1st 
degree escape. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 36 - PAROLE PANELS 

By law, 12 of the 18 members of the Board of 
Pardons and Paroles are appointed to serve on parole 
release panels and the chairman can serve on parole 
release and pardon panels. Of the 12 members 
appointed to serve on parole panels, five are full-time 
members paid by DAS and seven are paid $100 per day 
of service and necessary expenses.  

Prior law required a parole panel to consist of two 
members, with at least one being a full-time member, 
and the board chairman or a full-time member 
designated to serve temporarily as chairman. Beginning 
on the act’s effective date, the act no longer requires one 
of the two members to be a full-time member. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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§ 37 -HEALTH INSURANCE PREMIUMS FOR 
PROBATE JUDGES AND EMPLOYEES 

The act specifies that of PA 09-114 (§ 6), which 
deals with (i.e., premiums for group hospitalization and 
the medical and surgical portion of the insurance plan 
for the probate judges and employees retirement 
system) takes effect July 1, 2011, instead of January 1, 
2011 and applies to premiums paid on or after July 1, 
2011, instead of January 1, 2011.  

Under prior law, the premium had to be paid from 
the retirement fund, which consisted of amounts 
transferred from the Probate Court Administration Fund 
and contributions from probate court employees and 
judges. The retirement fund paid 20% of the dental 
portion of the premium and the participant paid 80%. 
PA 09-114 instead requires that (1) the premiums be 
paid from appropriations to the state comptroller for 
Fringe Benefits for Retired State Employees Health 
Service Cost and (2) 20% of the premium for the group 
dental coverage be paid from these appropriated funds 
with the remainder paid by the participant.  

PA 09-114 also requires that on July 1, 2011, and 
monthly thereafter, the state treasurer transfer from the 
General Fund to the comptroller the amount of premium 
due for the month as certified by the comptroller.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 38 - EXTENDED CARE GUARDIANSHIP AND 
ASSISTED CARE PILOT PROGRAM 

The law requires the probate court administrator to 
establish, within available appropriations, an extended 
family guardianship and assisted care pilot program in 
the regional children’s probate court for the district of 
New Haven to reduce the number of children who are 
placed out of their communities and in foster care due to 
abuse and neglect. Prior law required the program to be 
designed to:  (1) provide outreach to extended family 
members in the community and appoint such family 
members as guardians, and (2) seek volunteers to act as 
assisted care providers to help guardians care for 
children. 

The act also requires it to: (1) provide outreach to 
non-relative caregivers in the community and appoint 
them as guardians, and (2) provide and pay for needed 
services to assist guardians in meeting the needs of the 
children. 

The act makes each guardian appointed by the court 
eligible to receive a maximum grant of $1,000 instead 
of $500 per child. 

The act eliminates an obsolete provision. 

Regulations 

The law requires the probate court administrator to 
adopt regulations to establish the eligibility criteria for 

(1) becoming a guardian or an assisted care provider 
under the program, and (2) awarding grants.  The act 
requires the regulations to establish the criteria for: 

1. providing services to assist guardians to meet 
the children’s needs, and  

2. obtaining and paying for studies from private 
child-placing agencies in connection with 
guardianship proceedings. 

The act eliminates the requirement that the probate 
court administrator adopt these regulations through the 
regulations review process.  Instead, he must follow the 
law that sets the procedures that apply when he adopts 
certain other regulations.  Under these procedures: 

1. the regulation is submitted to the Connecticut 
Probate Assembly’s executive committee for 
approval; 

2. if the executive committee fails to approve it, 
the regulation may be submitted to a panel of 
three Superior Court judges appointed by the 
Supreme Court chief justice; 

3. the panel of judges must approve or reject the 
regulation after considering the positions of the 
probate court administrator and the executive 
committee; 

4. a proposed new regulation and any change in 
an existing one is submitted to the Judiciary 
Committee for approval or disapproval in its 
entirety, but if more than one new regulation or 
change is submitted at the same time the 
committee must approve or disapprove all of 
the new regulations and changes together in 
their entirety; 

5. unless the committee disapproves within 90 
days after submission, each regulation is 
effective on the date specified in the regulation, 
but in no event until 90 days after 
promulgation. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 39 & 106 - SCHEDULE REDUCTION DAYS FOR 
SUPERIOR COURT JUDGES 

The act authorizes, instead of requires, the Supreme 
Court chief justice to order Superior Court Judges to 
take scheduled reduction days. Special Act 09-6 
requires all full-time state employees not included in 
any prevailing bargaining unit contract to take 
scheduled reduction days. It requires (1) one scheduled 
reduction day before June 30, 2009; (2) three between 
July 1, 2009, and June 30, 2010; and (3) three between 
July 1, 2010, and June 30, 2011. 

The act lapses $316,207 in the Judicial 
Department’s Personal Services account in FY 2010 and 
FY 2011. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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§ 40 - POLICE OFFICER STANDARDS AND 
TRAINING COSTS 

The act allows POST to recover from any 
municipality that stopped operating its police training 
school on or after January 1, 2007, the cost of training 
the municipality's recruits at the Connecticut Police 
Academy.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 41 & 57 - COMMUNITY INVESTMENT 
ACCOUNT 

The act transfers $170,000 from the General Fund 
to the Community Investment Account (CIA).  It 
requires $500,000 of CIA funds that four agencies 
receive for various purposes to go to the General Fund 
in FY 10 ($125,000 from each agency). It requires that 
the funds be transferred once all of the required 
distributions from the account to those agencies are 
made. The agencies are the Department of Agriculture 
(DOAG), the Department of Environmental Protection 
(DEP), CCCT, and CHFA. The CIA is funded by the 
fee people pay town clerks for each document recorded 
in municipalities' land records.  

BACKGROUND - CIA 

The law requires that CIA funds be distributed as 
follows:  

1. 20% to CCCT, $200,000 of which must be 
used annually to supplement the Connecticut 
Trust for Historic Preservation’s technical 
assistance and preservation activities and the 
remainder to supplement historic preservation 
activities;  

2. 20% to CHFA to supplement new or existing 
affordable housing programs;  

3. 20% to DEP for municipal open space grants; 
and 

4. 40% to DOAG for a variety of uses, including:  
(a) $125,000 quarterly for the agricultural 

viability grant program; and 
(b) $125,000 quarterly for the farm transition 

program.  
Under PA 09-229 and PA 09-3, JSS, the CIA 

distribution for grants to milk producers expires on July 
1, 2011, at which time the recording fee is to decrease 
from the current $40 to the original $30 and the fund 
distribution returns to an equal 25% for each of the four 
agencies. (The temporary fee increase and fund 
redistribution, from July 1, 2009 to July 1, 2011, is 
intended to fund grants for milk producers.)  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 42 - CONSOLIDATING PRISONER 
TRANSPORTATION 

The act requires the DOC commissioner and chief 
court administrator, in consultation with the OPM 
secretary, to develop a plan to consolidate inmate 
transportation services provided by DOC and the 
Judicial Branch. The commissioner and chief court 
administrator must report to the Appropriations and 
Judiciary committees by January 1, 2010 on the level of 
transportation services provided and their cost before 
and after the proposed consolidation. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 43 - ONLINE LEARNING PROGRAM FOR 
INMATES 

The act requires the DOC commissioner and 
Charter Oak State College Board of Trustees, within 
available appropriations, to enter a memorandum of 
understanding by November 1, 2009, to implement an 
online learning program for inmates focused on (1) 
completing high school credit requirements, (2) 
preparing for the general educational development 
(GED) test, and (3) adult high school credit diploma 
program courses. The commissioner and board must 
submit progress and statistical reports on the program to 
the Appropriations and Judiciary committees by January 
1, 2010, and quarterly until June 30, 2011.  The reports 
must include recommendations to expand the program 
to additional correctional facilities as appropriate. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 44-48 - AUDITS OF RECIPIENTS OF STATE 
FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE 

Revised Threshold and Scope of Audit Requirements 

By law, municipalities and other nonstate entities 
that receive substantial amounts of state funding must 
undergo a single audit. The act defines a “single audit” 
as an audit that covers an entity’s financial statements 
and state financial assistance. It increases, from 
$100,000 to $300,000, the amount of fiscal assistance a 
nonstate entity can receive from the state before it 
becomes subject to the state single audit and related 
laws. It increases, from $200,000 to $1 million, the total 
amount of annual revenue certain entities must have 
before they become subject to the law. It expands the 
definition of a political subdivision for this purpose to 
include all types of special districts, rather than just fire 
districts, fire and sewer districts, and municipal utilities. 
By law, political subdivisions also include such entities 
as the Metropolitan District Commission, regional 
school boards, and regional planning agencies.  
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Prior law allowed a nonstate entity to choose to 
have a program-specific audit instead of a single audit if 
all of the state financial assistance that it expended in 
the audit year was for a single program. The act 
specifies that this option is not available if a grant 
agreement or statutory or regulatory provision 
governing the state financial assistance program 
requires a financial statement audit.  

Auditor and OPM Discretion 

The act gives auditors and OPM Secretary greater 
discretion in determining which programs to audit. It 
requires the secretary periodically to issue a state single 
audit compliance supplement containing information to 
help independent auditors conduct state single audits. 
This information must, at least, identify state financial 
assistance programs and their significant compliance 
requirements and include suggested audit procedures for 
determining compliance, programs that are exempt from 
auditing requirements, and information relevant to the 
risk-based approach for use in determining major state 
programs that are subject to auditing requirements.  

In addition to provisions that apply to all state 
programs, the law has a number of provisions that apply 
to major state programs. For example, the auditor must 
perform procedures to obtain an understanding of 
internal controls sufficient to plan the audit and the 
testing of internal controls to support a low assessed 
level of control risk for such programs.  

The act redefines “major state program.” Prior law 
defined it as any non-exempt program for which total 
expenditures of state financial assistance by a nonstate 
entity during the applicable year exceeded the larger of 
(1) $100,000 or (2) 1% of the total amount of state 
financial assistance expended, excluding expenditures 
of an exempt program by the nonstate entity during the 
audited year. The act eliminated the definition and 
instead allows the auditor to use a risk-based approach 
to determine which programs are major. The auditor’s 
determination must include (1) factors consistent with 
requirements established by the U.S. Office of 
Management and Budget and (2) current and prior audit 
experience, oversight by state agencies and pass-
through entities, and the risk inherent in state programs. 
(An example of a pass-through entity is a grantee who 
passes state funding on to a sub-grantee.) 

Prior law defined “exempt programs” as education 
cost sharing and various other educational grant 
programs. The act eliminates the definition and instead 
allows the OPM secretary to designate programs as 
exempt after consulting with the Auditors of Public 
Accounts and the commissioner of the state agency that 
awarded the financial assistance.  

 

Related Changes 

By law, if a nonstate entity subject to the auditing 
requirements fails to designate an auditor to conduct its 
audit, the cognizant agency must do so. The act makes 
the nonstate entity responsible for paying the costs of 
any audit conducted by an agency-designated auditor.  

By law, the cognizant agency may extend, by up to 
30 days, the deadline for a nonstate entity to file copies 
of its audit with the relevant state agencies if the auditor 
and the entity's chief executive officer submit a joint 
request to the cognizant agency stating the reasons for 
the extension. The act additionally requires that the 
request include an estimate of the time needed to 
complete the audit. It requires the auditor or chief 
executive officer to promptly provide any additional 
information the cognizant agency requires. Prior law 
allowed the cognizant agency to hold a hearing on the 
request. The act instead allows it to require the auditor 
and officials of the nonstate entity to meet with its 
representatives.  It also modifies the requirement that a 
nonstate entity file a copy of the audit report with state 
grantor agencies by requiring that this be done, if it is 
applicable to the grantor agencies, rather than in every 
case.  

By law, the audit must determine whether a 
nonstate entity has complied with the laws, regulations, 
and grant provisions of major state programs, and the 
auditor must select and test a representative number of 
transactions from each such program. The act specifies 
that the auditor must do this to provide him or her with 
sufficient evidence of compliance.  

By law, when the total expenditures of a nonstate 
entity’s major state programs are less than 50% of its 
total expenditures of state financial assistance, 
excluding exempt program expenditures, the auditor 
must select and test additional programs to cover at least 
50% of this total. The act eliminates, in such cases, 
requirements that (1) the selection be carried out in 
accordance with relevant OPM regulations and (2) no 
more than two programs each of which has total state 
financial assistance expenditures between $25,000 and 
$100,000 be tested if needed to achieve the audit 
coverage.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 49 - COMMISSION ON ENHANCING AGENCY 
OUTCOMES 

The act expands the membership of the 
Commission on Enhancing Agency Outcomes created 
by PA 09-2 by adding the chairpersons of the 
Legislative Program Review and Investigations 
Committee, or their designees. Under existing law, the 
chairpersons and ranking members of the 
Appropriations and GAE committees serve on the 
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commission. The act permits the committee 
chairpersons to be represented by designees, but not the 
ranking members.  

Previously, the commission’s charge included 
consideration of the merging of state agencies including, 
specifically, (1) DMHAS and DSS and (2) CCCT, 
portions of OWC, and the Department of Economic and 
Community Development (DECD). The act (1) 
eliminates these references to specific agencies for 
possible merging and (2) adds consideration of 
streamlining state operations to the commission’s 
charge.  

The act also (1) requires the Program Review 
Committee, as it determines and within existing 
budgetary resources, to assist the commission and (2) 
extends and revises the commission’s reporting 
requirements. Previously, the commission had to submit 
a report of its findings and recommendations to the 
governor, the House speaker, and the Senate president 
Pro Tempore by July 1, 2009 after which date the 
commission terminated. The act, instead, gives the 
commission until February 1, 2010 to submit an initial 
report identifying subjects for further study and until 
December 31, 2010 to submit a full report on its 
findings and recommendations. It allows the 
commission to continue in existence until December 31, 
2011.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 50 - DECD STUDY OF AGENCY PROGRAMS 

Special Act 09-14 requires the DECD 
commissioner to conduct a three-year study of the 
programs the agency initiated, conducted, or 
coordinated that promote and assist Connecticut 
businesses with international trade with African nations 
with whom the United States has diplomatic relations. 
Reports on each phase of the three-year study must be 
submitted to the Commerce Committee by July 1, 2010, 
July 1, 2011, and July 1, 2012. The act (1) specifies that 
the study must be conducted within available 
appropriations and (2) makes a technical change to the 
statutory reference under which the report must be 
submitted.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 51 - TOURISM DISTRICT ANNUAL BUDGET 
SUBMISSIONS 

The act suspends for one year CCCT’s authority to 
review and approve the regional tourism districts’ 
proposed budgets and the requirement that districts 
submit copies of those budgets to OPM and the 
Appropriations; Commerce; and Finance, Revenue and 
Bonding committees. The act also requires the districts 
to submit annually their budgets to the committees by 

March 15 rather than September 15 beginning in 2011. 
Prior law required the districts to submit their proposed 
annual budgets to CCCT by June 1 annually.  

By law, CCCT has until June 30 to review, 
comment, and recommend changes to them. If CCCT 
rejects a proposed budget, it must prepare an interim 
one, which remains in effect until it approves a revised 
budget. The act continues to require the districts to 
submit their proposed plans to CCCT for review by 
June 1, but suspends, until June 1, 2011, CCCT's 
authority to annually approve or reject them.  

Lastly, the act suspends for one year, from January 
1 to December 31, 2010, the requirement that districts 
spend no more than 20% of their state grant for 
administrative costs.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010 

§ 52 - MUNICIPAL VIDEO COMPETITION TRUST 
ACCOUNT 

The act makes minor changes in how the Municipal 
Video Competition Trust Account is allocated. This 
account is funded by a tax on competitive video services 
and is distributed as property tax relief to municipalities. 
The act specifies that the amount to be distributed each 
fiscal year is the amount in the account at the end of the 
preceding fiscal year.  

By law, each municipality’s share of the account is 
based on its share of the number of competitive video 
services subscribers in the state. The act specifies that 
this calculation is based on its share of the number of 
subscribers in the fiscal year proceeding the fiscal year 
during which the money is distributed.  

By law, unconsolidated cities and boroughs are 
entitled to part of their town’s share of the account. The 
split between the city and borough and the town in 
which it is located is based on their respective property 
tax levies. The act specifies that the levies are those for 
the most recent fiscal year for which OPM has received 
a certified copy of the audit report required by law.  It 
also allows an affected town to keep any city or 
borough’s allocation that is less than $5.  

The act requires OPM to certify to the comptroller 
the amount to be paid each municipality, rather than 
each municipality’s percentage of the money in the 
account.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 53 - HOUSING INCENTIVE GRANTS  

The law authorizes grants to municipalities that 
designate housing incentive zones and issue building 
permits for housing units to be built in these zones. 
Under prior law, the grant for designating zones was 
$2,000 for each unit that could be built on developable 
land in the zone. The building permit grant was $5,000 
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for each single-family detached unit and $2,000 for each 
multifamily, duplex, and townhouse unit. The act 
changes these flat per-unit amounts to maximum per-
unit grants and authorizes the OPM secretary to 
determine the amounts up to the authorized maximums. 
The law specifies the criteria for designating zones and 
the process for obtaining the grants.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
grant payments beginning with those issued in FY 09.  

§ 54 - PROPERTY TAX ON CAPITOL DISTRICT 
HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEM 

The act specifies that the personal property tax paid 
on August 7, 2009 for property the Department of 
Public Works (DPW) acquired in its purchase of a 
system that heats and cools state and nonstate buildings 
in the Capitol District constitutes full payment for 
system property for the October 1, 2008 assessment 
year. 

PA 09-15 authorized DPW to purchase the system, 
including all assets and property related to or needed for 
its operation, from the TEN Companies, Inc. Among the 
state buildings the system serves are the State Capitol, 
Legislative Office Building, Supreme Court building, 
and various Executive Branch office buildings. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 55 - STATE AUTHORITY TO ACCEPT CREDIT 
CARD AND ELECTRONIC PAYMENTS  

The act expands the OPM secretary’s authority to 
allow any state agency to accept payments by credit, 
charge, or debit card to cover payments by an electronic 
payment service, such as Paypal. It also expands the 
types of costs for which the secretary can allow such 
payments to any fee, cost, or fine payable to the agency, 
not just license fees.  

Finally, it extends agencies’ existing authority to 
charge a service fee for accepting card payments to 
allow a fee for payment by an electronic payment 
service. However, it does not apply the statutory 
requirements for card service fees to electronic payment 
service fees, namely that fees must be (1) related to the 
cost of the service, (2) uniform for all cards accepted, 
and (3) applied only when allowed or authorized in 
writing by the card issuer or processor. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 56 - GRANTS FOR MILK PRODUCERS 

The act authorizes using the $10 million 
appropriated to DOAG for “dairy farmers” under PA 
09-3, JSS to pay for grants to milk producers (i.e., 
people, firms, or corporations registered as producers of 
milk for pasteurization). The grants are to be used to 
pay milk producers the difference between the federal 

pay price and the minimum sustainable monthly cost of 
milk production, as the law defines. The law (PA 09-
229) defines the “federal pay price” as the Northeast 
monthly uniform price for milk in the Hartford zone 
pursuant to the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s 
(USDA) Northeast Federal Milk Marketing Order. It 
sets the minimum sustainable monthly cost of 
production at 82% of the baseline determined by 
USDA's Economic Research Service for the monthly 
average cost of production for a New England state. 
(Federal law governs the price that processors pay to 
dairy farmers for milk. This amount is often less than 
the milk producers’ costs.)  

The act specifies that the grants to milk producers 
from the $10 million appropriation are for the period 
between January 1, 2009 and June 30, 2009; the 
commissioner must distribute the grants by November 
1, 2009. The act specifies that the DOAG commissioner 
must calculate grant payments based on the amount of 
milk each milk producer generated between January 1 
and June 30, 2009.  

Under PA 09-229, for each month that the federal 
pay price is below the minimum sustainable monthly 
cost of production, a milk producer is entitled to an 
amount equal to the difference between the federal pay 
price and the minimum sustainable monthly cost of 
production, multiplied by the amount of milk the 
producer produced during the month. But, a milk 
producer is eligible for that grant beginning on the date 
of the first deposit into the Agriculture Sustainability 
Account (which PA 09-229 established). This act 
provides its grants retroactively. 

The act allows the commissioner to use up to 
$100,000 of the appropriated funds for grant 
administration.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 58 - REPEAL TRANSFER OF DMHAS FUNDS 

The act eliminates a provision in the budget act (PA 
09-3, JSS) making up to $125,000 appropriated to 
DMHAS for the Pre-Trial Substance Abuse Program 
available for the RYASAP Regional Access Council in 
Bridgeport in both FY 10 and 11. The budget makes a 
similar allocation to the Regional Youth/Adult 
Substance Abuse Project in Bridgeport.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 59 - DANBURY TRUCK WEIGHING FACILITY 
STAFFING 

The law establishes minimum staffing levels for the 
truck weighing facilities in Greenwich, Danbury, and 
Union as well as for the use of portable scales at other 
than the permanent locations. Previously, the 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) was primarily 
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responsible for operations in Danbury. The act increases 
the minimum number of work shifts at the Danbury 
facility from three to six per week and makes the 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) responsible for 
providing the three additional shifts.  By law, DPS is 
primarily responsible for operations in Greenwich, and 
DMV is primarily responsible for operations in Union.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: September 1, 2010  

§§ 60-61 – CCCT MEMBERSHIP AND DECD 
COMMISSIONER'S POWERS AND DUTIES 
CONCERNING DIGITAL MEDIA AND MOTION 
PICTURE INDUSTRIES 

The act reduces the CCCT's membership from 35 to 
28 by removing the seven members with experience 
relating directly to the production of digital media or 
motion pictures. Under prior law, the governor and top 
six legislative leaders each appointed one such member.  

The act also authorizes the DECD commissioner to 
enhance and promote digital media and motion picture 
industries in the state.  

These changes conform to PA 09-3, JSS, which 
transferred to DECD the CCCT's (1) administration of 
the film and digital media production and infrastructure 
tax credits and (2) powers and duties concerning digital 
media and motion picture promotion activities.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 62 – REGIONAL PLANNING AGENCY 
MEMBERSHIP  

Regional planning agencies (RPAs), which operate 
in five of the state’s 15 planning regions, are governed 
by boards consisting entirely of municipal 
representatives. Under prior law, each municipality 
belonging to an RPA was entitled to at least two board 
representatives. PA 09-80 increased that number to 
three by making each municipality’s chief elected 
official (CEO), or his or her designee, a board member.  

This act reduces the minimum number of 
representatives per municipalities to two, but requires 
one of them to be the municipality’s CEO, or his or her 
designee. By law, municipalities with over 25,000 
people are entitled to one additional representative for 
each additional 50,000 people or fraction thereof.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 63 – TESTING ENERGY TECHNOLOGIES IN 
STATE AGENCIES 

The act allows the OPM secretary, under his 
energy-related powers, to direct a state agency to test 
technologies, products, or processes that he finds would 
promote energy conservation or efficiency or renewable 
energy in order to validate their effectiveness. Agencies 
cannot undertake this testing unless the business 

manufacturing or marketing the technology, product, or 
process demonstrates (1) the testing will be safe, (2) a 
certified independent third-party or accredited 
laboratory has found it reduces energy consumption and 
cost, and (3) it is either commercially available or will 
be within two years after the testing is completed.  

If the secretary finds that using the technology, 
product, or process is feasible and will not harm the 
agency’s operations, he can direct an agency to 
undertake the testing program without going through 
state purchasing law. The act specifies that acquisitions 
under the testing program are not purchases under this 
law. The manufacturer or marketer, or an investor or 
participant in the business must (1) pay the cost of 
acquiring and testing the technology, product, or 
process and (2) maintain records as required by OPM. 
Proprietary information derived from the testing is 
exempt from the Freedom of Information Act.  

If the secretary determines that the testing 
sufficiently demonstrates that the technology reduces 
energy use, fossil fuel dependence, or greenhouse gas 
emissions, the agency may ask DAS to waive 
competitive bidding or negotiation requirements to 
procure the technology for any or all state agencies.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 64 – POLICE OFFICER STANDARDS AND 
TRAINING COUNCIL AND FAMILY VIOLENCE 
ISSUES  

By July 1, 2010, the act requires POST to establish 
uniform protocols for treating family violence victims 
whose immigration status is questionable and make 
them available to law enforcement agencies. The 
agencies must adopt and use the protocols, and peace 
officers at family violence scenes must help victims in 
accordance with them.  

The act requires each law enforcement agency to 
designate at least one supervisor to expeditiously 
process specified federal documentation when asked to 
do so by a victim of family violence or other crime 
applying for U.S. nonimmigrant status. The official 
must process (1) a certificate of helpfulness on Form I-
918, Supplement B or any subsequent corresponding 
form designated by the U.S. Department of Homeland 
Security, confirming that the victim has been, is being, 
or is likely to be helpful in investigating or prosecuting 
the criminal activity and (2) any subsequent certification 
the victim requires.  

By law, POST training for law enforcement officers 
handling family violence matters must include legal 
duties of police officers to make arrests and offer help 
and protection. The act specifies that the training must 
include applicable probable cause standards. Starting 
July 1, 2010, it requires that the training include, within 
available appropriations, information on:  
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1. the impact of arrests of multiple parties in a 
family violence case on the parties’ 
immigration status;  

2. crime scene investigation and evaluation 
practices in family violence cases designed by 
POST to reduce the number of multiple arrests 
in such cases;  

3. practical considerations in the application of 
state statutes related to family violence and 
other crimes; and 

4. eligibility for federal T visas for victims of 
human trafficking and federal U visas for 
unauthorized immigrants who are victims of 
family violence and other crimes. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2010 

§ 65 – PRETRIAL FAMILY EDUCATION 
PROGRAM  

The act requires that the pretrial family violence 
education program for people charged with family 
violence crimes inform participants of the basic 
elements of family violence law and applicable 
penalties. 

Pretrial Family Violence Program  

The pretrial family violence education program is 
for people who are charged with family violence crimes. 
A defendant can ask the court to place him or her in the 
program. A defendant is ineligible if he or she:  

1. is charged with a class A, B, or C felony, an 
unclassified felony that carries more than a 10-
year sentence, or, unless good cause is shown, 
a class D felony, or an unclassified felony 
carrying a penalty of at least five years;  

2. has previously participated in the program; or 
3. has been convicted of, or accepted accelerated 

rehabilitation for, a family violence crime 
committed after October 1, 1986.  

A defendant who satisfactorily completes the 
program and complies with all conditions can apply to 
have the charges dismissed and erased. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2010 

§ 66 – FAMILY VIOLENCE LAW TRAINING AND 
DISPARITY OF CASES AMONG GEOGRAPHIC 
AREAS 

Within available appropriations, the act requires the 
Judicial Department to provide training to its staff, 
including court personnel, on family violence issues and 
law, including those related to family violence in 
immigrant communities. The training must address 
arrest policies and eligibility for federal T Visas for 
victims of human trafficking and federal U Visas for 
unauthorized immigrants who are victims of family 

violence and other crimes. 
The act also requires the Judicial Department, on an 

ongoing basis, within available appropriations, to study 
and implement methods to reduce disparities in the 
disposition of family violence cases among geographic 
areas. 

Federal U and T Visas 

The U Visa allows certain immigrant victims of 
crime to live and work lawfully in the United States. 
Immigrants who receive a U Visa can apply for a green 
card after three years. The government plans to issue up 
to 10,000 U Visas each year. 

U Visas are available to immigrants who are either 
victims of or who possess information concerning one 
of the following forms of criminal activity: rape; torture; 
trafficking; incest; domestic violence; sexual assault; 
abusive sexual contact; prostitution; sexual exploitation; 
female genital mutilation; hostage holding; peonage; 
involuntary servitude; slave trade; kidnapping; 
abduction; unlawful criminal restraint; false 
imprisonment; blackmail; extortion; manslaughter; 
murder; felonious assault; witness tampering; 
obstruction of justice; perjury; or attempt; conspiracy; 
or solicitation to commit one of these offenses. A 
federal, state, or local official must certify that an 
investigation or prosecution would be harmed without 
the immigrant’s assistance or, in the case of an 
immigrant child, the t parent’s assistance. 

T Visas are available to individuals who are victims 
of “a severe form of trafficking in persons.” Severe 
forms of trafficking include sex trafficking of people 
under 18 years of age, or recruiting or obtaining people 
for labor or services by force, fraud, or coercion for the 
purpose of subjecting them to involuntary servitude, 
peonage, debt bondage, or slavery. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2010 

§§ 67-68 & 132-134 – BUILDING CONSTRUCTION 
PROJECTS 

By law, the Department of Public Works (DPW) 
commissioner has charge and supervision, including the 
authority to contract for alterations and repairs, over 
most state building construction projects that will cost 
the state over $2 million for higher education projects 
and $500,000 for other projects. The act gives the 
Judicial Branch more independence over building 
projects by increasing the threshold requiring DPW 
supervision from $500,000 to $1.25 million.  

The act also increases the threshold of construction 
projects requiring the DPW commissioner’s prior 
approval. It requires prior approval on alterations or 
repairs to buildings (1) rented or occupied by the 
Judicial Branch that cost up to $1.25 million or (2) 
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under the supervision of the Office of the Chief Court 
Administrator or a constituent unit of higher education 
that cost up to $500,000. Under prior law, these 
agencies had to obtain the commissioner’s prior 
approval for alterations and repairs that cost over 
$100,000.  

The act expressly authorizes the staff of the Office 
of the Chief Court Administrator to plan and execute 
contracts, other than consultant services, and exercise 
oversight and supervision over the construction of 
buildings or premises under the office’s supervision.  
By law, the DPW commissioner negotiates contracts for 
consultant services with the firm most qualified to 
perform the services at the price the commissioner 
determines is fair and reasonable to the state. When 
choosing a consultant for a construction project on a 
building the Judicial Department supervises or in which 
it is the primary occupant, the act allows the 
commissioner to bypass the open bidding and 
negotiation process and instead select a consultant from 
a list of at least three people that he determines is most 
qualified to perform the services at the price he 
determines is fair and reasonable to the state.  

The act eliminates a requirement for the State 
Properties Review Board (SPRB) to approve Judicial 
Department consultant contracts that are estimated to 
exceed $300,000. By law, SPRB must approve most 
consultant service contracts over $100,000.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 69-93, 104 & 113 – RAISING THE AGE OF 
JUVENILE COURT JURISDICTION  

This act:  
1. delays raising the maximum age for juvenile 

court jurisdiction to 17 from January 1, 2010 to 
July 1, 2012; 

2. consistent with the phase-in of the raise-the-
age provisions, delays the repeal of the Youth 
in Crisis law from January 1, 2010 to January 
1, 2012 and restricts eligibility to youths age 
17 beginning in 2010, rather than those age 16 
and 17;  

3. revises the definition of delinquent act;  
4. expressly eliminates juvenile court jurisdiction 

over matters involving emancipated minors;  
5. allows police officers to release an arrested 

child into the child's own custody  and makes it 
a delinquent act for a child who has been 
released in this manner to willfully fail to 
appear in court;  

6. modifies rules for the admissibility of 
children’s confessions in delinquency 
proceedings;  

7. limits the use of pretrial detention, but adds 
violating conditions of a suspended detention 

order as a basis for detaining a child;  
8. modifies and expands vocational probation 

options;  
9. authorizes Superior Court judges to obtain a 

child’s educational records; 
10. changes the ages of children and older teens 

about whom the education commissioner must 
provide information;  

11. transfers some functions expressly assigned to 
the Judicial Branch’s Court Support Services 
Division (CSSD) to the entire Judicial Branch 
and authorizes the chief court administrator to 
issue bids to contract for space or services for 
juveniles;  

12. expands the availability of record erasure for 
children (a) convicted as delinquent or (b) 
adjudicated as a child in a family with service 
needs (FWSN – truants, runaways, or children 
beyond control of parents or school officials) 
but delays, from 16 to 17, and then from 17 to 
18, the age children must reach before 
becoming entitled to court consideration of an 
erasure petition;  

13. revives the Juvenile Jurisdiction Policy and 
Operations Coordinating Council; and 

14. transfers funds from the Judicial Branch to the 
Department of Children and Families (DCF) 
for residential board and care services.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010, except the 
provisions extending juvenile court jurisdiction to 17-
year-olds and the repeal of the Youth in Crisis law are 
effective July 1, 2012, and the provisions concerning the 
expansion of Judicial Branch responsibilities, contract 
bidding, fund transfers, and the coordinating council are 
effective on passage.  

§§ 69 & 82 – Delinquency  

Children under Age 16. Existing delinquency law 
covers federal, state, court order, and municipal or local 
ordinance violations by children under age 16, other 
than ordinances regulating the conduct of FWSN 
children. It also covers older children who committed a 
delinquent act when they were under age 16 and remain 
under juvenile court supervision.  Beginning January 1, 
2010 the act allows children under age 16 to be 
convicted as delinquent if they:  

1. violate any federal or state law or municipal or 
local ordinance other than an ordinance 
regulating the behavior of a FWSN child;  

2. willfully fail to appear in court in response to a 
summons or at any other court hearing of 
which they had notice;  

3. violate a court order, except an order directed 
at a FWSN child; or 
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4. violate court-ordered conditions of probation.  
Children Age 16 and 17. Under the act, beginning 

January 1, 2010, 16-year-olds may be convicted as 
delinquent for any of the above reasons, except for (1) 
infractions, (2) violations, (3) motor vehicle offenses or 
violations, or (4) municipal or local ordinance 
violations. The act also makes 16-year-olds eligible to 
participate in the FWSN program. Currently the 
program is open to children under age 16.  

Beginning July 1, 2012, 17-year-olds will also 
qualify for the FWSN program. Until July 1, 2012 they 
will continue to be tried on the adult docket and qualify 
for the Youth in Crisis program, which offers fewer 
services and court dispositional options than the FWSN 
program. 

§ 72 – Releasing Children into Their Own Custody  

Until January 1, 2010, police officers can either 
release children who have been arrested into the custody 
of a parent, guardian, suitable person, or agency or turn 
them over to a juvenile detention center. If the arrest is 
for a delinquent act, and the child is not placed in 
detention or referred to a diversionary program, the 
police must serve the child and his or her parents, 
guardians, or other people with control over the child 
with a summons to appear in court at a later date.  
Beginning on January 1, 2010, the act also allows the 
police to release a child into the child’s own custody. 
When the police do so, the act requires that they make 
reasonable efforts to notify and provide a copy of the 
written complaint and summons to the parent, guardian, 
suitable person, or agency before the court date listed on 
the child’s summons.  

The act makes it a delinquent act for a child to 
willfully fail to appear in court in response to the 
summons and authorizes the court to order that the child 
be taken into custody.  Until July 1, 2012 the act applies 
to children 16 years old or younger; after that date, it 
applies to those 17 years old or younger. 

§ 75 & 87– Juvenile Confessions 

By law, confessions, statements, and admissions 
made by children (1) under age 16 or (2) age 16 or older 
if the delinquent act occurred when they were under age 
16 are not admissible as evidence in delinquency 
proceedings unless the child and a parent or guardian 
had been advised or his or her constitutional (Miranda) 
rights and a parent was present when the confession, 
statement, or admission was made. Under the act, they 
may be used against children age 16 if:  (1) the police or 
Juvenile Court official made reasonable efforts to 
contact a parent or guardian and (2) the child has been 
advised of his or her Miranda rights and the right to 
have a parent present during any interview.  

Under the act, admissibility of statements, 
confessions, and admissions of 16- and, after July 1, 
2012, 17-year-olds must be determined by taking into 
consideration the totality of circumstances at the time 
they were made. The court must consider:  

1. the child’s age, experience, education, 
background, and intelligence;  

2. whether he or she had the capacity to 
understand (a) the advice concerning rights and 
warnings he or she was given, (b) the nature of 
the constitutional privilege against self-
incrimination, and (c) the consequences of 
waiving his or her rights or privileges;  

3. whether the child had the opportunity to speak 
with a parent, guardian, or other suitable 
person before making the admission, 
confession, or statement; and 

4. the circumstances surrounding the making of 
the admission, confession, or statement, 
including (a) when and where it was made, (b) 
the reasonableness of proceeding, or the need 
to proceed, without a parent or guardian 
present, and (c) the reasonableness of efforts 
by the police or juvenile court official to 
attempt to contact a parent or guardian.  

§ 72 – Pretrial Detention  

By law, a court may order pretrial detention when it 
finds probable cause to believe that an arrested child 
committed the offense he or she is charged with and 
there is:  

1. a strong probability that he or she will run 
away or commit or attempt to commit other 
offenses before the court hearing or 
disposition, 

2. probable cause to believe that the child’s 
continued residence at home will not safeguard 
the child’s or community’s best interest 
because of the serious and dangerous nature of 
the acts he or she is accused of committing, 

3. a need to hold the child to assure his or her 
appearance before the court in view of previous 
failure to respond to court process, or 

4. a need to hold the child for another jurisdiction.  
The act specifies that placement in pretrial 

detention is permissible only when it is the least 
restrictive placement option available.  

The act makes violating a condition of a suspended 
detention order a new ground for ordering pretrial 
detention. And it requires courts to find that those held 
because of the serious nature of the charges pose a risk 
to themselves or the community, rather than that release 
will not safeguard the best interests of the child or 
community.  
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By law, detention supervisors can release children 
to a parent, guardian, or other suitable person’s custody 
unless the child has been arrested for a serious juvenile 
offense. The act also permits the release to a suitable  
agency.  It precludes pretrial release when an order not 
to release is noted on the take-into-custody order, arrest 
warrant, or order to detain.  

§§ 78 & 89 – Education Commissioner’s Annual 
Legislative Report  

For the next two years, the act increases the age of 
the children and older teens about whom the education 
commissioner must furnish annual statistics and 
demographic information.  Under prior law, he was 
required to report on referrals or court diversions of 
those under age 18.  The act requires the 2010 and 2011 
reports to include 18-year-olds.  For the 2012 report, the 
age reverts to those under age 18. 

§ 70 – Furnishing Educational Records to Juvenile 
Court Judges  

The act authorizes Superior Court judges to order 
boards of education to furnish them with a court-
involved child’s educational records.  Judges can use 
the records only to assist in determining how to dispose 
of the child’s case.   

If the child is charged with a delinquent act or is 
from a FWSN family, the records must be kept under 
court seal and cannot be released unless the (1) child 
consents or (2) court holds a hearing. 

§ 76 - Expanding Conditions of Vocational Probation  

Prior law allowed juvenile court judges to place a 
delinquent or FWSN child age 14 or older on vocational 
probation when they determined that a child would not 
benefit from continued school attendance. The act 
allows judges to order work-study or employment with 
or without continued school attendance as a condition of 
probation or supervision for any delinquent or FWSN 
child age 16 or under, and age 17 or under beginning 
July 1, 2012. 

§§ 77 & 88 - Erasing Juvenile Court Records  

The act accelerates the grounds for Superior Court 
judges to grant petitions to erase police and court 
records, including the authority to hold hearings and 
grant record erasure petitions earlier for good cause.  
Under prior law, Superior Court judges had to grant 
petitions to erase police and court records concerning 
delinquent or FWSN children who:  

1. were at least 16 years old;  
2. had been discharged from court supervision, 

DCF custody, or the care of any other court-

ordered institution or agency for at least two 
years (four years if convicted of a serious 
juvenile offense);  

3. had no pending juvenile proceeding; and 
4. since discharge, had not been found guilty of a 

crime. 
The act restricts erasure provisions to children at 

least 17 years old, and beginning July 1, 2012, at least 
18 years old, and makes children ineligible if convicted 
of an offense as an adult or, if convicted in juvenile 
court, of an offense that would be a felony or 
misdemeanor if committed by and adult.   

§ 92 - Transferring Functions from the CSSD to the 
Entire Judicial Branch  

Under prior law, CSSD was responsible for 
developing programs to prevent and reduce the 
frequency of delinquency and crime. The act makes this 
the responsibility of the entire Judicial Branch. It makes 
the same change for (1) collaborating with private 
residential facilities providing residential programs and 
community-based, non-residential post-release 
programs and (2) consulting with the Commission on 
Racial and Ethnic Disparity about the needs of 
minorities in the juvenile justice system.  

§§ 92 & 93 - Expanded Court Contracting Authority  

By law, the chief court administrator represents the 
state in contracting for space for CSSD personnel at 
alternative incarceration facilities.  As part of a publicly 
bid contract for an alternative incarceration facility, the 
act permits her to require that the contractor provide 
space needed by juvenile probation officers and CSSD 
personnel. 

The act also extends the Judicial Branch’s 
contracting authority to juvenile justice programs and 
services. 

§ 104 - Fund Transfers Associated with the Raise the 
Age Provisions  

The act transfers funds appropriated to the Judicial 
Branch for Youthful Offender Services to DCF for 
Residential Board and Care for children. For FYs 2010 
and 2011, the act transfers $2,555,012 and $5,299,000, 
respectively.  

§ 113 - Reviving Juvenile Jurisdiction Policy and 
Operations Coordinating Council  

The Juvenile Jurisdiction Policy and Operations 
Coordinating Council is composed of state officials, 
legislators, and others with expertise in juvenile justice 
issues. Its sole responsibilities are monitoring the 
Juvenile Jurisdiction Planning and Implementation 
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Committee’s plan concerning  changes required in the 
juvenile justice system to expand jurisdiction to include 
16- and 17-year-olds and reporting its findings and 
recommendations. On January 1, 2009 it submitted its 
final report and recommendations to the governor and 
Appropriations, Children's, Human Services, and 
Judiciary committees.  

The act gives the council new responsibilities, 
consisting of monitoring the implementation of any 
changes required to expand the juvenile justice system’s 
jurisdiction to include the new age groups and reporting 
its recommendations to the governor and the same 
committees by January 1, 2011. 

§ 94 - ALIENS CONVICTED OF CRIMES 

The act authorizes the DOC commissioner to 
release to the U.S. Immigration and Customs 
Enforcement (ICE) any alien convicted of a crime who 
(1) is sentenced to a prison term of five years or less and 
(2) has served at least 50% of the sentence. The act 
specifies the commissioner may do so under the 
provisions of existing law that authorize the 
commissioner to transfer any person from one 
correctional institution to another or to any public or 
private nonprofit halfway house, group home, or mental 
health facility or, after satisfactory participation in a 
residential program, to any approved community or 
private residence. Under this law, any transferred 
inmate remains under the commissioner’s jurisdiction. 

Under existing law, inmates can be released for 
deportation by the Board of Pardons and Parole after 
serving 50% of their sentence unless their crimes (such 
as murder) make them ineligible for parole.  Inmates 
must be sentenced to a prison term of at least two years 
to be eligible for parole consideration. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 95- FORECLOSURE MEDIATION 

Under prior law, courts had to issue a foreclosure 
mediation notice within three days of the mortgagee 
returning the foreclosure writ to the court. The act 
specifies that it must be within three business days.  

By law, the court’s mediation date notice must be 
issued to all appearing parties within five business days 
after the return date. The act requires the court to issue 
the date notice three business days after it receives the 
mortgagor’s appearance and foreclosure mediation 
certificate forms, if this is later. As under prior law, the 
court cannot schedule mediation if it has not received 
these forms by 15 days after the return date.  

By law, the court may refer a foreclosure action 
brought by a mortgagee to the mediation program at any 
time as long as the mortgagor has filed an appearance. 
The act requires the court to follow the same timeline as 

would be applicable if the mediation had been formally 
requested. Specifically, no more than three business 
days after making the referral, the court must send 
notice to the appearing parties scheduling the first 
mediation session within 15 days of the referral.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 96 - MORTGAGE LAW PROHIBITED ACTIONS  

PA 09-209 prohibits anyone subject to the 
mortgage licensing law from taking a number of actions 
relating to fraud, deceptive practices, false statements, 
and acting without a license. This act specifies that these 
prohibitions apply to people who are subject to the laws 
and required to be licensed under them.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 97-99 - NONPRIME LOAN PROHIBITED 
PROVISIONS 

Public Act 09-207 sets out new prohibited 
provisions in nonprime loans and renders any such 
provision in such a loan void and unenforceable. This 
act specifies that such provisions are void only if the 
lender received the application on or after October 1, 
2009. It specifies that the nonprime loan definition and 
prohibited provisions in effect as of January 1, 2009 
(i.e., the law in effect before PA 09-207’s passage) 
apply to loans for which a lender receives an application 
before October 1, 2009.  
Prior law generally prohibited lenders from making 
nonprime loans originated on or after January 1, 2010 
unless the lender collected a monthly escrow payment. 
The act instead specifies that this provision applies to 
nonprime loans for which the lender receives an 
application on or after April 1, 2010.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 100- PROVISIONS PROHIBITED IN ALL 
MORTGAGE LOANS 

PA 09-207 prohibits mortgage lenders from 
including provisions in mortgage loans that increase the 
interest rate as a result of default, except for increases 
resulting from failure to comply with an automatic 
electronic payment feature, if the feature was provided 
in return for an interest rate reduction, and the increase 
is no greater than the reduction. The act specifies that 
this prohibition applies only when the lender receives 
the application on or after October 1, 2009.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 101 - CONSUMER COLLECTION AGENCIES 
BOND REQUIREMENT 

Under prior law, a consumer collection agency 
licensee or license applicant seeking more than one 
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license could either file the normal bond for each place 
of business or a single bond, naming each place of 
business, in an amount of $5,000 per place of business. 
The act increases this amount to $25,000 per place of 
business.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 102 - RECOMMENDATIONS FOR 
CONSOLIDATING TOURISM DISTRICTS  

The act requires CCCT to recommend how the five 
regional tourism districts can be consolidated into three. 
At a minimum, the recommendations must address the 
districts’ composition, the number of members that 
should serve on the districts’ boards of directors, and the 
process for creating and approving district budgets. 
CCCT must report its recommendations to the 
Appropriations and Commerce Committees by 
December 1, 2009.  (But other provisions of the act 
effect this reduction, see §§ 12-14, above). 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

§ 103 - AGRICULTURE VIABILITY ACCOUNT 

Under PA 09-3, JSS, $500,000 was transferred in 
FY 10 from the agriculture viability subaccount of the 
CIA to the General Fund. The act eliminates this 
transfer. By law, money from the CIA funds the farm 
viability matching grant. The grant may be used for (1) 
local capital projects that foster agricultural viability, 
including processing facilities and farmers’ markets; (2) 
the development and implementation of agriculturally 
friendly land use regulations and local farmland 
protection strategies that sustain and promote local 
agriculture; and (3) the development of new marketing 
programs and venues through or in which a majority of 
products sold are state grown.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 105 - CERTIFICATION OF DISABILITY FOR 
HANDICAPPED PARKING CREDENTIALS 

The act rescinds a change made by PA 09-187 that 
eliminated authority for physician’s assistants or 
advanced practice registered nurses to certify someone’s 
disability for purposes of getting a handicapped parking 
credential issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles. 
It thus restores the prior law, which authorized 
certification by a properly licensed physician, 
physician’s assistant, or advanced practice registered 
nurse.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 107 - MEDICALLY NECESSARY DEFINITION 
UNDER MEDICAID  

Definition 

The act requires DSS, by July 1, 2010, to amend the 
definition of “medically necessary” services in its 
Medicaid regulations to reflect savings in the current 
biennial budget by reducing program administration 
inefficiencies while maintaining the quality of care 
provided to Medicaid beneficiaries. (PA 09-3, JSS 
already requires DSS to do this.)  

The act allows the DSS commissioner to implement 
policies and procedures using this amended definition 
while in the process of adopting the definition in 
regulation. He must print a notice of intent to publish 
the regulations in the Connecticut Law Journal within 
45 days of implementing them. The policies and 
procedures are valid until final regulations are adopted. 
(PA 09-3, JSS already allows DSS to do this.)  

Medical Inefficiency Committee 

The act also establishes a committee identical in 
composition and responsibilities to that created under 
PA 09-3, JSS with a different name: the Medical 
Inefficiency Committee. This new committee must (1) 
advise DSS on the amended definition and its 
implementation and (2) provide comment to DSS and 
the legislature on its impact.  

Committee Membership and Administration 

The committee consists of 11 members appointed 
as follows: three by the governor, two each by the 
House speaker and Senate president pro tempore, and 
one each appointed by the House and Senate majority 
and minority leaders. Appointments must be made no 
later than 30 days after the act takes effect. Vacancies 
must be filled by the appointing authority, but those 
unfilled longer than 60 days may be filled by a joint 
appointment of the House speaker and Senate president 
pro tempore.  

The act requires the House speaker and Senate 
president pro tempore to select the committee 
chairpersons from among its members and requires the 
chairpersons to schedule the first committee meeting 
within 60 days after the act takes effect.  

The Human Services Committee staff serve as the 
committee's administrative staff.  

Reporting Requirements 

The act requires the committee to submit annual 
reports on its findings and recommendations for three 
years beginning by January 1, 2010. The reports go to 
the governor and the Public Health, Human Services, 
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and Appropriations committees. The act terminates the 
committee on the date it submits its third report or 
January 1, 2012, whichever is later.  

§ 108 - APPRENTICESHIP REGISTRATION FEES 

Under PA 09-3, JSS, effective October 1, 2009, the 
money the Labor Department collects from 
apprenticeship registration fees is deposited in the 
General Fund. This act instead requires that 50% of the 
money collected be credited to the department as a 
separate nonlapsing appropriation to administer the 
apprenticeship training program. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 

§§ 109-112 - TRANSFER OF TECHNOLOGY 
PROGRAMS  

The act transfers, from OWC to Connecticut 
Innovations, Inc. (CII), the responsibility to coordinate 
the development and implementation of state and quasi-
public agency strategies on technology-based talent and 
innovation. By law, this responsibility includes creating 
a state clearinghouse and technical assistance function 
to help applicants develop small business innovation 
research programs in conformity with a relevant federal 
program and other proposals.  

By law, CII must provide funding for the 
Connecticut Small Business Innovation Research 
Office. The act specifies that CII must provide funding 
for the office’s operations and that it do so as part of its 
coordination role described above.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 114-116 - CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING 

The act:  
1. requires the street map showing voting district 

lines that town clerks provide to the secretary 
of the state be in a printed or electronic format 
that the secretary prescribes;  

2. accelerates the time within which town clerks 
must report election returns by voting district 
to the secretary for regular state elections;  

3. requires town clerks in multi-district towns to 
certify that they have examined the results of 
any election or recount to determine whether 
there are discrepancies between total town 
votes and district-by-district votes, and if so, 
that they have notified the head moderators and 
corrected any such discrepancy; and 

4. adopts the 1992 procedure for amending state 
and local political party rules, when 
necessitated by redistricting, during the second 
year after the census.  

Voting District Maps 

The law requires the town clerk in a town (1) 
divided between two or more General Assembly or 
congressional districts or (2) with two or more voting 
districts for legislative elections (state or congressional) 
to send the secretary of the state a street map showing 
the voting district boundaries. Previously, it did not 
specify a format for these maps. The act requires that 
they be in a printed or electronic format that the 
secretary prescribes.  

By law, town clerks must submit new maps within 
30 days of the effective day of any voting district 
boundary change. Pursuant to the state constitution and 
federal law, the secretary must provide the maps to the 
General Assembly for its use in reapportionment.  

Election Returns 

The act reduces, from 60 to 21 days after any 
regular state election, the deadline by which town clerks 
in towns with multiple voting districts must submit 
election returns showing district-by-district results.  By 
law, head moderators report “election night returns” 
(i.e., returns showing total town votes for each 
candidate) between midnight on Election Day and 6:00 
p.m. the following day, depending on the manner of 
filing.  

The act requires town clerks to prepare the district-
by-district returns on a form that the secretary of the 
state prescribes, which must present the data in tabular 
format. Under prior law, the secretary did not prescribe 
a format, but the returns had to be in tabular or summary 
form.  

Additionally, the act requires town clerks to certify 
that they have examined the district-by-district returns 
to determine whether they conflict with the total town 
votes cast during the election, or in the case of a 
recount, the recount results. If they conflict, the town 
clerk must also certify that he or she has contacted the 
head moderator and corrected the discrepancy.  

Amending Party Rules Following Census 

The act adopts the 1992 procedure for passing 
amendments to state and local political party rules 
necessitated by redistricting and made during the second 
year following a U. S. decennial census (e.g., 2012, 
2022). Under that procedure, state rules can be amended 
by a majority vote of the state central committee; local 
rules can be amended by majority vote of town 
committee members. Amendments made during these 
years become effective when the chairperson or vice 
chairperson files them with the secretary of the state. 
Previously, these amendments were not effective until 
60 days after filing with the secretary of the state.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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§ 117 - TOURISM DISTRICT FUNDING  

The act sets deadlines by which the $1.8 million the 
budget appropriates to CCCT for the current five 
regional tourism districts must be distributed. The act 
requires $900,000 to be distributed equally among the 
five districts by December 31, 2009 and the remaining 
$900,000 to be distributed equally among the three 
consolidated districts by June 30, 2010. Table 1, above, 
identifies the towns comprising the districts.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 118 - SEX OFFENDERS IN HOMELESS 
SHELTERS 

The act requires state-funded homeless shelters that 
house offenders listed on the sex offender registry to 
verify that offenders are residing there upon the request 
of law enforcement officers. It requires shelter operating 
policies to establish a procedure for releasing this 
information to these officers.  Lastly, it prohibits 
shelters serving homeless families from providing 
residence to sex offenders.  

By law, the sex offender registry maintains and 
disseminates information on people convicted or found 
not guilty by reason of mental disease or defect of (1) 
criminal offenses against minors, (2) nonviolent sexual 
offenses, (3) sexually violent offenses, and (4) felonies 
committed for a sexual purpose. The registry includes 
information on these offenders regardless of whether 
they are registered.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 119-120 - TWEED-NEW HAVEN AIRPORT 
AUTHORITY 

The act increases the membership of the Tweed-
New Haven Airport Authority from 14 to 15 and revises 
the number of members appointed by each of the three 
appointing authorities.  

Previously, the authority’s 14 members consisted of 
nine appointed by the mayor of New Haven, two 
appointed by the mayor of East Haven, and three 
appointed by the South Central Regional Council of 
Governments. The act decreases the New Haven 
mayor’s appointments from nine to eight, increases the 
East Haven mayor’s appointments from two to five, and 
decreases the regional council’s appointments from 
three to two. The act also designates the 13 mayoral 
appointees as special directors vested with the 
additional powers contained in the authority’s bylaws.  

The act also prohibits the airport authority from 
extending the paved runway length of Runway 2-20 past 
its existing 5,600 feet.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

§§ 121-129 - JUVENILE PROSECUTORIAL 
OFFICIALS 

The act provides that, within available 
appropriations, juvenile prosecutors employed by the 
Division of Criminal Justice on October 5, 2009 (1) are 
deemed to have been appointed by the Criminal Justice 
Commission and (2) have and must exercise all the 
powers and perform all the duties of an assistant state's 
attorney.  It also provides that starting October 5, 2009 
any “prosecutorial official” assigned to handle juvenile 
matters in the criminal session of the Superior Court 
will have been appointed by the Criminal Justice 
Commission.  

Apparently the term “prosecutorial official” refers 
to the chief state’s attorney, each deputy chief state’s 
attorney, and each state’s attorney, assistant state’s 
attorney, and deputy assistant state’s attorney (CGS §§ 
51-278a & 51-287a).  

The act makes numerous conforming changes. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon Passage 

§§ 130-131 - GENERAL OBLIGATION (GO) BONDS 
FOR TOWN-AID ROAD PROGRAM 

The act amends the bond act (PA 09-2 September 
Special Session) to specify that up to $8 million in GO 
bonds may be issued in FY 10 and in FY 11 for 
distribution under the town-aid road grant program. PA 
09-2, SSS authorizes issuance of GO bonds for the 
program, but does not specify any amount.  It also 
authorizes up to $22 million in special tax obligation 
bonds for this program in each of the two fiscal years.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

§§ 135-136 - SENTENCING TRANSCRIPT  

Prior law required the prosecutor to request that a 
transcript be prepared of any sentencing hearing at 
which a defendant is sentenced to a definite, non-
suspended sentence of more than two years 
imprisonment and have a copy of it delivered to the 
Board of Pardons and Paroles.  

The act instead:  
1. requires the prosecutor to ask for the transcript 

on the record,  
2. eliminates the prosecutor’s duty to have a copy 

delivered to the board, and 
3. requires the chief court administrator to 

provide a copy to the board, in a format the 
chief court administrator prescribes.  

The act requires that during FYs 10 and 11, 
$50,000 of the Other Expenses account of the Division 
of Criminal Justice be transferred to the Judicial 
Department’s Other Expenses account to carry out these 
requirements. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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§ 137 - FAMILY SUPPORT COUNCIL 

The act removes the four-year term of members 
appointed to the Department of Developmental 
Services’ Family Support Council. It instead limits 
appointees’ terms to the term of their appointing 
authority or until the member’s successor is appointed 
and qualified, whichever is longer. It also specifies that 
appointing authorities may remove members at any 
time. The act applies these changes to currently serving, 
as well as future, appointees. It continues to limit 
appointes to a maximum of eight consecutive years on 
the council.  

The council’s appointed members consist of family 
members of, or individuals who advocate for, children 
with disabilities. They are appointed by the governor 
and legislative leaders.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 139 & 141 - STATE PROPERTIES REVIEW 
BOARD (SPRB) 

The act transfers the SPRB to DAS, but specifies 
that it has independent decision-making authority. 
Under prior law, the SPRB was an independent 
Executive Branch body.  

The act eliminates SPRB’s authority to employ 
personnel, including a secretary or clerk, and requires 
DAS to pay its reasonable expenses.  

By law, the SPRB reviews (1) real estate 
acquisitions, sales, leases, and subleases proposed by 
the DPW commissioner; (2) the Department of 
Transportation commissioner’s acquisition (other than 
by condemnation), sale, or lease of property; and (3) for 
approval or rejection, contracts for projects the DPW 
commissioner awards outside of the competitive bidding 
process (i.e., fast-track projects). 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 140 - STATEMENTS OF FINANCIAL INTERESTS 

The act requires SPRB members and non-clerical 
employees of the DPW unit responsible for acquiring, 
leasing, and selling real property to complete the same 
statement of financial interests as other state officials 
and employees and file it at the same time, on May 1 of 
each year.  Under prior law, these board members and 
employees filed a less detailed statement annually on 
April 15 if they held a position during the preceding 
calendar year.  The law, unchanged by the act, requires 
them to file the statements with the Office of State 
Ethics (OSE) and the SPRB or DPW, respectively.  The 
act also makes a conforming change by eliminating the 
requirement that SPRB employees file this financial 
information since § 139 removes the board’s authority 
to have its own employees. 

Statement of Financial Interests 

By law, certain officials must annually file with 
OSE, by May 1, a statement of financial interests for the 
preceding calendar year.  Generally, statements of 
financial interests must include:  

1. the names of associated businesses;  
2. all sources of income, including the name of 

each employer, with a description of each 
source over $1,000, without specifying the 
income amounts;  

3. the names of securities over $5,000 owned by 
the individual, his or her spouse and children, 
or held in a corporation, partnership, or trust 
for them;  

4. a list of all real property and its location and 
whether it is owned by the individual, his or 
her spouse or children, or held in a corporation, 
partnership, or trust for them;  

5. the existence of any known blind trusts and 
trustees’ names;  

6. the names and addresses of creditors owed 
more than $10,000;  

7. any state leases or contracts entered into by the 
individual or an associated business; and  

8. a description of any partnership, joint 
ownership, or similar business affiliation 
between an associated business and a 
registered lobbyist, person doing or seeking to 
do business with the state, business engaged in 
activities regulated by the filer’s agency, or 
business associated with the lobbyist or person. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 142-152 & 190 - LEGISLATIVE COMMISSIONS 

The act makes several changes affecting the six 
legislative commissions: the Latino and Puerto Rican 
Affairs Commission (LPRAC), African-American 
Affairs Commission (AAAC), Asian Pacific American 
Affairs Commission (APAAC), Commission on Aging, 
Permanent Commission on the Status of Women 
(PCSW), and Commission on Children.  

The act eliminates the commissions’ staffing and 
personnel authority and transfers it to the Joint 
Committee on Legislative Management (JCLM). It 
requires each commission to have an executive director, 
which, together with any other necessary staff, JCLM 
must employ. Under prior law, the commissions made 
staffing and personnel decisions.  

The act expands the number of voting members on 
each commission and changes their duties and reporting 
requirements, among other things, making them 
uniform. Under the act, the six commissions generally 
have the same structure and must meet the same 
requirements. 
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The act makes conforming and technical changes, 
including repealing provisions that establish the 
membership of PCSW and the Commission on 
Children, and their terms of office (CGS §§ 46a-2 and 
46a-127).  It repeals a provision authorizing PCSW to 
request and receive information from state agencies and 
accept funding for its purposes (CGS § 46a-6).  
However, another provision gives the reconstituted 
PCSW these authorities.  The act also repeals obsolete 
provisions concerning a PCSW reporting requirement 
and the appointment of Commission on Children 
members. 

Duties 

The act revises the commission’s duties and makes 
them uniform with respect to their target population. As 
under prior law, they must comment on legislation, 
policies, programs, and services.  However, the act 
generally eliminates requirements that applied only to 
certain commissions.  For example, it removes the 
requirement that the: 

1. LPRAA, AAAC, and APAAC encourage 
representation by members of their target 
population at all levels of state government, 
including state boards and commissions, and 
secure appropriate recognition for their 
accomplishments and contributions; 

2. Commission on Aging review and comment on 
the budget of DSS’ unit on aging and meet 
with state officials as needed to discuss issues 
affecting the elderly; and 

3. Commission on Children receive requests from 
the Executive, Legislative, and Judicial 
branches for review and recommendation on 
any matter related to children. 

Instead, the act requires each commission to focus 
its efforts on specified quality of life issues, with the 
following desired results for its target population: 

1. health; 
2. safety; 
3. educational success; 
4. economic self-sufficiency, or, freedom from 

poverty in the case of the Commission on 
Children; and 

5. freedom from discrimination. 
In addition, each must:  
1. develop (a) appropriate population-level 

indicators of the state’s progress in achieving 
the desired results and (b) strategies to improve 
progress on the indicators through a process 
involving all relevant partners, including state 
and local government agencies, the faith 
community, the business sector, nonprofit 
organizations, advocacy groups, and 
philanthropic organizations; 

2. recommend to the General Assembly and 
governor new or enhanced policies, programs, 
and services to foster progress in achieving the 
desired results; 

3. review and comment on any proposed state 
legislation or recommendations affecting their 
target population and provide copies to 
legislators; 

4. advise the General Assembly and governor on 
coordinating and administering state programs 
affecting their target population; 

5. gather and maintain current information 
concerning their target population statewide to 
better understand its status, condition, and 
contributions; 

6. maintain a liaison between their target 
population and government agencies, including 
the General Assembly; and 

7. conduct educational and outreach activities to 
raise awareness. 

As under prior law, PCSW also had to promote the 
consideration of qualified women for leadership 
positions at all levels. 

Powers 

Under the act, each commission has the authority 
to: 

1. use volunteer services that individuals, state or 
federal agencies, or organizations offer;  

2. hold public hearings;  
3. establish task forces, as necessary;  
4. recommend policies concerning its target 

population to federal agencies or state political 
subdivisions; 

5. inform leaders in business, education, 
government, and the media of the nature and 
scope of the problems its target population 
faces to try to enlist their support in working 
toward solutions; and 

6. adopt regulations in accordance with the 
Uniform Administrative Procedures Act. 

By law, they may also receive public or private 
funds and enter into contracts.   

Under prior law, PCSW and the Commission on 
Children could already hold public hearings and 
establish task forces. The act extends to the five other 
commissions PCSW’s existing authority to request and 
receive information or assistance from any state agency. 
It retains PCSW’s authority to (1) hold fact finding 
hearings, issue subpoenas, administer oaths, compel 
testimony, or require the production of evidence and (2) 
receive and refer sex discrimination complaints to the 
Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities. 
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The act authorizes each commission to enter into an 
agreement with a state agency to maximize receipt of 
federal funds. Under such an agreement, a commission 
may accept a portion of the funding permitted by federal 
law. 

Membership 

The act increases to 21 the number of voting 
members on each commission. The Commission on 
Aging loses its nonvoting, ex-officio members while the 
Commission on Children retains them. The act shortens 
all new members’ terms to two years. (Previously, most 
served three years, some served four, and some five.) 

The legislative leaders appoint successors to their 
current appointments. The Senate president pro tempore 
and House speaker together appoint successors to any 
gubernatorial appointments currently serving. By law, 
appointing authorities fills vacancies and the 
commission elects a chairperson and vice-chairperson 
from among its members who serve for two years. 
Members are not compensated but they are reimbursed 
for expenses, including the performance of their duties, 
within available appropriations.  

Qualifications for Appointment. Under prior law, 
most commission members had to be an expert in a 

specified field or a member of the public. The act 
eliminates these qualification requirements.  Instead, for 
each commission, new members, their successors, and 
current members’ successors must have experience with 
their target population as an advocate, academic, civic, 
or cultural leader.  For every commission except PCSW, 
the act requires new members and their successors to 
reside in specified geographic regions. However, 
successors to current members are not subject to this 
requirement and may reside in any region. 

The act eliminates a requirement that the Judiciary 
Committee co-chairpersons and ranking members serve 
as PCSW members. It replaces it with an appointment 
plan in which the Senate and House majority and 
minority leaders appoint (1) one new member each, 
regardless of geographic region and (2) successors, by 
region, to General Assembly members currently 
serving. For the latter appointments, the Senate majority 
leader must appoint from the southeastern region, the 
Senate minority leader from the southwestern region, 
the House majority leader from the northeastern region, 
and the House minority leader from the northwestern 
region. 

Table 2 lists the commissions and shows the change 
in membership under the act, including their terms. 

 

Table 2: Commission Membership 

Commission Membership 
(Prior Law  The Act) 

New Member Terms 

Latino and Puerto Rican Affairs 
Commission 

13  21 Two years, beginning February 1 

African-American Affairs Commission 13  21 Two years, beginning July 1 
Asian Pacific American Affairs 
Commission 

13  21 Two years, beginning July 1 

Commission on Aging 17 voting members and 16 nonvoting, ex-officio 
members  21 

Two years, beginning August 15 

Permanent Commission on the Status 
of Women 

17 21 Two years, beginning July 1 

Commission on Children 16 voting members and nine nonvoting, ex-officio 
members  21 voting members and nine nonvoting 
members 

Two years, beginning July 1 

 
Tables 3 through 5 list the appointing authorities and new appointments according to geographic location for each 

commission except PCSW since, under the act, its new members may come from any region.  
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Table 3: New Appointments: LPRAC, AAAC, and APAAC 

Appointing Authority Member 
Senate president pro tempore  Windham County  
Senate majority leader New Haven County  
Senate majority leader Litchfield County  
Senate minority leader Fairfield County  
House Speaker Middlesex County  
House majority leader Tolland County 
House majority leader Hartford County  
House minority leader New London County 

 
Table 4: New Appointments: Aging 

Appointing Authority Member 
Senate president pro tempore Southeastern region  
Senate minority leader Southwestern region 
House Speaker Northeastern region 
House minority leader Northwestern region 

 
Table 5: New Appointments: Children 

Appointing Authority Member 
Senate and House majority leaders Central region 
Senate president pro tempore Northeastern region 
House Speaker Southeastern region 
Senate minority leader Northwestern region 
House minority leader Southwestern region 

 
 
Meetings and Attendance 

Each commission must meet regularly to review 
matters pertaining to achieving the desired results. By 
law, a member is considered to have resigned if during 
any calendar year he or she misses (1) three consecutive 
meetings or (2) 50% of all meetings. 

Under the act, a majority of the commission’s 
members are needed to approve any (1) 
recommendations it makes to the governor or General 
Assembly or (2) specific advocacy before a state agency 
or the General Assembly.  

Reporting 

The act expands the commissions’ reporting 
requirement. By January 1 annually, each commission 
must submit two separate reports: one to the 
Appropriations Committee and another to the General 
Assembly. They previously prepared one annual report, 
generally for the governor and General Assembly, on 
their activities and recommendations concerning the 
target population.  (The Commission on Aging also had 
to submit its annual report to each municipality’s 
legislative body.) 

 

The report to the Appropriations Committee is a 
status report that must include information the 
commission has gathered concerning the target 
population’s status, condition, and contributions.  

The report to the General Assembly must: 
1. identify desired qualify of life results; 
2. display current trend data for the indicators 

related to each result; 
3. identify barriers to progress on the indicators;  
4. indentify the strategies intended to improve 

progress on the indicators; and 
5. describe performance measures for the 

commission, including those for research, 
education, outreach, and partnership 
development. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 153 - COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS AND 
OPPORTUNITIES TRAINING 

The act requires each member of the Commission 
on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) to receive 
at least 10 hours of introductory training within two 
months of his or her appointment and before voting on 
any CHRO matter. A member who does not comply 
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with this requirement within six months of appointment 
is considered to have resigned from the commission. 
Each year thereafter, the member must receive five 
hours of follow-up training. Both types of training must 
cover the laws governing employment, housing, public 
accommodation, and credit discrimination; affirmative 
action; and CHRO procedures. The managing director 
of CHRO’s legal division must organize the training.  

The act eliminates the CHRO’s executive director’s 
authority to appoint up to two hearing adjudicators to 
conduct hearing conferences, decide preliminary 
matters, and supervise settlement negotiations. There 
are currently no hearing adjudicators in CHRO. PA 98-
245 changed the title of the employees charged with 
hearing discrimination cases from “hearing 
adjudicators” to “human rights referees.”  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 154 - HUMAN RIGHTS REFEREES 

The act reduces the number of human rights 
referees over the next two years. On October 5, 2009, 
the number is reduced from seven to five. They serve 
until (1) the term they were appointed to fill expires or 
July 1, 2011, whichever is earlier, and (2) a successor is 
appointed and qualified. The governor fills any 
vacancies with the advice and consent of the General 
Assembly to serve until July 1, 2011.  

Beginning July 1, 2011, the number of referees is 
reduced from five to three. As under current law, the 
governor appoints them with the advice and consent of 
the General Assembly to serve a three-year term.  

The governor may remove any referee for cause.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 155 - TASK FORCE ON DIVISION OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

The act establishes a 24-member task force to 
develop recommendations for establishing a Division of 
Administrative Hearings in CHRO to conduct impartial 
hearings on contested cases brought by or before the 
departments of Children and Families, Transportation, 
and Motor Vehicles; CHRO; and the Board of Firearms 
Permit Examiners.  

The task force members are:  
1. the chairpersons and ranking members of the 

Government Administration and Elections, 
Human Services, Judiciary, and Transportation 
committees, or their designees;  

2. the commissioners of Children and Families, 
Transportation, and Motor Vehicles, or their 
designees;  

3. the CHRO executive director or his designee;  
4. a Board of Firearms Permit Examiners’ 

member;  

5. a member of the Connecticut Bar Association 
designated by its president;  

6. a member of the PCSW appointed by the 
Senate president pro tempore; and  

7. a legislator, appointed by the House speaker, 
with recognized leadership on issues of 
particular concern to racial minorities in the 
state, or the legislator’s designee.  

The taskforce has three chairpersons; two selected 
jointly by the House speaker and Senate president pro 
tempore from among the task force members and the 
OPM secretary or his designee.  

The task force must make recommendations to the 
General Assembly by February 1, 2010 on:  

1. the viability of placing the division in CHRO;  
2. the scope of matters it will hear;  
3. any federal considerations or restrictions, 

including funding issues related to hearing 
cases from the departments of Motor Vehicles, 
Transportation, and Children and Families;  

4. the need to train administrative law 
adjudicators (ALA) in all matters and areas of 
the law to be heard by the division;  

5. the requisite number of ALAs necessary to 
hear matters assigned to the division and the 
concomitant level of support staff;  

6. procedures for appointing a chief ALA;  
7. the transfer of state agency affirmative action 

plan responsibilities from the CHRO to DAS; 
and 

8. the transfer of contractor affirmative action 
plan compliance responsibilities from CHRO 
to the Office of the Attorney General.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 156, 163, & 187 - ELIMINATION OF OFFICE OF 
OMBUDSMAN FOR PROPERTY RIGHTS  

The act eliminates the Office of Ombudsman for 
Property Rights, which under prior law was within 
OPM for administrative purposes only and required to:  

1. develop expertise in the law regarding taking 
private property;  

2. assist, on request, public agencies in applying 
eminent domain law and analyzing actions 
with potential eminent domain implications;  

3. assist property owners, on request, concerning 
eminent domain procedures;  

4. identify government actions with potential 
eminent domain implications and advise 
agencies, as appropriate;  

5. inform the public about eminent domain laws 
and their rights;  

6. mediate disputes between private property 
owners and public agencies concerning 
eminent domain or relocation assistance and 
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hire an independent real estate appraiser to 
assist in mediation, within available 
appropriations; and  

7. recommend changes in eminent domain laws to 
the legislature.  

The act eliminates:  
1. the position of ombudsman for property rights, 

a department head appointed by the governor 
with the consent of either house of the General 
Assembly; 

2. the office’s separate nonlapsing account in the 
General Fund; 

3. requirements that public agencies (a) comply 
with the office’s reasonable requests for 
information and assistance and (b) participate 
in mediation if requested to do so by the office; 

4. restrictions governing office employees, 
including prohibiting them from knowingly 
accepting employment with a public agency 
with eminent domain powers or entities 
authorized to use eminent domain on their 
behalf for one year after leaving the office; and 

5. requirements that public agencies seeking to 
acquire property by eminent domain (a) make a 
reasonable effort to negotiate with the property 
owner to buy the property before starting an 
eminent domain action and (b) provide the 
property owner with information about the 
ombudsman. 

Statement of Compensation 

The act eliminates provisions concerning the 
property rights ombudsman reviewing a statement of 
compensation for a taking under the redevelopment 
statutes or other takings that follow the procedures in 
the redevelopment statutes. The statement of 
compensation describes the property and the amount the 
agency offers to pay for it. It goes to the property’s 
owner, who can appeal the agency’s description and 
offer to Superior Court. 

The act eliminates the option for the court to refer 
the statement to the ombudsman if the parties to the 
appeal file a motion to that effect. It eliminates the 
provisions that make the ombudsman’s duties the same 
as those of the trial judge referee reviewing a statement.  

§§ 157-162 - DAS AUTHORITY AND DUTIES 
CONCERNING SMALL ESTATES AND 
CONTRACTS 

The act: 
1. allows DAS to serve as the legal representative 

of more small estates for the purpose of 
collecting debts owed to the state;  

2. requires the DAS commissioner to revoke or 

deny the prequalification of a contractor or 
substantial subcontractor based on the acts of 
his or her principal or key personnel;  

3. requires that notice of most state public works 
contracts be posted on the state contracting 
portal on the Internet and eliminates a 
requirement that they be advertised in 
newspapers;  

4. eliminates a requirement that DAS notify the 
public of examinations for positions in 
classified service by advertising in at least one 
newspaper in each congressional district and 
instead requires that notice be provided via the 
Internet;  

5. extends to state agencies the authority to 
complete evaluations of subcontractors and 
substantial subcontractors by relying on 
evaluations completed by general contractors;  

6. eliminates a requirement that contractors 
include a copy of their prequalification 
certificate with their bids on all public works 
contracts, other than Department of 
Transportation (DOT) contracts, and instead 
requires them to provide the certificate when 
the public agency soliciting the bids requests it;  

7. specifies that subcontractors do not have to 
prequalify with DAS before performing work 
on highway, bridge, or construction projects 
administered by DOT;  

8. clarifies that subcontractors must be 
prequalified by DAS before they perform work 
on any non-DOT-administered public works 
projects, instead of just building projects, if the 
total contract is valued at $500,000 or more; 
and 

9. makes technical and conforming changes.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

Small Estate Administration 

The act doubles, from $20,000 to $40,000, the 
aggregate value of estates for which DAS may petition 
the probate court for appointment as legal 
representative. This is the threshold for filing an 
affidavit in lieu of administration in probate court. By 
law, DAS files these petitions when the (1) state has a 
claim against the estate for support or care provided to 
the decedent; (2) amount of the claim, together with 
other specified claims, equals or exceeds the value of 
the estate; and (3) value of the assets does not exceed 
$20,000.  

Contractor Prequalification 

The act allows the DAS commissioner to refuse to 
issue or renew a prequalification certificate if a 
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contractor’s or substantial subcontractor’s principal or 
key staff member is convicted of, or admits to, acts or 
omissions that could have reasonably resulted in the 
contractor’s or substantial subcontractor’s 
disqualification.  

It requires the commissioner to deny or revoke a 
contractor’s or substantial subcontractor’s 
prequalification if she finds that a principal or key staff 
member, within the past five years, (1) included a 
materially false statement in a prequalification 
application, update statement (i.e., statement submitted 
when renewing or upgrading a prequalification 
certificate), or update bid statement; (2) was convicted 
of a crime, entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
(no contest) for, or admitted to, a crime related to 
getting or performing a construction contract; or (3) 
engaged in some other fraud to get or stay prequalified. 
By law, the commissioner can deny or revoke the 
prequalification if the contractor or substantial 
contractor committed these acts.  

The act also requires the commissioner to deny or 
revoke the prequalification of a contractor or substantial 
subcontractor who pleads guilty or no contest to a crime 
related to getting or performing a construction contract.  

Notices of Public Works Construction Contracts 

The act eliminates a requirement for (1) the DAS 
commissioner to place notices of bid solicitation for 
contracts over $50,000 in two publications, including 
one state newspaper, and on the Internet and (2) state 
public works contracts valued at $500,000, other than 
those administered by DOT, to be published in 
newspapers. It instead requires that the notices be 
posted on the state contracting portal.  

It requires public agencies that receive state funds 
for all or part of public work projects valued at 
$500,000 or more to post notices of the contracts, other 
than DOT-administered contracts, on the state 
contracting portal. These public agencies must include 
the qualifications necessary for the contract in the 
notice. By law, DOT has its own prequalification 
program.  

Under the act, “public agency” means all state and 
local governmental agencies, departments, institutions, 
bureaus, boards, and commissions, including executive, 
administrative, and legislative offices, and the 
administrative functions of the Judicial Branch and the 
Division of Criminal Justice.  

Subcontractor Evaluations 

By law, public agencies must evaluate the 
performance of contractors and subcontractors working 
on public projects. Any agency that fails to file a 
completed evaluation with the DAS commissioner 

within 70 days after a project is completed is ineligible 
for future state funds to complete such projects.  

The act permits all public agencies, instead of just 
political subdivisions, to evaluate a subcontractor’s or 
substantial subcontractor’s performance by relying on 
the general contractor’s evaluation of them. It absolves 
general contractors of liability for any harm an 
evaluation causes a subcontractor or substantial 
subcontractor. However, the general contractor may be 
liable for willful, wanton, or reckless actions related to 
the evaluations.  

§§ 164 & 169 - GAMING POLICY BOARD  

The act transfers the Gaming Policy Board to the 
Division of Special Revenue (DSR).  Under prior law, it 
was located in the Department of Revenue Services for 
administrative purposes only.  It requires DSR to 
provide the board with support staff.  By law, the board 
works with DSR to implement and administer gaming 
laws.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 165 & 166 – CAPITAL CITY ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY (CCEDA) 

Executive Director  

The act requires CCEDA’s executive director to be 
an OPM staff member and eliminates the CCEDA 
board’s authority to appoint the director. Prior law 
exempted the director from the classified civil service; 
the act eliminates this exemption.   

The act also designates the executive director as (1) 
CCEDA’s chief administrative officer and (2) project 
comptroller for the Adriaen’s Landing project. By law, 
the OPM secretary must designate the project 
comptroller from his senior staff.  

OPM Administrative Support and Services  

The act allows OPM to provide a range of services 
to CCEDA through a memorandum of understanding 
(MOU) between the secretary and the authority. It 
authorizes both parties to enter into the MOU and 
specifies the services to be covered. Under the MOU, 
OPM must provide all administrative support and 
services, including support staff, needed to run CCEDA 
beginning or after July 1, 2010. The MOU must also 
allow CCEDA employees hired by OPM to carry over 
their years of service with CCEDA to the state 
employee retirement system.  

The MOU may authorize OPM to administer 
CCEDA’s contracts and accounts and specify how the 
management and operations of Rentschler Field and the 
convention center facilities will be coordinated. The 
latter include the convention center; related parking 
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facilities; CCEDA-developed, owned, or operated on-
site private developments; and the supporting central 
heating and cooling plant. The provisions for 
coordinating stadium and convention center facilities 
include joint procurement and contracting; sharing 
services and resources; coordinating promotional and 
booking activities; and other arrangements to boost 
attendance, increase revenues, lower costs, or operate 
more efficiently. The secretary and CCEDA must 
determine the appropriate terms and conditions for 
completing these tasks, including how CCEDA will 
reimburse OPM for the administrative support and 
services it provides.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2010 

§ 167 - INSURING CONVENTION CENTER 
FACILITIES  

The act designates the convention center facilities 
as state-owned property for state insurance and self-
insurance and authorizes the State Insurance and Risk 
Management Board to determine, purchase, and arrange 
insurance or self-insurance for them the same way it 
does for state-owned property.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2010  

§ 168 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION 

The act transfers the Criminal Justice Commission 
from the Executive Branch for fiscal and budgetary 
purposes only to the Division of Criminal Justice. It 
requires the division to provide the commission support 
staff.  

By law, the Criminal Justice Commission appoints 
the chief state’s attorney, a state's attorney for each 
judicial district, and other prosecutorial positions.  It 
may remove the chief state’s attorney from office for 
misconduct, material neglect of duty, or incompetence 
and discipline or remove other prosecutors for just 
cause.  The Division of Criminal Justice is charged with 
investigating and prosecuting crimes.  It includes the 
state’s attorney for each judicial district and the chief 
state’s attorney as the administrative head. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 170 - DIVERSION OF WATER TO POWDER 
RIDGE SKI AREA 

The act transfers to the town of Middlefield, 
regardless of the law imposing certain conditions on 
license transfer, the Department of Environmental 
Protection (DEP) permit issued on September 23, 2004 
to Whitewater Mountain Resorts of Connecticut, Inc. 
(DIV-200102314, Revised) authorizing the diversion of 
water from Lake Beseck to the Powder Ridge ski area. 
It makes Middlefield the licensee of record, authorizes it 
to maintain the water diversion according to the permit 

terms, and makes it responsible for complying with all 
permit terms and conditions.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 171 - DEFINITION OF HEALTH INSURANCE 
POLICY 

The act expands the definition of “health insurance 
policy” to include (a) travel health coverage and (b) 
single service ancillary health coverage, including 
dental, vision, or prescription drug coverage. By doing 
so, it subjects such insurance coverage to state insurance 
laws and regulations.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 

§ 172 - COLLINSVILLE DAMS 

The act requires the DEP commissioner to execute 
an agreement with Canton, Avon, and Burlington that 
allows the towns to:  

1. enter the upper and lower Collinsville dams on 
the Farmington River and associated structures, 
such as power houses or gate houses, and 
conduct physical examinations and studies of 
them to determine their feasibility for 
hydroelectric generation and  

2. install, operate, and maintain hydroelectric 
generating facilities and associated 
appurtenances, including fish ladders, at the 
dams without adjusting river flows.  

The commissioner can enter the agreement with 
some or all of the towns, under terms and conditions 
acceptable to her.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

§ 176 -PAYMENT FOR SERVICES PROVIDED IN 
LONG-TERM ACUTE CARE HOSPITALS OR 
SATELLITE FACILITIES 

The act reinstates a provision of law repealed by 
PA 09-3, SSS that requires that payments to hospitals 
based on DSS-established inpatient hospital rates 
include any inpatient service days provided in a new 
long-term acute care hospital or satellite facility 
established as a demonstration project. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

§ 177 - FOOD DISTRIBUTION AT 
NONCOMMERCIAL FUNCTIONS 

Existing law allows the sale of food at a 
noncommercial function such as an educational, 
religious, political, or charitable organization’s bake 
sale or potluck supper if the food seller maintains it 
under the temperature, pH level, and water activity level 
conditions that will inhibit the rapid and progressive 
growth of infectious or toxigenic microorganisms. A 
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“noncommercial function” is one where food is sold by 
a person not regularly engaged in the food selling 
business.  

The act additionally allows for the distribution, as 
well as the sale, of food at such noncommercial 
functions. It redefines “noncommercial function” as one 
where (1) food is distributed or sold and (2) the seller or 
distributor is not regularly engaged in the for-profit food 
business.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 178 - FORENSIC SEX EVIDENCE EXAMS 

The bill appropriates $1,021,060 to the Judicial 
Department in both FY 10 and FY 11 for forensic sex 
evidence exams. It requires the Office of Victim 
Services to administer the appropriations.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 179 - FINANCING PLAN TO RAISE GENERAL 
FUND REVENUE FOR FY 11 

The act reduces the maximum amount of net 
General Fund revenue for FY 11 to be raised through a 
financing plan the state treasurer and the OPM secretary 
must jointly develop and submit to the chairpersons of 
the Appropriations and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees by February 3, 2010. The budget act (PA 
09-3, JSS) requires the plan to yield up to $1.3 billion in 
net proceeds.  This act reduces that total by $9.3 million 
to $1.2907 billion.  

Under the budget act, the financing plan can 
include (1) “securitizing” revenue from the state lottery; 
(2) issuing bonds and other debt instruments or placing 
them privately; or (3) Connecticut’s public pension and 
trust funds, such as the state, municipal employees', and 
teachers' retirement funds, purchasing state debt 
instruments. (“Securitization” allows the state to borrow 
against a future revenue stream.) 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 180 - MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING TO 
REUNIFY INCARCERATED WOMEN WITH THEIR 
CHILDREN 

The act requires the DCF and DOC commissioners 
to enter a MOU to develop a program to reunify 
incarcerated women with their children in the 
community when appropriate. The commissioners must 
submit a report to the Appropriations and Human 
Services committees by January 1, 2010 describing the 
program developed under the MOU and estimate the 
number of eligible individuals and the savings to be 
achieved. DCF and DOC can transfer funds between the 
agencies without the Finance Advisory Committee’s 
consent to achieve savings related to the program. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 181 - FALSE CLAIMS ACT FOR DSS PROGRAMS  

The act makes technical revisions to the provisions 
in PA 09-5, SSS pertaining to the False Claims Act for 
DSS Programs. 

§ 182 - MEDICARE SAVINGS PROGRAM  

The act makes technical revisions to the provisions 
in PA 09-5, SSS pertaining to the Medicare Savings 
Program.  

§§ 183-186 - CONNECTICUT TELEVISION 
NETWORK 

The act eliminates requirements that companies 
providing cable TV service under two types of 
certificates transmit the Connecticut Television 
Network (CTN) to all of their subscribers, including 
real-time transmission as technically feasible. These 
certificates have superseded traditional cable TV 
franchises.  

Under prior law, the money in the public, 
educational and governmental programming and 
educational technology account was used for various 
purposes including supporting community (public, 
educational, and governmental) access TV and 
educational technology. The act requires that, when the 
balance of this account exceeds $150,000, the 
Department of Public Utility Control make a one-time 
transfer of $150,000 from the account to the Office of 
Legislative Management. Legislative Management must 
use this money for expenses related to connecting CTN 
with competitive video service providers in order to 
make CTN available to their subscribers (these 
providers include AT&T and certain cable TV 
companies).  

The act specifies that CTN is the General 
Assembly’s statewide 24-hour public affairs 
programming service, separate and distinct from 
community access channels. The latter phrase appears to 
mean that CTN does not count as an access channel 
under the statutes. Thus, it appears that the act excludes 
CTN from the law (CGS § 16-331a) that requires cable 
TV companies to carry all of their community access 
channels in their basic service package.  

 Cable TV Certificates 

PA 07-253 allowed new entrants to the video 
services market to be certified as competitive video 
service providers. It allowed existing cable TV 
companies to obtain these certificates under certain 
circumstances. Alternatively it allowed cable TV 
companies to obtain certificates of cable franchise 
authority. The act imposed similar requirements with 
regard to community access on companies operating 
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under both types of certificates.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 187-189 - LONG ISLAND SOUND 
COMMEMORATIVE LICENSE PLATES 

PA 09-3, JSS eliminated the Long Island Sound 
account (§ 22a-27k) and the Environmental Quality 
Fund in which it was placed (§ 22a-27g).  The act (§ 
392) required that fees collected from the sale of Long 
Island Sound commemorative license plates be 
deposited in the General Fund rather than the account. 

This act re-establishes the Long Island Sound 
account as a separate, non-lapsing General Fund 
account and requires that all fees collected from the sale 
of the commemorative plates and any other funds 
designated for the account be deposited in the account. 
This apparently includes donations made to the 
Connecticut lighthouse preservation account, which PA 
09-3, JSS, eliminated. It requires that all license plate 
fees transferred from the Long Island Sound account to 
the General Fund before October 5, 2009 be put in the 
Long Island Sound account the act creates.   
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

 Attorney General Opinion 

Attorney General Richard Blumenthal advised 
Governor Rell, in an October 1, 2009 letter on the effect 
of PA 09-3, JSS, that the governor and legislature could 
transfer funds deposited in the Long Island Sound 
account to the General Fund on or after October 1, 
2009, the date PA 09-3, JSS, § 392 took effect. But he 
advised the governor that Article Second of the 
Connecticut Constitution prohibited them from 
transferring to the General Fund those funds that were 
deposited in the account before that date. 

 
PA 09-8, September 2009 Special Session-SB 2052 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE PROVISIONS 
OF THE BUDGET CONCERNING REVENUE 

SUMMARY: This act makes various statutory changes 
to implement the revenue provisions of the state budget 
and tax package for FY 10 and FY 11 (PA 09-3, June 
Special Session (JSS)). Among other things, it: 

1. establishes an optional corporation tax credit, 
beginning in income years starting on or after 
January 1, 2012, for constructing buildings that 
meet specified energy and environmental 
standards (“green buildings”); 

2. temporarily exempts Bridgeport from certain 
pension funding requirements for FY 09 
through FY 11, if the state treasurer and the 

Office of Policy and Management (OPM) 
secretary approve the city’s alternative pension 
funding plans for those years;  

3. requires taxpayers when making their 
estimated payments, and employers when 
calculating withholding taxes, for the 
remainder of the 2009 income year, to include 
catch-up payments to cover increases in 
personal income and the corporation taxes 
effective January 1, 2009 and adopted in PA 
09-3, JSS; and 

4. approves up to $40 million in economic 
development assistance from existing programs 
over the next two years for the Steel Point 
project in Bridgeport. 

The act increases various Department of Public 
Health (DPH) fees. It reverses some fee increases made 
in PA 09-3, JSS including those for licensed practical 
nurses and resident marine waters fishing licenses. It 
eliminates a $1-per-bushel shellfish harvesting fee that 
act imposed and restores certain nonlapsing accounts, 
including the boating and air emissions permit operating 
fee accounts, that the budget act eliminated. 

The act changes amounts PA 09-3, JSS transferred 
from the Budget Reserve Fund to the General Fund and 
from the General Fund to the Special Transportation 
Fund for FY 10 and FY 11. Finally, it alters the revenue 
estimates for the General and Special Transportation 
funds for FY 10 and FY 11 adopted in PA 09-3, JSS. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Various, see below. 

§§ 1-5 - FILM PRODUCTION AND DIGITAL 
ANIMATION TAX CREDITS 

Production Company Credit Eligibility Requirements 

Starting January 1, 2010, PA 09-3, JSS makes a 
film production company eligible for a film production 
tax credit only if it conducts at least 50% of its principal 
photography days in the state. This act provides an 
alternative standard by also making a company eligible 
if it spends at least 50% of a film’s post-production 
costs in Connecticut.  

Minor and Technical Changes 

Starting January 1, 2010, PA 09-3, JSS replaces the 
state’s flat 30% tax credit for qualifying film production 
and digital animation expenditures over $50,000 with 
tiered credits of 10% for expenditures between 
$100,000 and $500,000; 15% for expenditures over 
$500,000 and up to $1 million; and 30% for 
expenditures over $1 million. Credits can be claimed in  
the year the eligible expenditures are made, or carried 
forward for up to the three following income years. 

This act (1) makes a technical change in the 
expenditure range for the 15% credits and (2) specifies 
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that a statutory provision allowing taxpayers to carry 
forward their available credits for the three years 
following the year in which the eligible expenditures are 
made applies to all or part of the credits. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 6 - ESTIMATED CORPORATION TAX 
PAYMENTS FOR 2009 

PA 09-3, JSS imposes a 10% corporation tax 
surcharge for the 2009, 2010, and 2011 income years on 
companies that have (1) $100 million or more in annual 
gross income in those years and (2) tax liability that 
exceeds the $250 minimum tax.  

This act requires affected corporation taxpayers 
making estimated tax payments to adjust their payments 
for the 2009 income year to reflect any additional tax 
liability from the surcharge. It overrides a safe-harbor 
law excusing corporation taxpayers from interest and 
penalties on estimated taxes if they pay in four quarterly 
installments totaling at least (1) 90% of their liability for 
the current income year without credits or (2) 100% of 
their liability for the previous year without credits, 
whichever is less.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 7 - GREEN BUILDINGS TAX CREDIT  

Credits  

Starting with income years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2012, this act allows the state to give 
corporation taxpayers a credit if they build buildings 
that meet certain energy and environmental standards 
(“green buildings”). It gives the OPM secretary 
discretion on whether to issue vouchers allowing 
taxpayers to claim the credits. It limits the credits for all 
building projects to $25 million.  

Under the act, eligible projects would receive a 
base credit that increases with the project’s green rating. 
It allows additional credits for mixed-use projects and 
those located in certain areas. Taxpayers could claim 
only 25% of the credit in any tax year, but could carry 
forward the remainder for up to five years. The credits 
are transferrable and assignable. 

Eligible Projects and Allowable Costs 

Projects eligible for credits are real estate 
developments in the state designed to meet or exceed 
the applicable Leadership in Energy and Environmental 
Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System gold 
certification or an equivalent standard as determined by 
the environmental protection (DEP) commissioner. 
Eligible projects must use no more than (1) 70% of the 
energy use permitted by the State Building Code for 
new construction or (2) 80% of the energy use permitted 

by the state energy code for a building renovation or 
rehabilitation. In addition, the project must use 
equipment and appliances that meet Energy Star 
standards, if applicable. If a development has more than 
one building, only the buildings that meet these 
standards would be eligible for the credit. For newly 
constructed buildings, the credits apply only to those 
that receive a certificate of occupancy on or after 
January 1, 2010. 

To count towards the credit, a development cost 
must be chargeable to the project’s capital account. 
These allowable costs include:  

1. construction or rehabilitation costs;  
2. commissioning costs;  
3. architectural and engineering fees that can be 

allocated to construction or rehabilitation, 
including energy modeling;  

4. such site costs as temporary electric wiring, 
scaffolding, demolition, and fencing and 
security facilities; and  

5. costs of carpeting, partitions, walls and wall 
coverings, ceilings, lighting, plumbing, 
electrical wiring, mechanical, heating, 
cooling, and ventilation.  

The purchase of land, remediation costs, and the 
cost of telephone systems or computers are not 
allowable. The act limits allowable costs to $250 per 
square foot for new construction and $150 per square 
foot for building renovations or rehabilitation. 

Base and Supplemental Credits 

The LEED rating system has four levels: certified, 
silver, gold, and platinum, with a building’s rating 
depending on its number of green features (see 
BACKGROUND). 

Under the act, the base credit for new construction 
or major renovation of a building (but not other site 
improvements) is 8% of allowable costs for a gold 
rating and 10.5% for a platinum rating. For core and 
shell or commercial interior projects, the credit is 5% of 
allowable costs for a gold rating and 7% for a platinum 
rating. In all cases, the credit is the same for the 
equivalent rating under an alternative rating system, as 
determined by the DEP commissioner. 

A project would receive an additional credit of 
0.5% of allowable costs if it: 

1. is a “mixed use” development consisting of one 
or more buildings that include residential use 
and in which no more than 75% of the interior 
square footage has at least one of the following 
uses: (a) commercial; (b) office; (c) retail; or 
(d) any other nonresidential use that the OPM 
secretary determines poses no public health 
threat or nuisance to nearby residential areas; 
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2. is located in an enterprise zone or brownfield; 
3. does not require a sewer line extension of more 

than one-eighth of a mile; or 
4. is within walking distance of a public bus 

service or one-half mile of adequate rail, light 
rail, streetcar, or ferry service. (In the case of 
multi-building projects, at least one of the 
buildings must meet this criterion.) 

Credit Issuance 

The OPM secretary may issue an initial credit 
certificate if he determines that the applicant is likely, 
within a reasonable time, to place in service property 
that would be eligible for a credit. The certificate must 
state (1) the first income year for which the credit may 
be claimed; (2) the maximum credit allowable; and (3) 
an expiration date by which the property must be placed 
in service, which the secretary may extend at his 
discretion. The certificate must reserve the credit 
allowable for the applicant named in the application 
until the expiration date. The secretary may extend the 
reservation at his discretion, if he extends the expiration 
date. The secretary may not issue initial credit 
certificates for more than $25 million in the aggregate.  

The taxpayer must obtain an eligibility certificate 
for each taxable year for which he or she claims a credit. 
The taxpayer must obtain this certificate from an 
architect or licensed professional engineer accredited 
through the LEED Accredited Professional Program or 
a program the DEP commissioner determines to be 
equivalent. The document must certify, under the 
architect’s or engineer’s seal, that the building, base 
building, or tenant space for which the credit is claimed 
meets or exceeds the applicable green building rating 
system gold certification (or other certification the 
commissioner considers equivalent) in effect when the 
building was certified. The certification must include 
the specific findings on which it is based and state that 
the architect or engineer is accredited through the 
accredited professional program. 

To obtain the credit, the applicant must file with the 
revenue services (DRS) commissioner (1) the initial 
credit voucher, (2) the eligibility certificate, and (3) an 
application to claim the credit. The applicant must send 
a copy of the documents to the OPM secretary. 

Credit Transfers 

The act allows credits to be assigned or otherwise 
transferred. A project owner may transfer a credit to a 
pass-through partner in return for a lump sum payment.  
(This approach can be used if the project owner is a 
nonprofit organization, among other situations.)  

Any subsequent successor in interest to the property 
eligible for a credit may claim it if the deed transferring 

the property assigns the successor this right, unless the 
deed specifies that the seller retains the right to claim 
the credit. Any subsequent tenant of a building for 
which a credit was granted may claim it. Such a claim 
applies to any period after the termination of the 
previous tenancy for which the previous tenant would 
have been allowed to take the credit.  

Regulations and Reporting 

The act (1) requires the OPM secretary, in 
consultation with the DRS commissioner, to adopt 
implementing regulations by January 1, 2011; (2) 
requires the secretary to establish a uniform application 
fee of up to $10,000 to cover all direct costs of 
administering the tax credit program; and (3) allows the 
secretary to hire a private consultant or outside firm to 
administer and review program applications. 

The secretary, in consultation with the 
commissioner, must report to the governor and Planning 
and Development and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees by July 1, 2013 on (1) the number of 
taxpayers applying for the credits, (2) the amount and 
geographical distribution of the credits granted, and (3) 
any other information the secretary considers 
appropriate. The secretary must submit a preliminary 
draft report to the governor and the committees by July 
1, 2012. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 8-12 - ESTATE AND GIFT TAX 

Starting with deaths occurring, and gifts made, on 
or after January 1, 2010, PA 09-3, JSS (1) increased, 
from $2 million to $3.5 million, the threshold value of 
an estate or gift subject to the estate and gift tax; (2) 
reduced marginal tax rates on taxable estates and gifts 
by 25%; and (3) eliminated the tax “cliff.” (Under the 
pre-January 1, 2010 tax, an estate or gift valued at $2 
million or less was fully exempt, while the full value of 
an estate or gift of more than $2 million was taxed. 
Thus, a $1 increase in the value from $2,000,000 to 
$2,000,001 increased the tax liability for a gift or estate 
over $2 million by $101,700 (the “cliff’)).  

§ 8 - Connecticut Taxable Estate and Gift Taxes Paid 
Between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2009 

For those who die on or after January 1, 2010, this 
act includes in the Connecticut taxable estate the 
aggregate value of all Connecticut taxable gifts the 
decedent made on or after January 1, 2005.  

Under the act, for a person who dies on or after 
January 1, 2010, gifts subject to the higher tax rates in 
effect between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2009 
count towards the combined lifetime total exclusion for 
estate tax purposes, but the estate is not entitled to any 
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refund for gift taxes paid under those higher rates. 
Instead, the act gives such estates a credit for any gift 
taxes paid on gifts made on or after January 1, 2005, as 
long as the credit does not exceed the estate tax due. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those dying on or after January 1, 2010. 

§ 9 - Estate Tax Filing Deadline  

PA 09-3, JSS reduced the time an executor has to 
file an estate tax return from nine to six months after the 
date of death. This act specifies that the new filing 
deadline applies to estates of those who die on or after 
July 1, 2009 rather than to taxes due on or after that 
date. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those dying on or after July 1, 2009. 

§ 10 - Tax Returns Filed with Probate Court  

By law, all estates, regardless of their gross value, 
must file an estate tax return. If the estate’s value is 
more than the taxable threshold, the executor must file 
the return with DRS, with a copy to the probate court 
for the district where the decedent lived or, if the 
decedent was not a Connecticut resident, where his or 
her Connecticut property is located. If the estate’s value 
is below the tax threshold, the return must be filed only 
with the appropriate probate court. The probate judge 
must review the return and issue a written opinion to the 
estate’s representative if the judge determines it is not 
subject to the estate tax. 

For deaths on or after January 1, 2010, this act 
increases the threshold for filing an estate tax return 
only with the probate court from $2 million to $3.5 
million. This change conforms to the increase in the 
taxable estate threshold under PA 09-3, JSS. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those dying on or after January 1, 2010. 

§ 11 - Release of Estate Tax Liens 

By law, a person who does not owe, or who has 
paid, the estate tax receives a certificate releasing the 
lien on his or her interest in real property in the estate. 
The probate court is required to issue all lien release 
certificates for estates below the estate tax threshold. 
For deaths on or after January 1, 2010, the act requires 
probate courts to issue all lien release certificates for 
estates of $3.5 million or less. This change conforms to 
the increase in the taxable estate threshold under PA 09-
3, JSS. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those dying on or after January 1, 2010. 

§ 12 - Gift Tax Credits 

PA 09-3, JSS gives a taxpayer a credit against taxes 
owed for gifts made on or after January 1, 2010, but 
only for gift taxes previously paid on post-January 1, 
2010 gifts. This act also gives the credit for taxes 
previously paid on gifts made between January 1, 2005 
and December 31, 2009. But it limits the total credits to 
no more than the gift tax imposed. This means taxpayers 
are not entitled to any refunds of gift taxes paid at the 
higher rates in effect between January 1, 2005 and 
December 31, 2009. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
gifts made on or after January 1, 2010. 

§ 13 - BRIDGEPORT PENSION PLAN FUNDING 

For FY 09, the act exempts a municipality (1) with 
a population greater than 130,000 and (2) that has issued 
pension deficit funding bonds, from a statutory 
requirement to appropriate money for, or contribute 
more than $6 million to, a pension plan funded with the 
bond proceeds. Only Bridgeport qualifies.  

The act also exempts the city from the statutory 
funding requirements for FY 10 and FY 11, if it submits 
plans for funding the pension plan in those years to the 
OPM secretary and the state treasurer and obtains their 
approval. The plans for FY 10 and FY 11 are due by 
April 1, 2010 and April 1, 2011, respectively.  

The secretary and the treasurer may accept, reject, 
or modify the city’s funding plans. In any year they fail 
to approve the plans, the city must contribute at least $4 
million to the pension plan. 

State law allows municipalities to issue pension 
deficit funding bonds to fund unfunded past pension 
obligations. If a municipality issues such bonds, it must 
ordinarily contribute at least the actuarially required 
amount to its pension plan in each fiscal year that it has 
outstanding pension deficit funding bonds for the plan 
(CGS § 7-364c (c) (3)). 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 14 & 15 - CATCH-UP INCOME TAX PAYMENTS 
FOR 2009 

PA 09-3, JSS increased income taxes for those with 
taxable incomes over $1 million for joint filers, 
$800,000 for heads of households, and $500,000 for 
single filers and married people filing separately. The 
increase is effective for the tax year beginning January 
1, 2009. 

This act requires taxpayers who must make 
quarterly estimated tax payments for 2009 to adjust their 
January 15, 2010 payment to reflect the income tax rate 
changes applicable to the 2009 tax year. It also requires 
the DRS commissioner to issue new withholding tax 
rules for the 2009 tax year by October 1, 2009 and 
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publish them on DRS’ web site. 
By law, taxpayers who expect to have $1,000 or 

more in income tax liability and who do not have 
sufficient Connecticut income tax withheld by payers or 
employers must make quarterly estimated tax payments, 
generally by April 15, June 15, October 15, and January 
15. The act’s requirement to adjust the January 15, 2010 
payment to include applicable 2009 tax increases 
overrides the statutory “safe harbor” provision that 
taxpayers are not liable for interest or penalties for 
underpaying estimated taxes if their quarterly payments 
total (1) 90% of their estimated tax liability for the 
current year or (2) 100% of their liability for the 
preceding tax year, whichever is less.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 16 - FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO THE STEEL 
POINT PROJECT IN BRIDGEPORT 

The act allows the Department of Economic and 
Community Development, the Connecticut 
Development Authority (CDA), and Connecticut 
Innovations, Inc. (CII) to provide up to $40 million in 
financial assistance from existing programs to the Steel 
Point project in Bridgeport between January 1, 2010 and 
June 30, 2012. The assistance must be used for 
developing and improving property in Bridgeport. 

The assistance may be in the form of grants, loans, 
loan guarantees, insurance contracts, investments, or a 
combination of these and may be provided from 
proceeds from sales of bonds, notes, or other debt issued 
by the state, CDA, or CII. By law, any such financial 
assistance exceeding $10 million over a two-year period 
for any applicant or business project must be expressly 
authorized by the General Assembly. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 17-35, 37-38 & 43 - FEE PROVISIONS 

PA 09-3, JSS increased various state fees effective 
October 1, 2009. This act makes additional changes in 
fees, establishes new fees, increases additional fees, and 
reduces and repeals certain of the prior act’s fee 
increases. 

§ 17 - Nonresidential Underground Storage Tank 
Notification Fee 

Under PA 09-3, JSS, starting October 1, 2009, the 
fee to inspect certain nonresidential underground 
storage facilities is $100 per tank for each facility that 
submits notification to the DEP commissioner. This act 
(1) requires the fee to be for the notification instead of 
the inspection and (2) delays the start of the change to 
October 10, 2009. By law, the notification must be 
submitted annually along with the fee.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 18 - License Fee Increase for Certain Cigarette 
Distributors 

The act increases the annual fee for a DRS license 
as a “non-exclusive” cigarette distributor (a distributor 
who does not sell cigarettes exclusively to retail stores 
that the distributor operates) from $1,000 to $1,250. 
This matches the license fee increase in PA 09-3, JSS 
for a cigarette distributor who sells to more than 25 
retail stores that the distributor operates. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable 
to renewal of licenses expiring on or after September 
30, 2009. 

§ 19 - Applicability of Increased License Renewal Fees 

With the exception of several cigarette licenses 
issued by DRS, the act makes the increases in license 
renewal fees enacted in PA 09-3, JSS apply only to the 
renewal of licenses that expire on or after October 1, 
2009.  

The act does not apply to increased fees for (1) 
cigarette manufacturers’ licenses and duplicate copies, 
(2) cigarette dealers’ licenses and duplicate copies, and 
(3) cigarette distributors’ licenses.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 20 - Licensed Practical Nurse License Fee 

The act reverses an increase in the annual license 
fee for licensed practical nurses. PA 09-3, JSS doubled 
the fee from $60 to $120, effective October 1, 2009. 
This act restores the $60 fee. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 21 & 37-38 - Boating Account and Boating Fee 
Revenue 

PA 09-3, JSS eliminated the Conservation Fund 
and the separate boating account within that fund and 
transferred all revenue from boat and watercraft 
numbering and registration fees to the General Fund. 
This act reestablishes (1) the boating account as a 
separate, nonlapsing General Fund account and (2) the 
account’s purposes under the law prior to PA 09-3, JSS. 
But the act also modifies the distribution of boating fee 
revenue from the way it existed before PA 09-3, JSS. 

Under the law prior to PA 09-3, JSS, the first $1 
million of the revenue received from the boating fees 
each year went into the boating account, along with any 
excess after towns received their share. This act 
eliminates the requirement to save the first $1 million in 
the account. It instead allocates annual boating fee 
revenue received in the 12 months between November 1 
and the following October 31 to the towns first. As 
under the law prior to PA 09-3, JSS, the act requires that 
(1) if annual fee revenue is not enough to pay all the 
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towns their full allotment, any additional amount 
necessary be taken from unallocated funds in the 
account and (2) the towns receive amounts according to 
their proportionate share of the total property taxes paid 
on vessels in these towns based on October 1, 1978 
assessment.  

Under the act, as under the law prior to PA 09-3, 
JSS the boating account must be used for the various 
purposes, including to cover all expenses the DMV and 
DEP commissioners incur in administering and 
enforcing state laws and regulations on boating safety 
and water pollution from vessels and any payments the 
law requires (e.g., payments to towns that apply to DEP 
for reimbursement for enforcing boating laws).  

The act modifies the annual reporting requirement 
for the account from that required prior to PA 09-3, JSS. 
It requires the report to: 

1. be from the DEP commissioner alone, rather 
than both the DEP and DMV commissioners 
each separately;  

2. be made to the comptroller, rather than the 
Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee;  

3. be submitted by December 1 instead of 
December 31 each year;  

4. cover the preceding fiscal year instead of the 
12 months ending the preceding October 31; 
and  

5. include all revenue deposited in and 
expenditures from the account rather than 
reporting on the account’s operation, giving a 
detailed statement of expenditures for each of 
its required purposes, and making any 
recommendations for operating the account and 
for boating safety and enforcement programs. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 22 & 28 - Resident Marine Waters Fishing License 
Fee 

PA 09-3, JSS imposed a $30 fee for a resident 
marine waters fishing license, effective October 1, 2009. 
This act reduces the fee to $10. It also makes a 
conforming change.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
renewal of licenses expiring on or after October 1, 2009. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

§§ 23-27 - Department of Public Health Fees 

The act increases the DPH fees shown in Table 1. 

Table 1: DPH Fee Increases 

Act 
§ CGS § Fee Description Prior 

Law 
The 
Act 

23 20-341g Subsurface sewage disposal 
system installer license – 
annual renewal 

$25 $50 

23 20-341g Subsurface sewage disposal 
system cleaner license – annual 
renewal 

10 20 

24 20-438 Asbestos abatement site 
supervisor’s certificate -
application  

50 100 

24 20-438 Asbestos abatement site 
supervisor’s certificate – annual 
renewal  

50 100 

25 20-
162bb 
(b) 

Perfusionist license – 
application fee 

250 315 

26 20-
162bb 
(g) 

Perfusionist license – annual 
renewal  

250 315 

27 PA 09-
232,  
§ 56 (a) 

Audiologist – initial license fee 
and annual renewal 

100 200 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
renewal of licenses expiring on or after October 1, 2009. 

§ 29 - Liquor Permit Administrative Fee  

By law, retailers holding permits to sell liquor for 
off-premises consumption must pay the Department of 
Consumer Protection (DCP) an additional fee equal to 
6.25% of their permit fee to cover DCP’s costs for 
administering the liquor control laws. This act requires 
DCP to round the administrative fee up to the nearest 
$5. Revenue from the administrative fee goes to the 
General Fund. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
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§ 30 - Insurance Agent Fees 

The act increases, from $80 to $100, the fee for 
each appointment issued to or continued for an agent of 
a domestic insurance company. It exempts from the fee 
an appointment issued to or continued for an agent of a 
nondomestic insurance company. Under prior law and 
this act, there is no fee for a nondomestic insurer to 
appoint an agent in Connecticut if the insurer’s 
domiciliary (home) jurisdiction does not charge a fee for 
appointments. The act also sets a lower $20 fee for an 
appointment issued by a nondomestic insurer whose 
domiciliary jurisdiction has a premium tax rate lower 
than Connecticut’s.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
appointments issued or continued on or after October 1, 
2009. 

§§ 31 & 32 - Solar Thermal Work Certificate 

This act requires the DCP commissioner, after 
consulting with the Plumbing and Piping Work Board or 
the Heating, Piping, Cooling, and Sheet Metal Work 
Board as appropriate, to issue a solar thermal work 
certificate authorizing its holder to perform solar 
thermal work. To qualify for the certificate, a person 
must (1) hold a P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, S-1, S-2, S-3 or S-4 
license issued by DCP; (2) complete a commissioner-
approved solar thermal installation training course; and 
(3) pass a commissioner-approved solar thermal work 
examination. The certificate must be renewed in the 
same way that its holder’s trade license is renewed. The 
certificate fee is $50. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 33 & 34 - Air Emissions Permit Operating Fee 
Account 

The act restores the air emissions permit operating 
fee account and makes it a separate account within the 
General Fund instead of within the Environmental 
Quality Fund. PA 09-3, JSS eliminated the latter fund 
and the account. This act once again requires revenue 
from fees the DEP commissioner charges owners or 
operators of air pollution sources to go into the account. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 35 - Department of Environmental Protection Fees  

The act raises to at least $100 any fee that the DEP 
commissioner charges by regulation for activities the 
department regulates, such as those of solid waste 
facilities. PA 09-3, JSS doubled any of these fees that 
were less than $150. This act increases any of the fees 
that were formerly less than $100 to at least $100.  

 
 

It also increases the fee for a general permit: 
1. from $1,000 to $1,250, for people intending to 

engage in a regulated activity that requires 
registration with, and approval from, DEP 
before it can begin and 

2. from $500 to $625, for people intending to 
engage in a regulated activity that only requires 
them to register with DEP before the activity 
can begin. 

By law, this fee structure applies unless a different 
fee is specified in the general permit.  

Finally, the act increases the maximum general 
permit fee from $5,000 to $6,250. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 36 - REGIONAL GREENHOUSE GAS ACCOUNT 

By law, the DEP commissioner, in consultation 
with the Department of Public Utility Control, must 
auction emission allowances and invest the proceeds. 
This act (1) creates a regional greenhouse gas account 
as a separate, nonlapsing General Fund account and (2) 
requires the auction emission allowance proceeds to be 
deposited in the account. By law, the proceeds are 
invested in energy conservation, load management, and 
certain renewable energy programs on behalf of electric 
ratepayers.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 39 - PREFERENCE TAX INCREASE  

PA 09-3, JSS doubled, from $250,000 to $500,000, 
the maximum preference tax for groups of companies 
filing combined corporation tax returns. The increase 
was effective on passage. This act applies the increase 
to income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 40 - ATTORNEY OCCUPATIONAL TAX 

PA 09-3, JSS increased the annual attorney 
occupational tax from $450 to $565, effective October 
1, 2009. This act applies the increased tax to calendar 
years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 41 -TRANSFERS TO THE SPECIAL 
TRANSPORTATION FUND 

PA 09-3, JSS requires the comptroller to transfer 
from the General Fund to the Special Transportation 
Fund the following amounts: $72.0 million in FY 10 
and $117.5 million in FY 11 and each fiscal year 
thereafter. This act instead requires the comptroller to 
transfer (1) $81.2 million in FY 10, (2) $126 million in 
FY 11 and FY 12 and (3) $172.8 million in FY 13 and 
each subsequent year. 
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EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  

§ 42 - REVISED BUDGET RESERVE FUND 
TRANSFERS TO GENERAL FUND 

PA 09-3, JSS requires the treasurer to transfer from 
the Budget Reserve Fund to the General Fund $1.062 
billion in FY 10 and $319.7 million in FY 11. This act 
(1) reduces the FY 10 transfer amount by $22.3 million 
to $1,039.7 million and (2) increases the FY 11 transfer 
amount by $22.3 million to $342 million. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 43 - LATE FILING FEE FOR CAMPAIGN 
TREASURERS 

The act reverses an increase in the State Elections 
Enforcement Commission’s late filing fee for campaign 
treasurers. PA 09-3, JSS doubled the fee, from $100 to 
$200, effective October 1, 2009. This act restores the 
$100 late fee that was in effect before that date. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 44-54 - PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION 
DEADLINE WAIVERS  

The act allows certain taxpayers to receive the 
following property tax exemptions for particular grand 
list years even though they missed the filing deadlines 
for the exemption:  

1. machinery and equipment used for 
manufacturing, biotechnology, or recycling 
(CGS § 12-81 (72)) and  

2. manufacturing and service facilities located in 
targeted investment communities or enterprise 
zones (CGS § 12-81 (59)). 

By law, property owners must apply to local 
assessors for these exemptions by November 1 annually. 
The act waives this filing deadline for property owners 
in the towns and for one or more of the above property 
categories and the grand lists shown in Table 2, if the 
property owners apply within 30 days of the act’s 
passage and pay the statutory late fee.  

In each case, the act requires the local assessor to 
(1) verify eligibility for the exemption and approve the 
exemption, (2) refund any taxes paid on the property, 
and (3) submit the request for a tax loss reimbursement 
to the OPM secretary. Subject to the secretary’s review 
and approval, the act requires the state to reimburse the 
town for the tax loss under the applicable statute. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Table 2: Exemption Application Deadline Waivers 
 

§ Town Grand 
List Type of Property CGS § 

44 Newtown 2007 Machinery and 
equipment 12-81 (72) 

45 Watertown 2007 Machinery and 
equipment 12-81 (72) 

46 Suffield 2007 Machinery and 
equipment 12-81 (72) 

47 Windsor 2007 Machinery and 
equipment 12-81 (72) 

48 West 
Hartford 

2008 Machinery and 
equipment 12-81 (72) 

49 New Britain 2006 Machinery and 
equipment 12-81 (72) 

50 Hartford 2007 Machinery and 
equipment 12-81 (72) 

51 New Haven 2007 Manufacturing or 
service facility  12-81 (59) 

52 Torrington 2008 Manufacturing or 
service facility 12-81 (59) 

53 Stonington 2008 Machinery and 
equipment 12-81 (72) 

54 Bridgeport 2007 Manufacturing or 
service facility 12-81 (59) 

 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§§ 55-58 - REVISED REVENUE ESTIMATES  

The act amends the General Fund and Special 
Transportation Fund revenue estimates for FY 10 and 
FY 11 adopted by PA 09-3, JSS. It reduces the total 
General Fund estimate for FY 10 by $3 million from 
$17,375.4 million to $17,372.4 million and increases the 
estimate for FY 11 by $4.9 million, from $17,591.9 
million to $17,596.8 million.  

For the Special Transportation Fund, the act 
increases the revenue estimate (1) for FY 10 by $9.2 
million, from $1,106.5 million to $1,115.7 million and 
(2) for FY 11 by $8.5 million, from $1,173.2 million to 
$1,181.7 million. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 59 - REPEALERS 

Economic Recovery Notes 

PA 09-2, JSS authorized the state to issue economic 
recovery notes (ERNs) to fund the FY 09 General Fund 
deficit. This act repeals a requirement that, if the 
comptroller determines there is an unappropriated 
General Fund surplus at the end of any fiscal year from 
FY 10 through FY 17, that surplus first be used to 
redeem any outstanding ERNs before they mature. 
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The repealed provision conflicts with a similar 
provision of PA 09-3, JSS requiring that any General 
Fund surpluses for those years first be used to redeem 
ERNs before they mature and second to reduce the 
state’s obligations under any plan to borrow against 
future state revenue (“securitization”). 

Bridgeport Pension Financing 

The act repeals a provision of PA 09-3, JSS 
concerning financing Bridgeport’s pension 
contributions. The repealed provision conflicts with a 
similar provision in this act. 

Shellfish Harvesting Fee 

The act eliminates a fee of $1 per bushel bag or 
equivalent for harvesting shellfish in state waters for 
wholesale or retail sale. PA 09-3, JSS imposed the fee, 
effective October 1, 2009. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

BACKGROUND 

LEED Rating System  

The U.S. Green Building Council has established 
rating systems for a variety of developments. There are 
separate rating systems for new, and major renovations 
of, commercial, institutional, and government buildings; 
commercial building interiors; the core and shell of 
commercial buildings, which covers such elements as 
the building envelope and heating, ventilation, air 
conditioning systems; retail establishments; and health 
care facilities. LEED addresses a building’s 
performance in five areas: sustainable site development, 
water savings, energy efficiency, material selection, and 
indoor environmental quality. Participating buildings 
can be rated as certified, silver, gold, or platinum. 

 
PA 09-9, September 2009 Special Session-HB 7002 
(VETOED) 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING THE PROVISIONS 
OF THE BUDGET CONCERNING REVENUE 

 
SUMMARY:  This act makes various statutory changes 
to implement the revenue provisions of the state budget 
and revenue act for FY 10 and FY 11 (PA 09-3, June 
Special Session (JSS)).  Among other things, it: 

1. establishes a corporation tax credit, beginning 
in income years starting on or after January 1, 
2012, for constructing buildings that meet 
specified energy and environmental standards 
(“green buildings”); 

2. temporarily exempts Bridgeport from certain 
pension funding requirements for FY 09 
through FY 11, if the state treasurer and the 
Office of Policy and Management (OPM) 
secretary approve the city’s alternative pension 
funding plans for those years;  

3. requires taxpayers when making their 
estimated payments, and employers when 
calculating withholding taxes, for the 
remainder of the 2009 income year, to include 
catch-up payments to cover increases in 
personal income and corporation taxes 
effective January 1, 2009 and adopted in PA 
09-3, JSS; and 

4. approves up to $40 million in economic 
development assistance from existing programs 
over the next two years for the Steel Point 
project in Bridgeport. 

The act increases various Department of Motor 
Vehicle (DMV) and Department of Public Health 
(DPH) fees.  It reverses some fee increases made in PA 
09-3, JSS, including those for licensed practical nurses 
and resident marine waters fishing licenses.  It (1) 
eliminates a $1-per-bushel shellfish harvesting fee that 
act imposed and (2) restores certain nonlapsing 
accounts, including the boating and air emissions permit 
operating fee accounts, that the budget act eliminated. 

The act changes amounts PA 09-3, JSS transferred 
from the Budget Reserve Fund to the General Fund and 
from the General Fund to the Special Transportation 
Fund for FY 10 and FY 11.  Finally, it alters the revenue 
estimates for the General and Special Transportation 
funds FY 10 and FY 11 adopted in PA 09-3, JSS. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Various, see below. 

§§ 1-6 - FILM PRODUCTION AND DIGITAL 
ANIMATION TAX CREDITS 

Production Company Credit Eligibility Requirements 

Starting January 1, 2010, PA 09-3, JSS, makes a 
film production company eligible for a film production 
tax credit only if it conducts at least 50% of its principal 
photography days in the state.  This act provides an 
alternative standard by also making a company eligible 
if it spends at least 50% of a film’s post-production 
costs in Connecticut.  

Digital Animation Company Credit Eligibility 
Requirement 

On or after January 1, 2010, this act requires that, to 
be eligible for a digital animation production tax credit, 
a digital animation company must spend at least 50% of 
post-production costs in Connecticut. 
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Minor and Technical Changes 

Starting January 1, 2010, PA 09-3, JSS, replaces 
the state’s flat 30% tax credit for qualifying film 
production and digital animation expenditures over 
$50,000 with tiered credits of 10% for expenditures 
between $100,000 and $500,000; 15% for expenditures 
over $500,000 and up to $1 million; and 30% for 
expenditures over $1 million.  Credits can be claimed in 
the year the eligible expenditures are made, or carried 
forward for up to the three following income years. 

This act (1) makes a technical change in the 
expenditure range for the 15% credit and (2) specifies 
that a statutory provision allowing taxpayers to carry 
forward their available credits for the three years 
following the year in which the eligible expenditures are 
made applies to all or part of the credits. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 7 - ESTIMATED CORPORATION TAX 
PAYMENTS FOR 2009 

PA 09-3, JSS, imposes a 10% corporation tax 
surcharge for the 2009, 2010, and 2011 income years on 
companies that have (1) $100 million or more in annual 
gross income in those years and (2) tax liability that 
exceeds the $250 minimum tax.   

This act requires affected corporation taxpayers 
making estimated tax payments to adjust their payments 
for the 2009 income year to reflect any additional tax 
liability from the surcharge. It overrides a safe-harbor 
law excusing corporation taxpayers from interest and 
penalties on estimated taxes if they pay in four quarterly 
installments totaling at least (1) 90% of their liability for 
the current income year without credits or (2) 100% of 
their liability for the previous year without credits, 
whichever is less.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 8 - GREEN BUILDINGS TAX CREDIT  

Credits  

This act establishes a corporation tax credit for 
taxpayers who build buildings that meet certain energy 
and environmental standards (“green buildings”). It 
limits the credits for all building projects to $25 million. 
The credit is available for income years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2012. 

The act entitles eligible projects to a base credit that 
increases with the project’s green rating. It allows 
additional credits for mixed-use projects and those 
located in certain areas. Taxpayers can claim only 25% 
of the credit in any tax year. The remainder may be 
carried forward for up to five years. The credits are 
transferrable and assignable. 

Eligible Projects and Allowable Costs 

Projects eligible for the credits are real estate 
developments in the state designed to meet or exceed 
the applicable Leadership in Energy and Environmental 
Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System gold 
certification or an equivalent standard as determined by 
the environmental protection (DEP) commissioner. 
Eligible projects must use no more than (1) 70% of the 
energy use permitted by the State Building Code for 
new construction or (2) 80% of the energy use permitted 
by the state energy code for a building renovation or 
rehabilitation. In addition, the project must use 
equipment and appliances that meet Energy Star 
standards, if applicable. If a development has more than 
one building, only the buildings that meet these 
standards are eligible for the credit. For newly 
constructed buildings, the credits apply only to those 
that receive a certificate of occupancy on or after 
January 1, 2010. 

To count towards the credit, a development cost 
must be chargeable to the project’s capital account. 
These allowable costs include:  

1. construction or rehabilitation costs;  
2. commissioning costs;  
3. architectural and engineering fees that can be 

allocated to construction or rehabilitation, 
including energy modeling;  

4. such site costs as temporary electric wiring, 
scaffolding, demolition, and fencing and 
security facilities; and  

5. costs of carpeting, partitions, walls and wall 
coverings, ceilings, lighting, plumbing, 
electrical wiring, mechanical, heating, cooling, 
and ventilation.  

The purchase of land, remediation costs, and the 
cost of telephone systems or computers are not 
allowable. The act limits allowable costs to $250 per 
square foot for new construction and $150 (presumably 
per square foot) for building renovations or 
rehabilitation. 

Base and Supplemental Credits 

The LEED rating system has four levels: certified, 
silver, gold, and platinum, with a building’s rating 
depending on its number of green features (see 
BACKGROUND). 

Under the act, the base credit for new construction 
or major renovation of a building (but not other site 
improvements) is 8% of allowable costs for a gold 
rating and 10.5% for a platinum rating. For core and 
shell or commercial interior projects, the credit is 5% of 
allowable costs for a gold rating and 7% for a platinum 
rating. In all cases, the credit is the same for the 
equivalent rating under an alternative rating system, as 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 



 SEPTEMBER 2009 SPECIAL SESSION 163 
 

determined by the DEP commissioner. 
A project receives an additional credit of 0.5% of 

allowable costs if it: 
1. is a “mixed use” development, consisting of 

one or more buildings that include residential 
use and in which no more than 75% of the 
interior square footage has at least one of the 
following uses: (a) commercial; (b) office; (c) 
retail; or (d) any other nonresidential use that 
the OPM secretary determines poses no public 
health threat or nuisance to nearby residential 
areas; 

2. is located in an enterprise zone or brownfield; 
3. does not require a sewer line extension of more 

than one-eighth of a mile; or 
4. is within walking distance of a public bus 

service or one-half mile of adequate rail, light 
rail, streetcar, or ferry service. (In the case of 
multi-building projects, at least one of the 
buildings must meet this criterion.) 

Credit Issuance 

The OPM secretary may issue an initial credit 
certificate if he determines that the applicant is likely, 
within a reasonable time, to place in service property 
that would be eligible for a credit. The certificate must 
state (1) the first income year for which the credit may 
be claimed; (2) the maximum credit allowable; and (3) 
an expiration date by which the property must be placed 
in service, which the secretary may extend at his 
discretion. The certificate must reserve the allowable 
credit for the applicant named in the application until 
the expiration date. The secretary may extend the 
reservation at his discretion, if he extends the expiration 
date.  The secretary may not issue initial credit 
certificates for more than $25 million in the aggregate.  

Taxpayers must obtain an eligibility certificate for 
each taxable year for which they claim a credit. They 
must obtain this certificate from an architect or licensed 
professional engineer accredited through the LEED 
Accredited Professional Program or a program the DEP 
commissioner determines to be equivalent. The 
document must certify, under the architect’s or 
engineer’s seal, that the building, base building, or 
tenant space for which the credit is claimed meets or 
exceeds the applicable green building rating system 
gold certification (or other certification the 
commissioner considers equivalent) that was in effect 
when the building was certified. The certification must 
include the specific findings on which it is based. It 
must state that the architect or engineer is accredited 
through the accredited professional program. 

To obtain the credit, the applicant must file with the 
revenue services (DRS) commissioner (1) the initial 
credit voucher, (2) the eligibility certificate, and (3) an 

application to claim the credit. The applicant must send 
a copy of the documents to the OPM secretary. 

Credit Transfers 

The act allows credits to be assigned or otherwise 
transferred. A project owner may transfer a credit to a 
pass-through partner in return for a lump sum payment. 
(This approach can be used if the project owner is a 
nonprofit organization, among other situations.)  

Any subsequent successor in interest to the property 
eligible for a credit may claim it if the deed transferring 
the property assigns the successor this right, unless the 
deed specifies that the seller retains the right to claim 
the credit. Any subsequent tenant of a building for 
which a credit was granted may claim it.  Such a claim 
applies to any period after the termination of the 
previous tenancy for which the previous tenant could 
have taken the credit.  

Regulations and Reporting 

The act (1) requires the OPM secretary, in 
consultation with the DRS commissioner, to adopt 
implementing regulations by January 1, 2011; (2) 
requires the secretary to establish a uniform application 
fee of up to $10,000 to cover all direct costs of 
administering the tax credit program; and (3) allows the 
secretary to hire a private consultant or outside firm to 
administer and review program applications. 

The secretary, in consultation with the 
commissioner, must report to the governor and Planning 
and Development and Finance, Revenue and Bonding 
committees by July 1, 2013 on (1) the number of 
taxpayers applying for the credits, (2) the amount and 
geographical distribution of the credits granted, and (3) 
any other information the secretary considers 
appropriate. The secretary must submit a preliminary 
draft report to the governor and the committees by July 
1, 2012. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§§ 9-13 - ESTATE AND GIFT TAX 

Starting with deaths occurring, and gifts made, on 
or after January 1, 2010, PA 09-3, JSS, (1) increased, 
from $2 million to $3.5 million, the threshold value of 
an estate or gift subject to the estate and gift tax; (2) 
reduced marginal tax rates on estates and gifts by 25%; 
and (3) eliminated the tax “cliff.” (Under the pre-
January 1, 2010 tax, an estate or gift valued at $2 
million or less was tax-exempt, while the full value of 
an estate or gift of more than $2 million was taxed. 
Thus, a $1 increase in the value from $2,000,000 to 
$2,000,001 increased the tax liability for a gift or estate 
over $2 million by $101,700 (the “cliff’)).   
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§ 9 - Connecticut Taxable Estate and Gift Taxes Paid 
Between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2009 

For those who die on or after January 1, 2010, this 
act includes in the Connecticut taxable estate the 
aggregate value of all Connecticut taxable gifts the 
decedent made on or after January 1, 2005.   

Under the act, for a person who dies on or after 
January 1, 2010, gifts subject to the higher tax rates in 
effect between January 1, 2005 and December 31, 2009 
count towards the combined lifetime total exclusion for 
estate tax purposes, but the estate is not entitled to any 
refund for gift taxes paid at the higher rates. Instead, the 
act gives such estates a credit for any gift taxes paid on 
gifts made on or after January 1, 2005, as long as the 
credit does not exceed the estate tax due. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010 and applicable to 
estates of those who die on or after that date. 

§ 10 - Estate Tax Filing Deadline  

PA 09-3, JSS reduced the time an executor has to 
file an estate tax return from nine to six months after the 
date of death. This act specifies that the new filing 
deadline applies to estates of those who die on or after 
July 1, 2009 rather than to taxes due on or after that 
date. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those who die on or after July 1, 2009. 

§ 11 - Tax Returns Filed with Probate Court  

By law, all estates, regardless of their gross value, 
must file an estate tax return. If the estate’s value is 
more than the taxable threshold, the executor must file 
the return with DRS, with a copy to the probate court 
for the district where the decedent lived or, if the 
decedent was not a Connecticut resident, where his or 
her Connecticut property is located.  If the estate’s value 
is below the tax threshold, the return must be filed only 
with the appropriate probate court.  The probate judge 
must review the return and issue a written opinion to the 
estate’s representative if the judge determines it is not 
subject to the estate tax. 

For deaths on or after January 1, 2010, this act 
increases the threshold for filing an estate tax return 
only with the probate court from $2 million to $3.5 
million.  This change conforms to the increase in the 
taxable estate threshold under PA 09-3, JSS. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those who die on or after January 1, 2010. 

 
 
 

§ 12 - Release of Estate Tax Liens 

By law, a person who does not owe, or who has 
paid, the estate tax receives a certificate releasing the 
lien on his or her interest in real property in the estate.  
The probate court is required to issue all lien release 
certificates for estates below the estate tax threshold.  
For deaths on or after January 1, 2010, the act requires 
probate courts to issue all lien release certificates for 
estates of $3.5 million or less.  This change conforms to 
the increase in the taxable estate threshold under PA 09-
3, JSS. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those who die on or after January 1, 2010. 

§ 13 - Gift Tax Credits 

PA 09-3, JSS gives a taxpayer a credit against taxes 
owed for gifts made on or after January 1, 2010, but 
only for gift taxes previously paid on post-January 1, 
2010 gifts.  This act also gives the credit for taxes 
previously paid on gifts made between January 1, 2005 
and December 31, 2009. But it limits the total credits to 
no more than the gift tax imposed.  This means 
taxpayers are not entitled to any refunds of gift taxes 
paid at the higher rates in effect between January 1, 
2005 and December 31, 2009. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage and applicable to 
gifts made on or after January 1, 2010. 

§ 14 - BRIDGEPORT PENSION PLAN FUNDING 

For FY 09, the act exempts a municipality (1) with 
a population greater than 130,000 and (2) that has issued 
pension deficit funding bonds, from a statutory 
requirement to appropriate money for, or contribute 
more than $6 million to, a pension plan funded with the 
bond proceeds. Only Bridgeport qualifies.   

The act also exempts the city from the statutory 
funding requirements for FY 10 and FY 11, if it submits 
plans for funding the pension plan in those years to the 
OPM secretary and the state treasurer and obtains their 
approval. The plans for FY 10 and FY 11 are due by 
April 1, 2010 and April 1, 2011, respectively.  

The secretary and the treasurer may accept, reject, 
or modify the city’s funding plans. In each year the 
secretary and the treasurer fail to approve the plans, the 
city must contribute at least $4 million to the pension 
plan. 

State law allows municipalities to issue pension 
deficit funding bonds to fund unfunded past pension 
obligations. If a municipality issues such bonds, it must 
ordinarily contribute at least the actuarially required 
amount to its pension plan in each fiscal year that it has 
pension deficit funding bonds for the plan outstanding 
(CGS § 7-364c (c) (3)). 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 
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§§ 15 & 16 - CATCH-UP INCOME TAX PAYMENTS 
FOR 2009 

PA 09-3, JSS increased income taxes for those with 
taxable incomes over $1 million for joint filers, 
$800,000 for heads of households, and $500,000 for 
single filers and married people filing separately.  The 
increase is effective for the tax year beginning January 
1, 2009. 

This act requires taxpayers who must make 
quarterly estimated tax payments for 2009 to adjust their 
January 15, 2010 payment to reflect the income tax rate 
changes applicable to the 2009 tax year.  It also requires 
the DRS commissioner to issue new withholding tax 
rules for the 2009 tax year by October 1, 2009 and 
publish them on DRS’ web site. 

By law, taxpayers who expect to have $1,000 or 
more in income tax liability and who do not have 
sufficient Connecticut income tax withheld by payers or 
employers must make quarterly estimated tax payments, 
generally by April 15, June 15, October 15, and January 
15.  The act’s requirement to adjust the January 15, 
2010 payment to include applicable 2009 tax increases 
overrides the statutory “safe harbor” provision that 
taxpayers are not liable for interest or penalties for 
underpaying estimated taxes if their quarterly payments 
total (1) 90% of their estimated tax liability for the 
current year or (2) 100% of their liability for the 
preceding tax year, whichever is less.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 17 - FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO THE STEEL 
POINT PROJECT IN BRIDGEPORT 

The act allows the Department of Economic and 
Community Development, the Connecticut 
Development Authority (CDA), and Connecticut 
Innovations, Inc. (CII) to provide up to $40 million in 
financial assistance from existing programs to the Steel 
Point project in Bridgeport between January 1, 2010 and 
June 30, 2012.  The assistance must be used for 
developing and improving property in Bridgeport. 

The assistance may be in the form of grants, loans, 
loan guarantees, insurance contracts, investments, or a 
combination of these and may be provided from 
proceeds from sales of bonds, notes, or other debt issued 
by the state, CDA, or CII. By law, any such financial 
assistance exceeding $10 million over a two-year period 
for any applicant or business project must be expressly 
authorized by the General Assembly. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

 
 

§ 19 - TRANSFERS TO THE SPECIAL 
TRANSPORTATION FUND 

PA 09-3, JSS requires the comptroller to transfer 
from the General Fund to the Special Transportation 
Fund the following amounts:  $72.0 million in FY 10 
and $117.5 million in FY 11 and each fiscal year 
thereafter. This act instead requires the comptroller to 
transfer (1) $77.3 million in FY 10, (2) $104 million in 
FY 11 and FY 12, and (3) $127 million in FY 13 and 
each subsequent fiscal year. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§§ 23 & 53 - BOATING ACCOUNT AND BOATING 
FEE REVENUE 

PA 09-3, JSS eliminated the Conservation Fund 
and the separate boating account within that fund and 
transferred all revenue from boat and watercraft 
numbering and registration fees to the General Fund.  
This act reestablishes (1) the boating account as a 
separate, nonlapsing General Fund account and (2) the 
account’s purposes and reporting requirements as they 
were under the law prior to PA 09-3, JSS.  The act also 
modifies how boating fee revenue is distributed. 

Under the law prior to PA 09-3, JSS, the first $1 
million of the revenue received from the boating fees 
each year went into the boating account, along with any 
excess after towns received their share. This act 
eliminates the requirement to save the first $1 million in 
the account. It instead allocates annual boating fee 
revenue received in the 12 months between November 1 
and the following October 31 to the towns first. As 
under the law prior to PA 09-3, JSS, the act requires that 
(1) if annual fee revenue is not enough to pay all the 
towns their full allotments, any additional amount 
necessary be taken from unallocated funds in the 
account and (2) the towns receive amounts according to 
their proportionate share of the total property taxes paid 
on vessels based on October 1, 1978 assessment.   

Under the act, as under the law prior to PA 09-3, 
JSS, the boating account must be used for the various 
purposes, including to (1) cover all expenses the DMV 
and the DEP commissioners incur in administering and 
enforcing state laws and regulations respecting boating 
safety and water pollution from vessels and (2) make 
any payments the law requires (e.g., payments to towns 
that apply to DEP for reimbursement for enforcing 
boating laws).  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2009 
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§§ 18, 20-22, 24-32 & 34-50 - FEE PROVISIONS 

PA 09-3, JSS increased various state fees effective 
October 1, 2009.  This act makes additional changes in 
fees, establishes new fees, increases additional fees, and 
reduces and repeals certain of the prior act’s fee 
increases. 

§ 18 - Nonresidential Underground Storage Tank 
Notification Fee 

Under PA 09-3, JSS starting October 1, 2009, the 
fee to inspect certain nonresidential underground 
storage facilities is $100 per tank for each facility that 
submits notification to the DEP commissioner. This act 
imposes the fee for the notification instead of the 
inspection. By law, the notification must be submitted 
annually along with the fee.   
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 

§ 20 - License Fee Increase for Certain Cigarette 
Distributors 

The act increases, from $1,000 to $1,250, the 
annual fee for a DRS license as a “non-exclusive” 
cigarette distributor (a distributor who does not sell 
cigarettes exclusively to retail stores that the distributor 
operates).  This matches the license fee increase in PA 
09-3, JSS for a cigarette distributor who sells to more 
than 25 retail stores that the distributor operates. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2009 

§ 21 - Applicability of Increased License Renewal Fees 

With the exception of several cigarette licenses 

issued by the DRS, the act makes the increases in 
license renewal fees enacted in PA 09-3, JSS apply only 
to the renewal of licenses that expire on or after October 
1, 2009.  

The act does not apply to increased fees for (1) 
cigarette manufacturers’ licenses and duplicate copies, 
(2) cigarette dealers’ licenses and duplicate copies, and 
(3) cigarette distributors’ licenses.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 22 - Licensed Practical Nurse License Fee 

The act reverses an increase in the annual license 
fee for licensed practical nurses.  PA 09-3, JSS doubled 
the fee from $60 to $120, effective October 1, 2009.  
This act restores the $60 fee. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§§ 24 & 30 - Resident Marine Waters Fishing License 
Fee 

PA 09-3, JSS imposed a $30 fee for a resident 
marine waters fishing license, effective October 1, 2009.  
This act reduces the fee to $10.  It also makes a 
conforming change.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: The conforming change is 
effective on passage.  The fee change is effective 
October 1, 2009 and applies to renewal of licenses 
expiring on or after that date. 

§§ 25-29 - Department of Public Health Fees 

The act increases the DPH fees shown in Table 1. 
 

 
 

Table 1:  DPH Fee Increases 
 

§ CGS § Fee Description Prior 
Law 

The Act 

25 20-341g Subsurface sewage disposal system installer 
license – annual renewal 

$25 $50 

25 20-341g Subsurface sewage disposal system cleaner 
license – annual renewal 

10 20 

26 20-438 Asbestos abatement site supervisor’s 
certificate -application  

50 100 

26 20-438 Asbestos abatement site supervisor’s 
certificate – annual renewal  

50 100 

27 20-162bb (b) Perfusionist license – application fee 250 315 
28 20-162bb (g) Perfusionist license – annual renewal  250 315 
29 PA 09-232, § 56 (a) Audiologist – initial license fee and annual 

renewal 
100 200 

 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 and 
applicable to renewal of licenses expiring on or after 
that date. 

§ 31 - Liquor Permit Administrative Fee  

By law, retailers holding permits to sell liquor for 
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off-premises consumption must pay the Department of 
Consumer Protection (DCP) an additional fee equal to 
6.25% of their permit fee to cover DCP’s costs for 
administering the liquor control laws.  This act requires 
DCP to round the administrative fee up to the nearest 
$5. Revenue from the administrative fee goes to the 
General Fund. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2009 

§ 32 - Insurance Agent Fees 

The act increases, from $80 to $100, the fee for 
each appointment issued to or continued for an agent of 
a domestic insurance company.  It also exempts from 
the fee an appointment issued to or continued for an 
agent of a nondomestic insurance company.  Under 
prior law and this act, there is no fee for a nondomestic 
insurer to appoint an agent in Connecticut if the 
insurer’s domiciliary (home) jurisdiction does not 
charge a fee for appointments.  The act also sets a lower 
$20 fee for an appointment issued by a nondomestic 
insurer whose domiciliary jurisdiction has a premium 
tax rate lower than Connecticut’s.  

EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2009 

§ 33 - Solar Thermal Work Certificate 

This act requires the DCP commissioner, after 
consulting with the Plumbing and Piping Work Board or 
the Heating, Piping, Cooling, and Sheet Metal Work 
Board as appropriate, to issue a solar thermal work 
certificate authorizing its holder to perform solar 
thermal work.  To qualify for the certificate, a person 
must (1) hold a P-1, P-2, P-3, P-4, S-1, S-2, S-3 or S-4 
license issued by DCP; (2) complete a commissioner-
approved solar thermal installation training course; and 
(3) pass a commissioner-approved solar thermal work 
examination. The certificate must be renewed in the 
same way as its holder’s trade license. The certificate 
fee is $50. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2009 

§§ 34-46 - Department of Motor Vehicle Fee Increases 

The act increases DMV fees as shown in Table 2. 
 

 
Table 2:  DMV Fee Increases 

 
§ CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The 

Act 
Non-driver ID issuance $22.50 $29 34 1-1h Non-driver ID renewal 22.50 29 

36 14-12s Vehicle registration – additional administrative fee 10 15 
Transfer of vehicle registration to a family member when owner dies 20 25 
Transfer of vehicle registration in connection with business reorganization or 
dissolution 

20 25 37 14-16 

Transfer of registration between vehicles (minimum fee) 20 25 
Original driver’s license issuance   

44 52 • Four-year 
66 78 • Six-year 38 14-41 

11 13 • Part-year 
39 14-44h Commercial driver’s license – original (per year or part thereof) 15 19 

Vehicles with commercial registration – additional fee 10 30 
Vehicles with commercial registration with pneumatic tires (minimum fee) 44 64 
Annual registration fee – well drilling equipment 46 66 
Annual registration fee for saw rigs and spray rigs 25 45 

40 14-47 

Minimum registration fee – all other commercial vehicles 56 76 
Passenger vehicle registration   

38 43 • One-year (seniors option) 
75 85 • Two-year 

Motorcycle registration (biennial) 40 50 
56 66 • With commercial sidecar 
35 45 • Owned by manufacturer, dealer, or repairer (annual) 

Taxicab/livery vehicle registration (biennial) 250 270 
Registration of antique, rare, or special interest motor vehicle 75 85 
Motorbus registration (other than multistate carrier) 53 73 
Biennial combination vehicle registration 83 93 
Type I school bus registration 100 110 

41 14-49 

Vehicles seating more than 10 not used for hire – additional biennial fee 13 23 
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§ CGS § Fee Description Prior Law The 
Act 

Noncommercial pick up weighing under 12,500 pounds – additional biennial fee 13 23 
Electric vehicle registration (per year or part thereof) 18 28 
Minimum registration  for vehicles without pneumatic tires 56 66 
Registration transfer  for vehicles other than between vehicles or under laws 
concerning special plates for people with disabilities 

20 25 

Hearse registration 35 45 
Industrial truck registration   

28 38 • First 200 feet of highway use 
12 13 • Each additional 200 feet 

Biennial camping or recreational trailer registration fee 18 28 
Annual heavy duty trailer or other construction equipment registration fee 306 316 
Temporary registration (per 10-day period):   

20 25 • Noncommercial vehicles 
25 30 • Commercial vehicles – up to 6,000 lbs 
46 51 • Commercial vehicles – over 6,000 lbs 

Service bus registration – owned by other than nonprofit organization   
200 210 • Up to 16 passengers 
700 710 • More than 16 passengers 

Service bus registration – owned by nonprofit organization   
150 160 • Up to 16 passengers 
500 510 • More than 16 passengers 

Biennial farm vehicle registration 28 38 
Additional fee for vanity plate other than plate with amateur radio call letters 65 75 
Biennial camper registration 70 80 
Learner’s permit 18 28 
Motorcycle learner’s permit 15 25 
Reflectorized plate – additional fee 5 10 
High-mileage vehicle registration 44 54 
Special use registration – 30 days or less 20 30 
Late fee for failure to register 10 25 
Driver’s license exam 40 50 
Driver’s license renewal   

43 52 • Four-year 
65 78 • Six-year 

42 14-50 

Each passenger endorsement – additional fee 12 13 
Fee for duplicates of registrations, replacement plates, accident reports, etc. 20 25 
Duplicate driver’s licenses 30 35 43 14-50a 
Minimum charge for transcripts of DMV hearings 20 25 

44 14-50b Driver’s license or vehicle registration restoration fee 125 150 
45 14-164c Emissions inspection – late fee 20 25 

Application for certificate of title 25 30 
Each security interest noted on title 10 15 
Record copy search 20 25 
Each assignment of security interest on title 10 15 
Application for duplicate title 25 30 
Ordinary title in lieu of distinctive certificate 10 15 
Filing notice of security interest 10 15 
Certificate of DMV records search – per name 20 25 
Filing an assignment of security interest 10 15 
Search of certificate of title record requested by nonowner 20 25 

46 
 14-192 

Filing bond for certificate of title 25 30 
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In addition, the act increases, from $200 to $250, 
the civil penalty the DMV commissioner must collect 
when someone fails to maintain insurance on a 
passenger motor vehicle and enters into a consent 
agreement with the commissioner (§ 35).  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  January 1, 2010 

§ 49 - Department of Environmental Protection Fees  

The act raises to at least $100 any fee that the DEP 
commissioner charges by regulation for activities the 
department regulates, such as those of solid waste 
facilities.  PA 09-3, JSS doubled any of these fees that 
were less than $150. This act increases any of the fees 
that were formerly less than $100 to at least $100.  

It also increases the fee for a general permit: 
1. from $1,000 to $1,250, for people intending to 

engage in a regulated activity that requires 
registration with, and approval from, DEP 
before it can begin and 

2. from $500 to $625, for people intending to 
engage in a regulated activity that only requires 
them to register with DEP before the activity 
can begin. 

By law, this fee structure applies unless a different 
fee is specified in the general permit.  

Finally, the act increases the maximum general 
permit fee from $5,000 to $6,250. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 

§§ 47, 48, & 53 –-AIR EMISSIONS PERMIT 
OPERATING FEE ACCOUNT 

The act restores the air emissions permit operating 
fee account and makes it a separate account within the 
General Fund instead of within the Environmental 
Quality Fund.  PA 09-3, JSS eliminated the latter fund 
and the account.  This act once again requires revenue 
from fees the DEP commissioner charges owners or 
operators of air pollution sources to go into the account. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  October 1, 2009 

§ 50 - REGIONAL GREENHOUSE GAS ACCOUNT 

By law, the DEP commissioner, in consultation 
with the Department of Public Utility Control, must 
auction emission allowances and invest the proceeds.  
This act (1) creates a regional greenhouse gas account 
as a separate, nonlapsing General Fund account and (2) 
requires the auction emission allowance proceeds to be 
deposited in the account.  By law, the proceeds are 
invested in energy conservation, load management, and 
certain renewable energy programs on behalf of electric 
ratepayers.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2009 

§ 51 - PREFERENCE TAX INCREASE  

PA 09-3, JSS doubled, from $250,000 to $500,000, 
the maximum preference tax for groups of companies 
filing combined corporation tax returns.  The increase is 
effective on passage.  This act applies the increase to 
income years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 52 - ATTORNEY OCCUPATIONAL TAX 

PA 09-3, JSS increased the annual attorney 
occupational tax from $450 to $565, effective October 
1, 2009.  This act applies the increased tax to calendar 
years starting on or after January 1, 2009. 

EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 54 - REVISED BUDGET RESERVE FUND 
TRANSFERS TO GENERAL FUND 

PA 09-3, JSS requires the treasurer to transfer 
specified amounts from the Budget Reserve Fund to the 
General Fund. This act changes the transfer amounts 
from $1.062 billion to $1.068 billion in FY 10 and from 
$319.7 million to $313.7 million in FY 11.  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§§ 55-58 - REVISED REVENUE ESTIMATES  

The act amends the General Fund and Special 
Transportation Fund revenue estimates for FY 10 and 
FY 11 in PA 09-3, JSS.  It reduces the General Fund 
estimate for FY 10 by $500,000 from $17,375.4 million 
to $17,374.9 million and increases the estimate for FY 
11 by $7.9 million, from $17,591.9 million to $17,599.8 
million.   

For the Special Transportation Fund, the act 
increases the revenue estimate (1) for FY 10 by $25.4 
million, from $1,106.5 million to $1,131.9 million and 
(2) for FY 11 by $26.7 million, from $1,173.2 million to 
$1,199.9 million. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

§ 59 - REPEALERS 

Economic Recovery Notes 

PA 09-2, JSS authorized the state to issue economic 
recovery notes (ERNs) to fund the FY 09 General Fund 
deficit. This act repeals a requirement that, if the 
comptroller determines there is an unappropriated 
General Fund surplus at the end of any fiscal year from 
FY 10 through FY 17, that surplus first be used to 
redeem any outstanding ERNs before they mature. 

The repealed provision conflicts with a broader 
provision in PA 09-3, JSS requiring that any General 
Fund surpluses for those years first be used to redeem 
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ERNs before they mature and second to reduce the 
state’s obligations under any plan to borrow against 
future state revenue. 

Bridgeport Pension Financing 

The act repeals a provision in PA 09-3, JSS that 
largely duplicates §14 of this act concerning financing 
Bridgeport’s pension contributions. 

Shellfish Harvesting Fee 

This act eliminates a fee of $1 per bushel bag or 
equivalent for harvesting shellfish in state waters for 
wholesale or retail sale.  PA 09-3, JSS imposed the fee, 
effective October 1, 2009. 
EFFECTIVE DATE:  Upon passage 

BACKGROUND 

LEED Rating System  

The U.S. Green Building Council has established 
rating systems for a variety of developments. There are 
separate rating systems for new, and major renovations 
of, commercial, institutional, and government buildings; 
commercial building interiors; commercial building 
cores and shells, which cover such elements as the 
building envelope and heating, ventilation, air 
conditioning systems; retail establishments; and health 
care facilities. LEED addresses a building’s 
performance in five areas: sustainable site development, 
water savings, energy efficiency, material selection, and 
indoor environmental quality. Participating buildings 
can be rated as certified, silver, gold, or platinum. 
 
 
PA 09-10, September 2009 Special Session-HB 7006 
(VETOED) 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT IMPLEMENTING CERTAIN 
PROVISIONS OF THE BUDGET CONCERNING 
GENERAL GOVERNMENT 

SUMMARY:  This act: 
1. prohibits certain reductions required by the 

budget act from the Judicial Department’s 
Other Expenses account; 

2. re-distributes $700,000 in the budget act in 
each of the next two fiscal years from the 
Department of Correction (DOC) for Children 
of Incarcerated Parents to the (a) Judicial 
Branch for a memorandum of understanding 
(MOU) the act requires it to enter into with 
Central Connecticut State University for 
research and programs regarding children with 

incarcerated parents ($650,000) and (b) 
Connecticut Pardon Team, Inc. to help 
individuals apply for pardons ($50,000) (§ 2); 

3. extends for two years, through June 30, 2011, 
the moratorium on the sale, lease, or transfer of 
state-operated, community-based residential 
facilities, boarding houses, group homes, and 
halfway houses occupied by people with 
mental retardation, psychiatric disabilities, or 
alcohol or drug dependency; 

4. creates a 23-member Connecticut Sentencing 
Commission to review the existing criminal 
sentencing structure and any proposed changes; 
and 

5. requires the public works commissioner to sell 
the former Seaside Regional Center in 
Waterford at fair market value, regardless of 
any other law. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

§ 1 - NO REDUCTIONS IN JUDICIAL 
DEPARTMENT’S OTHER EXPENSES ACCOUNT 

The budget act (PA 09-3, June Special Session) 
requires reductions of other expenses of $28,000,000 in 
FY 10 and $32,000,000 in FY 11. The act prohibits any 
of these reductions from the Judicial Department’s 
Other Expenses account.  

§ 3 - MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING FOR 
RESEARCH AND PROGRAMS REGARDING 
CHILDREN WITH INCARCERATED PARENTS 

The act requires the Judicial Branch and 
Connecticut Central State University to enter into a 
MOU by December 1, 2009, for the Institute for 
Municipal and Regional Policy to (1) conduct research, 
evaluation, outreach, and public policy development 
regarding children with incarcerated parents and (2) 
create and implement programs for such children, which 
can include programs to reunify incarcerated women 
with their children in the community. 

§ 4 - SALE OF GROUP HOMES AND TREATMENT 
FACILITIES 

The act extends for two years, through June 30, 
2011, the moratorium on the sale, lease, or transfer of 
state-operated, community-based residential facilities, 
boarding houses, group homes, and halfway houses 
occupied by people with mental retardation, psychiatric 
disabilities, or alcohol or drug dependency. Under prior 
law, the moratorium ended on June 30, 2009. 

The act exempts from the moratorium any state-
operated residential property the Department of 
Developmental Services transferred to private providers 
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before the act’s passage. It continues to exempt state-
owned property that was sold, leased, or transferred 
under an agreement entered into before June 2, 2005. 

§ 5 - CONNECTICUT SENTENCING COMMISSION 

The act creates, within existing budgetary 
resources, a 23-member Connecticut Sentencing 
Commission to review the existing criminal sentencing 
structure and any proposed changes, including existing 
statutes, proposed legislation, and existing and proposed 
sentencing policies and practices. It puts the 
commission within the Office of Policy and 
Management (OPM) for administrative purposes only. 

The act sets out a guiding principle for the 
commission’s work and the purposes of sentencing, lists 
specific duties for the commission, and authorizes the 
commission to access information held by state and 
municipal agencies. 

The act requires the commission to meet at least 
once each quarter and at other times the chairperson 
deems necessary. It must make recommendations to the 
governor, legislature, and criminal justice agencies and 
begin submitting annual reports to the governor, 
legislature, and Supreme Court chief justice by January 
15, 2010. 

The act authorizes the commission to accept federal 
grants or private funds for purposes consistent with its 
duties. 

Ex-Officio Members 

The act makes the following officials members of 
the commission with terms coterminous with their terms 
of office: 

1. Board of Pardons and Paroles chairperson; 
2. chief public defender; 
3. chief state’s attorney; 
4. correction, mental health and addiction 

services, and public safety commissioners; 
5. OPM’s Criminal Justice Policy and Planning 

Division undersecretary; and 
6. victim advocate. 

Appointed Members 

The act requires various authorities to appoint 
additional members. Table 1 displays the appointing 
authority, criteria for the member to be appointed, and 
the term for each member. 

Table 1: Members Appointed to the Commission 
 

Appointing Authority Criteria for Member Term 
Judge  One year 

Judge  

 

Three years 

Representative of the 
Judicial Branch’s Court 
Support Services Division 

Two years 

Active or retired judge Four years 

Supreme Court chief 
justice 

None specified Four years 

Governor None specified Four years 

Senate president pro 
tempore  

None specified Four years 

Senate majority leader None specified Four years 

Senate minority leader None specified Four years 

House speaker None specified Four years 

House majority leader None specified Four years 

House minority leader None specified Four years 

Chief State’s Attorney State’s attorney Three years 

Connecticut Criminal 
Defense Lawyers 
Association president 

Member of the criminal 
defense bar 

Three years 

Connecticut Police 
Chiefs Association 
president 

Municipal police chief Two years 

 
Reappointments and Vacancies 

Under the act, appointed members may be 
reappointed and any vacancy is filled by the appointing 
authority for the unexpired portion of the term. 

Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson 

The act makes the active or retired judge appointed 
by the Supreme Court chief justice the commission’s 
chairperson. The commission must elect a vice-
chairperson from its members. 

Guiding Principle and Purpose of Sentencing 

The act sets a general principle that the commission 
must consider in its work: sentencing’s primary purpose 
is to enhance public safety while holding the offender 
accountable to the community. In addition, it states that 
sentencing should: 
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1. reflect the seriousness of the offense; 
2. be proportional to the harm to victims and the 

community; 
3. use the most appropriate sanctions available, 

including prison, community punishment, and 
supervision; 

4. have an overriding goal of reducing criminal 
activity, imposing just punishment, and 
providing meaningful and effective 
rehabilitation and reintegration of the offender; 
and 

5. be fair, just, and equitable while promoting 
respect for the law. 

Commission’s Duties 

The act requires the commission to: 
1. facilitate development and maintenance of a 

statewide sentencing database in collaboration 
with existing state and local agencies, use 
existing state databases or resources where 
appropriate, and, when the database is 
completed, review criminal justice legislation 
on request, within resources;  

2. evaluate current sentencing statutes, policies, 
and practices, and conduct a cost-benefit 
analysis; 

3. analyze and study sentencing trends and 
prepare offender profiles; 

4. provide training on sentencing and related 
issues, policies, and practices; 

5. act as a sentencing policy resource for the 
state; 

6. preserve judicial discretion and provide for 
individualized sentencing; 

 
 
7. evaluate the impact of pre-trial, sentencing 

diversion, incarceration, and post-release 
supervision programs; 

8. perform fiscal impact analyses on selected 
proposed criminal justice legislation; 

9. identify potential areas of sentencing disparity 
relevant to racial, ethnic, gender, and 
socioeconomic status; and 

10. recommend criminal justice legislation to the 
Judiciary Committee, which must hold a 
hearing on it. 

Information 

The act requires the commission to have access to 
confidential information received by sentencing courts 
and the Board of Pardons and Paroles that includes 
arrest data, criminal history records, medical records, 
and other non-conviction information. 

It requires the commission to obtain full and 
complete information on state programs, activities, and 
operations relating to the state’s criminal sentencing 
structure. The act allows the commission to ask any 
state or municipal subdivision office, department, board, 
commission, or agency to provide records, information, 
and assistance needed or appropriate to carry out the 
commission’s duties. The act authorizes and directs the 
officers and employees of those entities to cooperate 
with the commission and to furnish requested records, 
information, and assistance. 

The act provides that any statutorily confidential 
record or information given to the commission remains 
confidential while in the commission’s custody and 
cannot be disclosed. Any penalty that applies to the 
officials, employees, and authorized representatives that 
give the records to the commission also applies in the 
same way to the commission’s members, staff, and 
authorized representatives. 

The act makes the commission a “criminal justice 
agency” for purposes of access to criminal history 
record information of state agencies and subjects the 
commission to the same security and privacy provisions 
as the other criminal justice agencies. 

§ 6 - SALE OF SEASIDE REGIONAL CENTER 

The act requires the public works commissioner to 
sell the former Seaside Regional Center in Waterford, 
regardless of any other law. The selling price must be its 
fair market value, as determined by the average of two 
independent appraisals selected by the commissioner.  

The sale is subject to State Properties Review 
Board approval. The act requires the board to complete 
its review of the proposed sale within 30 days after it 
receives a proposed agreement from the public works 
commissioner, whose department must care for and 
control the property until the sale is final. The state 
treasurer must execute the sale agreement and the public 
works commissioner is responsible for all other aspects 
of the sale. 

The act requires sale proceeds to be deposited into 
the General Fund, notwithstanding the law requiring 
such proceeds be deposited into a special nonlapsing 
fund for site acquisition, capital development, and 
infrastructure costs needed to provide services to people 
with mental retardation or psychiatric disabilities.  

BACKGROUND 

Sentencing Task Force 

PA 06-193 created a Connecticut Sentencing Task 
Force to review the state’s criminal justice and 
sentencing policies and laws to create a more just, 
effective, and efficient system of sentencing. PA 08-143 
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required the task force to recommend whether to 
establish a permanent sentencing commission and, if so, 
the permanent commission’s mission, duties, 
membership, and procedures. The task force’s January 
7, 2009 report recommended creation of a permanent 
sentencing commission.  
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PA 09-1, December 2009 Special Session-SB 2101 
(VETOED) 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING A DEFICIT 
MITIGATION PLAN FOR THE FISCAL YEAR 
ENDING JUNE 30, 2010 

SUMMARY: Among other things, this act: 
1. adjusts and reduces various General Fund 

appropriations for FY 10; 
2. transfers money from special funds and 

accounts to the General Fund for FY 10; 
3. reestablishes the nonlapsing Department of 

Environmental Protection (DEP) repair, 
maintenance, and improvement account 
eliminated in the  2009 budget act; 

4. increases maximum monthly HUSKY B 
premiums for families with incomes between 
235% and 300% of the federal poverty level; 

5. transfers the Board of Firearms Permit 
Examiners from the Department of Public 
Safety to the Department of Administrative 
Services (DAS); 

6. requires the Teachers’ Retirement System 
health insurance premium account to pay  
professional services costs for administering 
state teacher health insurance benefits; and 

7. makes an authorization of special tax 
obligation bonds for capital road resurfacing 
projects effective January 1, 2010 instead of 
May 1, 2010. 

EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 
 
§ 1 - REDUCED APPROPRIATIONS FOR FY 10 

The act reduces General Fund appropriations to 
various agencies for FY 10 by a total of $9,078,172.  

§ 2 - FY 10 APPROPRIATIONS FOR HOSPITALS  

The act reduces FY 10 appropriations to the 
Department of Social Services (DSS) for payments to 
hospitals by a total of $47,147,500 (see Table 1). It 
increases the FY 10 Medicaid appropriation by the same 
amount and requires DSS to proportionately increase 
each hospital’s Medicaid rate to offset the reduced 
appropriations. 

Table 1: Reductions FY 10 Appropriations to DSS for Hospitals 
 

For Reduction 
Disproportionate Share (DSH) – Medical Emergency 
Assistance 

$25,862,500 

DSH – Urban Hospitals in Distressed Municipalities 15,775,000 
Connecticut Children’s Medical Center 5,510,000 
TOTAL $47,147,500 

§§ 3, 4 (B) & 5-7 - TRANSFERS TO THE GENERAL 
FUND 

The act transfers money from various special funds 
and accounts to the General Fund as revenue for FY 10 
(see Table 2). 

Table 2: Transfers to the General Fund for FY 10 
 

§ Transfer From Transfer Amount 
3 Citizen’s Election Fund $5,000,000 
4(b) Conservation Fund, 

Environmental Quality Fund, and 
Clean Air Act account 

Any balances remaining after 
completing transfers required in 

the budget and this act (see § 
4(a) below) 

5 Public, Educational, and 
Governmental Programming and 
Education Technology Investment 
account 

2,300,000* 

6 Tobacco and Health Trust Fund 5,000,000* 
7 Emissions Enterprise Fund 1,000,000 

*These transfers must occur on or after May 1, 2010. 
 
§§ 4 (A) & 16 - ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION 
REPAIR, MAINTENANCE, AND IMPROVEMENT 
ACCOUNT 

The 2009 budget act eliminated the separate 
nonlapsing maintenance, repair and improvement 
account within the DEP’s Conservation Fund (PA 09-3, 
June Special Session, § 513). This act reestablishes the 
account as a separate, nonlapsing General Fund account 
and reenacts the former statutory provisions governing 
its use (CGS § 22a-27h (c)). Under the prior law and 
this act, unless the DEP commissioner makes a written 
agreement, signs an instrument, or issues a license 
stating otherwise, all rents the commissioner receives 
from users and occupants of DEP-owned property, 
houses, or other buildings must be deposited in the 
account. The act specifically covers any such amounts 
received for use of property at Harkness Memorial Park 
in Waterford. The prior law and the act also allow the 
account to receive other private and public funds, 
including federal and municipal funds.  

As under the previous statute, the DEP 
commissioner must use funds in the account to 
maintain, repair, and improve DEP-owned property, 
houses, and other buildings, including those at the 
Harkness Memorial State Park property in Waterford. 
The commissioner can also use the money to build new 
structures.  

 
The act transfers $2,315,365 for FY 10 from the 

DEP’s Conservation Fund to the new account. As under 
the previous statute, the act does not prevent the 
commissioner from obtaining and using money from 
sources outside the account to maintain and improve 
DEP-owned property and buildings. 
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§ 8 - DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE 
SERVICES’ PURCHASING AUTHORITY 

The act authorizes the DAS commissioner to buy 
equipment, supplies, material, and services from 
someone who has a contract to sell such things to other 
state governments, Connecticut political subdivisions, 
nonprofit organizations, or public purchasing consortia. 
The purchases must be made according to the terms and 
conditions of that contract.  

The law already allowed the commissioner to join 
cooperative purchasing plans with other states and 
federal agencies, political subdivisions, or nonprofit 
organizations when doing so is in the state’s best 
interest. 

§ 9 - NEXT STEPS INITIATIVE FUNDING DELAY 

The act delays until FY 11 funding for (1) rental 
assistance and services for the Next Steps Initiative’s 
Round 3 development projects and (2) debt service on 
the bonds issued to finance the projects.  

Specifically, the act eliminates allocations of: 
1. up to $264,000 from funds appropriated to 

DSS for Homeless/Housing Services for FY 10 
(the act retains the $264,000 allocation for FY 
11); 

2. up to $510,000 from the funds appropriated to 
the Department of Mental Health and 
Addiction Services (DMHAS) for Housing 
Supports and Services for FY 10 (the act 
retains the $1 million allocation for FY 11); 
and 

3. up to $1 million appropriated to the treasurer to 
pay debt service for FY 10 (the act retains the 
$1 million allocation for FY 11).  

      The act also eliminates a requirement that any 
of the authorized funds not used for Round 3 be 
used for other rental assistance and services for new 
scattered site supportive housing.  
By law, the Next Steps Initiative provides 

affordable housing and support services for, among 
others, (1) people and families affected by psychiatric 
disabilities and chemical dependency who are homeless 
or risk homelessness and (2) supervised ex-offenders 
with serious mental health needs. The law allows the 
state to provide funds to the Connecticut Housing 
Finance Authority to pay debt service on bonds it issued 
for mortgage loans under the Next Steps Initiative. 
Round 3 was authorized under PA 08-123.  
 
§ 10 -HUSKY B PROGRAM PREMIUMS  

The act increases the maximum monthly premium 
for a family whose children are enrolled in the HUSKY 
B program and whose family income is between 235% 

and 300% of the federal poverty level (FPL). It 
increases the maximum premium for such families from 
$30 per child with a $50 family cap to $40 per child 
with a $62.50 family cap.  

HUSKY B is the state's version of the federal State 
Children's Health Insurance Program. It provides 
comprehensive managed health care to children in 
families with incomes above 185% of the FPL. The 
state subsidizes coverage for children in families with 
incomes under 300% of the FPL; higher-income 
families can buy into the program. The HUSKY A 
program provides Medicaid coverage to children and 
their caretaker relatives with incomes under 185% of the 
FPL. 

§ 11 - ENERGY ASSISTANCE  

The act reduces, by $2 million, an appropriation to 
the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) for an 
emergency energy assistance program. The program 
helps Connecticut households with incomes between 
150% and 200% of FPL that cannot make timely 
payments on deliverable fuel, electricity, or natural gas 
bills. Under the program, Operation Fuel, Incorporated 
pays the assistance directly to the fuel vendor, electric 
or gas company, or municipal electric or gas utility.  

A 2008 act appropriated $8.5 million from the FY 
08 General Fund surplus to provide the assistance 
between November 1, 2008 and April 30, 2009. PA 09-
2, June 19 Special Session, carried the unspent balance 
forward and made it available in FY 10.  

Operation Fuel is a nonprofit organization that 
serves people who are not eligible for publicly funded 
energy assistance.  

§§ 12 & 13 - BOARD OF FIREARMS PERMIT 
EXAMINERS 

The act transfers the Board of Firearms Permit 
Examiners from the Department of Public Safety for 
administrative purposes only to DAS. It also transfers 
$8,971 of the board’s FY 10 appropriation for other 
expenses to DAS for the board’s administration. 

§ 14 - HOUSING INCENTIVE ZONE PROGRAM 
FUNDS 

The act bars expenditure of the following amounts 
earmarked in the state budget act for the housing 
incentive zone program: (1) $60,800 appropriated to the 
Department of Economic and Community Development 
for Home CT and (2) $319,200 in a separate account 
held by OPM.  

The housing incentive zone program provides 
grants to towns that choose to zone land for developing 
housing mainly where transit facilities, infrastructure, 
and complementary uses already exist or have been 
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planned or proposed. Towns receive the incentives only 
after establishing an incentive housing zone and 
approving incentive housing developments in the zone. 

§ 15 - COMMUNITY INVESTMENT ACCOUNT 
TRANSFER 

The act transfers to the General Fund as revenue for 
FY 10, $119,725 from the Community Investment 
account funds paid to the following agencies: (1) the 
departments of Agriculture and Environmental 
Protection, (2) the Commission on Culture and Tourism, 
and (3) the Connecticut Housing Finance Authority.  
The transfer must occur only after those agencies make 
all statutorily required distributions. 

The Community Investment account is funded by a 
fee for each document recorded in municipal land 
records. In 2009, the legislature temporarily increased 
the fee from $30 to $40 effective from July 1, 2009 to 
July 1, 2011 (PA 09-229, as amended by PA 09-3, June 
Special Session). 

By law, municipalities retain $4 of the fee and send 
the balance to the state for deposit in the account. 
Money from the account is distributed quarterly to the 
four agencies listed above. They must use the funds for 
purposes specified in the law. PA 09-229 temporarily 
altered the distribution of fund revenues among these 
agencies, increasing the agriculture department’s share 
from 25% to 40% and reducing the other agencies’ 
shares from 25% to 20% each. These shares apply from 
PA 09-229’s passage date until July 1, 2011.  

§§ 17 & 18 - TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM 
HEALTH INSURANCE PREMIUM ACCOUNT 

The act requires the Teachers’ Retirement System’s 
(TRS) health insurance premium account to pay for the 
professional services costs associated with 
administering the health benefit plans the Teachers’ 
Retirement Board (TRB) must offer to retirees 
participating in Medicare. Under prior law, all costs of 
administering the TRS and its health benefit plans were 
paid from General Fund appropriations.  

The act also requires TRB to submit any contract or 
contract renewal for such professional services to OPM. 

The money in the health insurance premium 
account comes from aggregate annual health 
contributions by active teachers that exceed $500,000, 
plus investment earnings on the account balance. Active 
teachers contribute 1.25% of annual salary in addition to 
a 6% pension contribution to help pay for retired 
teachers’ health insurance coverage. 

 

§ 19 - BOND AUTHORIZATION FOR CAPITAL 
ROAD RESURFACING PROJECTS  

The act advances the effective date of an 
authorization of up to $68.9 million in special tax 
obligation bonds for use by the Department of 
Transportation’s Bureau of Engineering and Highway 
Operations for capital projects involving road 
resurfacing and related road reconstruction in FY 11. 
The act makes the authorization effective January 1, 
2010 instead of May 1, 2010. 

 
 

PA 09-2, December 2009 Special Session-HB 7101 
(VETOED) 
Emergency Certification 
 
AN ACT CONCERNING THE ESTATE AND GIFT 
TAX 

 
SUMMARY: This act delays scheduled reductions in 
the estate and gift tax from January 1, 2010 to January 
1, 2012 and makes conforming changes. It also revises 
the amounts to be transferred from the Budget Reserve 
(“Rainy Day”) Fund to General Fund revenue for FY 10 
and FY 11. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Various, see below. 

ESTATE AND GIFT TAX CHANGES 

§§ 1 & 2 - Tax Threshold, Rates, and “Cliff” 

Under prior law, the following changes were 
scheduled to take effect starting with deaths occurring 
and gifts made on or after January 1, 2010: (1) an 
increase, from $2 million to $3.5 million, in the 
threshold value of an estate or gift subject to the estate 
and gift tax and (2) a 25% reduction in marginal tax 
rates on estates and gifts valued at $3.5 million or more. 
This act delays these changes for two years, making 
them effective for deaths occurring and gifts made on or 
after January 1, 2012. 

Under the law in effect from January 1, 2005 to 
January 1, 2010, the estate and gift tax contained a so-
called “cliff.” The cliff was produced because, under the 
pre-January 1, 2010 tax, an estate or gift valued at $2 
million or less was not taxed at all, while the full value 
of an estate or gift of more than $2 million was taxed. 
Thus, a $1 increase in value from $2,000,000 to 
$2,000,001 increased the tax liability for a gift or estate 
over $2 million by $101,700 (the “cliff”). Prior law 
eliminated the cliff by applying the tax only to the 
portion of the estate or gift that exceeded the tax 
threshold. This change was scheduled to take effect with 
deaths occurring and gifts made on or after January 1, 
2010. 
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This act eliminates the cliff as scheduled, but to 
offset the resulting tax reduction on taxable estates and 
gifts, it temporarily increases the tax rates to a range of 
between 8% and 18% from 5.085% to 16%. These 
higher rates affect estates of those who die, and gifts 

made on or after January 1, 2010 and before January 1, 
2012. As of January 1, 2012, rates drop back to the post-
January 1, 2010 rates established under prior law (see 
Table 1). 
 

 
 

Table 1: Estate & Gift Tax Rates Under Prior Law and The Act 

DEATHS AND GIFTS BEFORE JANUARY 
1, 2010 

DEATHS AND GIFTS ON OR AFTER 
JANUARY 1, 2010 

 

PRIOR LAW & THE ACT PRIOR LAW THE ACT 
VALUE OF 

TAXABLE ESTATE OR 
GIFT 

 On or after January 1, 2005 and before 
January 1, 2010 

(Add cols. C & D) 

 On or after January 1, 
2010 

(Add cols. E & F) 

On or after January 1, 2010 
and before 

January 1, 2012 
(Add cols. G & H) 

On or after 
January 1, 2012 
(Add cols. I & J) 

Col. A: 
Over 

Col. B: 
But not 

over 

Col. C: 
Tax on 
Col. A 

Col. D: 
Tax rate on 

excess 
over Col. A 

Col. E: 
Tax on 
Col. A 

Col. F: 
Tax rate on 

excess 
over Col. A 

Col. G: 
Tax on 
Col. A 

Col. H: 
Tax rate on 

excess 
over Col. A 

Col. I: 
Tax on 
Col. A 

Col. J: 
Tax rate 

on 
excess 

over Col. 
A 

0 $2,000,000 NO TAX NO TAX 
$2,000,000 2,100,000 5.085% of the total over 0 0 8.0% 

2,100,000 2,600,000 $106,800 8.0% $8,000 9.6% 
2,600,000 3,100,000 146,800 8.8% 56,000 11.2% 
3,100,000 3,500,000 190,800 9.6% 

NO TAX 

112,000 12.8% 

NO TAX 

3,500,000 3,600,000 190,800 9.6% 0 7.2% 112,000 12.8% 0 7.2% 
3,600,000 4,100,000 238,800 10.4% $7,200 7.8% 176,000 13.6% $7,200 7.8% 
4,100,000 5,100,000 290,800 11.2% 46,200 8.4% 244,000 14.4% 46,200 8.4% 
5,100,000 6,100,000 402,800 12.0% 130,200 9.0% 388,000 15.2% 130,200 9.0% 
6,100,000 7,100,000 522,800 12.8% 220,200 9.6% 540,000 16.0% 220,200 9.6% 
7,100,000 8,100,000 650,800 13.6% 316,200 10.2% 700,000 16.8% 316,200 10.2% 
8,100,000 9,100,000 786,800 14.4% 418,200 10.8% 868,000 17.2% 418,200 10.8% 
9,100,000 10,100,000 930,800 15.2% 526,200 11.4% 1,040,000 17.6% 526,200 11.4% 

Over $10,100,000 1,082,800 16.0% 640,200 12.0% 1,216,000 18.0% 640,200 12.0% 
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2010. The estate tax changes apply to estates of those dying on or after that date. 
 
 

§ 3 - Tax Returns Filed with Probate Court  

By law, all estates, regardless of their gross value, 
must file an estate tax return. If the estate’s value is 
more than the taxable threshold, the executor must file 
the return with the Department of Revenue Services, 
with a copy to the probate court for the district where 
the decedent lived or, if the decedent was not a 
Connecticut resident, where the Connecticut property is 
located. If the estate’s value is below the tax threshold, 
the return must be filed only with the appropriate 
probate court. The probate judge must review the return 
and issue a written opinion to the estate’s representative 
if the judge determines it is not subject to the estate tax. 

Under prior law, the threshold for filing an estate 
tax return only with the probate court was scheduled to 
increase from $2 million to $3.5 million starting with 

deaths on or after January 1, 2010. This act makes the 
threshold increase apply to deaths occurring on or after 
January 1, 2012, but does not specify what threshold 
applies for deaths occurring between January 1, 2010 
and December 31, 2011. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those dying on or after January 1, 2010. 

§ 4 - Release of Estate Tax Liens 

By law, a person who does not owe, or who has 
paid, the estate tax receives a certificate releasing the 
lien on his or her interest in real property in the estate. 
The probate court is required to issue all lien release 
certificates for estates below the estate tax threshold. 
Prior law required probate courts to issue all lien release 
certificates for estates of $3.5 million or less, starting 
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with deaths on or after January 1, 2010. This act makes 
the threshold increase apply to deaths occurring on or 
after January 1, 2012, but does not specify what 
threshold applies for deaths occurring between January 
1, 2010 and December 31, 2011. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage and applicable to 
estates of those dying on or after January 1, 2010. 

§ 5 - BUDGET RESERVE FUND TRANSFERS  

PA 09-8, September Special Session, required the 
treasurer to transfer from the Budget Reserve Fund to 
the General Fund, $1,039.7 million in FY 10 and $342 
million in FY 11. This act (1) requires the treasurer to 
transfer an additional $70.3 million for FY 10, 
increasing the total FY 10 transfer amount to $1,110 
million and (2) reduces the FY 11 transfer amount by 
$70.3 million to $271.7 million. 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage 

 
 

 
2009 OLR PA Summary Book Part II 





2009 SPECIAL SESSION INDEX BY ACT NUMBER 181
 

AGING DEPT. 
Reestablishment delayed 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 

ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE 
State-operated community-based facilities, 

sale/lease/transfer moratorium extended 
09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 

ATTORNEY GENERAL 
Autism spectrum disorder behavioral analysis 

services recommendations 
09-1 June 19 SS ................................................. 65 

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS 
Children's Trust Fund, moved to DSS 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 
Culture and Tourism, film/digital animation  
 credits, responsibilities transferred to DECD 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
Enhancing Agency Outcomes, extended 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-7 September SS........................................... 124 

Firearms Permit Examiners, transferred to DAS 
09-1 December SS (VETOED)........................ 175 

Legislative commissions, personnel oversight 
transferred 
09-7 September SS........................................... 124 

Probate Redistricting, recommendations 
09-1 September SS............................................. 75 

Sentencing, created 
09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 

SustiNet Health Partnership Board of Directors, 
membership increased 
09-3 September SS............................................. 88 

BONDS 
"Build America" program, taxable bond  
 issuance authorized 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
Economic recovery notes, authorized 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-2 June SS ...................................................... 14 

General obligation, authorized 
09-2 September SS............................................. 81 

Municipal, sale by negotiation authorized 
09-2 September SS............................................. 81 

Municipal maximum term extended,  
 certain purposes 

09-2 September SS............................................. 81 
Revenue, authorized 

09-2 September SS............................................. 81 
Special tax obligation, authorized 

09-2 September SS............................................. 81 
 
 

Special tax obligation, road resurfacing  
 projects authorized 

09-1 December SS (VETOED).........................175 
Special tax obligation, Town Aid Road 
  payments authorized 

09-3 June SS .......................................................16 

CHILDREN AND FAMILIES, DEPT. OF 
Children's Trust Fund, moved to DSS 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Emergency placement background checks,  
 policy conformance 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Subsidized Guardianship Program, changes 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

CHILDREN AND MINORS 
Subsidized Guardianship Program, changes 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

CIVIL PROCEDURE 
False Claims Act created, medical assistance 

programs 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 

CONSTRUCTION 
Green buildings, corporation business tax  
 credit 

09-8 September SS ...........................................153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED)........................161 

CORPORATION BUSINESS TAX 
Business debt cancellation, federal option  
 decoupling 

09-2 June 19 SS ..................................................71 
Credits, green building construction 

09-8 September SS ...........................................153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED)........................161 

Credits/exemptions, restructured 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)......................................1 

Surcharges 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)......................................1 

CORPORATIONS 
Out-of-state, tax nexus established 

09-3 June SS .......................................................16 

CORRECTION, DEPT. OF 
Budget redistribution 

09-10 September SS (VETOED)......................170 

COURTS 
See also Civil Procedure; Criminal Procedure; 

Judicial Branch; Probate Courts; Superior 
Courts 

Juvenile, "raise the age" delayed 
09-7 September SS ..........................................124 
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CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 
Sentencing Commission, created 

09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 

DENTISTS AND DENTISTRY 
DSS clients, nonemergency approval  
 requirement 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES, DEPT. OF 
Enfield, easement conveyance 

09-4 September SS .............................................93 
Programs, modifications 

09-3 September SS .............................................88 

DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED 
See also Developmental Services, Dept. of 
State-operated community-based facilities, 

sale/lease/transfer moratorium extended 
09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 

DRUGS AND MEDICINE 
See also Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
ConnPACE, modifications 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Part D-related programs, limitations 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Preferred drug list, DSS mental health  
 exemption eliminated 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

ECONOMIC AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT, DEPT. OF 
Film/digital animation credits, administrative 

responsibilities 
09-1 June SS (VETOED) .....................................1 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Steel Point Project, assistance 

09-8 September SS ........................................... 153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

EDUCATION 
See also Higher Education; School Construction; 

Schools and School Districts 
College credit courses, Wright Technical High 

School pilot program 
09-1 June 19 SS..................................................65 

Statutes, revisions 
09-6 September SS ........................................... 112 

EDUCATION, STATE DEPT. OF 
Interstate certification agreements, allowed 

09-1 June 19 SS..................................................65 
Teacher certification/credentials, modification 

09-1 June 19 SS..................................................65 

EDUCATION COST SHARING GRANTS 
Allocation, FY10 & FY11 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

ELDERLY PERSONS 
See also Medicaid; Medicare; Nursing Homes 
Fall prevention program, DSS establishment 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 
Home Care Program for Elders, additional cost 

sharing requirement 
09-5 September SS............................................. 95 

Part D-related programs, changes 
09-5 September SS............................................. 95 

ELECTRIC UTILITIES 
Rocky Hill property sale, stranded costs  
 reduction exemption 

09-4 September SS............................................. 93 

ENERGY 
Assistance, Operation Fuel carryover 

09-2 June 19 SS ................................................. 71 

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION, DEPT. OF 
Connecticut River publicly-owned islands, 

control/custody 
09-4 September SS............................................. 93 

Penfield Lighthouse preservation,  
 lease/occupancy authorized 

09-4 September SS............................................. 93 
Repair/maintenance/improvement account 

reestablished 
09-1 December SS (VETOED)........................ 175 

Ridgefield, state property lease requirement 
09-4 September SS............................................. 93 

Special funds/accounts, eliminated/funds  
 transferred 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

ESTATES AND TRUSTS 
Estate/gift taxes, reduced 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
Estate/gift taxes, reduction delayed 

09-2 December SS (VETOED)........................ 177 
Taxes, temporary surcharges 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

FORECLOSURE 
Real estate conveyance tax, application 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

GAMBLING 
Lottery revenue, securitization option 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
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Mohegan/Mashantucket slot machine  
 revenue settlements approved 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

GENERAL ASSEMBLY 
Budget allotments, gubernatorial reduction  
 authority limited 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
Legislative commission personnel/staffing,  
 OLM authority 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-7 September SS........................................... 124 

State rail plan, committee review requirement 
09-2 September SS............................................. 81 

GOVERNOR 
Judicial Branch, other expenses budget  
 reinstated 

09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 
Judicial Branch submitted budget, reduction 

prohibited 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

Legislative/Judicial branches, allotment  
 reduction authority limited 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

State agency funds, transfer authority expanded 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

GRANTS 
See State Aid 

HEALTH 
Public health implementer 

09-3 September SS............................................. 88 

HEALTH CARE ACCESS, OFFICE OF 
Merged into DPH 

09-3 September SS............................................. 88 

HEALTH CARE FACILITIES 
See also Nursing Homes 
Reimbursement rates, freeze/delay 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 
Residential care homes, medication 
  administration regulations revised 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 

HEALTH INSURANCE 
Husky B premium increase, certain families 

09-1 December SS (VETOED)........................ 175 

HIGHER EDUCATION 
College credit courses, Wright Technical High 

School pilot program 
09-1 June 19 SS ................................................. 65 

HIGHWAYS AND ROADS 
Resurfacing projects, STO bonds authorization 

09-1 December SS (VETOED).........................175 

HOME HEALTH CARE 
Home Care Program for Elderly, additional  
 cost sharing requirement 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Money Follows the Person II demonstration  
 program, delayed 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

HUMAN SERVICES 
Implementer 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

IMMIGRANTS AND IMMIGRATION 
State medical assistance, certain benefits  
 eliminated 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

IMPLEMENTERS 
See State Budget 

INCOME TAXES 
Business debt cancellation, decoupling federal 

deferral option 
09-2 June 19 SS ..................................................71 

Estimated, catch-up payments required 
09-8 September SS ...........................................153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED)........................161 

Rate increase 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)......................................1 

INDIANS 
Mohegan/Mashantucket slot machine revenue 

settlements, approved 
09-3 June SS .......................................................16 

JUDICIAL BRANCH 
Appropriation/budget request, gubernatorial 

reduction prohibited 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)......................................1 

Budget allotments, gubernatorial reduction  
 authority limited 

09-3 June SS .......................................................16 
Other expenses budget reinstated 

09-10 September SS (VETOED)......................170 

JUVENILES 
See Children and Minors; Courts 

LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 
See also Retirement and Pensions; Teacher 

Retirement 
Training initiatives, appropriations 

09-2 June 19 SS ..................................................71 
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LEGISLATIVE BRANCH 
See General Assembly 

MAGNET SCHOOLS 
Interdistrict, bonds authorized 

09-2 September SS .............................................81 
Interdistrict, school district attendance  
 notification 

09-1 June 19 SS..................................................65 

MEDICAID 
Interpreter services coverage, state plan  
 amendment 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Rates, frozen/delayed 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

MEDICAL CARE 
Fall prevention education program, DSS 

establishment 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 

State medical assistance, certain legal alien  
 benefits eliminated 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

MEDICARE 
Part D-related programs, changes 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

MEDICINE 
See Drugs and Medicine 

MENTAL HEALTH AND ADDICTION 
SERVICES, DEPT. OF 
Programs, modifications 

09-3 September SS .............................................88 

MENTAL HEALTH FACILITIES 
State-operated community-based,  
 sale/lease/transfer moratorium extended 

09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 

MINORS 
See Children and Minors 

MOTOR VEHICLES, DEPT OF 
Fees increased 

09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

MUNICIPALITIES 
See also Schools and School Districts 
Bond maximum term extended, certain  
 purposes 

09-2 September SS .............................................81 
Bond sales by negotiation, authorized 

09-2 September SS .............................................81 
 

Bridgeport, pension fund contribution exemption 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
09-8 September SS........................................... 153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

Bridgeport, Steel Point Project economic 
development assistance 
09-8 September SS........................................... 153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

Education appropriation reduction allowed, 
unaccounted federal funds 
09-1 June 19 SS ................................................. 65 

Education Cost Sharing grant allocations,  
 FY10 & FY11 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
Probate districts reduced 

09-1 September SS............................................. 75 
State property conveyances,  
 authorized/amended 

09-4 September SS............................................. 93 

NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS 
Collaboration incentive grant program  
 establishment 

09-2 September SS............................................. 81 

NURSING HOMES 
Medicaid, rate freeze/payment delay 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 
Small House, pilot program limitations 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 

PHARMACIES AND PHARMACISTS 
See also Drugs and Medicine 
DSS reimbursements, reduced 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 

POLICY AND MANAGEMENT, OFFICE OF 
Agency spending reduction recommendations,  
 plan required 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
Budget reduction recommendations 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
State assets sale, plan formulation 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

State revenue, finance plan development 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

PROBATE COURTS 
Redistricting commission plan adopted 

09-1 September SS............................................. 75 
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PROPERTY AND REAL ESTATE 
See also State Property 
State conveyances, authorized/amended 

09-4 September SS............................................. 93 

PUBLIC HEALTH, DEPT. OF 
Implementer 

09-3 September SS............................................. 88 
Medication administration, residential care  
 home regulations revision 

09-5 September SS............................................. 95 
OCHA, DPH merger/division established 

09-3 September SS............................................. 88 
Programs, modifications 

09-3 September SS............................................. 88 

PUBLIC WORKS, DEPT. OF 
Norwich, Three Rivers Community College  
 easement 

09-4 September SS............................................. 93 
Seaside Regional Center, sale requirement 

09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 
Torrington, Clark Street title acquisition 

09-4 September SS............................................. 93 

RAILROADS 
Freight line modernization, grant program  
 expanded 

09-2 September SS............................................. 81 
Hazardous at-grade crossings, report  
 requirement 

09-2 September SS............................................. 81 
Rail/track sale/disposal, freight companies  
 right of first refusal 

09-2 September SS............................................. 81 
State rail plan, legislative review requirement 

09-2 September SS............................................. 81 

RETAIL TRADE 
Tire sales, fee imposed 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

RETIREMENT AND PENSIONS 
See also Teacher Retirement 
Bridgeport, fund contribution requirement  
 exemption 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
09-8 September SS........................................... 153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

Teachers, state contribution requirement  
 suspended 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

REVENUE SERVICES DEPARTMENT 
Use tax table, income tax form inclusion 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

SALES AND USE TAXES 
Reduction authorized 

09-3 June SS .......................................................16 

SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION 
Bonds authorized 

09-3 June SS .......................................................16 
Grant commitments authorized 

09-6 September SS ...........................................112 

SCHOOLS AND SCHOOL DISTRICTS 
See also Education; Magnet Schools; School 

Construction; Teacher Retirement 
Cooperative arrangements, special  
 education/health care services 

09-1 June 19 SS ..................................................65 
Moral misconduct dismissals, SDE notification 

09-1 June 19 SS ..................................................65 
New Haven charter school pilot attendance  
 program 

09-1 June 19 SS ..................................................65 
Suspensions, out-of-school prohibition  
 delayed 

09-6 September SS ...........................................112 
Teacher credential revocation, employment 

prohibition 
09-1 June 19 SS ..................................................65 

SOCIAL SERVICES, DEPT. OF 
Children's Trust Fund, programmatic  
 responsibilities 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Fall prevention program establishment 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Husky B premium increase, certain families 

09-1 December SS (VETOED).........................175 
Medical assistance, certain legal alien benefits 

eliminated 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 

Medical assistance programs, False Claims Act 
created 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 

Medicare Savings Program eligibility,  
 asset test 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Money Follows the Person II demonstration  
 program, delayed 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Nonemergency dental services, prior approval 

requirement 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 

Pharmacy reimbursements, reduced 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 

Preferred drug list, mental health exemption 
eliminated 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 
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TFA/SAGA/SSP, benefit levels frozen 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 

SPECIAL EDUCATION 
School district cooperative arrangements  
 allowed 

09-1 June 19 SS..................................................65 

STATE AGENCIES 
See also specific state agencies 
Aging Department reestablishment delayed 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 
Appropriations, carryover provisions 

09-1 June SS (VETOED) .....................................1 
Enhancing Agency Outcomes Commission,  
 extended 

09-1 June SS (VETOED) .....................................1 
09-7 September SS ........................................... 124 

Offices/commissions, interagency 
transfers/elimination 
09-7 September SS ........................................... 124 

STATE AID 
See also School Construction; State Funds 
Nonprofit collaboration incentive grant  
 program, established 

09-2 September SS .............................................81 
School construction grant commitments,  
 authorized 

09-6 September SS ........................................... 112 

STATE BUDGET 
Appropriations, FY09 reductions 

09-2 June 19 SS..................................................71 
Appropriations, FY10 & FY11 

09-1 June SS (VETOED) .....................................1 
09-3 June SS.......................................................16 

Budget Reserve, funds transfer modifications 
09-8 September SS ........................................... 153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

Deficit mitigation, FY10 
09-1 December SS (VETOED) ........................ 175 

Economic recovery notes authorized 
09-1 June SS (VETOED) .....................................1 
09-2 June SS.......................................................14 

Education implementer 
09-6 September SS ........................................... 112 

Fees, increased/modified 
09-8 September SS ........................................... 153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

General government implementer 
09-7 September SS ........................................... 124 
09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 

Human services implementer 
09-5 September SS .............................................95 

 

Public health implementer 
09-3 September SS............................................. 88 

Reductions, OPM recommendation 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

Revenue estimates, FY10 & FY11  
 adjustments 

09-8 September SS........................................... 153 
Revenue estimates, FY10 & FY11  
 adjustments revised 

09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 
Surplus allocation, statutory override 

09-2 June SS ...................................................... 14 

STATE COMPTROLLER 
Deficit certification, FY09 

09-2 June SS ...................................................... 14 

STATE FUNDS 
See also State Aid; State Budget 
Budget Reserve, funds transfer 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

Budget Reserve, funds transfer modifications 
09-8 September SS........................................... 153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

Budget Reserve, statutory allocation override 
09-2 June SS ...................................................... 14 

Budget Reserve, transfers to General Fund  
 revised 

09-2 December SS (VETOED)........................ 177 
Deficit mitigation, FY10 fund transfers 

09-1 December SS (VETOED)........................ 175 
DEP repair/maintenance/improvement  
 account reestablished 

09-1 December SS (VETOED)........................ 175 
Environmental Protection Dept. special 

funds/accounts, eliminated 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

Fees increased 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

Offices/commissions, interagency 
transfers/elimination 
09-7 September SS........................................... 124 

Revenue transfers 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

STATE MARSHALS 
License fee increased 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

STATE OFFICERS AND EMPLOYEES 
See General Assembly; Judicial Branch; specific 

Constitutional Officers 

STATE PROPERTY 
Conveyances, authorized/amended 

09-4 September SS............................................. 93 
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Group homes/treatment facilities,  
 sale/lease/transfer moratorium extended 

09-10 September SS (VETOED) ..................... 170 
Sale of assets, plan required 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

STATE TREASURER 
Economic recovery notes, responsibilities 

09-2 June SS ...................................................... 14 
State assets, sale plan formulation 

09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

State revenue, finance plan development 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

STUDENTS 
School suspensions, out-of-school prohibition 

delayed 
09-6 September SS........................................... 112 

SUBSTANCE ABUSE 
See Alcohol and Drug Abuse 

SUPERIOR COURTS 
See also Courts 
Fee increases 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
Probate court appeals, venue modifications  

09-1 September SS............................................. 75 

TAXATION 
See also Corporation Business Tax; Estates and 

Trusts; Income Taxes; Sales and Use Taxes 
Certain taxes increased 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
Corporation/income, out-of-state nexus  
 established 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
Estate/gift, reduced 

09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 
Estate/gift, reduction delayed 

09-2 December SS (VETOED)........................ 177 
Film/digital, credit adjustments 

09-8 September SS........................................... 153 
09-9 September SS (VETOED) ....................... 161 

Film/digital animation credits, administive 
responsibilities transferred to DECD 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

Increased/temporary surcharges 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)..................................... 1 

Settlement initiative program, established 
09-3 June SS ...................................................... 16 

 

TEACHER RETIREMENT 
Health insurance account, administrative cost 

responsibility 
09-1 December SS (VETOED).........................175 

TEACHERS 
Certification/professional development, 

modifications 
09-1 June 19 SS ..................................................65 

Retirement Fund, state contribution suspended 
09-1 June SS (VETOED)......................................1 

Student teachers, background checks required 
09-1 June 19 SS ..................................................65 

TEMPORARY FAMILY ASSISTANCE 
Benefits freeze 

09-5 September SS .............................................95 

TRANSPORTATION 
See also Railroads 
Bond authorization 

09-2 September SS .............................................81 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPT. OF 
Conveyances 

09-4 September SS .............................................93 
Hazardous at-grade rail crossings, report  
 requirement 

09-2 September SS .............................................81 
Rail/track sale/disposal, freight companies  
 right of first refusal 

09-2 September SS .............................................81 

TRUSTS AND ESTATES 
See Estates and Trusts 

UTILITIES 
See Electric Utilities; Energy 

WEAPONS 
Firearms Permit Examiners Board, transferred  
 to DAS 

09-1 December SS (VETOED).........................175 
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PA 09-5 September SS ...................................................................................................................................................... 95 

 
PA 09-6 September SS .................................................................................................................................................... 112 

 
PA 09-7 September SS..................................................................................................................................................... 124 

 
PA 09-8 September SS .................................................................................................................................................... 153 

 
PA 09-9 September SS (VETOED) ................................................................................................................................. 161 

 
PA 09-10 September SS (VETOED) .............................................................................................................................. 170 

 
PA 09-1 December SS (VETOED) .................................................................................................................................. 175 

 
PA 09-2 December SS (VETOED) ................................................................................................................................. 177 
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